14 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

LYN Official Tennis Thread V9, All About Tennis. (gears, courts, etc)

praetorian
post Oct 14 2010, 10:11 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(vobs @ Oct 14 2010, 09:48 AM)
yeah romeo, the pros are right, if u still "insist" wanting to hit the ball on the rise, then you need to practise the "contact point" which is a drill for more advance players.

at the moment, just practise keeping the ball back in play, do it as much as possible, if ure lucky, u will develop hitting on the rise automatically from there.

Added on October 14, 2010, 9:49 am

well, i do hope that the pro ure referring to r ladies, if it is a guy then i shall back off far far away......
WOOOI vobs I am ladies man only mah..... icon_rolleyes.gif
QUOTE(romeolee @ Oct 14 2010, 10:00 AM)
Haha. Thanks everyone for the tips and encouragement. In regards to the string tension. Ill stick to 48 lbs first. Very sayang la if got and change the strings now. Maybe its not the string but my swinging pattern. Maybe not used to it yet as I've been using light racquet for some time. Dun worry vobs, I'm straight. Haha. So better not back off. Haven't absorb enough knowledge for u yet
BWAHAHAH if you wanna scare vobs wear your underwear on your head inverted like eechi style , he sure run fast...:-p
No lah you haven't biasa with your racket yet, still honeymoon phase....report back after 1-2 months of hitting, have fun!

Added on October 14, 2010, 10:19 am
QUOTE(vobs @ Oct 14 2010, 10:06 AM)
hahah, i dont have any knowledge for you to absorb bro as im still learning.......look for bro prea, this guy is the super sifu of LYN Tennis (too bad he is in Em or else i will look for him face to face to teach me some lesson), Battosai is also a member that u should contact, though i dunno him but i look up to him from the way he analyse play and feedback, if can i want him to coach me as well heheh. Another more accessible person face to face is Mr Daang, player of the year in sunway court, i love his play, u can ask him to give u some pointers too.
WOIII you so early 'sell' my name!!!
:-p
I also learn from you guys leh.....
Battousai I think very busy with coaching or work or BOTH lol. He use to post on lowyat as well, but I suspect he is lurking in forums hehehehe. Naturally he has more experience in International sanctioned tournaments via ITF and he is well versed in local tournaments as well, you guys should ask him for advice on how to prepare for your CTO III tournaments. If he can give you tips, make sure you listen with open ears.

Mr Daang (player of the year) ...if vobs say this guy is player of the year.....then he must be good, if you can actually see a advance player in action, for sure you can pick up tips subconsciously, doesn't hurt to ask as well.

vobs pandai act act....he tangkap our style , adjust fit his play and later kautim us on the court!!! sweat.gif

This post has been edited by praetorian: Oct 14 2010, 10:19 AM
praetorian
post Oct 14 2010, 08:31 PM

866 posts

wah vobs...psp also sell!! I could never sell my psp..I use it to read e-books....
praetorian
post Oct 16 2010, 06:34 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(zdepth @ Oct 15 2010, 10:53 PM)
hello... yuhoooo... anybody home? sleeping already ka? woi... come la... join me go drink beer, party, disco now. I got a few gals here asking for clubbing la.... no need sleep, straight go tournament tomorrow morning... come on laa.... woi dont so serious la.. still got plenty time woi....  tongue.gif
AIYOOOO!!! Why never say earlier!!!! I sure go one, instead I play better when highly intoxicated and highly motivated when got sexay girls again!!!!I like your style Z, next tournament I come and find you and bring some bottles of Jim and Jack you find the girls, k! notworthy.gif

I think this tournament you sure win want........
praetorian
post Oct 16 2010, 08:21 AM

866 posts

Make sure you guys take pics!!!
praetorian
post Oct 16 2010, 09:57 PM

866 posts

kev you sell what.....can test kau kau....racket..??
praetorian
post Oct 17 2010, 07:33 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(vobs @ Oct 17 2010, 06:44 AM)
Depth!!! come and play only bro, i my arm also is hurting now after 3 matches yesterday, go slow and try luck lor, maybe opponent see your powerful aura tense up cannot move, then u push him down the hill la......bro ure my inspiration, come come if u can la, but if it really hurts then just come support la if can:)

i think im gonna pinjam those deep heat spray kau kau to my hand:) shit man when i woke up just now move hand also pain....dunno play or dont play?

Yeah kev, should be paying u today at court la, since the gps no problem no need delay lor, after i spend all those money on others girls i koyak. better pay u first......

Added on October 17, 2010, 6:45 am

bro maybe ure right bro, a tiger pig = look like tiger play like a pig ar heheheheh
wah vobs thats insane man....if my hand hurt like that.....i really dunno what to do .....make sure you rest kau kau....leh
Spend on girls ok mah......but of course pay kev first leh....then spend on girls.....also WOOOOI this tournament got Ladies singles and Doubles?!! AIYOOOO how come nobody take pixxx........:-p Ask organiser when is next tournament!!! if I can get my passport chop I wanna go and see and if possible play as well....you know lah I only NTRP X.XX .
Sounds like you guys had a lot of fun!!!

QUOTE(ckseong80 @ Oct 17 2010, 06:54 AM)
Waaa yesterday lost all my matches. But can't ask much with my current form. Ok today go revenge in plate event.  tongue.gif
Don't worry CK win/lose does not matter as long as try your best and you had a good time, that all that counts, always got other tournaments lah.....

So in the end who won the tournament? Or sambung today....can play singles and doubles in 2 days? Must have alot of courts then....
praetorian
post Oct 17 2010, 10:45 AM

866 posts

WAH kev one day play 3 MATCHES?!! Consecutive or got break in between........1 match if 3 sets....must win 2 sets.....wah quite siong this tournament schedule.....wah if all 3 setter 9 sets of tennis.....*gulp* if play singles and doubles....18 sets.....

I think if got nekkid lady I also surrender......I can take heat very well, but stamina not so strong as before....I think I will go for out right winner on almost every shot, rather than stroke sampai error....sial....

My respect goes to all that played this tournament...
praetorian
post Oct 17 2010, 11:23 AM

866 posts

aiyoooo turun semangat see that bro.....
;-p
praetorian
post Oct 17 2010, 06:28 PM

866 posts

:-o the Shanghai master were on.....damn I missed it....just checked yahoo....Murray won in straight sets.....wow....
praetorian
post Oct 17 2010, 08:38 PM

866 posts

!!!! This cannot be your first tournament lah.....!!!! First tournament win all 3 matches.......you become my sifu better lah!!! So how ? The tournament, continue next week or what? No report ....KNNNN
praetorian
post Oct 17 2010, 08:52 PM

866 posts

Congrats to all!!!! WAH damn ganas man!!! I read what vobs wrote I got goose pimples......I really envy you guys, play tournament, how was the operational side of the tournament? I think you guys are light years ahead of us......
Keep up the good work!
praetorian
post Oct 19 2010, 08:33 AM

866 posts

I read that Prime Minister announce during budget there are 300 items that are now tax free, I wonder where you can find out exactly where and what are the items that are now tax free....
praetorian
post Oct 20 2010, 10:04 AM

866 posts

Morning fella's!
Wah looks like alot of you kena bitten by tournament bug! If like that must train harder, eat healthier, practice and do more drills, and play more matches!!!

:-p

I am old unkle, so I leave all this all to our youngsters! rclxm9.gif

I just wanted to do a small string review:
I am not too sure if any of you have experience with this string, some of you may have, if you have please post what you thought of the string, below is my personal opinion of the string, as you know, different people will have different opinions on a particular string. heheheh

I had a packet of Signum Pro Poly Plasma for a while, my previous experience with Signum products is Signum Pro Tornado and Signum Hyperion I use to buy reels of both, as I enjoyed hitting with them. The other day I broke 3 strings while playing a match with some youngster....(banyak rugi that day....lucky I win in straight set, other days sure kena ketuk one) Anyway I was looking to fool around with some other string, I was looking at Pacific X force 16 and Solinco's Tour Bite....I had no luck sourcing Pacific X force, and luckily heheheeh thanks to mr.vobs I secured a packet of Solinco's Tour Bite.

Now I had 3 rackets to string......
I strung 1 k6.1 tour with Signum Pro Poly Plasma at 50lbs, another K6.1 tour with Solinco's Tour Bite at 48lbs, the other I strung with Signum Pro Tornado 17G at 45lbs (this is my preferred tension)

Yesterday the sun was shining ....the birds were singing...and I was smiling.....
First of I have been using K6.1 tour with Signum Pro Tornado for at least 1 solid year, this is my go to stick, I always use this as a reference.

Ok first up, Signum Pro Poly Plasma...the color of the string was something like a neon orange, looked kinda cool in my blacked out K6.1. Ok time to hit the courts, when I first hit the ball I was very surprised, this string looked like it had potential.

Groundstrokes: My initial 30 mins with the string were decent at best, the spin coming off the racket was slightly below what Tornado could do, however the power behind the shot Poly Plasma came up ahead, for people with arm issue's I THINK Tornado is softer than Poly Plasma, but Poly Plamsa the hitting of the ball is crsiper, which I liked alot.

Serves: This is where I don't like this string.....I was expecting to produce some power coz on the groundstrokes this string was kickin ass....on the serves it just wasn't clicking at all..... :-/

Volleys: BWAHAHA this is where this strings SHINE, volleys were crisp, and solid, I could feel the balls on my racket, touch shots were Oooii LA LA LA!!!

Ok now to see this setup in a match, I played 2 set of doubles with this, overall I like this string ALOT, I have learnt , now that I have used this string for 3 days that it is playing better....serves are starting to pick up. I decided to get a reel of this stuff and experiment with the tension, I think something along the lines between 42-48lbs I should hit my sweet spot.

Solinco Tour Bite.
Not easy to string make sure your grommets are wide, coz this string is SQUARE....try fitting that in something shaped 'O'...LOL

Also for 16G the string looks awfully thick, I take some callipers to measure them later on.....

Strung on K6.1 tour at 48lbs.

Groundstrokes: Spin reproduction was very good, 8.5/10, this string is not as soft as Tecnifibre Blackcode, but its quite close, it's not as crisp as Signum Pro Poly Plasma,feel was decent at best.If you are using this string, hahaha use new balls and see the 'LINES' on the balls after you hit the ball...lol, I killed 2 tubes of balls within 30 hour....logo on the ball 'disappeared'.

Serves: OMG!!! This string SHINES on serves, bwhahahahah kick serves (9.5/10) for me easily reach 6 feet,without trying...this weekend if I manage to get a HD camera I will take video, flat serves were 7.5/10....Power was decent.

Volleys: I only got 5 mins of volleying with this setup as more tennis kaki arrived and they wanted to play match ASAP.

I have NOT played a match with this yet,sorry.
Will update you guys.
All in all I am a happy with my experiment.

If you have any questions or like to share you experience with any strings please feel free to share!
Thanks!
praetorian
post Oct 20 2010, 04:19 PM

866 posts

WOOOI klboy blackcode review done ages ago!!! Use the search button!!! HHEHEH
praetorian
post Oct 20 2010, 04:27 PM

866 posts

.........your nick klboy89 some more.....must be born 1989.....cilaka.....how can you be old like unkle prae....HOW?!!!

You bapa just got 3rd APDGT for you again.......sienzzzz :-p.....
KNNN klboy kuat tipu....CTO3 never help buy burger.........I die of starvation......:-(

Later this week I post full review of Solinco Tour Bite k.

praetorian
post Oct 22 2010, 08:34 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(k3vin82 @ Oct 22 2010, 08:31 AM)
Feel Dunlop fort is hard when fresh off the can then after maybe 5 min of hitting it feels like us open edi. I feel us open is nice off the can. I also like head ATP balls but kinda pricey. Alot of felt. Banyak bulu. Just bought a few to test.
Which Dunlop are you talking about, kev? Dunlop Fort (I heard these are no longer in production but I may be wrong) or Dunlop Fort Elite?US Open is ok, but doesn't last me a set,good balls for coaching though.
praetorian
post Oct 22 2010, 09:40 AM

866 posts

wooi please don't say guru.....lah unless GURU CINTA! ;-p......
Sorry man I have not used Point balls before, the hardest ball that does not ever go soft is Tretorn balls.....these balls were well and truly hard.....if you survived getting hit by Tretorn balls at the net you will survive anything.

Added on October 22, 2010, 9:43 am
QUOTE(k3vin82 @ Oct 22 2010, 09:38 AM)
Prae, old dunlop fort.. i still have a few more.. the dunlop fort elite is ok.. feels better off the can..

Added on October 22, 2010, 9:39 amSo what balls u currently using prae? Coaching arent u supposed to use trainers.. if use usopen .. pokai la..
Depend on what level you are if truly beginner than user trainer...but say if can hit a bit may be NTRP 2.5-3.5 I use good US Open balls, students no need to adjust as 'trainer' balls are just to soft, no point hitting well with trainer balls , then when play match use normal balls, KAPUT.....later I kena ear thrashing so I tend to oblige my students leh, small cost to pay if you have many students, who are happy with the extra service.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by praetorian: Oct 22 2010, 09:43 AM
praetorian
post Oct 22 2010, 09:46 AM

866 posts

Yhhaa thats the one in a box, no need in a pressurised can hehehe, last time in a square box , now I think can new packaging....

Link to tretorn:
http://blog.tretorn.com/Tretorn-tennis-heritage

praetorian
post Oct 22 2010, 10:09 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(angel-ice @ Oct 22 2010, 10:00 AM)
if u guys want treton, u can ask karom

i hav also tested this treton ball last time

length of ball life is very high, oni the furs r not durable as the ball's life

@prae, i've hit a dead end in my playing style la. the usual players that i'm up against can easily counter my shots. need to add more playing style

@kev, 4got to tell you, i've bank in the money d. Thanks for the help`
Wah like that karom is a pro then, use this ball not easy sial, its light and fast, if playing on cement court sure kena 20-30 aces one, good for training your strokes forces you to prepare early, if serve and volley, even better......if slow sure kena black & blue one x-p, naturally the felt on the ball kena last lah, lol

aiyoh angel don't worry, I would not say to add another playing style, MAYBE the players you are playing with are comfortable with your ball speed, if you can practice hitting harder, or add more spin or junk (weird spin, like side,top/spin together) make them feel uncomfortable, and yes you can try another style to! Serve and volley, don't give up lah... you are LOWYAT TENNIS KAKI!!! MANA Boleh.......our geng sure will help one, need to know your time/schedule first lah.

QUOTE(tiangkim @ Oct 22 2010, 10:01 AM)
wauu...... last time used to be in purple box.... at least 15yrs ago last saw this!!! now the hometown shop also closed more thn 10yrs aldy...

i heard they use this a lot in clay court....

hit until complete botak or months also hard like rock...
Yep thats the one lol good memory :-p

praetorian
post Oct 22 2010, 03:10 PM

866 posts

OOOPS!!!!
No lah not open new can PER session......later I give the wrong impression I 'print' money!!! VERY FAR from the truth, I have 2 ball hoppers 1 is filled with 'trainer' the other with US Open balls......I change the balls MAYBE every 15-20 sessions, depends on the condition of the balls, if they need to be change, change loh...BUT NOT every session .....please.....if I have access to KL ball prices.....then can consider :-p J/k

wah vobs you become Solinco dealer!!! drool.gif
Got price for reels or not :-p

Just to let potential buyers know, I have had multiple good transaction with bro vobs, from KL to East Malaysia, I can get the barang2 the NEXT day....very efficient! Highly recommended! rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by praetorian: Oct 22 2010, 03:13 PM

14 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0408sec    1.02    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:08 AM