18 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

LYN Official Tennis Thread V9, All About Tennis. (gears, courts, etc)

vobs
post Oct 10 2010, 09:11 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Oct 10 2010, 06:55 PM)
WAH vobs....lucky you never ask batang how big.......:-p
Aiyooo people ada injury lah, anyway always remember there is always someone better than you in this world...myself included, today got good fight but at huge cost....I broke 3 racket strings today in less than 45 mins......now that I think about the lower I string the faster I break the strings knnnnnnnnnnnn
Hahaha, Bro prae, injury is not an excuse in tennis, if injured then dont play lor, if itchy want to play then dont complain got injury lor......Daang was a better player today....i like his play alot.......will try to incorporate his play into mine and see how it goes.....

Btw Gcooi! nope, i was very lucky that i did not kena sapu.......cos mr daang my man give me ALOT of face:) i retired at 5-5 cos old man out of breath leow.......

moral of the story is, "be good to ppl and ppl be good to you"

This post has been edited by vobs: Oct 10 2010, 09:12 PM
vobs
post Oct 10 2010, 09:23 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Oct 10 2010, 06:55 PM)
WAH vobs....lucky you never ask batang how big.......:-p
Aiyooo people ada injury lah, anyway always remember there is always someone better than you in this world...myself included, today got good fight but at huge cost....I broke 3 racket strings today in less than 45 mins......now that I think about the lower I string the faster I break the strings knnnnnnnnnnnn
Will be on a flight outstation tomorrow morning, hopefully i can come back by tues and send the strings to you, will let u know monday evening k......
vobs
post Oct 10 2010, 09:27 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(gcooi90 @ Oct 10 2010, 09:16 PM)
hahahaa..!! ok ok, i will try that during competition! be good and be nice to the opponent woo hoo... =))

sigh~ thisĀ  yr tennis event is removed from the SUKAD Usm... darn~~~
yeah lor.....try to give chance lor if can...but if your opponent is good player then up to you lor....lose dont cekik me ok......

This post has been edited by vobs: Oct 10 2010, 10:12 PM
vobs
post Oct 10 2010, 10:10 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(al3x y @ Oct 10 2010, 09:53 PM)
lol..sure...i'm 22 this yr...studying medicine right now..waiting 2 transfer 2 scotland..i'm currently using a head titanium ti.S1..my 1 n only racket..but looking 4 a new 1..either a dunlop aerogel 300 4d or a head liquidmetal radical..a youtek radical would be best..haha...has served me well 4 d last 4 yrs...currently a 3.5 player..anyway how do i contact u guys 2 join??

gcooi..how much r u seeling d aerogel 300 4d tour?? is it brand new??
im selling Head Microgel Radical Mid Plus if ure interest:) price stated below

Added on October 10, 2010, 11:09 pmOK guys,

***Those who did not get a chance to participate in the singles, alternatively you can get a partner to join doubles - at the moment we still have 5 spots left....hurry!!!!!!*****

This post has been edited by vobs: Oct 10 2010, 11:26 PM
vobs
post Oct 11 2010, 07:48 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(k3vin82 @ Oct 11 2010, 12:04 AM)
yo guys,

the draw for CTO III is out edi... daang n tiankim in same group.. woohoo.. and together with CTOII champion.. tough draw man..my group i donno them but the top seed is the doubles partner of the guy i lost in the head tournament.. they reach semis there in doubles...
Wah CK same draw with japanese, TK same draw with japanese and top seed and ex state player, kevin same draw with round 16'er in both CTO 1 and 2, mine all cina group.....

TK, u have good fighting spirit im sure u will do well cos the experience playing with them is priceless.

this round of CTO looks like fun......those who wanna fill my slot will have to wait till last minute as i want to see my hand can heal on time or not. alternatively u guys go get a partner and join doubles, its fun with doubles too:)

This post has been edited by vobs: Oct 11 2010, 07:49 AM
vobs
post Oct 11 2010, 08:33 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(ckseong80 @ Oct 11 2010, 08:10 AM)
Waaaa how did mr Fidel got his name suddenly in the draws??? ; p danger spin monster lurking around.

Added on October 11, 2010, 8:32 amklboy, you coming to duta to watch the tournament??
issit, whats fidel's name? hehe let me check
vobs
post Oct 11 2010, 01:36 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(klboy89 @ Oct 11 2010, 10:37 AM)
only have some photo sad.gif will check out his ply this sat biggrin.gif
hossen kenit and Yasir is the top two seed and past CTO champ:) so KLboy what is ur name in the draw?

Added on October 11, 2010, 1:41 pm
QUOTE(ckseong80 @ Oct 11 2010, 09:37 AM)
vobs, he is ur first round opponent la.
Hahahahaha.....

Or might be another fella.
I remember a similar name with Garret in HEAD tournament last time.
; P

But I think this fella is Fidel la.
issit.......wah, meeting fidel ar......

btw, who want doubles? still got 5 spots left, come on come on, join in the fun..........all be there chit chat watch past tennis grand slam on laptops while waiting......:0

This post has been edited by vobs: Oct 11 2010, 01:41 PM
vobs
post Oct 11 2010, 03:21 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(k3vin82 @ Oct 11 2010, 02:57 PM)
hehe, good spirit ..

vobs,
my opponent how to beat them.. hehe.. u saw them play b4 rite.. gimme some tips how to beat them.. haha

Added on October 11, 2010, 2:58 pmthisĀ Ā  AHMAD SALLEH (MAS)
andĀ  DARIEN SEAH (MAS)

need to beat one of them

Added on October 11, 2010, 2:58 pmboth 4.0 players..
Yeah i played ahmad salled in CTO 1 and 2, Darrien Seah i seen him played before, both are good

to sum it up, use only your confident shot and put the ball back all day. all the less confident gaya shot that uve been training all the while can put on hold first. tournament is not about gaya shots, its all about winning even though you win it with stupid shots.....smile.gif

Dont worry bout being over powered, if they can do that eventhough uve played your best, then they are a better player on that day.

just like me, if u see me play in tournament sure u will laugh and say who is this beginner man:)

Added on October 11, 2010, 3:30 pm
QUOTE(klboy89 @ Oct 11 2010, 02:59 PM)
gogogo~ i will watch u guys ply while i having mine potato chips and coke tongue.gif
KLboy will be our food buyer from wendys/mcds/mamak nearby the stadium.......smile.gif we all tong tong buy him a meal if he buy for us while we wait for the next match hehehehe

Added on October 11, 2010, 3:35 pm
QUOTE(Daang @ Oct 11 2010, 02:45 PM)
Wow! Very excited!!!! Never expect to meet top seed so soon. hahaha! Duno isit a good thing or not? Really looking forward to play top players. Very excited now...
@tiang kim
Either foreigner or top seed, lets give them a tough fight ya! hehe
If got time i shall watch your group matches brothers!!!! cos all of them are my friends including you guys....i will be neutral heheheh

Match of the day will be this group, so prepare your popcorns, potato chip, rice chip, coke, milo, burgers, ladies, guy frens whatever......im sure its gonna be good

This post has been edited by vobs: Oct 11 2010, 03:35 PM
vobs
post Oct 11 2010, 04:34 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(ckseong80 @ Oct 11 2010, 04:26 PM)
Waaaa I already flu, cough & sore throat for 1 week.
Now talk about fast food I oso ; ).....

Haven't fully heal. Now eat oso tasteless.
Hope weekend all OK and can makan.
; )
now everyone is sick, weather i think.....take care bro, eat vitamins once u ok d....it will strengthen ur body immunity system.....too bad theres no vitamin that can heal muscle ache in 1 hour heheheh
vobs
post Oct 11 2010, 06:22 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(k3vin82 @ Oct 11 2010, 05:02 PM)
Thanks for the headsup bro vobs.. will try my best to create an upset against those 4.0s...
no problem la, just have fun, this tourney actually not about who is better, its about making new friends with tennis and enjoy catching up, bring up topics to chat and to enjoy the atmosphere that is different from other more competitive tournaments.

Added on October 11, 2010, 6:25 pm
QUOTE(klboy89 @ Oct 11 2010, 09:49 AM)
fidel with 1 japanese and 2 malaysian smile.gif

ck: yeah will go biggrin.gif wanna watch tiangkim & daang fight with MOHD YASIR SHAMSUDIN (MAS) biggrin.gif and u guys fight too smile.gif

Added on October 11, 2010, 9:51 ambtw.... anyone know Hossen Kenit (MAS) ???
What talking u bro? the only two groups with japs also dont have fidel la.....which draw u looking?

and btw, ure always ready if u think ure ready bro:) just join the next CTO ok.....

This post has been edited by vobs: Oct 11 2010, 06:25 PM
vobs
post Oct 11 2010, 09:53 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(epie @ Oct 11 2010, 09:08 PM)
hi guys,
1 more newbie question....how do we define player level
3.0 3.5 4.0

maybe i dun have a number at all haha
1.0 = This player is just starting to play tennis.

1.5 = Has limited experience and is still working primarily on getting the ball into play.

2.0 = Needs on-court experience. Has obvious stroke weaknesses but is familiar with basic positions for singles and doubles play.

2.5 = Learning to judge where the ball is going although court coverage is weak. Can sustain a short rally of slow pace with other players of the same ability.

3.0 = Fairly consistent when hitting medium-paced shots, but is not comfortable with all strokes and lacks execution when trying for directional control, depth or power. Most common doubles formation is one-up and one-back.

3.5 = Has achieved improved stroke dependability with directional control on moderate shots, but still lacks depth and variety. Starting to exhibit more aggressive net play, has improved court coverage and is developing teamwork in doubles.

4.0 = Has dependable strokes, including directional control and depth on both forehand and backhand sides on moderate shots, plus the ability to use lobs, overheads, approach shots and volleys with some success. Occasionally forces errors when serving and teamwork in doubles is evident. Rallies may be lost due to impatience.

4.5 = Starting to master the use of power and spins and beginning to handle pace, has sound footwork, can control depth of shots and is beginning to vary game plan according to opponents. Can hit first serves with power and accuracy and place the second serve. Tends to overhit on difficult shots. Aggressive net play is common in doubles.

5.0 = Has good shot anticipation and frequently has an outstanding shot or exceptional consistency around which a game may be structured. Can regularly hit winners or force errors off of short balls and can put away volleys, can successfully execute lobs, drop shots, half volleys and overhead smashes and has good depth and spin on most second serves.

5.5 = Has developed power and/or consistency as a major weapon. Can vary strategies and styles of play in a competitive situation and hit dependable shots in a stress situation.

6.0 = Generally do not need NTRP ratings. Rankings or past rankings will speak for themselves. The 6.0 player has obtained a sectional and /or national ranking.

6.5 = The 6.5 player has extensive satellite tournament experience.

7.0 = The 7.0 player makes his living from tournament prize money.
vobs
post Oct 11 2010, 09:57 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(romeolee @ Oct 11 2010, 09:53 PM)
hi sifus,

i just got back from a game with my tennis partner.. tried a new racquet today.. a much heavier racquet than my previous wan.. what i found out that it has more feel  and the racquet weight helps me to put more power to my shots even when i am not balance.. when using my previous racquet, i realized everytime when i am out of position and attempting to take the shot.. it will not go pass the net.. perhaps i need a more heavier racquet to help me on this.. do correct me if my assumptions are wrong.. and also i would like to know, what advantage does smaller headsize racquet has over a bigger headsize.. and how string patterns affects play?
please help me out..
Heavier racquet does help in acceleration of the head speed if ure strong enough for the heft.

to put it simple, small headsize more control, bigger headsize more power

string patterns which are more open provide more spin.....

hope this help

vobs
post Oct 11 2010, 10:01 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(PINK_MING @ Oct 11 2010, 09:47 PM)
wooo...brothers!!!all de best in de cto ya..luckily i made it to wish u guys luck... biggrin.gif all de best!!!hehe...

btw...expensive eh...rm80 per person...lol..making big money har dem..haha..not reli actly...cos it's hectic to do one...unless lotsa sponsor n free labour..haha
due to lack of sponsors, they have to charge rm80 lor.

besides this is round robin, meaning the same players play more than 1 time at least win or lose so more cans of balls are used thus higher cost,

and due to more games are played, longer rental of courts are needed thus more cost in that too.

plus there are price money as well, and that is cost too.......

so at the end, pay rm80 and play at least 4 games in one tournament is worth while as u can gather experience, gather new friends and learn new things.

ure rite, more sponsors and more free labour, that is why i volunteered to be coin tosser for you guys:)

Added on October 11, 2010, 10:04 pm
QUOTE(gcooi90 @ Oct 11 2010, 09:59 PM)
I think I have a 4.5 but when I play I'm like a 2.0 .. LOL ><!
good, come join next CTO and u will be seeded:)

This post has been edited by vobs: Oct 11 2010, 10:04 PM
vobs
post Oct 11 2010, 10:43 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(al3x y @ Oct 11 2010, 10:31 PM)
oh ok sure yan...how do i contact you?? but no commitments yet...haha...btw is it ok if i join u 4 hitting sessions since u r playing in d ttdi area n i'm at hartamas?
im nearby ur place behind solaris, and also u can join sunway group also....every sat or sun i will go play with them, call me la so we can go together if u want:)

vobs
post Oct 12 2010, 08:38 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(angel-ice @ Oct 12 2010, 08:37 AM)
yo kev, dunt forget to tell me the method of paying

nanti lupa susah wo
Pay what? u guys buying something, i want to buy also hehe
vobs
post Oct 12 2010, 03:11 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(Daang @ Oct 12 2010, 02:09 PM)
what time do you guys plan to reach the duta courts? Afraid later no available courts to warm up. hehe!!
I should be reaching 7.30am too....so whoever reach can warm up first lor
vobs
post Oct 12 2010, 11:05 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(inv @ Oct 12 2010, 10:35 PM)
the brands u listed are popular brand, just not in malaysia..
hahahha, yeah lor, outside malaysia damn kau popular la......sure got quality product like the GELS, Li-neng the endorsement from other sport pros, the pacific which was one of the main strings last time etc

good choice bro, good choice

NEWS: CTO3 doubles draw is out! if possible need minimum 3 more pairs of doubles.....who want quickly let the organiser know or you can go through me i can help fast track the registration......

Added on October 12, 2010, 11:09 pm
QUOTE(Yan @ Oct 12 2010, 11:03 PM)
@romeo ...
nice meeting you for that short yamcha session smile.gif hope you enjoy the racquet and improve fast ...
WAH mr romeo, good that u bought from yan, he is a great racquet caretaker......what racquet btw?

This post has been edited by vobs: Oct 12 2010, 11:09 PM
vobs
post Oct 13 2010, 06:06 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(lelucky @ Oct 13 2010, 10:49 AM)
huhu anybody wanna partner me? i may be going too but not sure yet. Got partner i join, no partner no join
bro, i can find u a partner if ure serious about playing......what ntrp are u btw so i can find a suitable partner for u:) come come who else wanna join doubles
vobs
post Oct 13 2010, 07:08 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(redcaffeine @ Oct 13 2010, 06:31 PM)
aisey,lama tarak jumpa laa..
organisers no longer allow u to play both singles/doubles,
if not i sure wan oso..
Yeap:) they tried it in CTO1 and 2, alot of hiccups and long waiting matches that time which ended at 1am, thats the reason they do not allow it this time

plus they added the plate event (loser pool) which is a much better alternative since this is a tournament for weekend warriors that do not have regular tournament feel experience.

So bro red, which group are u in:) will come by to say hi:)
vobs
post Oct 14 2010, 09:48 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Oct 14 2010, 06:20 AM)
notworthy.gif Young grasshopper.......your new weapon of mass destruction will send shivers down the spines of your opponents....
Regarding string tension its a personal preference, already you know that at 48lbs it feels like you are overhitting, if you have already tried the same racket at 55lbs and IF you like it, by all means string at 55lbs, however please note that yan's racket the strings may be a different type from your friends ,so you may not be able to replicate the same feel. But its worth experimenting!

High bouncing ball if you are not a advance level, I would not try taking it on the rise, I would rather step away from the ball, let the ball drop to your strike zone and then hit, this gives you more confidence on your shot and your percentage of getting the ball back and in play is higher than taking the ball on the rise, once, you feel your forehand/backhand is good enough, then I would recommend you practice taking the ball on the rise.
yeah romeo, the pros are right, if u still "insist" wanting to hit the ball on the rise, then you need to practise the "contact point" which is a drill for more advance players.

at the moment, just practise keeping the ball back in play, do it as much as possible, if ure lucky, u will develop hitting on the rise automatically from there.

Added on October 14, 2010, 9:49 am
QUOTE(praetorian @ Oct 14 2010, 09:09 AM)
Name Romeo mah sure got many pro with him lah :-p
well, i do hope that the pro ure referring to r ladies, if it is a guy then i shall back off far far away......

This post has been edited by vobs: Oct 14 2010, 09:51 AM

18 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0352sec    0.89    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:44 PM