Maxis The Official Maxis FTTH Thread, Maxis FTTH launched 1st Sep 2010!
Swordylove
May 26 2012, 12:17 AM

I have a rather unique question about the package. Will it come with less clutters than Unifi? You know... BTU lah... Residential Gateway lah... Set-Top Box lah... I saw at my sister's house, very scarylah. with the cables twingling all around the TV. I hate the clutters so much and I don't need the IPTV at all. It's one of the reasons I'm sticking with Streamyx.
Since Maxis package doesn't have IPTV, so what exactly does it come with? WiFI modem, DECT phone, and...?
Oh and 1 more question: is 10MB download and upload or download only?
Swordylove
May 26 2012, 06:51 AM

QUOTE(DrPitchard @ May 26 2012, 12:55 AM) Maxis WILL have IPTV....REALLY soon..... So that means it will have the same clutters as Unifi la? Once they have IPTV, will the monthly charge be the same? Also is it possible if I don't want to set up the IPTV and just leave the stuffs in the box?
Swordylove
May 31 2012, 07:27 AM

QUOTE(amxpayne67 @ May 30 2012, 08:06 PM) Hey guys, i already receive Maxis Home Bill even though they still yet to install the line...no charge though. I LOL myself seeing the bill, they send me 2 of them! Aiyyaa... looks like they can't wait to start charging you. So scary ohhhh.... But LOL at the same time
Swordylove
May 31 2012, 10:37 PM

Still thinking... whether to get or not. I'm already comfortable with TM and their customer service. With Maxis I'm a bit nervous with their billshock reputation and all. Also same boss with the notorious Astro. But this package seems too attractive for a Streamyx 1Mb user like me. Many things to consider... the call plans, etc etc... But tell me, the equipments that come with Maxis 118 package are only the dect phone and wireless modem router (all-in-one), correct? Or is it modem and wireless router separate? I ask this because I don't like having too many equipments and cables 'menyemak' in my house.
Swordylove
Jun 1 2012, 10:56 AM

QUOTE(paklee @ Jun 1 2012, 06:21 AM) im a new maxis home fibre user so i get DECT (Cordless) Phone (Aztech E 310) and White color residential gateway (TG 784) plus a modem from UNIFI. From my understanding maxis bought a bandwidth from TM,so all the infra still provided by TM. So that means 3 equipments la? phone, RG, and modem... not like what appeared on Maxis website... phone and wireless modem router (all-in-one). Can anyone confirm this? DrPitchard? QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 1 2012, 07:41 AM) If this is the case, our speed depends on TM's network backbone .... not really good in terms of resolving issues later on. a blame game may happen between TM & Maxis, with customer stuck in between.  You're right la. If want to complain about a problem and it's TM's fault then will take long to solve the issue This post has been edited by Swordylove: Jun 1 2012, 10:56 AM
Swordylove
Jun 1 2012, 11:22 AM

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 1 2012, 11:09 AM) The 2 devices mention by Maxis is provided by Maxis... The BTU device is provided by TM... thus not shown (not relevant from Maxis POV) QUOTE(amxpayne67 @ Jun 1 2012, 11:12 AM) True that, maxis only provide 2 devices. Anyway Maxis did explain to me to standby 3 power socket for the devices, means there is another device by TM. Oh okay thanks for the explanation. I thought all-in-one because Maxis website says 'Residential WiFi modem' Sorry for being noob, but I wonder if there's no all-in-one device for fibre optic broadband. I hate all these extra cables and plugs!
Swordylove
Jun 3 2012, 02:58 PM

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Jun 3 2012, 10:57 AM) That means after finish install the Maxis Home we need go TM point or cancel before installation done? I'd advise you to terminate your TM line only after Maxis Fibre has been successfully installed and you don't experience any problem after a few days.
Swordylove
Jun 3 2012, 11:03 PM

QUOTE(xsaintzx @ Jun 3 2012, 10:44 PM) High speed doesn't mean you will get a good ping. For online games user, hopefully you can provide us a feedback on it. Having 10mbps doesn't mean your game will run smoother if it has ridiculously high ping. Yeap I see many speedtest signatures here have high download/upload speed but terrible ping. Many are above 100ms!  For gaming, only <15ms is good, I believe.
Swordylove
Jun 5 2012, 10:57 AM

QUOTE(kurogane @ Jun 5 2012, 07:09 AM) That looks around 100ms average ping to me.  Also, I'd very much appreciate it if you could share a some pics of the stuffs that they installed in your house in my thread: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2374162This post has been edited by Swordylove: Jun 5 2012, 11:03 AM
Swordylove
Jun 5 2012, 11:18 AM

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Jun 5 2012, 11:06 AM) I believe that is an expected latency. The further the server , the higher the ping. Under 300ms ping to US server is considered ideal if you attempt to play games hosted in USA (such as Diablo 3). My friend in singapore also get about 200ms-250ms ping to USA battlenet server. I think this is due to physical limit of light.. Ohh... so it's okayla I guess then. This post has been edited by Swordylove: Jun 5 2012, 11:19 AM
Swordylove
Jun 6 2012, 09:03 AM

QUOTE(meme00 @ Jun 6 2012, 02:37 AM) I got call from Maxis today after their CS tells me they never receive my application online. I was told I can't have this Home Fibre internet because I'm staying at Level 4. The coverage for my block only till Level 3  So kesian...
Swordylove
Jun 7 2012, 01:04 PM

QUOTE(DrPitchard @ Jun 7 2012, 01:27 AM) Better just apply first if you are interested, strongly doubt it that it will be extended....Well, for a start, it is not mentioned when it will end also....NOT 30th JUNE!!! There is no official date on this by Maxis...FYI Hmm funny... I'm sure I saw 30th June on Maxis website, but now it's gone. I guess they deleted it for some reason.
Swordylove
Jun 7 2012, 08:43 PM

QUOTE(zzzxtreme @ Jun 7 2012, 02:36 PM) it means unifi is launching 5mbps for rm88 :] TM just launched their *yawn* 'Super Speed Me' or something promo. I doubt they'll come up with another promo anytime soon. This post has been edited by Swordylove: Jun 7 2012, 09:55 PM
Swordylove
Jun 12 2012, 10:36 PM

Guys... I still don't get all these about private and public IP. what are the advantages/disadvantages of each? QUOTE(urameshi81 @ Jun 12 2012, 10:02 PM) I registered online for maxis home fibre at the end of last week received maxis call on the following monday. One day after, I submitted all the forms and documents back to them Within the same day, they have called and arranged for installation (next weekend).... So far, not bad at all....I'm quite impressed with the service & speed provided by them Their customer service has also been very helpful explaining/addressing all my questions...  Amboi.... so fast.  Weekend some more. Probably you're the only one in the area applying.
Swordylove
Jun 13 2012, 10:23 PM

QUOTE(peri peri @ Jun 13 2012, 12:34 PM) that's sad. my sign up and installation all done in less than 2 weeks. Somemore i get change my preset voip number to a nice nice double double double digits number for free. Maxis says 1st time change is free, subsequent will charge rm 25. So glad too hear that still got many many nice number to choose. How to choose phone number? They give you a list during installation ka?
Swordylove
Jun 18 2012, 10:07 PM

Submitted form to DrPitchard last Tuesday. Still not getting any call. Eventhough DrPitchard say might take a little over a week, but reading all your stories about lost applications makes me nervous! QUOTE(CheahThung @ Jun 18 2012, 09:47 PM) My house is currently using unifi. I went to apply for maxis fiber today. And they could not find my address under coverage. I received a call from Maxis just now saying my address is not under coverage so have to cancel my application  ( If not under coverage how come I'm using Unifi?  Just tell them you are using Unifi at the moment. Confirmed should be within coverage. The Maxis staff probably just check using their (or Unifi's) website only. This post has been edited by Swordylove: Jun 18 2012, 10:08 PM
Swordylove
Jun 19 2012, 06:25 PM

Ahhh finally got call from Maxis. Installation in 2+ weeks. Okayla tu... But the preset number they give me is really ugly la. So if I want to change it, have to go to Maxis Centre right? Do I need to wait for installation done or can change before installation?
Swordylove
Jun 19 2012, 10:41 PM

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 19 2012, 08:08 PM) Phone Number change AFTER installation only possible QUOTE(DrPitchard @ Jun 19 2012, 08:19 PM) I suspect you are also a Maxis staff since you know so much....LOL Well, theoretically, advisable to change after installation. If change now, they will have to give you a new installation slot, which means, it will be waaaayyyyyyyyyyyy bbbbbbaaaaaaacccccccckkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk.......... Okay noted. Thank you guys!
Swordylove
Jun 21 2012, 12:51 PM

QUOTE(toh2020 @ Jun 21 2012, 11:56 AM) i tried successfully on unifi. run 24hrs more on audio steaming via radio internet. all goes well with no overheating like the dir-615. the asus router is just warm only. signal strength around the house no worries. i hopefully gain insight on maxis fiber cause service still new. if that works, everyone can liberate themselves from dreaded thompson router. not forgetting the deck phone goes to btu. like how i liberate myself from tm stock router  Oh I pray you'll succeed with Maxis Fibre too! Please please please! This post has been edited by Swordylove: Jun 21 2012, 12:53 PM
Swordylove
Jun 21 2012, 11:21 PM

Geez guys... I hope all these problems you guys are yelling about will be gone by the time I get mine installed. If I haven't already registered, I would've postponed/cancelled after reading all these.