Maxis The Official Maxis FTTH Thread, Maxis FTTH launched 1st Sep 2010!

danieltay
post Jun 21 2012, 12:37 AM

209 posts

I am about to install the maxis home fiber 10Mbps this coming July... but is thinking twice now.

Found out in the maxis forum the thomson tg784n router is problematic... it gets overheat frequently and can never be solved... and it could happened every hour or so

Furthermore, I read the upload speed could have problem as well. I am doing a website and need to update the site daily.

So I need you guys advice... currently I am using streamyx 1Mbps

Should I take up the maxis home fiber 10Mbps?

The installer already made appointment with me this coming July.

So please give me your advice.
danieltay
post Jun 21 2012, 01:51 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Jun 21 2012, 01:17 AM)
oh dear..i don't know why you guys are mumbling & grumbling about the Thomson router..I've been using it 24x7 for the past 15 months running fullspeed at 6Mbps...seriously, i don't recall when was the last time I turned it off!  And it wasn't placed in an openair desk or something, it sits inside a cabinet (w/o a door though)...
You can check the maxis forum... not one but many having problems with it... it's as bad as having problem every hour or so... maybe you got a different model... is yours thomson 784n?

how frequent do you use it? more than one hour per session(the wireless i mean, not the one directly connected to your pc)

if the router is having problem, the phone cannot be used as well because it's connected to the router.... unlike unifi, it's connected to the vdsl modem

This post has been edited by danieltay: Jun 21 2012, 01:52 AM
danieltay
post Jun 21 2012, 07:20 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Jun 21 2012, 05:30 AM)
hi, Yes mine is the 784n:

Product Name:  TG784n
Software Release:  8.4.H.8

I must be one of those first batch subscribers who installed M's FTTH when they first launched it back in near end of 2010.  To be honest, I had have wifi problem when I realised more n more neighbours did the installation... As I suspected the channel conflicts, changing the wifi channel to one that hasn't been allocated helped eradicate the disconnection issue.. And I have no issue until now.  The only issue that I have with this 784n is that it doesn't save my devices' configuration in the 784n, and this is due to Mshits keep on pushing a 'refresh' back to the router I believe..  

cheers

p.s : that was wifi connection problem that I have had.. It has never overheated, not as bad as you mentioned...every equipment will generate heat, and somehow 784n last 18 mths of almost running 24*7 inside my open-cabinet..  so cheer up!
sounds good and positive to me...

but the guy in maxis forum said he changed the channel many times but it's still the same situation... another guy has his thomson router changed 3 times but no help... sound horrible

anyway, how do you change the wifi channel? will the maxis support guy help you on changing the channel?

another worrying problem is the direct download speed(no torrent or any similar site)... some of them download software from adobe and microsoft, the download speed is worst than streamyx 1Mbps, even though the test speed connection shows 10Mbps... have you encountered such issue?

btw, do you upload files often? i've to upload files daily to update my site, so it's critical... i've heard there is frequent upload file issues with unifi... since maxis is using unifi, the same problems could be replicated

is your maxis connection on high rise building or landed property? and may i know which area are you in?

This post has been edited by danieltay: Jun 21 2012, 07:55 AM
danieltay
post Jun 21 2012, 02:59 PM

209 posts

wahlau eh.... now someone saying the thomson router has weak signal... then it beats my upgrading from streamyx purpose

i am changing to maxis because i want to use the wireless with ipad

is everyone getting the weak signal from the thomson router?

mine will be in high rise buidling... how is the thomson router signal in high rise building setup?

Added on June 21, 2012, 3:02 pm
QUOTE(numbertwo @ Jun 21 2012, 05:30 AM)
hi, Yes mine is the 784n:

Product Name:  TG784n
Software Release:  8.4.H.8

I must be one of those first batch subscribers who installed M's FTTH when they first launched it back in near end of 2010.  To be honest, I had have wifi problem when I realised more n more neighbours did the installation... As I suspected the channel conflicts, changing the wifi channel to one that hasn't been allocated helped eradicate the disconnection issue.. And I have no issue until now.  The only issue that I have with this 784n is that it doesn't save my devices' configuration in the 784n, and this is due to Mshits keep on pushing a 'refresh' back to the router I believe.. 

cheers

p.s : that was wifi connection problem that I have had.. It has never overheated, not as bad as you mentioned...every equipment will generate heat, and somehow 784n last 18 mths of almost running 24*7 inside my open-cabinet..  so cheer up!
someone here mentioned weak wifi singal with the thomson router... how about yours?

you're in landed property or high rise building?

This post has been edited by danieltay: Jun 21 2012, 03:02 PM
danieltay
post Jun 21 2012, 03:23 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Jun 21 2012, 03:16 PM)
buy a ucb small fan rm15 like that, attached to the available usb ports x 2 at the router, settle. why so worry?
sorry lah, me newbie... no idea about this

how is the usb small fan look like? any photo?

best if you show us the photo with the usb fan attached to the router

danieltay
post Jun 21 2012, 04:01 PM

209 posts

okok... u guys convince me to go ahead with it

just one more tricky question(to me at least)

my vdsl modem and thomson router will be in my master bedroom as i am using my pc there...

my question is:-
1)can the dect phone place in the living room

2)what about the iptv(set top box) which someone said will be introduced in a week time? can it be placed in living room with my vdsl modem and thomson router in the master bedroom?

confused and worry leh!
danieltay
post Jun 21 2012, 04:33 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(soulseeker6187 @ Jun 21 2012, 04:05 PM)
yes, u can put the dect phone in the living room. just pull a long telephone cable from bedroom to living room.
good then, i already got a telephone cable from my bedroom to living room for my existing streamyx connection

but i guess the set top box/iptv is a tricky one... any taker on this?
danieltay
post Jun 21 2012, 05:03 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Jun 21 2012, 03:28 PM)
Just google 'How to change Wifi Channel' , Google is our best friend these days..much better than any CS from M.
cannot find wifi scanner for ipad leh... not available

so cannot scan the channel used in my surrounding areas
danieltay
post Jun 21 2012, 11:02 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(McKing @ Jun 21 2012, 05:34 PM)
Speedtest result is good. 0.9-1.0+mb. haven't tried any download yet.

1 thing though, phone set up was failed cos all phone network had problem. not sure how true is this. cs said within 24 will be fixed.
do u mean 9.0-10+Mbps?

If 0.9mbps, my streamyx better wo
danieltay
post Jun 21 2012, 11:12 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(LenGZaI85 @ Jun 21 2012, 07:25 PM)
I just got mine installed today. My Phone setup also failled. The maxis sub con guy called maxis and Maxis inform them that phone network got problem and will be up in 48 hrs.
WTF maxis also sux now... Like TM

If I kena like that, siap I sure bantam kau2

Added on June 21, 2012, 11:15 pm
QUOTE(Johannlo @ Jun 21 2012, 07:40 PM)
yes, mine also the same. was superbly nice during the first 3 days. then it started to crash down like nobody business. on certain days,  you cant even access the internet around 5am to 7am although it says 'connected' in the thomson router page. every time morning wake up before leaving for school i'll check twitter and fb. so yeah.
Wahlau eh, matilah like that

I want to upload file cannot

Sounds like streamyx many years back

Tansi wo like that

This post has been edited by danieltay: Jun 21 2012, 11:15 PM
danieltay
post Jun 22 2012, 04:39 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(yhkho @ Jun 22 2012, 12:25 PM)
Hmm, with so lousy wifi, did you think they can receive it?? my house, just apartment without any plaster ceiling, small house go in room and close the door left 3 signal, go my neighbor house try the nearest my house place to connected, not able to scan ~~~
wah lua eh, like that kaput lah... mampui!

i stay in apartment also

then i change from streamyx to maxis for my ipad is useless lah like that

really, i am more than confused now... some said no worry about the thomson router, some said bloody lousy... how come?

tan xi again lah like that?

This post has been edited by danieltay: Jun 22 2012, 04:40 PM
danieltay
post Jun 22 2012, 04:44 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(fadzly @ Jun 22 2012, 01:00 PM)
this week i called them everyday

monday
- call due to WIFI thompson got problem, takes 15mins x3 to reach CS, then 30mins to diagnose problem
- technician came and change the router
this thomson router really cannot use leh... so many ppl complaint, so many changes required... like that i cannot cut my streamyx for a least another 6 months... puih!

danieltay
post Jun 22 2012, 04:49 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(diehard1979 @ Jun 22 2012, 02:15 PM)
dota 2 to SEA server should fall in between 50ms-100ms
I only use streamyx, the ping is in 66ms so those with fiber should not more than 100ms.
They should able to get 10ms-40ms
honestly, streamyx is good and smooth lately... maybe because many ppl change to unif and mhf

maybe i should keep my streamyx and say no to maxis... i need to upload files everyday and i can't afford all those waiting game shits
danieltay
post Jun 22 2012, 04:58 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Jun 22 2012, 04:16 PM)
Are yours can see anythings???? hahahaha
free one month only?

then stated in the website : Free PC protection worth RM192

so one month cost RM192?

penipu wo... mcmc/skmm tolong kasi saman ini maxis

if i kena the rm8 per month charge, u sure die maxis!
danieltay
post Jun 22 2012, 07:27 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(yhkho @ Jun 22 2012, 05:29 PM)
Hmm, every router i also can hack it actually. Now market alot of hacking tools.. Still better way to block mac-address direct
how to block mac-address?

Added on June 22, 2012, 7:35 pm
QUOTE(yhkho @ Jun 22 2012, 06:55 PM)
hehe Thomson router really worst, if u try use the wireless connect vpn will be disconnect u after few min @@.. hehe, nvm chg own router all things settle.
teach lah how to change to new router... btw, what is the new router u use?

This post has been edited by danieltay: Jun 22 2012, 07:35 PM
danieltay
post Jun 24 2012, 04:57 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Jun 23 2012, 11:45 PM)
Can depend of you ma.  biggrin.gif
after you off, how to use wifi?

phone oso cannot use wo

unifi setup better leh, the phone line is not hook-up to the router
danieltay
post Jun 25 2012, 12:14 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(toh2020 @ Jun 24 2012, 06:32 PM)
it's very simple the huawei h850a is sole property of tm. NOT maxis.
now i know why they have to hook up to the stupid thomson router

the voip phone will be very important to me leh
danieltay
post Jun 25 2012, 12:23 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(Music Mania @ Jun 24 2012, 09:31 PM)
Impressive ping. Where is your location bro?
not impressive, i can get much better ping with my streamyx 1Mbps line!
danieltay
post Jun 25 2012, 04:45 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(ryudell @ Jun 25 2012, 10:47 AM)
mind to assist on this?
me too... i guess this is done to make sure you're already in contract even before installing

they know the installation will be done in months time.. so they want to hold on to you

Added on June 25, 2012, 4:47 pm
QUOTE(jeremy05 @ Jun 25 2012, 10:53 AM)
how to register? not yet install leh.... where got voip phone #?

This post has been edited by danieltay: Jun 25 2012, 04:47 PM
danieltay
post Jun 25 2012, 08:18 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(jeremy05 @ Jun 25 2012, 04:58 PM)
sign but not yet installed, still can cancel, some of the guy here already cancel, after hear so many problems.

i think the registration is for those who had installed, for those not yet sure you can't register.
why bill first even before install?

0.0496sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:46 AM