4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V4, Please read FAQ at 1st page!!

Jason
post Sep 22 2010, 02:37 PM

6,354 posts

i disabled "Use 2G networks only" (means its on 3G) and battery consumption went up a lot.. this is with no background process/apps running, and not using the phone except for a voice call lasting less than 10 minutes and less than 20 sms..
Jason
post Sep 22 2010, 02:39 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(awintz @ Sep 22 2010, 02:38 PM)
guys.....

if i've installed OCLF and would like to get voodoo instead.....is it compulsory to uninstall the OCLF or just can replace the update.zip
open the OCLF app, undo Lagfix.. after that..uninstall the ext2 tools.. after that you can do the voodoo lagfix..
you can keep OCLF app installed and keep your root.

but you MUST undo the OCLF lagfix.

Added on September 22, 2010, 2:40 pm
QUOTE(guppy @ Sep 22 2010, 02:39 PM)
ok. and your point is...? smile.gif
the crap battery life on 3G network, even when it is not used for data (background data & autosync off) is it the same for you guys?

This post has been edited by Jason: Sep 22 2010, 02:40 PM
Jason
post Sep 22 2010, 02:44 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(guppy @ Sep 22 2010, 02:43 PM)
Yes, 3G with or without an active data connection still needs more power from the radio just to hook on to a 3G signal. Frankly speaking, all my previous 3G phones had terrible battery life. Just gotta lower your expectations.
thanks for the feedback, I'm depressed cause my Nokia N82 and iPhone 3GS hooked on 3G signal had better battery life.. sigh.
Jason
post Sep 22 2010, 07:14 PM

6,354 posts

http://www.dialtosave.co.uk/blog/2010/09/2...update-delayed/

seems like official froyo 2.2 has been confirmed to be delayed in Spain and India... wonder if it affects Asia..
Jason
post Sep 23 2010, 12:42 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Sep 23 2010, 11:31 AM)
Samsung has promised to update the Froyo in August when it 1st released. Then it got delay to Sept, and now Oct... what do u think? can we just accept samsung to make empty promises just because of the past?

it's like u dont mind someone to cheat u because u know he is a good cheater..
exactly. we love our phone but we are NOT stupid, WTF Samsung keep lying to us. cannot deliver say cannot deliver lah. go around making big hoo-haa and say Aug, then Sept, then Oct.. they must think we're stupid. in this regards, Apple shines, cause they deliver most of the time. judging from track record Samsung really thinks their customer is stupid

there's no point calling Malaysia Samsung SC. But I did message to Samsung via their official twitter and facebook.

good, continue spamming their official twitter and facebook, in fact should put it in FAQ so all of us owners go spam it

i bet none really unhappy with the phone, but unhappy with they way Samsung treat their customers. and is it wrong to post the non satisfaction here? in a forum?
we want info from Samsung on where they are right now. Do u get any official words from them on what they are doing? this is the biggest problem why people complaining!
it's a public place. u can choose what u want to read and what u dont. it's not we're writing it right at ur FB or website or blog or at ur wall house.
I just cant stand people trying to act like super duper ultra moderator.  cool2.gif
correcto.. Samsung thinks we are stupid..give us empty promises and lies. oh they have shit customer service too.
Jason
post Sep 23 2010, 04:31 PM

6,354 posts

if they say december and release it in october..we'll be happy.. if they do it the other way around.. we wont be happy
Jason
post Sep 23 2010, 11:59 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(bunnymaker @ Sep 23 2010, 11:57 PM)
Not sure if you guys know this already, but there's a way to transfer files >4GB. Need KIES to connect the phone, then only drag & drop into My Computer>Portable Device (GTi9000).

I managed to transfer a 7.94GB mkv movie 720p, but somewhere along the way, the encoding screwed up. sleep.gif Got picture, no sound!!!  doh.gif

Has anyone tried transferring files larger than 4GB but with no problems (ie, can watch/hear)?
isn't the 4GB a filesystem limitation? FAT limitation?
Jason
post Sep 24 2010, 10:50 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Sep 24 2010, 01:20 AM)
I bought my SGS from Maxis without contract at RM2599 a couple of months back. Am a Digi Smart Plan user so I decided to spend more money instead of changing to a Maxis Stupid Plan user.. tongue.gif
ouch, don't la say like that. i went from DiGi plan to Maxis Stupid Plan, cause no choice lah, no $$ bullets to fire off one shot.

QUOTE(angel-girl @ Sep 24 2010, 09:30 AM)
JM7+voodoo 4.0

from yesterday 8am till now 9.30am

battery left 70%

wifi for 2 hours(facebooking) play N.O.V.A (30mins) ,Gangstar(10mins),psgame (pokemon-an hour)

i m satisfy with tis rom!!!
i assume you are on 2G networks only?
Jason
post Sep 24 2010, 11:17 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(angel-girl @ Sep 24 2010, 10:51 AM)
nop!i din make any changes and still can vidoe call biggrin.gif
that is impressive.. on 3G standby alone with minimal phone calls and and SMS only..no games, no sync.. i can't last more than 2 days! how long you have your SGS already? they say need to charge the phone a few times to reach optimal battery performance..
Jason
post Sep 24 2010, 04:01 PM

6,354 posts

OCLF lagfix generally 2xxx.. voodoo 17xx
Jason
post Sep 24 2010, 04:07 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(jujx @ Sep 24 2010, 04:05 PM)
Try it yourself then you know.

OCLF lag BADLY while installing apps

Voodoo provides me almost no lag for everyday usage
on the contrary.. OCLF doesn't lag when I scroll my home screen between shortcuts and the touchwiz widget
voodoo lags when i do that..

i never really noticed installation times..
Jason
post Sep 24 2010, 09:55 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(lOrDjAbU @ Sep 24 2010, 09:53 PM)
Wanna know.
Swype that came pre-installed is free right?
Not some crappy trial right?
Would love to use it, like forever.
Btw, how to update swype?
swype with our phone is free full version.
update..i dunno..

btw.. when you flash firmware do you lose the apps installed? or swype?
Jason
post Sep 25 2010, 02:13 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(holypredator @ Sep 25 2010, 11:15 AM)
1. Agree
2. what you mean by WAAAYYyy?? HTC desire is already updated to 2.2 .... both is equal as multi-touch doesnt seem to indicate much ... both running 1GHZ also...(Bare in mind Galaxy S is currently having lag issues somore)
3. Agree
4. Thats not what other reviewers on the net says.... i wonder if you actualy know about camera quality or you are just prejudicing?
5. Agree
6. Agree
7. no comment
8. I prefer holding the Desire... at least it have a solid feel... the 15g isnt that much to be considered as heavy
9. It seems like a draw to me when i put the SGS with my fren desire next to each other running the same game..
Overall .... there are 4 agreeable factors.. (close to your 5x better opinion)
But Desire has its pros to counter back too..

1. Physical Buttons...
2. Higher RAM
3. Solid build
4. a cool UI that doesnt make your phone looks like an iphone ripoff
5. cheaper than the galaxy S
6. Better GPS .. (God damn.. i almost wanted to throw my SGS when the desire locked on to GPS already and the SGS still blinking that shit icon)

I left out an after-sales service factor because i dont know if it could be considered since desired firmware updates seems promising with constant customer update on the upcoming firmware.
As for now... the Desire actualy IS a better option... having 2 extra factors which is an advantage over the galaxy S.. But as far as i know, when the new firmware for Galaxy S is out.... it would definately beat the crap out of the Desire in terms of performance in anyway...
I dont know if i regret choosing the galaxy S anot... but i dont have a choice right now since i already bought it (and i dont want to sell it off just to buy a new desire... then... the value of it wouldn't be there anymore)
I just hope Samsung give a promising FIX and Updates on the Firmwares also giving the end users their froyo within the specific time frame....

Who knows?? when samsung finaly comes out with froyo.... others already using gingerbread.... doh.gif
2. multi touch on SGS is SUPERIOR, hardware level, nothing Froyo or any sweet dessert can save the HTC Desire
http://www.careace.net/2010/05/24/samsung-...ire-multitouch/

8. Solid feel? SGS is very solid, no creaks, doesn't feel loose. Weight savings is an advantage.
9. Yeah try running Kwaak 3 and see how the Desire crawls

1. Physical buttons, this I can agree
3. Tell me how SGS is not solidly built
4. LancherPro, we're buying an Android, not iPhone, we're not stuck with the UI
5. You get what you pay for. 4" Super Amoled baby
6. I've got no GPS problems. But yes, let's hope sammy fix this

let me add one
7. no lagging issue that requires lagfix!
Desire is not a better option, in fact, specification wise its a step down.

This post has been edited by Jason: Sep 25 2010, 02:13 PM
Jason
post Sep 25 2010, 06:40 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Sep 25 2010, 05:40 PM)
One fella just mention to me that AMOLED consumes more power with white backgrounds. I wonder if theres even any truth in it?  hmm.gif
according to xda forums its true. black = not lit, doesn't consume power.
Jason
post Sep 28 2010, 11:13 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(tesoon @ Sep 27 2010, 04:02 PM)
is must go samsung service centre repairing, samsung offering 2 year warrenty .. last week i boguht from maxis .. after that i found out the sgs will keep restarting... then next day i go back maxis center ask for replacing a new phone .. not even 24 hour....  they reject... and call me go samsung service Center...

and finally i go samsung service center then they took 1 day to replacing my mother board ... too bad get defect item =(
how to get 2 year warranty?
Jason
post Sep 30 2010, 03:29 PM

6,354 posts

i've got Pandora running on my Galaxy S. I feel good biggrin.gif
Jason
post Sep 30 2010, 07:08 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(KH Cheah @ Sep 30 2010, 06:12 PM)
This is where I m not clear. Is A-GPS using data or phone line? Can someone clarify please.
if you enable setting > location & security > using wireless network
then yes. its a data charge.

if its enabled, lock on GPS faster. without, slower.

Jason
post Sep 30 2010, 08:28 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Sep 30 2010, 08:19 PM)
I don't know. I only found it when Samfirmware retweet on twitter.

@gajahwhite, it can be their adrenaline shot. You might be right. Just imagine if Apple says iPhone 4 is no longer in production and they're taking a pause; everyone queue up by tonight.
not tonight, they will queue now smile.gif the iphone crowd is crazy i tell you.
luckily we are still sane... hahaha rclxms.gif

the phone should go crazy serving us, not us going crazy over the phone. cause we are the master. i love my SGS.
Jason
post Oct 1 2010, 02:13 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(jujx @ Oct 1 2010, 02:12 PM)
I would recommend Voodoo rather than OCLF
having used both, i would recommend voodoo as well. but if you are really noob..and your phone don't have 3 button recovery mode..use OCLF.
i use OCLF for root, and voodoo for lagfix.
Jason
post Oct 1 2010, 02:25 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Oct 1 2010, 02:19 PM)
If you don't have the 3 button recovery mode, how did you root with OCLF? If I remember correctly, the root feature of OCLF creates an update.zip in the sdcard that you need to 'apply' via recovery mode bootup..
you are right. i forgot about that. if you don't have 3 button recovery mode you are screwed. LOL.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0518sec    0.92    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:45 PM