18 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

LYN Official Tennis Thread V9, All About Tennis. (gears, courts, etc)

vobs
post Sep 27 2010, 11:37 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(tiangkim @ Sep 27 2010, 11:31 PM)
well, i dont condemn in fact i cheer for him....

msian tennis... long way to go....

i still remember and cant accept LTAM asked Selvam to play the Davis Cup double 2 yrs ago... he is alrdy a veteran player....
I guess they do not have players already, thats why ended up with Selvam kua.....
vobs
post Sep 28 2010, 07:36 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Sep 28 2010, 10:32 AM)
Different strokes for different strokes lah, if you have time to setup, good for you.
Speaking for myself since my forehand grip is eastern, and backhand is bodering between full eastern and eastern, I can hit almost anything with continental , but I sure switch to other grips depending on the incoming ball.

I don't think 45lbs on a 90 square inch racket is that big a deal lah, lol I use to like stringing semi high around 58-60 but that time I only kena exposed to synthetic gut, and cross fire in the 90's after I stop playing for 15 years, I came back, checked out the tennis scene, I was so blur man, people taling about poly's......I had no clue, so try loh order from tennis-warehouse string at same tension, initially my arm didn't complain but after playing for 3 months, I noticed I had a sharp pain near the inside of my elbow....every day after tennis....I had almost of no injury during my early days, I blame everything to my lack of fitness, mana tahu.....I decide to experiment on myself, I stop playing for a week, I was pain free on the 5th day.....decide to string to cheap synthetic gut and play, no pain......KNNNNN.I then remembered I had strung my racket with kevlar strings at 48lbs, so I made a mental note to do that with poly. 2 days later my synthetic gut snapped in 3 places....string back to poly at lower tension at 48lbs I noticed more playability and lol if you believe it more spin, or the ability to produce easier topspin, I was a believer from then.

However this is my experience and I am sharing with the forum, your experience may be different. Just go out and experiment abit, have fun.
bro prae is right, heres my story to support his.

I stopped about 8 years and back again 2 years ago, i was like what is hybrid setup with poly? so i tried it strung at 60lbs (regret of my tennis life as it gave me tennis elbow right away) i also blame on my fitness that i have elbow pain, and for 1 year i play with elbow problem not knowing it is actually the string and tension that contributed to it.

after a long survey on the internet and some advice from bro prae, and after many different tensions and strings setup, I still couldnt find the right tension for polys (cos i dont believe in stringing it below 55lbs).

after 2 months of rest recently due to sickness, i came back playing again and the elbow pain came back right away, i was like sigh, just play with it la as i tot its already permanent.

just 2 weeks ago, since i had 2 racquets, i use one and try it strung 40/42lbs and voila, the pain is much much lesser now. its either two things:

1) ive been building my arm/elbow muscles daily hoping it will help in my elbow problem
2) because i use a hybrid setup at low 40lbs poly

after 2 weeks of trying, im now a believer as well, strung poly at lower tension, it will still feel like a tension above 50lbs without giving pain to those have elbow issues.

Thats my view la, it may feel different for others with other types of racquet:)

vobs
post Sep 29 2010, 08:38 AM

90 posts

Dont worry la guys......u know malaysian are last minute people, just like last year, there will be loads of people flocking in by Quarterfinals day......besides, weekday everyone work la and u know malaysian when it comes to work always meeting meeting meeting meeting until night....and always say no time no time no time unless its free ticket:)
vobs
post Sep 29 2010, 02:23 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Sep 29 2010, 11:30 AM)
Very disappointing to see almost NO FANS to support our local ATP tournament.......typical mentality here, when don't have b**** and say we are losing ground on staging International events to Singapore and neighbouring countries, when have only want to see Semi final or final, please recall the best match in Wimbledon 2010 was the friggin 1st round Isner Vs Mahut, that match was HISTORY in the making.........

C'mon people if this tournament cannot generate any revenue of any kind, for sure tutup kedai......then no chance to see any pro 'live'.....

I dunno how much tickets are, but I don't think they are in the 'thousand' dollar range.

If you can actually watch how hard and precise the pro's hit live, you will notice the way they take/attack the ball, how much in front/early they hit the ball, see their swing path on their kick serves,slice serves,flat serves......

You guys don't know how lucky you are!!!!

Alot of negative comments from other countries on why the stands are so empty, go and see for yourself.....bring your friends/family and scream your heads off!! Then go and request take picture with all the obliging pro's!!!!
i got excuse, im in jb currently:) and most probably in qtrfinal, semi and finals.....see u guys there

and those who is in kl, read what bro prae have to say to you....shame on u buggers.....ehehehehhee
vobs
post Sep 29 2010, 11:26 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(PINK_MING @ Sep 29 2010, 08:52 PM)
HARRO GUYS!!!hehe..sorry..have been reli busy lately..cant visit de forum as much as i could oredi..haha...i've neglected my studies n i reli needa study harder rite now...i'll come back to visit de forum when i'm free...currently,i'm re-taking a levels in my hometown..gonna take another year for tat..tat's de best my parents can offer..i've to reli study hard tis time..my one last chance... smile.gif take care my frens...do lemme noe if u guys r coming over to miri k?hehe
Tu lah! ask you not to tackle girls so much u dowan listen:) tackle until fB also all female friends only sure la distracted in your studies hehehe....jus jokin

Good that you start early and prepare.....dont worry bout previous failure as failure build character.....im sure u will be successful second time around if u put ur heart and believe in it:)

one year will be gone in a blink of an eye.....study hard, study smart, also need to play smart to keep the balance....good luck
vobs
post Sep 30 2010, 07:43 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Sep 28 2010, 01:35 PM)
I am no Babolat pro, however your best bet is bring the racket IF it is in your hands, and go to a authorised dealer, if you ONLY have pics, it looks pretty real as the grommets like authentic, but I am NOT 100% sure.

I think shannon kan was asking you to check the serial number of the racket which is located on the racket throat (your 2nd Pic), see the sticker with "Babolat" should have serial number there, IT MUST match the serial number on your warranty card, as well.
Yeah, just plan a meet up COD near a tennis racquet shop that you regularly go and bring the racquet for comparison and verification just to have peace of mind lor...easy ma, seller will be ok im sure:) unless theres a doubt in his product he is selling la.

Since there are so many china made fakes, i think seller should have some knowledge in distinguishing a real to a fake so that he/she can give a good piece of mind to the buyer. As for me, ive learned some for the racquets ive owned current and before, usually i buy wilson and head thanks to bro prae:). As for Babolat, im not a pro also as ive never own one before smile.gif thinking of buying one but no funds hahhaha
vobs
post Sep 30 2010, 01:03 PM

90 posts

guys, im going for the semis, who else is going? we can lepak there together hehehe.......
vobs
post Sep 30 2010, 01:14 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(k3vin82 @ Sep 30 2010, 01:03 PM)
Hi guys,

Carto, inv, kelvinlym, daang, vobs, tiangkim?? haja?

this saturday u wanna play at holiday villa? 8-10 am
I'm getting 2 courts. 4 of my sg frens coming down so can accomodate another 6-8 person.

1.)Me
2.)CK
3.)
4.)
5.)
6.)
7.)
8.)

Added on September 30, 2010, 1:04 pmplease put your names in...

Added on September 30, 2010, 1:06 pmthe court fees is 10.50 per hour per court so we will divide the no. of ppl who attend.
VOBS Onnnnnnn!

This post has been edited by vobs: Sep 30 2010, 01:18 PM
vobs
post Sep 30 2010, 01:27 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Sep 30 2010, 01:25 PM)
i thought vobs in johor~!
on the way back later today hehehehe......
vobs
post Sep 30 2010, 10:06 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(feeq @ Sep 30 2010, 09:18 PM)
Guys.. I looking 2nd hand or new racket that not too heavy & the head size around 95 or 98. Any suggestion. Not too expensive.
pm me if ure interested in my racquet stated below:) thanks

just now watched soderling match.....the sound of his racquet impacting the ball is explosive....indoor tennis sound so nice

Also went back and found good use of my other bags hahahah

This post has been edited by vobs: Sep 30 2010, 11:00 PM
vobs
post Oct 2 2010, 09:46 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(Yan @ Oct 2 2010, 02:24 PM)
yah was kinda heavy when i was rushing to my car. u guys packed up also after i left ?

@vobs, sorry buddy, forgot to tell u i left early ... only when reach my car n saw urs beside.. suddenly realized din tell u i cabut ..haha...
its ok la, i was playing on court also.......nice car btw hehehe.....shall see you again in casa soon after i recover from my arm injury i got from trying to serve the fastest serve at atp venue last fri ahhahahah......

Added on October 2, 2010, 9:49 pm
QUOTE(ckseong80 @ Oct 2 2010, 04:56 PM)
Hey guys Vobs got 2 Malaysian open final tickets for sale. SOLD

Added on October 2, 2010, 5:06 pmUpdate!!!

Gold seat sold to tiang kim.

Left silver seat. Call Vincent for enquiry.
Thanks CK for posting on behalf at the ATP venue with his new phone:) tried just now but most digi shops are out of stocks so i have to wait i guess.

Added on October 2, 2010, 9:52 pm
QUOTE(praetorian @ Oct 2 2010, 07:22 PM)
how come vobs cannot go!???! alamak damn rugi sial!!!!!! </3
maybe his player kena kick out already :-O
Wife not interest to follow me, kev and the gang not coming, my friends all will be sitting at home watch astro.......me alone kinda bored la.....i wanted to go but no kaki man sigh......

This post has been edited by vobs: Oct 3 2010, 08:10 PM
vobs
post Oct 2 2010, 10:33 PM

90 posts

Shall add few pictures everytime i post:)

Added on October 2, 2010, 11:06 pmFinally, replaced the grommets and head guard, not easy to find but its back to the original grip ("hyrosorb" head)

This post has been edited by vobs: Oct 2 2010, 11:10 PM
vobs
post Oct 3 2010, 12:06 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(gcooi90 @ Oct 3 2010, 12:00 AM)
lol. hw come ur racket still so cantik? all my sticks are ugly as hell; coz always hit the ground, block up d ball from ground, etc... janji the returned ball cantik can ad.. hahaha
if ure referring to my racquet, its just photo magic that made it look nice:) if u want to see "janji the returned ball cantik" then go see bro prae or daang, he will show you what is cantik really all about.....

Added on October 3, 2010, 12:19 am
QUOTE(klboy89 @ Oct 2 2010, 11:34 PM)
oic, rmb tat the racket i told u be4? vobs r the 1 who selling it smile.gif head radical microgel
yeah yeah, come come, selling my radical microgel mp, someone already reserved it until mid october.....those second in line wanna book in case first buyer back off can start pm me:)

if it is sold to first buyer, i still have 1 more stick to go.......sticks are firm at rm250 cos replaced alot of stuff already:)

and also 1 ATP finals ticket for sale, retailed at the counter at rm130 for silver location......am selling below rm100 cos cannot make it leow, members that know me will get even cheaper:) those not member can nego until both of us happy:) sms or call me before 12pm sunday as finals starts at 2.30pm:)

This post has been edited by vobs: Oct 3 2010, 12:25 AM
vobs
post Oct 3 2010, 09:53 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Oct 3 2010, 09:23 AM)
Wah vobs !! With bad sore shoulder already 150KPH!! if your shoulder good how......maybe 200KPH!! :-O

Can join ATP....but before that better ask for photo and autograph first :-p
no la, its 156kmh.....and i got injury AFTER the serve cos no warm up straight go in serve....actually i was excited to see how fast i can serve and forgotten to warm up....damn, how to be a good coach when myself act like a boy got new found toy and forgot everything else ahahhaha

aiya, 156kmh is not counted accurate for me ler.....will only count it if i get to serve in real court and its in to the serve box:) hmmm need to get some connection with the traffic police and get those speed gun to the courts (tennis) hahahaha

Yeah kev! how much must pay u for the courts...forgot pulak as i was bz enjoying chatting here and there hahahha

and bro prae, next near fly to kl for ATP la......i saw some of the coaches from east malaysia came down for it also........

Thanks to bro TK for donating this to me:) you're da man! train me run all over the court and give me this:) thank you thank you

This post has been edited by vobs: Oct 3 2010, 08:12 PM
vobs
post Oct 3 2010, 11:58 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(~Battousai~ @ Oct 3 2010, 11:14 PM)
because its u i reply la  laugh.gif  working out is more addictive than tennis whistling.gif
hmmm talking bout working out, i think i need one right now as my food craving is increasing day by day......
vobs
post Oct 4 2010, 08:56 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(ckseong80 @ Oct 4 2010, 08:19 AM)
Wow..... 1st for the day.
Yesterday's final match I think was played at a slower pace.
Both players were more cautious with the shots.

Sadly Golubev's killer backhand wasn't working yesterday.
: (
Yeah, Youzny has been cautious in all the matches played, I guess Golubev is kinda nervous kua....anyway he is still young, alot more opportunities for him.......

Bro CK, I may pull out of CTO3 as i injured my arm again unnecessary at the ATP......sigh.......hope it will heal this week.....any one know how to get fast healing for arm and shoulder hahahah:)
vobs
post Oct 4 2010, 10:21 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Oct 4 2010, 09:13 AM)
Wah thats bad news ........no point playing if not 100%, later play get more injured again.......rest bro.
yeah lor.....will rest until end of the week see hows the arm:) now i really really really make it a point to warm up before play or hit......sigh

Added on October 4, 2010, 10:22 am
QUOTE(ckseong80 @ Oct 4 2010, 09:29 AM)
Waaa vobs, sad to hear u got injured.
If u dun join CTO3 hilang 1 kaki at the tournament la.
; (

Maybe our brother Fidel_Castro is waiting to replace u?
Hehehehe.....
By the way, long time nvr hear from Fidel d.
Where is that fella ar??
Yeah lor, i will try to join, will rest until end of this week see how.....if not then i shall ask any LYN guys to replace hehehe.......

This post has been edited by vobs: Oct 4 2010, 10:22 AM
vobs
post Oct 4 2010, 04:19 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(fidel_castro @ Oct 4 2010, 03:51 PM)
im got a space for CTO 3  thumbup.gif

somebody backed out
not too sure if its vobs place im replacing  hmm.gif

Added on October 4, 2010, 3:52 pm

yea i just flew back from cuba after a war with usa  biggrin.gif
so u already got your place in CTO3?

should not be my place at the moment as i have not pull out yet.....just contemplating whether my arm can heal in 2 weeks time.......smile.gif

Added on October 4, 2010, 4:21 pm
QUOTE(praetorian @ Oct 4 2010, 03:12 PM)
Hahahaaa not really I sambung balik around late 2007 or early 2008, I stop for 15 - 18 years I am not 100% sure which year I stop, most likely 1990-1992.....but I know after I got hired , no time to play, kena racun clubbin and the things that follow clubbin......then biasa lah.....I am very enthuasistic about tennis, but may not be a good role model x-p, things I can help you with, I will try, but things I have no experience in, I have to listen to sifu here or gather information via google :-p
haha me too, i balik around end 2008.....last time stop cos of girls, clubs and cars hehehehe......then skating then mountain biking.....but still tennis is the one that i have loads of passion and plus its cheaper than my previous hobbies and more future for me hehehe

This post has been edited by vobs: Oct 4 2010, 04:21 PM
vobs
post Oct 4 2010, 09:37 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(fidel_castro @ Oct 4 2010, 05:48 PM)
yup i got a place  smile.gif
so hope ur arm can recover
Thanks, will really rest my arm for a week, im sure it will be healed before CTO3

vobs
post Oct 5 2010, 08:48 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(epie @ Oct 5 2010, 01:52 AM)
hi guys
first time in this thread and need ur opinion

i'm new to tennis around 2months...and still learning on how to put the ball into the court lOl

at 1st i'm using ncode n3 oversize and still using it
but suddenly (gatal tangan) i just got myself blx 6.1 95 installed with k gut string yesterday

but after reading several reviews..i just noticed that the racket is meant for advance player
wat shud i do...sell it n buy another beginner racket or just use it
thanks bros
With an advance teaching methods and modified teaching equipments and balls specially created for beginners and kids, beginners will be able to play with whatever racquet they got, so no worries bro. (Play and Stay)

Bro prae is right, since already bought it then might as well just use it unless money is not a problem for you then you can get something that will assist you on court. you can pm bro prae or post it up here......all of us are willing to share, but still if you can, it will be faster if you get a good coach to teach you one on one.......

In LYN, there are alot in here whom are ex state players, certified coaches, some not yet but very very experience in teaching, some are good with racquet spec, some are good with racquet designs, some are very good racquet caretaker, some are importer of tennis goods and equipments.

So the only thing u need to do is just ASK:)

18 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0473sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:14 PM