Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V7, News: VIP20, free instalation till 31/12
Sep 10 2010, 12:41 AM
195 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
No V7?
Sep 11 2010, 01:18 PM
The RVS4000 supports VLAN management and PPPoE but it doesn't support PPPoE over VLAN AFAIK. It can only be used as a switch for Unifi, much like the RB250GS or the Procurve.
Sep 11 2010, 01:36 PM
QUOTE(billytong @ Sep 11 2010, 01:21 PM) Do you have any suggestion of router for pppoe over vlan? or these thing doesnt exist? dd-wrt will work with pppoe over vlan but IPTV support is a hit or miss. I've heard some people managed to get iptv + pppoe over vlans working on the same dd-wrt router (linksys) but you have to find that particular unit which is outdated by todays standards (200mhz proc + 8mb ram).Really want a router like 615 with pppoe + vlan. QUOTE(alexjaya @ Sep 11 2010, 01:30 PM) If it's only going to used as a bridge, why now just use a normal 5port switch, with 2 routers? I don't think you need to hook up a 5 port switch the Huawei BTU if you want to attach two vlan-aware routers to it. This is only needed for the Fiberhome BTU as it has port locking. You can do this of course but you're still relying on the DIR-615 for IPTV. Using a separate unit for bridging allows you to ditch the DIR-615 completely so it's up to you really 1 router just for IPTV (provided my TM) 1 router, you can pick ur own fav model which supports DD-WRT. DD-WRT supports PPPoE and VLAN Tagging. Currently i'm doing this, since the 3 mentioned models above can't dail a PPPoE then what's the benefit of it? With the Fiberhome, this is a problem for some people as they have to keep 4 devices powered on. The challenge here was looking for a device which could easily replace the DIR-615 on any BTU model while using 3 devices at most. QUOTE(mamakap @ Sep 11 2010, 01:22 PM) If I'm not wrong the Huawei HG850e can connect directly with the RVS4000 as PPPoE but the IPTV will not work with this kind of configuration, am I right? Uh I'm not sure what you mean |
Sep 13 2010, 02:50 AM
QUOTE(mystiquemaya @ Sep 13 2010, 01:59 AM) Hi all, The disconnection with duplicate user/pass logins was added as a security feature during one of their upgrades a few months back. If someone else is using your user/pass, you will experience disconnections but I doubt this is your problem. If you suspect that this is the case however, you should ask them to change your PPPoE password for you.Need help again. My pppoe connection keeps disconnecting. Have tested with Buffalo WHR-300N and DIR-615. Called TM and they said no connection was detected. Have also tried re-entering Unifi pwd in both router's admin panel but still doesn't work. This happened before and all TM did was replace the hUawei btu and dir-615 although they were working fine. A technician even said that the connection keep disconnecting because my id n pwd clashes with another user. Is that even possible?? Would appreciate if anyone who had similar problem can share their experience and how to solve this. Tq! QUOTE(crittertoo @ Sep 13 2010, 02:11 AM) knowing unifi ppl..two similar ids are possible (but very remote)...but 2 ids with the same password? come on...we are not STUPID!!!! It could be that someone has broken into the DIR-615 and extracted certain details from the unit to perform a duplicate logon (which is very easy to do). A lot of stupid things have been happening on the Unifi network these past two weeks so I wouldn't rule it out completely.This post has been edited by rizvanrp: Sep 13 2010, 02:54 AM |
Sep 14 2010, 08:06 PM
Sep 19 2010, 09:46 PM
QUOTE(akerue @ Sep 19 2010, 09:28 PM) Is the IPTV STB user specific or generic? If it is generic, any members who doesn't care about IPTV I wouldn't mind to buy 1 extra from you. I would like to place one downstairs for my parents to watch. A bit of both.. they utilize the MAC address of the unit for some security features and I remember it used to cause a lot of problems back in early April during my install. |
Sep 20 2010, 01:54 PM
QUOTE(akerue @ Sep 19 2010, 10:33 PM) So, does it mean that i can't just buy 1 from friend and run both under 1 account? I am serious to get a 2nd unit but TM is not selling it even if I am willing to buy. I'm not too sure about that. The main IPTV streams themselves don't require any authentication but if I recall the RTSP streams for VOD and the content selection menus always send out the device MAC address + username + pass. If TM is enforcing a strict policy, you will not be able to dual login with two STBs. Even if they've kept it open however, it would be very easy for them to block.As suggested by others, you should try it for yourself but I'm pretty sure they would have/will eventually lock it down as it would allow for users to share accounts. |
Sep 20 2010, 05:53 PM
@akerue
Eh, forgot to mention that running two STBs means you'll only be able to watch 1 HD channel or 2 SD channels at a time due to bandwidth limitations. |
Sep 21 2010, 03:51 PM
@akerue
I did the testing on my Fiberhome with the RB250GS before recommending it. I was torrenting at 2.5MB/s while streaming HD and VOD content on the IPTV STB without any jerking. It was actually smoother than using the DIR-615 when switching between channels. The RB250GS is perfectly capable of handling 1mbps/8mbps IPTV streams |
Sep 22 2010, 12:38 PM
QUOTE(zuiichi @ Sep 22 2010, 12:15 PM) anyone having disconnection when hosting online games? Are you using the DIR-615 router w/ TM firmware?i host online game,then my client starting to dc 1 by 1. maybe not all.. but there will be.always be. i tried speedtest.net, the meter maintain 1.5-2mb, but when its finish, it went str8 to some big numbers..while i only use VIP5. >.< here's some example. ![]() tried to use other laptop/pc in the house. same thing. (cause i tot maybe virus) any comments/recommendations sifus? (using default router/switch/modem given by TM) QUOTE(izanee @ Sep 22 2010, 09:24 AM) Hi there, Your custom router (WRT45G) will be connected through the WAN port and the DIR-615 will not be 'aware' of it or the internet connection in this configuration. If you keep the wifi on, you will only be able to access its web UI config page @ 192.168.1.1 without any internet access.I've just installed my unifi vip5. I am planning to use 2 routers (dlink connected to my wrt45grouter) i have found the guide in athena but therethay said after bridging i should turn off the wifi function on dlink. "It's also best to disable the wifi capabilities of the DIR-615 as they wont be needed anymore (Setup -> Wireless Setup -> Multiple Wireless Network Name Setup)." The question is can i leave both wifi function on both routers on? This is because my second router is only wireless g. Pls help |
Sep 30 2010, 06:23 PM
QUOTE(joeaggas @ Sep 30 2010, 05:18 PM) Mr. Oreomambo, If you're behind NAT you're already considered pretty safe. Just block traffic from the WAN side for any services on your router (web UI, ssh, etc.) along with RFC1918 (private subnet) source IP traffic from the Internet. Normally for Linux firewall setups I go with a whitelisting setup rather than blacklisting. Allowing related + established TCP and UDP connections along with ICMP echo replies, everything else is blocked.Talking about beefing http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Protecting_your_customers After applying these rules, the downloading of torrent files from famous sites were a little harder, only magnet linking works fine. Anything u might want recommend to filter? regards J |
Oct 1 2010, 08:32 PM
QUOTE(huyified @ Oct 1 2010, 04:23 PM) Guys i wonder if we can combine few unifi accounts together into one line ? Lets say if i signed up for 2 Vip 5, can i somehow merge them together and have the download speed to be a total of 1 MB/s ? QUOTE(billytong @ Oct 1 2010, 05:21 PM) It's possible, FTTH should be able to scale up to 90-100mbps with a few accounts over a single line. One of the early methods to uncapping Unifi was to bond multiple PPP interfaces using the same account.. which is how I used to get 100mbps |
Oct 2 2010, 06:30 PM
QUOTE(richard912 @ Oct 2 2010, 12:13 PM) The DIR 615 comes with 1 year's warranty so, free exchange during warranty period. With such high failure rate, I believe it is highly likely that TM could eventually use refurbished sets for warranty replacements Eventually? I replaced my DIR-615 around May and they gave me a refurbished set (with previous Unifi user's pppoe login/pass intact) |
Oct 3 2010, 09:28 AM
QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Oct 3 2010, 12:01 AM) i also can't seem to login into operator account of the DIR-615 with firmware 7.05B... with 7.05B? Screenshot please?Username : operator Password : telekom Username : operator Password : <your Unifi username in reverse order> unifi username in reverse order means if my username is abc123@unifi.. then its ifinu@321cba? |
Oct 3 2010, 09:54 AM
QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Oct 3 2010, 09:48 AM) It seems that this is a G2 unit also.. pics attached.. I can't get full settings for it without operator account... It seems pretty stable... It seems that TM has finally upgraded their router to the DIR-615 G2 rev + 7.05B firmware then.. something that I have no experience with at the moment. If you want me to grab the operator account/peek around it for you, I'd need a physical unit to experiment around with.My IPTV Live TV not working, it's showing a x satellite icon.. is it because of the homeplug showing amber LED(more than 30mbps, less than 85mbps)...? But VOD and other things are working fine though... Please help me find out the operator account for this new version of DIR-615.. thanks.. |
Oct 3 2010, 10:13 AM
Oct 6 2010, 07:27 PM
QUOTE(blindbox @ Oct 6 2010, 12:35 PM) If someone could disassemble the D-Link router, plug into the serial port (usually just checking the layout and chips used is enough) and check the actual hardware revision, then we will know for real if G2 would work or not. I have all the hardware to do that.. but sadly I don't have a G2 router to play with :3 The FCC documents for the G2 rev are not out yet on their site AFAIK so no internal shots yet. |
Oct 6 2010, 10:28 PM
Oct 6 2010, 10:34 PM
FYI I'm on FTTH with wired LAN.
QUOTE Pinging 58.6.13.3 with 32 bytes of data: Reply from 58.6.13.3: bytes=32 time=62ms TTL=53 Reply from 58.6.13.3: bytes=32 time=60ms TTL=53 Reply from 58.6.13.3: bytes=32 time=62ms TTL=53 Reply from 58.6.13.3: bytes=32 time=63ms TTL=53 Ping statistics for 58.6.13.3: Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss), Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds: Minimum = 60ms, Maximum = 63ms, Average = 61ms |
Oct 9 2010, 07:12 PM