6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V4, Please read FAQ at 1st page!!

kmrdeva
post Sep 24 2010, 11:19 AM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(ansonliew @ Sep 24 2010, 11:12 AM)
I read everything already but still i dun get the difference between a flashed and rooted phone and an only flashed phone...can anyone enlighten me?  rclxms.gif
Put it simply, flashing just upgrades your firmware. It's a different thing compared to rooting. Rooting allows you full access to all the deeper levels of the phone and you will then be able to install and use apps that need root to work (e.g. Titanium Backup, AutoKiller, AdFree, MarketAccess, ClockSync, SetCPU).

Let me try to summarize:

Flashing - imagine updating from WinXP SP2 to SP3 (however, on the SGS, you lose all installed apps and data)

Rooting - imagine you suddenly have the administrator access/password to your XP (assuming you have only a normal user account before that)

BTW, don't stress yourself out worrying too much about this. If you're not sure, don't root.

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Sep 24 2010, 11:23 AM
kmrdeva
post Sep 24 2010, 11:46 AM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(ansonliew @ Sep 24 2010, 11:27 AM)
i see  smile.gif

but wat can i change after rooting my phone? any sources or website that shows wat we can customize after rooting?

and which is the best custom ROM to use for rooting?

Thanks in advance  biggrin.gif
Once rooted, you can run all the apps or utilities that require root access (I've given some examples in my previous post, Google the app names to find out what they do).

You don't actually need a custom ROM to enable rooting.

kmrdeva
post Sep 24 2010, 12:45 PM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(ansonliew @ Sep 24 2010, 12:37 PM)
Alright bro thanks  biggrin.gif

Would appreciate very much if there's a topic on apps or themes for rooted phone  rclxms.gif
I believe a number of other forums have discussions on these things.

http://android.modaco.com/category/434/sam...s-s-modaco-com/

http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=656

You just need to be more diligent and spare some time to scour the net i.e. do your research.

kmrdeva
post Sep 25 2010, 05:32 PM

4,790 posts

Am I the only person who finds all this endless Desire vs SGS comparisons to be non-productive? I had thought that this thread was for discussing SGS issues, tweaks/fixes and news..
kmrdeva
post Sep 26 2010, 09:59 AM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(Cyclone1 @ Sep 26 2010, 09:33 AM)
Remind me thru gmail? haha.. i rarely login into my gmail tongue.gif
Prefer remind me wif alarm =(
I have an additional calendar called 'contacts birthdays and events' enabled in my gmail, which gets sync'ed over to my phone. So, in the calendar app and on gmail calendar, I can see the birthdays of my contacts (i.e. contacts with birthday dates).

However, at this current time, no reminder feature. sad.gif

kmrdeva
post Sep 26 2010, 02:53 PM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(718293 @ Sep 26 2010, 01:52 PM)
Hello,sgs noob here,what is the samsung software we use to update the fw?
Welcome, please read the first post of this thread, there are loads of useful info there.

Added on September 26, 2010, 2:54 pm
QUOTE(SGSuser @ Sep 26 2010, 02:24 PM)
2 months now and I'm still on stock firmware of JF4 waiting for official galaxy s froyo sad.gif
Look on the bright side, you'll just have to wait another month plus for it.

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Sep 26 2010, 02:54 PM
kmrdeva
post Sep 26 2010, 04:26 PM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(holypredator @ Sep 26 2010, 04:03 PM)
I heard SE asia would be around end of december ...
So much for the 1 month plus ei???
and when december finaly comes ... they would say febuary only release...
Not sure about the SEA release, I am actually eagerly waiting for an official Froyo release (any region will do). Using UGJH2 (Canadian, I think) right now.
kmrdeva
post Sep 27 2010, 06:07 AM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(RoMa_84 @ Sep 27 2010, 03:44 AM)
Have anyone here tried buying apps from www.appbucket.net? The promo of $9.99/year seems too good to be true.

And how about appbrain? Did anyone buy any apps from there before?
Not sure about appbucket.net but I use appbrain. Appbrain just manages what I've installed and also gives me better ways to find and update apps - in the end, it still takes me back to the Android Market to install/buy stuff. OK for me since my phone is rooted and I have MarketAccess installed to emulate US SIM.

kmrdeva
post Sep 27 2010, 04:13 PM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(tesoon @ Sep 27 2010, 04:08 PM)
no need root also can get paid apps
Without rooting, can 'Get' or 'Buy'?
kmrdeva
post Sep 27 2010, 04:24 PM

4,790 posts

Must be the 80-20 rule. 20% of Android users pay for apps, encouraging further development of the platform. The other 80% use free apps or 'freed' (ahem) apps.
kmrdeva
post Sep 27 2010, 05:39 PM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Sep 27 2010, 05:30 PM)
I think for those who have already rooted and is using Market Access app, the local SIM card can be overwritten (not emulate) to T-mobile operator identification.
You're probably right there. Works very well, though.
kmrdeva
post Sep 27 2010, 11:23 PM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(ameeru_aniki @ Sep 27 2010, 10:32 PM)
Lol, I know how to fake the provider, what I wanna know is how to keep the fake provider in our sim
Why do you want to keep the fake provider in your sim? I know that MarketAccess has the option to enable emulation at boot, but currently I only emulate when I wanna buy apps.

Added on September 27, 2010, 11:31 pm
QUOTE(onelove89 @ Sep 27 2010, 10:36 PM)
anyways, i'm new to the concept of rooting. so basically rooting in a way is equal to jailbreaking in iphone? any bricking incidence?
I think rooting an Android phone is similar to jailbreaking an iOS phone, but not 100% sure as I've never actually owned an iOS device before.

Bricking incidents? Plenty, in my experience. Just today, I bricked my SGS about 3-4 times but I only needed to boot into download mode to re-apply firmware (i.e. very light bricking, perhaps..).

Was trying to ditch JH2 firmware with Voodoo Lagfix 3.0 (noticing high batt consumption since I loaded VL) and go to JM8 firmware with OCLF 2.1.2, messed up a number of times before I got things right (itchy backside, didn't read instructions before attempting f/w and lagfix change).. smile.gif

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Sep 27 2010, 11:33 PM
kmrdeva
post Sep 28 2010, 03:37 PM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(hoganefi @ Sep 28 2010, 03:33 PM)
Looking for apps that can hide certain sms. Anything good to recommend?
I think Handcent can do this.
kmrdeva
post Sep 28 2010, 03:46 PM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(hoganefi @ Sep 28 2010, 03:41 PM)
Already tried Handcent but it still appear in the Mesaging. Any settings to do?
I think Handcent can only protect the whole message database with a password or PIN, which can also protect the default Messaging app. Not sure what app can actually hide/protect specific messages, sorry.
kmrdeva
post Sep 28 2010, 05:17 PM

4,790 posts

A sudden thought just came to me.. Has anyone tried flashing Galaxy Tab's (P1000) firmware on his/her Galaxy S (i9000)?
kmrdeva
post Sep 28 2010, 05:38 PM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(areankim @ Sep 28 2010, 05:26 PM)
that is suicidal

no way it's going to work that way.
The fear is strong, but the curiosity is powerful too.. Hmm, should I risk it with my RM2599 baby?
kmrdeva
post Sep 28 2010, 05:55 PM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(lOrDjAbU @ Sep 28 2010, 05:50 PM)
anyone using custom roms?
If you mean custom as in on top of normal firmware, yes, I am running Tayutama 1.1 on top of JM8 (rooted and running voodoo lagfix, the JM8 standard kernel one, not supercurio's custom kernel). Not liking it too much, am thinking to remove Tayutama now after barely 2 days of using it.

Added on September 28, 2010, 5:57 pm
QUOTE(Crossover @ Sep 28 2010, 05:52 PM)
If brick... sent back for waranty
My blackberry is dead so I am a bit too afraid to mess around too much with my current primary phone, the SGS.

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Sep 28 2010, 05:57 PM
kmrdeva
post Sep 28 2010, 06:13 PM

4,790 posts

Whoa, scary.. Gave it a go, tried flashing the Galaxy Tab's firmware (P1000OXAJI5) on my SGS, with ODIN 1.3 and 20100803 PIT file. Flashing itself completed successfully, but bootup was screwed.. Lines all over the screen, didn't successfully boot up to the OS.

Hehe, back to JM8 now. biggrin.gif
kmrdeva
post Sep 28 2010, 09:13 PM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(bwfc @ Sep 28 2010, 06:51 PM)
Wah! you very brave! Guys like you will make it to Mars one day!!! I tabik you!
Ha ha yes i'll make it to mars, but likely forget my oxygen tank..
kmrdeva
post Sep 28 2010, 09:17 PM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(Crossover @ Sep 28 2010, 07:01 PM)
u tried flash with 512? cos some froyo fw flashed with 512 like JPK

from most of the member here, seem like if brick ur phone, bring to SC, they will just replace it for u
Aiya, didn't try with the 512 pit. Too late now, i'm back in the safe arms of jm8..

But seriously, in my experience, it's very hard to irreversibly brick the SGS. I've always managed to boot back into either recovery or download mode, even when I screwed up with supercurio's voodoo lagfix (i.e. forgot to undo before flashing new firmware, phone will be stuck at the S logo, just need to boot into recovery and wipe the phone data). Based on that, I had decided to try flashing to Galaxy Tab firmware.

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Sep 28 2010, 09:35 PM

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0304sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:56 AM