Samsung Galaxy 5 (aka i5500), A good budget Android

TSrobhor
post Sep 1 2010, 09:17 AM, updated 16y ago

Hi all,

Just bought the Samsung Galaxy 5 for my wife yesterday. (This is my first experience with Android.)

Haven't got the chance to download any apps but first impressions are good. Response seem to be quite snappy (600MHz processor) from what little I have played with it.

Although the screen is QVGA (similar to Wildfire) it did seem to be sharper in appearance to the Wildfire - I had seen the Wildfire a month ago and was put off by the screen. This is probably due to its smaller screen size (2.8" vs. 3.2").

In fact, when looking for a (budget) smartphone for my wife, I had already discounted the Wildfire and had settled on the Nokia C6. That is until I saw the Galaxy 5 (heard about this model and had not considered it after my encounter with the Wildfire screen). Price aside, the choice between the C6 and Galaxy 5 was down to the screen resolution and OS. The C6 may have a higher resolution screen but my doubts about Symbian eventually tilted the scale.

In terms of styling and design, it loses out to the Wildfire, but then this one costs much lower. The physical buttons are plasticky but can't complain much at this price point.

Many shops do not have demo units but I found this one shop in Digital Mall PJ where the girl was almost volunteering to show the demo unit! If you are considering the Wildfire (i.e. budget Android) do check this one out as it's price is lower by almost RM500, and you don't lose much.

shahz
post Sep 1 2010, 09:21 AM

I have more stars than cleave
1,566 posts

How much did you get it for?
TSrobhor
post Sep 1 2010, 09:29 AM

QUOTE(shahz @ Sep 1 2010, 09:21 AM)
How much did you get it for?
RM699, the list price.

Hard to find a lower price as it is still new in the market - many shops still have not heard about it.

RieZky
post Sep 1 2010, 10:08 AM

219 posts

ya at least better than csl android ..hehe
alpha0201
post Sep 1 2010, 10:11 AM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

It's good job you didn't get the C6. Symbian OS had its day now or long ago. OVI free apps are awfully appalling.
TSrobhor
post Sep 1 2010, 10:29 AM

QUOTE(alpha0201 @ Sep 1 2010, 10:11 AM)
It's good job you didn't get the C6. Symbian OS had its day now or long ago. OVI free apps are awfully appalling.
Thanks - further vindication of my decision tongue.gif
x132755
post Sep 1 2010, 04:42 PM

How To Own A Property Without Spending Your Money? Got 1 Way....
13,313 posts

QUOTE(robhor @ Sep 1 2010, 09:29 AM)
RM699, the list price.

Hard to find a lower price as it is still new in the market - many shops still have not heard about it.
650 ORI set..
this is a BASIC android with OS 2.1 , nice try thumbup.gif
siksa
post Sep 1 2010, 05:19 PM

T_T
1,016 posts

is this for real rm699??
MYstombox
post Sep 1 2010, 05:24 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Yes, RM699 is list price.
I have the samsung raya booklet from senQ, all samsung items inside, except galaxy S which is sold via maxis.

You can get the phone at senQ for RM699 as well.

The samsung booklet is available at all samsung authorised retailers, electronics and home appliances.
kyleee
post Sep 1 2010, 09:06 PM

436 posts

wad screen do this hav?
capative?
PrinceCaspien
post Sep 1 2010, 10:15 PM

Unique
1,717 posts

Some photos of my friend's G5

Added on September 1, 2010, 10:22 pm
QUOTE(robhor @ Sep 1 2010, 09:17 AM)
Hi all,

Just bought the Samsung Galaxy 5 for my wife yesterday. (This is my first experience with Android.)

Haven't got the chance to download any apps but first impressions are good. Response seem to be quite snappy (600MHz processor) from what little I have played with it.

Although the screen is QVGA (similar to Wildfire) it did seem to be sharper in appearance to the Wildfire - I had seen the Wildfire a month ago and was put off by the screen. This is probably due to its smaller screen size (2.8" vs. 3.2").

In fact, when looking for a (budget) smartphone for my wife, I had already discounted the Wildfire and had settled on the Nokia C6. That is until I saw the Galaxy 5 (heard about this model and had not considered it after my encounter with the Wildfire screen). Price aside, the choice between the C6 and Galaxy 5 was down to the screen resolution and OS. The C6 may have a higher resolution screen but my doubts about Symbian eventually tilted the scale.

In terms of styling and design, it loses out to the Wildfire, but then this one costs much lower. The physical buttons are plasticky but can't complain much at this price point.

Many shops do not have demo units but I found this one shop in Digital Mall PJ where the girl was almost volunteering to show the demo unit! If you are considering the Wildfire (i.e. budget Android) do check this one out as it's price is lower by almost RM500, and you don't lose much.
PLease do get these 2 apps to run on your phone from the Market....

-Advanced Task Killer-kill unwanted background running programs-save memory on phones
-Juice Defender-disable apn when in lock/off screen mode-saves battery a lot

This post has been edited by PrinceCaspien: Sep 1 2010, 10:22 PM

MYstombox
post Sep 1 2010, 10:29 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Don't use ATK, rather, root the phone and use minifreemanager.
limjonyee
post Sep 2 2010, 12:45 AM

329 posts

haha.. my opinion is tat the user of this phone will be drooling when wildfire users get their froyo upgrade while this model user will most likely be stuck with 2.1 for the rest of this phone's life( knowing samsung...)
siksa
post Sep 2 2010, 04:47 AM

T_T
1,016 posts

QUOTE(limjonyee @ Sep 2 2010, 12:45 AM)
haha.. my opinion is tat the user of this phone will be drooling when wildfire users get their froyo upgrade while this model user will most likely be stuck with 2.1 for the rest of this phone's life( knowing samsung...)
its ok compare to csl 1.6 android for rm1050 upgraded to only 2.1.
sjn hassan
post Sep 2 2010, 02:29 PM

Member's of MAKAN MEGGI club
3,544 posts

QUOTE(limjonyee @ Sep 2 2010, 12:45 AM)
how much the wildfire cost compare to this phone? sweat.gif
TSrobhor
post Sep 2 2010, 02:32 PM

QUOTE(kyleee @ Sep 1 2010, 09:06 PM)
wad screen do this hav?
capative?
It's capacitive.

Added on September 2, 2010, 2:34 pm
QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Sep 2 2010, 02:29 PM)
how much the wildfire cost compare to this phone?  sweat.gif
List price is RM 1190 I think.

This post has been edited by robhor: Sep 2 2010, 02:34 PM
sjn hassan
post Sep 2 2010, 02:49 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(robhor @ Sep 2 2010, 02:32 PM)
It's capacitive.

Added on September 2, 2010, 2:34 pm

List price is RM 1190 I think.
RM699 vs RM1190?it's RM491 diff..can get another cheapo Nokia/SE phone already. So it's not fair we compare Wildfire - G5 right?
TSrobhor
post Sep 2 2010, 02:59 PM

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Sep 2 2010, 02:49 PM)
RM699 vs RM1190?it's RM491 diff..can get another cheapo Nokia/SE phone already. So it's not fair we compare Wildfire - G5 right?
But the specs are closer than the difference in price IMHO. At the end of the day, it's probably be a matter of design and brand name...

sjn hassan
post Sep 2 2010, 03:18 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(robhor @ Sep 2 2010, 02:59 PM)
But the specs are closer than the difference in price IMHO. At the end of the day, it's probably be a matter of design and brand name...
ic..so the spec is almost same but with huge price tag?
MYstombox
post Sep 2 2010, 03:35 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Compare wildfire with G3, not G5.
sjn hassan
post Sep 2 2010, 05:49 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Sep 2 2010, 03:35 PM)
Compare wildfire with G3, not G5.
what's the different except the screen size? hmm.gif

estimate price?
MYstombox
post Sep 2 2010, 06:15 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

I already said, it's out in SG, SGD400 no contract, samsung SG warranty.
areankim
post Sep 2 2010, 06:25 PM

"Live Life Cool"
3,705 posts

look very much alike corby
ultramaman
post Sep 2 2010, 11:35 PM

168 posts

not bad actually, its newer. i bought my i7500 2 months ago for 800 bucks . and limjonyee is quite rite though., samsung tend to be very reluctant to release updates to os. which is why i voided my warranty by installing a custom rom. im now using froyo. battery life is MUCH MUCH better. camera is more stable. and since im running custom rom. can overclock the processor. biggrin.gif hardware wise, its a good spec. just like the galaxy 5, for the price, u get quite a good piece of hardware. biggrin.gif

Added on September 2, 2010, 11:44 pmhttp://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php3?idPho...1&idPhone2=3337
spec comparison for wildfire and galaxy 5.
basically wildfire has more ram and rom, the default 5 mp camera. but wildfires cpu is 528mhz. but this cpu can be overclocked to up to 700mhz.

This post has been edited by ultramaman: Sep 2 2010, 11:44 PM
mjeeva03
post Sep 5 2010, 02:09 PM

547 posts

i bought galaxy 5 yesterday from Samsung authorized dealer at Mines shopping complex. RM899. Very nice phone. so many application can easily download from Android page.
sjn hassan
post Sep 5 2010, 02:47 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(mjeeva03 @ Sep 5 2010, 02:09 PM)
i bought galaxy 5 yesterday from Samsung authorized dealer at Mines shopping complex. RM899. Very nice phone. so many application can easily download from Android page.
i tot someone said RM699 / 650? hmm.gif
buntutwoman
post Sep 5 2010, 03:26 PM

182 posts

i5500 or i5503 is RM 699,
i5801 or i 5800 is RM 899.

read here
http://f o r u m.m y k o p i t i a m . c o m/topic/10119-my-samsung-gt-i5500/

and this
http://f o r u m.m y k o p i t i a m.c o m /topic/9838-my-samsung-gt-i5801/

(remove spaces)

sjn hassan
post Sep 5 2010, 03:53 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(buntutwoman @ Sep 5 2010, 03:26 PM)

read here

and this

(remove spaces)
i tot i5800 is G3 hmm.gif
buntutwoman
post Sep 5 2010, 05:35 PM

182 posts

goes by model number. i dun know the call signs.
mjeeva03
post Sep 5 2010, 07:22 PM

547 posts

QUOTE(buntutwoman @ Sep 5 2010, 03:26 PM)

read here

and this

(remove spaces)
bro my one is i5503. I bought rm899 yesterday.
PrinceCaspien
post Sep 5 2010, 07:30 PM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(mjeeva03 @ Sep 5 2010, 07:22 PM)
You got slauthered. 650 also can get already.
buntutwoman
post Sep 5 2010, 08:58 PM

182 posts

yup u kena slaughtered. rrp is 699. 650 memang can get from 3rd party.

Added on September 5, 2010, 9:00 pmhonestly i dun see what's wrong with buying from 3rd party sellers from digital mall. even if they do run, samsung will always be around anyway. same goes wid nokia and etc etc etc.

sometimes 3rd party sellers are more efficient and polite than the farked up salespeople at ori stores. especially the sohems that are at the nokia store in the curve shopping mall.

This post has been edited by buntutwoman: Sep 5 2010, 09:00 PM
MYstombox
post Sep 5 2010, 09:11 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Ouch sad.gif overpaid, hard lesson to learn.

Sad thing is malaysia doesn't have a 7 day satisfaction full money back guarantee.
mjeeva03
post Sep 5 2010, 10:20 PM

547 posts

F***.... i kena tipu........ I payed rm899. Samsung authorized dealer... Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
MYstombox
post Sep 5 2010, 11:15 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Bring the brochure, they have a raya brochure by samsung, bring it to the shop and ask why is it different. and if they don't refund, u will make a complaint. I think that's all u can do. Either that or just return the set and ask for cash back.

Seriously, it's already in their brochure, i got 1 from samsung shop, and 1 from senQ, both same booklet.
PrinceCaspien
post Sep 6 2010, 01:10 AM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(mjeeva03 @ Sep 5 2010, 10:20 PM)
F***.... i kena tipu........ I payed rm899. Samsung authorized dealer...  Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Check the 3rd post by TS(robhor), he paid RM699.
arafat
post Sep 6 2010, 01:10 AM

ROCK ON!
1,747 posts

i did test this hp today,

screen is sharp but no multitouch

so come back, thought can get user feedback here sad.gif

and yes it's only retail rm699

Added on September 6, 2010, 1:16 amgot live wallpaper as well

This post has been edited by arafat: Sep 6 2010, 01:16 AM
buntutwoman
post Sep 6 2010, 01:33 AM

182 posts

double confirmed RRP is RM 699 by samsung. i got hold of the guy in charge of pricing just now and that's the price it is.

unfortunately the only thing u can do now, is go back to the shop and bising. not much you can do cause of the principles of "willing buyer willing seller". i doubt u'll see your money back but still no harm trying.

hard lesson learned indeed. buy from authorised shops. that way when u've overpaid for something u can complain directly to samsung or consumer association which i doubt will ever happen if its from authorised dealers.

again, i am truly sorry for your loss but thank you for the awareness. all of us will remember the name of the shop u went to. at least u did the community a good service.
MYstombox
post Sep 6 2010, 01:36 AM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Samsung should do something about such a dealer though, spoiling the brand's image.
mjeeva03
post Sep 6 2010, 10:12 AM

547 posts

vmad.gif cry.gif vmad.gif mad.gif rclxub.gif shocking.gif
sjn hassan
post Sep 6 2010, 10:24 AM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(arafat @ Sep 6 2010, 01:10 AM)
i did test this hp today,

sorry...what's the different between normal touch screen? hmm.gif

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Sep 6 2010, 01:36 AM)
Samsung should do something about such a dealer though, spoiling the brand's image.
maybe they don't realize the promo sweat.gif

so just go there and make a complaint..report to Samsung and Pengguna if the refuse
TSrobhor
post Sep 6 2010, 11:18 AM

QUOTE(mjeeva03 @ Sep 6 2010, 10:12 AM)
vmad.gif  cry.gif  vmad.gif  mad.gif  rclxub.gif  shocking.gif
I think you can bring your case to the Consumer Tribunal to fight. Please check here.

(FYI I have no personal experience with this)

mjeeva03
post Sep 6 2010, 12:03 PM

547 posts

i call that salesmen and he agreed to give me bluetooth wort rm200.
sjn hassan
post Sep 6 2010, 12:21 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(mjeeva03 @ Sep 6 2010, 12:03 PM)
OK la..it's better than nothing..it's quite hard for them to refund actually
lopiumy
post Sep 6 2010, 01:08 PM

164 posts

I'm going to take samsung galaxy 5 at rm699 later. Hopefully I can give some review here
buntutwoman
post Sep 6 2010, 05:27 PM

182 posts

u cna buy at lower prices. RRP is 699 but i'm damn well sure u can get below that.
MYstombox
post Sep 6 2010, 05:33 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Market value RM200 or his value of 200? hahahaha...
Check before saying yes, later u search forum and it's selling for RM80 or so then ..z
lopiumy
post Sep 6 2010, 05:40 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(buntutwoman @ Sep 6 2010, 05:27 PM)
u cna buy at lower prices. RRP is 699 but i'm damn well sure u can get below that.
I have no choice because I'm using voucher to buy. Must follow their price.
PrinceCaspien
post Sep 6 2010, 08:46 PM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(arafat @ Sep 6 2010, 01:10 AM)

so come back, thought can get user feedback here sad.gif

and yes it's only retail rm699

Added on September 6, 2010, 1:16 amgot live wallpaper as well
screen= you get what you pay for loh..... smile.gif

live wallpaper? got meh? can run kah since screen resolution is very low?
mjeeva03
post Sep 6 2010, 08:51 PM

547 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Sep 6 2010, 05:33 PM)
Market value RM200 or his value of 200? hahahaha...
Check before saying yes, later u search forum and it's selling for RM80 or so then ..z
i`m not agreed yet. i wanna go to that shop 2morow. i planing wanna change to other phone..... any phone with android OS price below 1000?
lopiumy
post Sep 6 2010, 10:45 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(mjeeva03 @ Sep 6 2010, 08:51 PM)
i`m not agreed yet. i wanna go to that shop 2morow. i planing wanna change to other phone..... any phone with android OS price below 1000?
Sony Ericsson X10 Mini, HTC Wildfire AP set.
MYstombox
post Sep 6 2010, 11:07 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Galaxy 3 is said to be RM899. Not sure if the shop has stock.
From a user standpoint I feel g3 is better than wildfire due to screen resolution.
g88
post Sep 7 2010, 01:39 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Sep 6 2010, 01:36 AM)
handphone is not like car where even there is RRP, dealer have to right to mark up the price (e.g instead bundle 1GB MicroSD they might said bundle more freebie etc)...
bcmengs
post Sep 7 2010, 05:44 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(mjeeva03 @ Sep 5 2010, 07:22 PM)
i5503 & i5500 is the same = Galaxy 5
i5801 & i5800 is the same = Galaxy 3

The major diff, is basically REGION.
there is even people selling at RM619 in LYN. Though i'm still skeptical bout this phone due to the resolution.
i afraid that major apps cant be installed with the 320 x 240 screen. hmm.gif

Guys, please please try out this phone by installing apps.
You may check out here for LYN seller too.

Moon

Celxis

This post has been edited by bcmengs: Sep 7 2010, 05:56 PM
MYstombox
post Sep 7 2010, 05:50 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Sep 7 2010, 01:39 AM)
handphone is not like car where even there is RRP, dealer have to right to mark up the price (e.g instead bundle 1GB MicroSD they might said bundle more freebie etc)...
True to a certain extent, but samsung is running a malaysia wide raya promo. Why would they mark up the price unless they are outrightly defying the principle company? And it just tarnishes the image of samsung not having 'control' over their dealers and the dilution of their marketing campaign. This really makes the principle look bad.
g88
post Sep 7 2010, 08:10 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Sep 7 2010, 05:50 PM)
True to a certain extent, but samsung is running a malaysia wide raya promo. Why would they mark up the price unless they are outrightly defying the principle company? And it just tarnishes the image of samsung not having 'control' over their dealers and the dilution of their marketing campaign. This really makes the principle look bad.
I not that easy as you think...many thing you dun see, you know see bad @ Samsung. Well if you think this dealer mark up u should not buy from him
piscesguy
post Sep 7 2010, 08:58 PM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,963 posts

QUOTE(mjeeva03 @ Sep 6 2010, 08:51 PM)
U should go to a few shops and survey. Tell us the shop name and LYN can beware.. biggrin.gif
PrinceCaspien
post Sep 7 2010, 10:34 PM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Sep 7 2010, 01:39 AM)
you are wrong there, RRP is always at main store while dealers will be selling below RRP price...never before in my life i have seen selling higher than RRP.....
g88
post Sep 8 2010, 12:03 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(PrinceCaspien @ Sep 7 2010, 10:34 PM)
you are wrong there, RRP is always at main store while dealers will be selling below RRP price...never before in my life i have seen selling higher than RRP.....
you are too honest dealer..thats why not making $$ laugh.gif
PrinceCaspien
post Sep 8 2010, 07:39 AM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Sep 8 2010, 12:03 AM)
you are too honest dealer..thats why not making $$  laugh.gif
yalor, but cheaper means more customers to your shop...smile.gif

like me as a buyer, i always use lowyat.net pricing as a benchmark before i go to buy my phone so i would not be con.....smile.gif
siksa
post Sep 12 2010, 09:08 AM

T_T
1,016 posts

what kind of Bluetooth?

later it just worth rm50. just becareful yo. biggrin.gif

g88
post Sep 12 2010, 05:18 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(siksa @ Sep 12 2010, 09:08 AM)
what kind of Bluetooth?

later it just worth rm50. just becareful yo. biggrin.gif
maybe you are rich. Rm50 is not valuable to you yawn.gif
lopiumy
post Sep 12 2010, 11:18 PM

164 posts

i experiense GPS problem on this phone, most of time cannot lock satellite, but when u turn off phone with gps on and turn on phone again it can search liao. Anyone have solution?
arafat
post Sep 13 2010, 02:04 AM

ROCK ON!
1,747 posts

QUOTE(lopiumy @ Sep 12 2010, 11:18 PM)
i experiense GPS problem on this phone, most of time cannot lock satellite, but when u turn off phone with gps on and turn on phone again it can search liao. Anyone have solution?
where did u try it?

outdoor or indoor?

seems like this hp respond(sales) is pretty slow
sjn hassan
post Sep 13 2010, 01:20 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(bcmengs @ Sep 7 2010, 05:44 PM)
i5503 & i5500 is the same = Galaxy 5
i5801 & i5800 is the same = Galaxy 3

The major diff, is basically REGION.
there is even people selling at RM619 in LYN. Though i'm still skeptical bout this phone due to the resolution.
i afraid that major apps cant be installed with the 320 x 240 screen. hmm.gif

Guys, please please try out this phone  by installing apps.
You may check out here for LYN seller too.

Moon

Celxis
i just Visit Samsung SHop last nite..they said Samsung M'sia didn't bring G3..is it true? hmm.gif
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 13 2010, 01:46 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Sep 13 2010, 01:20 PM)
i just Visit Samsung SHop last nite..they said Samsung M'sia didn't bring G3..is it true?  hmm.gif
smile.gif I just bought 2 unit yesterday............with Sirim sticker, Malaysia Samsung Mobile sticker, with Bahasa Melayu language in phone............do you think that they dint bring G3?

Most probably the sales is know nothing.

and the G3 is showing on Malaysia Samsung Mobile website

tongue.gif Nice phone it was, good sensitive with capacitive screen, stable and no lag at all.
screen color is nice as well, 16M colour

The worst thing is the small screen size sweat.gif

This post has been edited by StupidGuyPlayComp: Sep 13 2010, 01:49 PM
alicia-l
post Sep 13 2010, 03:45 PM

145 posts

May I know where u bought G3 and how much

Thank

This post has been edited by alicia-l: Sep 13 2010, 03:48 PM
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 13 2010, 04:08 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(alicia-l @ Sep 13 2010, 03:45 PM)
May I know where u bought G3 and how much

Thank
smile.gif RM630, ori, from forum seller Moon
arafat
post Sep 14 2010, 02:45 AM

ROCK ON!
1,747 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 13 2010, 04:08 PM)
smile.gif RM630, ori, from forum seller Moon
what is the reason you bought G3 instead of G5?
silentser
post Sep 14 2010, 04:01 AM

OH MAH ANDROID
3,177 posts

QUOTE(arafat @ Sep 14 2010, 02:45 AM)
what is the reason you bought G3 instead of G5?
he bought G5 from moon not G3, please correct your statement Guy
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 14 2010, 07:19 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Sep 14 2010, 04:01 AM)
he bought G5 from moon not G3, please correct your statement Guy
doh.gif OPs, sorry, I thought he said G5..........as I know G3 is not yet in market right?
what I mentioned is refer to G5
bcmengs
post Sep 14 2010, 03:08 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 14 2010, 07:19 AM)
doh.gif OPs, sorry, I thought he said G5..........as I know G3 is not yet in market right?
what I mentioned is refer to G5
For those who wants to buy G3, perhaps check out this video comparison between G3 & G5.
Galaxy 3 vs Galaxy 5

Only then you tell me why would you be still interested in G3. tongue.gif

p/s: Understanding Thai language will help. rclxms.gif
silentser
post Sep 15 2010, 12:27 AM

OH MAH ANDROID
3,177 posts

QUOTE(bcmengs @ Sep 14 2010, 03:08 PM)
For those who wants to buy G3, perhaps check out this video comparison between G3 & G5.
Galaxy 3 vs Galaxy 5

Only then you tell me why would you be still interested in G3.  tongue.gif

p/s: Understanding Thai language will help.  rclxms.gif
g3 high resolution and can support much more apps than g5? isnt that kinda a big point?
Clerks
post Sep 15 2010, 05:43 AM

129 posts

Bought the G5 last week. I want to try Android and I fell in love with it.
OK for those who want a budget Android phone or just want to cuba-cuba guna Android.

This phone really love fingerprints.
*-a|i3n-*
post Sep 15 2010, 08:50 AM

I'm who i'm
681 posts

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Sep 13 2010, 01:20 PM)
i just Visit Samsung SHop last nite..they said Samsung M'sia didn't bring G3..is it true?  hmm.gif
Msia not yet bringing G3 into market.
The resolution is bigger than G5 and yes, it can support more application than G5.
Samsung tab MIGHT launching at next month.
Maxis might will take the exclusive for Samsung tab also.
anyone wanna buy G5 also can pm me or find me. RM640 for whole lyn forumer.

This post has been edited by *-a|i3n-*: Sep 16 2010, 08:54 PM
x132755
post Sep 15 2010, 04:47 PM

13,313 posts

QUOTE(*-a|i3n-* @ Sep 15 2010, 08:50 AM)
Msia not yet bringing G3 into market.
But...what do you think if Samsung's trainer having the G3 on his hand? 
The resolution is bigger than G5 and yes, it can support more application than G5.
Samsung tab MIGHT launching at next month.
Maxis might will take the exclusive for Samsung tab also.
anyone wanna buy G5 also can pm me or find me. RM630 for whole lyn forumer.
G3 later.... maybe arounf 7xx or 8xx

This post has been edited by x132755: Sep 17 2010, 08:34 AM
bcmengs
post Sep 15 2010, 05:28 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Sep 15 2010, 12:27 AM)
g3 high resolution and can support much more apps than g5? isnt that kinda a big point?
I do agree with you. Heard that for G5, most of the Android Market's app are not being able to run due to the 240x320 screen.
However, it would still be a good GO GO for newbies, for instance ME! tongue.gif
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 15 2010, 05:34 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(bcmengs @ Sep 15 2010, 05:28 PM)
I do agree with you. Heard that for G5, most of the Android Market's app are not being able to run due to the 240x320 screen.
However, it would still be a good GO GO for newbies, for instance ME!  tongue.gif
hmm.gif I only tried few apps and game, thats no problem.........

some forumer tested more than 100 apps and games from Android Market, found no problem at all

this point you can ask Wildfire user who are sharing the same resolution with G5
bcmengs
post Sep 15 2010, 06:04 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 15 2010, 05:34 PM)

this point you can ask Wildfire user who are sharing the same resolution with G5
I totally agree! drool.gif
*-a|i3n-*
post Sep 15 2010, 07:47 PM

I'm who i'm
681 posts

QUOTE(x132755 @ Sep 15 2010, 04:47 PM)
G3 later.... maybe arounf 7xx or 8xx
yea... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by *-a|i3n-*: Sep 16 2010, 08:53 PM
silentser
post Sep 16 2010, 01:21 AM

OH MAH ANDROID
3,177 posts

cant seludup2 G3 for us here?? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by silentser: Sep 17 2010, 11:13 AM
buntutwoman
post Sep 16 2010, 03:58 AM

182 posts

wat the hell is a samsung trainer ? enlighten me pls.

and u can find out more about the G3 and G5 from me.

http://f o r u m . m y k o p i t i a m . c o m /topic/9838-my-samsung-gt-i5801/ (remove spaces)

http://f o r u m . m y k o p i t i a m . c o m /topic/10119-my-samsung-gt-i5500/ (remove spaces)

both units were tested by me personally. the review on the galaxy tab i put on hold for a while due to my own wedding.
i tested the 5801 and 5500 quite some time ago. way before market launch. same as the galaxy s which i tested way before market launch.

bcmengs
post Sep 16 2010, 04:52 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(buntutwoman @ Sep 16 2010, 03:58 AM)
wat the hell is a samsung trainer ? enlighten me pls.

and u can find out more about the G3 and G5 from me.

http://f o r u m . m  y k o p i t i a m . c o m /topic/9838-my-samsung-gt-i5801/  (remove spaces)

http://f o r u m . m y k o p i t i a m . c o m /topic/10119-my-samsung-gt-i5500/ (remove spaces)

both units were tested by me personally. the review on the galaxy tab i put on hold for a while due to my own wedding.
i tested the 5801 and 5500 quite some time ago. way before market launch. same as the galaxy s which i tested way before market launch.
Yup. I agree, buntutwoman is way faster before Samsung. Hooray!
But anyway, Galaxy 5 is really ergonomic in design. Very nice in my hand.
Therefore, user gotta comprehend to the smaller screen lor. blush.gif
-Teddy-
post Sep 16 2010, 11:25 PM

meh
1,939 posts

Just got one G5 for my sister. Looks pretty decent for its price.
buntutwoman
post Sep 16 2010, 11:50 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(bcmengs @ Sep 16 2010, 04:52 PM)
Yup. I agree, buntutwoman is way faster before Samsung. Hooray!
But anyway, Galaxy 5 is really ergonomic in design. Very nice in my hand.
Therefore, user gotta comprehend to the smaller screen lor.  blush.gif
its for men. men dun need big screen. men need good grip and can baling baling sepak sepak. we are men !
*-a|i3n-*
post Sep 17 2010, 02:44 AM

I'm who i'm
681 posts

QUOTE(-Teddy- @ Sep 16 2010, 11:25 PM)
Just got one G5 for my sister. Looks pretty decent for its price.
rclxms.gif hope ur sis enjoy it.
fongwei
post Sep 17 2010, 09:44 AM

442 posts

SAMSUNG GALAXY 5 is not a multi-touch supported phone......

cannot pinch to zoom
buntutwoman
post Sep 17 2010, 03:19 PM

182 posts

for that price u wat also wan, lei yeng sai lorr
fongwei
post Sep 17 2010, 03:29 PM

442 posts

I just sharing only...........
-Teddy-
post Sep 17 2010, 04:04 PM

meh
1,939 posts

QUOTE(*-a|i3n-* @ Sep 17 2010, 02:44 AM)
rclxms.gif hope ur sis enjoy it.
Sure she do. Seriously, you really can't ask for more for a RM630 device. Worth every single penny.
amalost
post Sep 17 2010, 05:36 PM

798 posts

QUOTE(-Teddy- @ Sep 17 2010, 04:04 PM)
Sure she do. Seriously, you really can't ask for more for a RM630 device. Worth every single penny.
Where did u bought cost rm630? Here?
buntutwoman
post Sep 18 2010, 12:36 AM

182 posts

people give 2 links.

1 from moon, 1 from celxis i think.

u go klik and see lor.
onscreen
post Sep 18 2010, 11:55 AM

Nomby
675 posts

Have a HTC Legend for my own and my mum bought the Samsung G5. The moment i used the G5, all i can say its very comfortable. Despite the small screen, its no biggie as i myself isnt really a app freak and only have some essential ones installed.

The grip itself is so much comfortable than the HTC Legend and the practicality in the G5 makes more sense than in HTC Legend (Memo, File Manager anyone?) No compromise in the MP3 playback as it is better than HTC Legend itself.

Samsung indeed keep some of the Android stock assets in the OS like the lock screen and the top bar itself alongside with Samsung own Launcher replacement which is IMO a smart move.

HTC Legend have its own appealing moments like the aluminum body, larger screen but G5 IMO slaps the Legend around in other aspect that makes the RM1950 a bit of disappointment to me tongue.gif

G3 vs G5? I would go for GS right away. But to me 1GHZ is like a test water for the processor makers to know which direction to go for in the future. Not to mention, 4" is really worth the RM2199 RSP for GS.. oh oh.. the FROYO too biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by onscreen: Sep 18 2010, 11:56 AM
soonlee33
post Sep 18 2010, 12:16 PM

2,677 posts

guys would u choose d g5 or g3?
g3 definitely has d better spec compare wid g5
but g5 is getting lots of positive feedbacks

This post has been edited by soonlee33: Sep 18 2010, 12:18 PM
buntutwoman
post Sep 18 2010, 12:39 PM

182 posts

as an expert, i'm gonna go for the G3.
soonlee33
post Sep 18 2010, 12:41 PM

2,677 posts

g5 design like corby not fascinating
buntutwoman
post Sep 18 2010, 12:44 PM

182 posts

your hands must be huge like shaq o neil to be saying that.
majority of asians have small hands hence the right ergonomic posture of the G5.
soonlee33
post Sep 18 2010, 12:47 PM

2,677 posts

im 187 height above asian spec lol
3.2" would be better
buntutwoman
post Sep 18 2010, 12:54 PM

182 posts

its not about the size. its about the ergonomic handle.
TSrobhor
post Sep 18 2010, 02:13 PM

QUOTE(soonlee33 @ Sep 18 2010, 12:47 PM)
im 187 height above asian spec lol
3.2" would be better
I hope you are talking about the screen size...he he

Anyway, the 2.8" screen of the G5 does make it seem a tad sharper than the 3.2" screen of the Wildfire (same res) - just my perception.

terryhee
post Sep 18 2010, 03:06 PM

hi, i just bought 1 unit G5 for my wife rm670. smile.gif
after playing with it a while. feels its performance quit good & fast. rclxms.gif

only a problem still is the small screen & small resolution.
i installed a apps but i can't see full in the screen (i can't use it cause the setting button is at bottom which the screen cannot view it),
i think this apps work in minimum resolution of HVGA but not QVGA. mad.gif

but overall....
still value for money..... satisfied. brows.gif

sjn hassan
post Sep 19 2010, 10:36 AM

3,544 posts

anyone tried Papago on this phone yet? hmm.gif
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 19 2010, 07:56 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Sep 19 2010, 10:36 AM)
anyone tried Papago on this phone yet?  hmm.gif
I tried papago X5, working well............did not encounter any apps/games problem
mahadizan
post Sep 20 2010, 12:59 AM

21 posts

Bought Galaxy 5 last few days...

anyone facing the same problem?.. WiFI connection always terminated?.. in the same AP ?
My G5 always disconnected my connection and got to restart before reconnect..

SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 20 2010, 06:57 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(mahadizan @ Sep 20 2010, 12:59 AM)

anyone facing the same problem?.. WiFI connection always terminated?.. in the same AP ?
Not facing such issue, wifi in stable
lopiumy
post Sep 20 2010, 11:03 AM

164 posts

QUOTE(mahadizan @ Sep 20 2010, 12:59 AM)

I also facing little problem only on WIFI but not as you describe, i din't get disconnect. What I face is when u din't off phone for long time you'll find it's very lag when u turn on wifi connection and can't connect at all, after that u cannot turn off wifi. You have to restart phone and it's working perfectly after that.

Added on September 20, 2010, 11:12 am
QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Sep 19 2010, 10:36 AM)
anyone tried Papago on this phone yet?  hmm.gif
I've try PAPAGO X5 also and working perfectly. Just in some small road not realy accurate. And anyone having GPS locking problem? Have to restart phon with GPS on then just can use.

This post has been edited by lopiumy: Sep 20 2010, 11:12 AM
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 20 2010, 11:21 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(lopiumy @ Sep 20 2010, 11:03 AM)
I also facing little problem only on WIFI but not as you describe, i din't get disconnect. What I face is when u din't off phone for long time you'll find it's very lag when u turn on wifi connection and can't connect at all, after that u cannot turn off wifi. You have to restart phone and it's working perfectly after that.

Added on September 20, 2010, 11:12 am

I've try PAPAGO X5 also and working perfectly. Just in some small road not realy accurate. And anyone having GPS locking problem? Have to restart phon with GPS on then just can use.
hmm.gif Off gprs/3G/HSPDA and try again the "gps restart phone" issue can solve?

I have no wifi issue as you mentioned. I think its a software problem

This post has been edited by StupidGuyPlayComp: Sep 20 2010, 11:23 AM
sjn hassan
post Sep 20 2010, 11:30 AM

3,544 posts

a

Added on September 20, 2010, 11:48 am
QUOTE(lopiumy @ Sep 20 2010, 11:03 AM)
what do u mean bro?

This post has been edited by sjn hassan: Sep 20 2010, 11:48 AM
lopiumy
post Sep 20 2010, 05:54 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 20 2010, 11:21 AM)
hmm.gif Off gprs/3G/HSPDA and try again the "gps restart phone" issue can solve?

I have no wifi issue as you mentioned. I think its a software problem
1.I already try that but with no result also. Anyway once I get GPS lock i wont switch off GPS and phone already and till now still OK.
2.Mayb I install too many software until like this.

Added on September 20, 2010, 5:56 pm
QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Sep 20 2010, 11:30 AM)
a

Added on September 20, 2010, 11:48 am

what do u mean bro?
Mean sometime when got 2 parallel road it will point wrong road. Otherwise it work fine.

This post has been edited by lopiumy: Sep 20 2010, 05:56 PM
amalost
post Sep 21 2010, 12:46 AM

798 posts

got it from moon for RM630, still playing with the device..
anyone using last.fm scrobbler? can't make it scrobble la...
al11
post Sep 22 2010, 05:34 PM

32 posts

Anyone rooted Galaxy 5?
Which tool you used?
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 22 2010, 06:45 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(al11 @ Sep 22 2010, 05:34 PM)
Anyone rooted Galaxy 5?
Which tool you used?
smile.gif I not try but I know Universal Android Root can do it.........its compatible

OT: laugh.gif Just tested, Galaxy 5 running smooth on "Abduction 2"

This post has been edited by StupidGuyPlayComp: Sep 22 2010, 08:16 PM
areankim
post Sep 23 2010, 12:08 PM

"Live Life Cool"
3,705 posts

QUOTE(amalost @ Sep 21 2010, 12:46 AM)
got it from moon for RM630, still playing with the device..
anyone using last.fm scrobbler? can't make it scrobble la...
RM630 is the best deal currently?
Wanted to trade my jet for another android phone, jet is a junk.
amalost
post Sep 23 2010, 12:11 PM

798 posts

Currently, yeah..if you deal with moon, you get free screen protector and nokia case.
sjn hassan
post Sep 23 2010, 12:13 PM

3,544 posts

which moon are u referring to?this one?

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1456101&hl=moon
amalost
post Sep 23 2010, 12:46 PM

798 posts

yeah, really nice seller as well..
sjn hassan
post Sep 23 2010, 01:04 PM

3,544 posts

but i;m not at KL area..waiting for sms reply according to the shipping cost
nothing_nth
post Sep 23 2010, 02:16 PM

no stars
2,408 posts

izit the screen is too small to type?
wats the main downside for this phone...
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 23 2010, 03:33 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(nothing_nth @ Sep 23 2010, 02:16 PM)
izit the screen is too small to type?
wats the main downside for this phone...
Yes, i felt it too small............this the main downside
nothing_nth
post Sep 23 2010, 04:55 PM

no stars
2,408 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 23 2010, 03:33 PM)
Yes, i felt it too small............this the main downside
so i nid a new phone act as my pda...recording schedule etc... so do u think this the phone i should get...
p/s: fyi...I nvr use smartphone b4
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 23 2010, 06:04 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(nothing_nth @ Sep 23 2010, 04:55 PM)
so i nid a new phone act as my pda...recording schedule etc... so do u think this the phone i should get...
p/s: fyi...I nvr use smartphone b4
Try the bigger screen phone like HTC wildfire (around same price range)
its more comfortable on typing
amalost
post Sep 23 2010, 06:33 PM

798 posts

@StupidGuyPlayComp

Where did you get papago X5 from?

And can some give me the .apk for this app (somehow can't find on market):

http://www.appbrain.com/app/net.jjc1138.android.scrobbler#
-Teddy-
post Sep 23 2010, 07:45 PM

meh
1,939 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 23 2010, 06:04 PM)
Try the bigger screen phone like HTC wildfire (around same price range)
its more comfortable on typing
Not quite the same price range. Galaxy 5 is only RM630, Wildfire cost more than 1k. Throw in another RM100 or so and you can get two Galaxy 5's.
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 23 2010, 07:56 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(-Teddy- @ Sep 23 2010, 07:45 PM)
Not quite the same price range. Galaxy 5 is only RM630, Wildfire cost more than 1k. Throw in another RM100 or so and you can get two Galaxy 5's.
tongue.gif Big screen no cheap.........

Added on September 23, 2010, 8:12 pm
QUOTE(amalost @ Sep 23 2010, 06:33 PM)
@StupidGuyPlayComp

Where did you get papago X5 from?

And can some give me the .apk for this app (somehow can't find on market):

http://www.appbrain.com/app/net.jjc1138.android.scrobbler#
laugh.gif I pmed you for the papago

is this one the scrobble you looking for?
http://nio2.com/animinoid/329

This post has been edited by StupidGuyPlayComp: Sep 23 2010, 08:12 PM
amalost
post Sep 23 2010, 09:05 PM

798 posts

bro, thanks for the papago link.

nope, i want the "Scrobble Droid" cause I can't scrobble through both Last.fm and Simple Last.fm Scrobbler..
nothing_nth
post Sep 23 2010, 10:15 PM

no stars
2,408 posts

Lol...so how? go or not go?
-Teddy-
post Sep 23 2010, 10:26 PM

meh
1,939 posts

QUOTE(nothing_nth @ Sep 23 2010, 10:15 PM)
If you don't mind the small screen, which is really not that small after all unless you have big hands, I would say it's a good start to have a taste of smart phone. It's cheap, it works pretty good, most common apps work fine despite the resolution.

If you're feeling generous, just grab one, and when you feel that you need more power, get a better Android phone and pass this one to your wife/gf/sister/brother and let them have some fun too.

It's running on Android 2.1 unlike other similar priced Android (X10 mini, which is more expensive) on 1.6.
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 23 2010, 10:56 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(nothing_nth @ Sep 23 2010, 10:15 PM)
tongue.gif Easy, just go and test it out.........
nothing_nth
post Sep 23 2010, 11:44 PM

no stars
2,408 posts

QUOTE(-Teddy- @ Sep 23 2010, 10:26 PM)
If you don't mind the small screen, which is really not that small after all unless you have big hands, I would say it's a good start to have a taste of smart phone. It's cheap, it works pretty good, most common apps work fine despite the resolution.

If you're feeling generous, just grab one, and when you feel that you need more power, get a better Android phone and pass this one to your wife/gf/sister/brother and let them have some fun too.

It's running on Android 2.1 unlike other similar priced Android (X10 mini, which is more expensive) on 1.6.
QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 23 2010, 10:56 PM)
tongue.gif Easy, just go and test it out.........
thx for the feedback from both of u...i think...i should go try it out at samsung retail shop...then only decide... notworthy.gif
btw... should u guys make it a club or discussion platform for this phone... hmm.gif
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 24 2010, 07:44 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

hmm.gif Tested this phone with NFS shift, it lag if 4 car racing within the screen

Added on September 25, 2010, 3:59 pm laugh.gif Post some benchmark for this pathetic resolution machine

GLBenchmark Pro ES 1.1 GPU 12.9fps
GLBenchmark HD ES 1.1 GPU 86.8fps

Neocore(with sound) 45.8fps

Nenamark 38.9fps

This post has been edited by StupidGuyPlayComp: Sep 25 2010, 03:59 PM
amalost
post Sep 25 2010, 07:43 PM

798 posts

Why my home screen on the very left side of the screen? Is there any why to change it?
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 25 2010, 08:06 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(amalost @ Sep 25 2010, 07:43 PM)
Why my home screen on the very left side of the screen? Is there any why to change it?
Press the left key physical button(beside home key), then choose edit, you can drag or delete
x132755
post Sep 25 2010, 08:08 PM

13,313 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 24 2010, 07:44 PM)
hmm.gif Tested this phone with NFS shift, it lag if 4 car racing within the screen

Added on September 25, 2010, 3:59 pm laugh.gif Post some benchmark for this pathetic resolution machine

GLBenchmark Pro ES 1.1 GPU 12.9fps
GLBenchmark HD ES 1.1 GPU 86.8fps

Neocore(with sound) 45.8fps

Nenamark 38.9fps
sure not good performance loh..
this is just a BASIC spec, not really can support those game.. sweat.gif
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 25 2010, 08:15 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(x132755 @ Sep 25 2010, 08:08 PM)
sure not good performance loh..
this is just a BASIC spec, not really can support those game.. sweat.gif
biggrin.gif If wanna smoothly play the nfs, I believe only Galaxy S and Iphone can do it............
already surprise that Galaxy 5 can run smoothly in most of the time. Wildfire cant start the game even

The above benchmark result already 2X HTC Desire performance due to the sux resolution
areankim
post Sep 25 2010, 09:02 PM

"Live Life Cool"
3,705 posts

will this phone get froyo?

cos with 150mb internal memory it's jst doesn't help
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 25 2010, 09:19 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(areankim @ Sep 25 2010, 09:02 PM)
will this phone get froyo?

cos with 150mb internal memory it's jst doesn't help
hmm.gif Thats notbody know, but i believe it will............

This phone can be root, and use Apps2SD, so can transfer to SD card

Based on the system info,
ROM useable 186.4MB
areankim
post Sep 25 2010, 09:32 PM

"Live Life Cool"
3,705 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 25 2010, 09:19 PM)
hmm.gif Thats notbody know, but i believe it will............

This phone can be root, and use Apps2SD, so can transfer to SD card

Based on the system info,
ROM useable 186.4MB
So anyone flash with JH4 firmware? from samfirmware?
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 25 2010, 09:37 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(areankim @ Sep 25 2010, 09:32 PM)
So anyone flash with JH4 firmware? from samfirmware?
hmm.gif Does not found any firmware available, eventhose the custom
Tainted
post Sep 26 2010, 12:53 AM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

Thinking of getting this phone. Actually I prefer wildfire over this but of course, budget constraint.

I have a few concerns tho.

One is the screen, 2.8", is it really small?

Another one is, the internal memory, is it enough for apps?
-Teddy-
post Sep 26 2010, 01:35 AM

meh
1,939 posts

QUOTE(amalost @ Sep 25 2010, 07:43 PM)
Use LauncherPro and you can select your default home screen.
sufyian
post Sep 26 2010, 02:15 AM

156 posts

need little help here....i juz bought the g5 model....i wanna use the GPS...i already installed the papago..and i can open evryting the application..but the problem is...when i open the map..then the icon of satellite showed the question mark...then it cannot detect my current position...how to activate the "satellite"? can any1 help me...plz...sad.gif
-Teddy-
post Sep 26 2010, 02:36 AM

meh
1,939 posts

QUOTE(sufyian @ Sep 26 2010, 02:15 AM)
need little help here....i juz bought the g5 model....i wanna use the GPS...i already installed the papago..and i can open evryting the application..but the problem is...when i open the map..then the icon of satellite showed the question mark...then it cannot detect my current position...how to activate the "satellite"? can any1 help me...plz...sad.gif
If you're indoor, try going outdoor?
sufyian
post Sep 26 2010, 02:49 AM

156 posts

is there any 1st step to activate the GPS? any through the setting? and let say if it found the satellite, what type the icon will show?
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 26 2010, 08:09 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(Tainted @ Sep 26 2010, 12:53 AM)
Thinking of getting this phone. Actually I prefer wildfire over this but of course, budget constraint.

I have a few concerns tho.

One is the screen, 2.8", is it really small?

Another one is, the internal memory, is it enough for apps?
smile.gif Yes, I felt the screen really small........the worst point
Regarding internal memory, actually I not confirm what the actual size of the ROM, using the system info and show total ROM of 184MB ( i not sure whether it include the OS)

but once it upgrade to 2.2, it can install into SD card, not the issue anymore

for the RAM, the level control by OS automatic, most of the time is 6x - 9x free RAM, this level is normal for many device. I dint feel lag

Added on September 26, 2010, 8:22 am
QUOTE(sufyian @ Sep 26 2010, 02:49 AM)
is there any 1st step to activate the GPS? any through the setting? and let say if it found the satellite, what type the icon will show?
My setting,
Setting - Location & Security Setting - Use Wireless Network (keep tick)
Setting - Location & Security Setting - Use GPS Satellite (keep tick)

Setting - Wireless & Network - Mobile Networks - Enable always on mobile (tick or untick is up to you, I untick)

Indoor, you can use google maps with wifi, lock in few second, but location not accurate
indoor without wifi, I not even success, this machine sux in indoor locking
Outdoor, usually lock within a minute depend the surrounding building (Driving in car also can)

If the "Satellite and Question" mark icon blinking at Papago, meaning its still searching satellite, yet to lock
Once it lock, Papago will sound to inform you, and icon disappear

This post has been edited by StupidGuyPlayComp: Sep 26 2010, 08:24 AM
sjn hassan
post Sep 26 2010, 09:42 AM

3,544 posts

StupidGuyPlayComp...papago got Live Compass? or any software for compass?
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 26 2010, 09:45 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Sep 26 2010, 09:42 AM)
StupidGuyPlayComp...papago got Live Compass? or any software for compass?
smile.gif Type "compass" in Android market..........you get many
"GPS test" got compass as well
sjn hassan
post Sep 26 2010, 10:04 AM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 26 2010, 09:45 AM)
smile.gif Type "compass" in Android market..........you get many
"GPS test" got compass as well
it's working? coz i tried compass in mapking and it's not working laugh.gif
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 26 2010, 10:14 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Sep 26 2010, 10:04 AM)
it's working? coz i tried compass in mapking and it's not working  laugh.gif
I use the compass in "GPS Test", its working
tutiger
post Sep 26 2010, 02:53 PM

415 posts

Hey people, a new Galaxy 5 user on board here.

Did face a few problems after playing around with it......!
1. Papago took too long to lock in position..... about 30-45 mins, place on the car dashboard.

2. The screen would sometimes blank out.... restart by taking out the battery

3. The contact would not sync with my Outlook via Kies but Calendar can....
kidmad
post Sep 26 2010, 03:00 PM

4,481 posts

@tutiger i have not face any problem you've mentioned. i just got my phone as well. hehe
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 26 2010, 03:24 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(tutiger @ Sep 26 2010, 02:53 PM)
Hey people, a new Galaxy 5 user on board here.

Did face a few problems after playing around with it......!
1. Papago took too long to lock in position..... about 30-45 mins, place on the car dashboard.

2. The screen would sometimes blank out.... restart by taking out the battery

3. The contact would not sync with my Outlook via Kies but Calendar can....
hmm.gif My papago dint encounter the problem you mentioned, not necessary place on dashboard also can lock in fast

About contact sync, I have no ideal, dint try before
Tainted
post Sep 26 2010, 04:43 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 26 2010, 09:09 AM)
smile.gif Yes, I felt the screen really small........the worst point
Regarding internal memory, actually I not confirm what the actual size of the ROM, using the system info and show total ROM of 184MB ( i not sure whether it include the OS)

but once it upgrade to 2.2, it can install into SD card, not the issue anymore

for the RAM, the level control by OS automatic, most of the time is 6x - 9x free RAM, this level is normal for many device. I dint feel lag

Is it really that small? What about other uses here, do you find it too small?

How about typing sms, how does it feel?
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 26 2010, 05:35 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(Tainted @ Sep 26 2010, 04:43 PM)

smile.gif This one is depend on your own, you can view the physical machine or view the demo on youtube
sjn hassan
post Sep 26 2010, 05:49 PM

3,544 posts

better u go play2 at HP shop to see either u can manage u accept the screen size or not
Tainted
post Sep 26 2010, 05:53 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

Yeap, will do so one day.
Btw, the layout of the pages of apps, can be changed right?

I like the layout on the HTC Wildfire tho.

Hows the screen quality compared to wildfire?
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 26 2010, 06:00 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(Tainted @ Sep 26 2010, 05:53 PM)
Yeap, will do so one day.
Btw, the layout of the pages of apps, can be changed right?

I like the layout on the HTC Wildfire tho.

Hows the screen quality compared to wildfire?
Yes, you can change the layout.........

Screen quality is much better than wildfire
3D performance is much better than wildfire
-Teddy-
post Sep 26 2010, 06:17 PM

meh
1,939 posts

Galaxy 5 comes with Swype.

SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 26 2010, 06:24 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(-Teddy- @ Sep 26 2010, 06:17 PM)
Galaxy 5 comes with Swype.

cry.gif Yeah, stock Galaxy 5 included swype and tutorial as well, but I still not manage to pro there, sad
sufyian
post Sep 26 2010, 06:30 PM

156 posts

i jus bought the stylus..but seems it cant be use with this phone sad.gif
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 26 2010, 06:44 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(sufyian @ Sep 26 2010, 06:30 PM)
i jus bought the stylus..but seems it cant be use with this phone sad.gif
smile.gif Galaxy 5 using capacitive touch screen, cant use stylus............

All the new phone now day changed to capacitive screen from resistive screen (resistive screen use stylus)

capacitive touch screen much better, like the Iphone using
Tainted
post Sep 26 2010, 07:14 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 26 2010, 07:00 PM)
Yes, you can change the layout.........

Screen quality is much better than wildfire
3D performance is much better than wildfire
Can change it to slide down the list like wildfire instead of left and right?

Btw, how about the home screen, I really like the one on HTC wildfire. Possible to make it like that too?
sufyian
post Sep 26 2010, 07:45 PM

156 posts

guys..need help to change the way of inbox messaging...mine is like chatting form...how to change to the normal phone inbox...
PAKSI
post Sep 26 2010, 08:04 PM

QUOTE(sufyian @ Sep 26 2010, 02:15 AM)
bro sufyian,

i also encountered the same problem as u are.did you managed to settle it up?if yes, please enlighten me.
kidmad
post Sep 26 2010, 08:17 PM

4,481 posts

for ease add android widget, power control, always activate your gps. hehe
PAKSI
post Sep 26 2010, 08:19 PM

QUOTE(kidmad @ Sep 26 2010, 08:17 PM)
for ease add android widget, power control, always activate your gps. hehe
done that already, still the same.the satellite signal kept blinking eventhough i let it idle for 30 min++.
dicksonbell
post Sep 26 2010, 08:21 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Wow from Galaxy S to Galaxy 5!
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 26 2010, 08:24 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(PAKSI @ Sep 26 2010, 08:19 PM)
done that already, still the same.the satellite signal kept blinking eventhough i let it idle for 30 min++.
smile.gif Go to outdoor open area, better without tall building in surround............sure fast lock
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 26 2010, 09:17 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(Tainted @ Sep 26 2010, 07:14 PM)
Can change it to slide down the list like wildfire instead of left and right?

Btw, how about the home screen, I really like the one on HTC wildfire. Possible to make it like that too?
tongue.gif I special demo it for you...........

(My phone is not root so unable take screen shoot, only using camera to take photo)

Tainted
post Sep 26 2010, 09:38 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

Oh thats nice. Thanks.

Think I'll gotto find time to take a look at the real thing to see if the screen is too small, if its not, then I'll get one.

Btw, where and whats the cheapest price to get this right now?
Savor_Savvy
post Sep 26 2010, 09:48 PM

2,776 posts

before this, im more interested in 5800 till i see this...i guess i will consider this wink.gif
PAKSI
post Sep 26 2010, 10:16 PM

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 26 2010, 08:24 PM)
smile.gif Go to outdoor open area, better without tall building in surround............sure fast lock
yup, done that already.waiting in a car,parking on the road for 30min++..is there any possibilities that the software (papago x5) had prob??

Added on September 26, 2010, 10:18 pm
QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 26 2010, 09:17 PM)
tongue.gif I special demo it for you...........

(My phone is not root so unable take screen shoot, only using camera to take photo)
with instruction pleaseeee... drool.gif drool.gif

This post has been edited by PAKSI: Sep 26 2010, 10:18 PM
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 26 2010, 10:42 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Sep 26 2010, 09:48 PM)
before this, im more interested in 5800 till i see this...i guess i will consider this wink.gif
I5800 is nice but not sure whether on sale in Malaysia or not

Added on September 26, 2010, 10:43 pm
QUOTE(PAKSI @ Sep 26 2010, 10:16 PM)
yup, done that already.waiting in a car,parking on the road for 30min++..is there any possibilities that the software (papago x5) had prob??

Added on September 26, 2010, 10:18 pm

with instruction pleaseeee... drool.gif  drool.gif
I always lock in position fast, dont know why............i tested in 2 units Galaxy 5

Instruction, just install the apps "Beautiful Widgets"

This post has been edited by StupidGuyPlayComp: Sep 26 2010, 10:43 PM
PAKSI
post Sep 26 2010, 10:53 PM

I always lock in position fast, dont know why............i tested in 2 units Galaxy 5

that what makes me cannot sleep at nite.trying to find the solution. cry.gif cry.gif

do you hv the installer??plsss.. icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 26 2010, 10:58 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(PAKSI @ Sep 26 2010, 10:53 PM)

that what makes me cannot sleep at nite.trying to find the solution. cry.gif  cry.gif

do you hv the installer??plsss.. icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
http://www.sendspace.com/file/5x2t5h
Beautiful Widgets 1.33MB

Many skin to be choose
Savor_Savvy
post Sep 26 2010, 11:01 PM

2,776 posts

can this phone play fb games like farmville, mafia wars, etc etc??
nothing_nth
post Sep 26 2010, 11:06 PM

no stars
2,408 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Sep 26 2010, 11:01 PM)
I dont think this budget phone support flash... sad.gif
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 26 2010, 11:13 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Sep 26 2010, 11:01 PM)
Only Android 2.2 can support flash............
but thats game is decide for PC, hardly run by mobile device
PAKSI
post Sep 26 2010, 11:58 PM

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 26 2010, 10:58 PM)
http://www.sendspace.com/file/5x2t5h
Beautiful Widgets 1.33MB

Many skin to be choose
tqvm rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
Tainted
post Sep 27 2010, 02:47 AM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

Btw, the screen resolution can support most apps right?
nothing_nth
post Sep 27 2010, 03:34 AM

no stars
2,408 posts

QUOTE(Tainted @ Sep 27 2010, 02:47 AM)
watever apps can run in wildfire... this should be able to do so...same resolution... smile.gif
p/s: correct me if im wrong
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 27 2010, 07:15 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(Tainted @ Sep 27 2010, 02:47 AM)
smile.gif Dint encounter the apps cant support..........apps should not be problem

the problem on games, some of famous game (3D games) cant support perfectly
PAKSI
post Sep 27 2010, 08:23 AM

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 27 2010, 07:15 AM)
smile.gif Dint encounter the apps cant support..........apps should not be problem

the problem on games, some of famous game (3D games) cant support perfectly
woahhh..u woke up very early ah..
yup, agree. the screen can't support games wif higher resolution.too bad.
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 27 2010, 09:55 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(PAKSI @ Sep 27 2010, 08:23 AM)
woahhh..u woke up very early ah..
yup, agree. the screen can't support games wif higher resolution.too bad.
biggrin.gif I gonna working..........

Is that we need open another official thread for Galaxy 5 since this thread starter disappear?
so that we able combine the user list and sharing there
sjn hassan
post Sep 27 2010, 12:16 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 26 2010, 10:42 PM)
I5800 is nice but not sure whether on sale in Malaysia or not

just get my G5 last nite...it's my 1st Android..migrating from Windows

so far i found

Pros

1. speed is very smooth
2. the screen size is acceptable..not to small for me during SMS

Cons

1. no LED indicator either the phone / BT / Wifi is ON
2. no LED at the control button doh.gif

areankim
post Sep 27 2010, 12:48 PM

"Live Life Cool"
3,705 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 27 2010, 09:55 AM)
biggrin.gif I gonna working..........

Is that we need open another official thread for Galaxy 5 since this thread starter disappear?
so that we able combine the user list and sharing there
that will be great, gonna get 1 galaxy 5 soon.
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 27 2010, 12:53 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Sep 27 2010, 12:16 PM)
just get my G5 last nite...it's my 1st Android..migrating from Windows

so far i found

Pros

1. speed is very smooth
2. the screen size is acceptable..not to small for me during SMS

Cons

1. no LED indicator either the phone / BT / Wifi is ON
2. no LED at the control button  doh.gif
laugh.gif On the top of the screen has a drop down list which can on/off such function.

Once it switched on, an icon will indicate on top of the screen

its convenince tongue.gif
mykomputer
post Sep 27 2010, 12:57 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 27 2010, 12:53 PM)
laugh.gif On the top of the screen has a drop down list which can on/off such function.

Or you can can press the list button (left most) beside the home button in homescreen and choose "notification"
sjn hassan
post Sep 27 2010, 12:59 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 27 2010, 12:53 PM)

i mean a LED / light bro.. hmm.gif
vworm69
post Sep 27 2010, 12:59 PM

34 posts

Hi There to all Galaxy 5 owners...new members reporting in...white G5...happy androiding u guys... smile.gif
sjn hassan
post Sep 27 2010, 01:07 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(vworm69 @ Sep 27 2010, 12:59 PM)
Hi There to all Galaxy 5 owners...new members reporting in...white G5...happy androiding u guys... smile.gif
welcome braderz...at 1st i want to take the white color but finally change to black since it's not 100% white but mixed color
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 27 2010, 01:09 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Sep 27 2010, 01:07 PM)
welcome braderz...at 1st i want to take the white color but finally change to black since it's not 100% white but mixed color
sweat.gif After I took the physical phone only notice it mixed colour blush.gif

I bought 2 units white colour
vworm69
post Sep 27 2010, 01:12 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Sep 27 2010, 12:07 PM)
Thanks Bro...in my case it happens coz the shop are having the last stock which is white...btw...loving my G5 from day to days...using P1 wifi from my home were just incredible...it tooks in just a few mminutes to download apps from the marke(depends on how big the files are)...i'm using opera mini to surf on these babies...very fast processor to upload the web page...
keagan
post Sep 27 2010, 01:13 PM

526 posts

can you all post how ur phone looks like in white? =)
vworm69
post Sep 27 2010, 01:14 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 27 2010, 12:09 PM)
sweat.gif After I took the physical phone only notice it mixed colour blush.gif

I bought 2 units white colour
Cool bro...and can somebody clarified that our G5 are Scratchless isn't it?...
sjn hassan
post Sep 27 2010, 01:17 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(vworm69 @ Sep 27 2010, 01:14 PM)
sure bro?i found in youtube about the scratch test..but they are using a skin protector hmm.gif
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 27 2010, 01:21 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(keagan @ Sep 27 2010, 01:13 PM)
can you all post how ur phone looks like in white? =)
smile.gif You can search it at youtube, many demonstration there
keagan
post Sep 27 2010, 01:24 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 27 2010, 01:21 PM)
smile.gif You can search it at youtube, many demonstration there
alright! thx for ur info.. =D
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 27 2010, 01:24 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(vworm69 @ Sep 27 2010, 01:14 PM)
biggrin.gif I believe there is nobody dare to test............

I have no ideal about Samsung definition on the scratch-less screen, is that a special material? or just because it capacitive?

as I know capacitive is more scratchless than resistive screen due to it can use hard glass screen, while resistive must use soft screen
vworm69
post Sep 27 2010, 01:30 PM

34 posts

I were told by the sales person that these phone are scratch proof(forgive me if she were bluff)...played with their demo unit...that she said has been in their shop since it launch...it's true...there's no...not even smaller on the front and back of these babies...
areankim
post Sep 27 2010, 01:37 PM

"Live Life Cool"
3,705 posts

G3 will get 2.2

G5 no news... haizzz why la!
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 27 2010, 01:43 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(vworm69 @ Sep 27 2010, 01:30 PM)
I were told by the sales person that these phone are scratch proof(forgive me if she were bluff)...played with their demo unit...that she said has been in their shop since it launch...it's true...there's no...not even smaller on the front and back of these babies...
Samsung claim it was a hard and scratchless screen, how "scratchless" we dont know

Added on September 27, 2010, 1:47 pm
QUOTE(areankim @ Sep 27 2010, 01:37 PM)
G3 will get 2.2

G5 no news... haizzz why la!
sweat.gif Sad to heard that........anyway "no news" better than i5700 unabale update at all

This post has been edited by StupidGuyPlayComp: Sep 27 2010, 01:47 PM
kidmad
post Sep 27 2010, 03:10 PM

4,481 posts

Come on RM630! you cant expect much right? haha it's working wonderful on my palms as my office phone. haha
sufyian
post Sep 27 2010, 04:32 PM

156 posts

guys..can teach me how to use swipe typing in messaging?
tutiger
post Sep 27 2010, 04:42 PM

415 posts

You can try this website

http://swypeinc.com/tips-tricks.html
sufyian
post Sep 27 2010, 04:46 PM

156 posts

i mean..how to enable the swipe function...bcoz when i go to compose new message..then i cant find the swipe function
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 27 2010, 04:48 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(sufyian @ Sep 27 2010, 04:46 PM)
i mean..how to enable the swipe function...bcoz when i go to compose new message..then i cant find the swipe function
press the "input box" for few second........
sufyian
post Sep 27 2010, 04:53 PM

156 posts

thanx alot! smile.gif

Added on September 27, 2010, 5:10 pmI think we should have an official thread for this lovely phone galaxy 5 official thread...so its easy if people wanna share or ask anyting regarding to this phone

This post has been edited by sufyian: Sep 27 2010, 05:10 PM
kidmad
post Sep 27 2010, 05:24 PM

4,481 posts

i thought this is official, man the battery for this phone is good. I wish my Milestone battery is as good as this... sad.gif
silentser
post Sep 27 2010, 05:26 PM

OH MAH ANDROID
3,177 posts

QUOTE(sufyian @ Sep 27 2010, 04:53 PM)
thanx alot! smile.gif

Added on September 27, 2010, 5:10 pmI think we should have an official thread for this lovely phone galaxy 5 official thread...so its easy if people wanna share or ask anyting regarding to this phone
just bought this phone for my lil sister, advice her to wait for g3, but so long sweat.gif , so g5 is the way to go.
bought from PDA expert, they are very very super duper great shop. 4 thumbs up.

i got very good bargain from them, and they also give CAPDASE (yeah its capdase no china) screen protector free.

i dont recomment you go to samsung mobile shop at subang parade, very stingy one.... even so hard to ask for screen protector.

@sufiyan, you can just turn this thread into G5 official one, just give the 1st poster a pm to include G5 information on the 1st page
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 27 2010, 05:43 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Sep 27 2010, 05:26 PM)
just bought this phone for my lil sister, advice her to wait for g3, but so long  sweat.gif , so g5 is the way to go.

i got very good bargain from them, and they also give CAPDASE (yeah its capdase no china) screen protector free.

i dont recomment you go to samsung mobile shop at subang parade, very stingy one.... even so hard to ask for screen protector.

@sufiyan, you can just turn this thread into G5 official one, just give the 1st poster a pm to include G5 information on the 1st page
laugh.gif I pmed thread starter to maintain the thread or re-open.........
SUSkhalpowers
post Sep 27 2010, 06:17 PM

1,966 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 25 2010, 09:15 PM)
biggrin.gif If wanna smoothly play the nfs, I believe only Galaxy S and Iphone can do it............
already surprise that Galaxy 5 can run smoothly in most of the time. Wildfire cant start the game even

The above benchmark result already 2X HTC Desire performance due to the sux resolution
My xt can run nfs same like my another i3gs..plus can play on bigscreen...huhu..

Added on September 27, 2010, 6:22 pmTalking abt new high end game...don't forget my xt arr..sepupu sepapat Droid ..hehe

This post has been edited by khalpowers: Sep 27 2010, 06:22 PM
sjn hassan
post Sep 27 2010, 06:53 PM

3,544 posts

guys...i still can't use my Papago..it's seems can't detect the GPS..but i can use the compass in other software hmm.gif
Tainted
post Sep 27 2010, 07:09 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

Where the cheapest place to get it right now and how much?

So far the cheapest i've seen is on LYN here, for RM630. Anyone got it below RM630?

Btw, hows the availability of accessories for this phone like screen protector and case?
sjn hassan
post Sep 27 2010, 07:24 PM

3,544 posts

i have root my G5..so how to install an application into the SD card?
amalost
post Sep 27 2010, 07:37 PM

798 posts

@sjn hassan

wow, so fast, already root..u use universal root rite?
sjn hassan
post Sep 27 2010, 07:52 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(amalost @ Sep 27 2010, 07:37 PM)
@sjn hassan

wow, so fast, already root..u use universal root rite?
yess....just want to try what's the different laugh.gif

Added on September 27, 2010, 7:55 pmjust install a movie player..yesss...now my phone can play .flv and .avi..now my son can enjoy his Bacckom back thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by sjn hassan: Sep 27 2010, 07:55 PM
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 27 2010, 08:00 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Sep 27 2010, 06:53 PM)
guys...i still can't use my Papago..it's seems can't detect the GPS..but i can use the compass in other software  hmm.gif
smile.gif Try it at open area (outdoor)
sjn hassan
post Sep 27 2010, 08:01 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 27 2010, 08:00 PM)
smile.gif Try it at open area (outdoor)
tried before but still failed hmm.gif

can u guide me A-Z?i afraid i miss something notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by sjn hassan: Sep 27 2010, 08:02 PM
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 27 2010, 08:02 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(Tainted @ Sep 27 2010, 07:09 PM)
Where the cheapest place to get it right now and how much?

So far the cheapest i've seen is on LYN here, for RM630. Anyone got it below RM630?

Btw, hows the availability of accessories for this phone like screen protector and case?
cheapest I saw is RM619, web seller without shoop

I buy from web seller moon, she became famous seller of Galaxy 5 now..........
She told me that she bought one Galaxy 5 as well

Added on September 27, 2010, 8:04 pm
QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Sep 27 2010, 07:24 PM)
i have root my G5..so how to install an application into the SD card?
rclxms.gif You are the first person who root the Galaxy5 here

I try search you the instruction, but as i know you need custom ROM to do it, at this moment G5 has no custom ROM

Added on September 27, 2010, 8:05 pm
QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Sep 27 2010, 07:52 PM)
yess....just want to try what's the different  laugh.gif

Added on September 27, 2010, 7:55 pmjust install a movie player..yesss...now my phone can play .flv and .avi..now my son can enjoy his Bacckom back  thumbup.gif
icon_idea.gif Try Rockplayer, the smoothest player i tried

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Sep 27 2010, 08:01 PM)
tried before but still failed  hmm.gif

can u guide me A-Z?i afraid i miss something    notworthy.gif
Have you activate the gps in the Android setting?

Added on September 27, 2010, 8:06 pmMy setting,

Setting - Wireless & Network - Mobile Networks - Enable always on mobile (tick or untick is up to you, I untick)

Indoor, you can use google maps with wifi, lock in few second, but location not accurate
Outdoor, usually lock within a minute depend the surrounding building (Driving in car also can)

This post has been edited by StupidGuyPlayComp: Sep 27 2010, 08:06 PM
Tainted
post Sep 27 2010, 08:14 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

How much is seller Moon selling?

I still havent got the time to look at the real thing at samsung shop but most probably gonna get this. Check out a few shops today, they don't have G5 yet.
kidmad
post Sep 27 2010, 08:21 PM

4,481 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Sep 27 2010, 05:26 PM)
just bought this phone for my lil sister, advice her to wait for g3, but so long  sweat.gif , so g5 is the way to go.

How much you bought it? they have screen protector for this model already?

Added on September 27, 2010, 8:23 pm
QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 27 2010, 08:02 PM)
cheapest I saw is RM619, web seller without shoop

I buy from web seller moon, she became famous seller of Galaxy 5 now..........
She told me that she bought one Galaxy 5 as well

Added on September 27, 2010, 8:04 pm
rclxms.gif You are the first person who root the Galaxy5 here

I try search you the instruction, but as i know you need custom ROM to do it, at this moment G5 has no custom ROM

icon_idea.gif Try Rockplayer, the smoothest player i tried

User universal androot not consider root also ka?

This post has been edited by kidmad: Sep 27 2010, 08:23 PM
fcuk90
post Sep 27 2010, 08:26 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

G3how much ? gt pimp to zoom?
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 27 2010, 08:27 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(Tainted @ Sep 27 2010, 08:14 PM)
How much is seller Moon selling?

I still havent got the time to look at the real thing at samsung shop but most probably gonna get this. Check out a few shops today, they don't have G5 yet.
Most of the shop not yet carry G5........it quite new and non famous model

Moon told me that still dont have screen protector for G5, I using Samsung Corby s.protector
you need too cut a bit to suite G5

rclxms.gif This thread and a thread in Chinese forum help her boost a lot of sale for G5 tongue.gif

Added on September 27, 2010, 8:29 pm
QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Sep 27 2010, 08:26 PM)
G3how much ? gt pimp to zoom?
hmm.gif Heard from the phone seller that G3 will on sale in Malaysia but it will attached with call plan...........

This post has been edited by StupidGuyPlayComp: Sep 27 2010, 08:29 PM
fcuk90
post Sep 27 2010, 08:30 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

^ with call plan it is more cheap , since wildfire with maxis is affordable too . if it is priced around rm400 -500 ,definitely worth getting.
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 27 2010, 08:32 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Sep 27 2010, 08:30 PM)
^ with call plan it is more cheap , since wildfire with maxis is affordable too . if it is priced around rm400 -500 ,definitely worth getting.
biggrin.gif Its a unconfirm news......but in fact G3 is much better than G5

Added on September 27, 2010, 8:33 pmThread starter pmed me and mentioned that he give up this thread.........

I suggest we re-open a official thread

This post has been edited by StupidGuyPlayComp: Sep 27 2010, 08:33 PM
sjn hassan
post Sep 27 2010, 08:33 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 27 2010, 08:02 PM)

still failed..it's seems it's can't detect the satellite rclxub.gif
fcuk90
post Sep 27 2010, 08:34 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 27 2010, 08:32 PM)
biggrin.gif Its a unconfirm news......but in fact G3 is much better than G5

Added on September 27, 2010, 8:33 pmThread starter pmed me and mentioned that he give up this thread.........

I suggest we re-open a official thread
if it market at rm700 . definitely worth getting , since g3 will get the froyo update right?
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 27 2010, 08:34 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Sep 27 2010, 08:33 PM)
still failed..it's seems it's can't detect the satellite  rclxub.gif
hmm.gif "keep tick" then restart phone.............if this still fail, thats no others way

Added on September 27, 2010, 8:35 pm
QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Sep 27 2010, 08:34 PM)
if it market at rm700 . definitely worth getting , since g3 will get the froyo update right?
G3 selling SGD399, as RM899...........

This post has been edited by StupidGuyPlayComp: Sep 27 2010, 08:35 PM
amalost
post Sep 27 2010, 09:43 PM

798 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 27 2010, 08:34 PM)
hmm.gif "keep tick" then restart phone.............if this still fail, thats no others way

Added on September 27, 2010, 8:35 pm
G3 selling SGD399, as RM899...........
and Moon will be selling around RM830 lol
sufyian
post Sep 27 2010, 09:58 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(PAKSI @ Sep 26 2010, 10:53 PM)

that what makes me cannot sleep at nite.trying to find the solution. cry.gif  cry.gif

do you hv the installer??plsss.. icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
ok..mine is working...even inside the car... rclxm9.gif ....but need 5-10min to lock the satellite... sweat.gif
kidmad
post Sep 27 2010, 10:02 PM

4,481 posts

fuh Galaxy 3 will be that cheap? damn now im tempted. im waiting for my froyo on milestone and i shall decide... if everything is great on froyo i will find the custom rom for this baby phone. haha
sufyian
post Sep 27 2010, 10:03 PM

156 posts

by d way..guys..what is root?..
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 27 2010, 10:06 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(sufyian @ Sep 27 2010, 09:58 PM)
ok..mine is working...even inside the car... rclxm9.gif ....but need 5-10min to lock the satellite... sweat.gif
smile.gif try a-gps, maybe can help you faster..................

but beware to swicth off all background sync and dont open google maps (if you dun hav data plan)

Added on September 27, 2010, 10:07 pm
QUOTE(sufyian @ Sep 27 2010, 10:03 PM)
by d way..guys..what is root?..
giving you admin level, you can modify the system files.............

beware : root will void your warranty

This post has been edited by StupidGuyPlayComp: Sep 27 2010, 10:07 PM
kidmad
post Sep 27 2010, 10:50 PM

4,481 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 27 2010, 10:06 PM)

but beware to swicth off all background sync and dont open google maps (if you dun hav data plan)

Just use Androot nia, root and unroot is so simple. lol!
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 27 2010, 10:54 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

laugh.gif Who wanna open a new official thread?
ck-wai
post Sep 27 2010, 11:00 PM

Guys, new user reporting in rclxms.gif
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 27 2010, 11:04 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(ck-wai @ Sep 27 2010, 11:00 PM)
Guys, new user reporting in rclxms.gif
rclxms.gif Welcome, bro

Added on September 27, 2010, 11:05 pm tongue.gif Share a game with you all, Ninja Kaka (cencang buah-buahan)
14.1MB

https://docs.google.com/uc?id=0B__KWVHIKTT0...=download&hl=en

This post has been edited by StupidGuyPlayComp: Sep 27 2010, 11:06 PM
areankim
post Sep 27 2010, 11:20 PM

"Live Life Cool"
3,705 posts

galaxy starts selling already?
amalost
post Sep 27 2010, 11:24 PM

798 posts

My vote goes to StupidGuyPlayComp to open the new thread! rclxms.gif

Galaxy S and 5 already available, G3 to come.
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 27 2010, 11:27 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(areankim @ Sep 27 2010, 11:20 PM)
galaxy starts selling already?
hmm.gif I think Malaysia dint carry Galaxy

Added on September 27, 2010, 11:27 pm
QUOTE(amalost @ Sep 27 2010, 11:24 PM)
My vote goes to StupidGuyPlayComp to open the new thread! rclxms.gif

Galaxy S and 5 already available, G3 to come.
biggrin.gif You can open if you wish..........

This post has been edited by StupidGuyPlayComp: Sep 27 2010, 11:27 PM
areankim
post Sep 27 2010, 11:35 PM

"Live Life Cool"
3,705 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 27 2010, 11:27 PM)
hmm.gif I think Malaysia dint carry Galaxy

Added on September 27, 2010, 11:27 pm
biggrin.gif You can open if you wish..........
lolx... i'm referring to galaxy 3... tongue.gif
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 27 2010, 11:39 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(areankim @ Sep 27 2010, 11:35 PM)
lolx... i'm referring to galaxy 3... tongue.gif
smile.gif Not yet in market, willing to enter Malaysia still unknown
Clerks
post Sep 28 2010, 12:19 AM

129 posts

Rooted this phone earlier to use shootme. I can use the apps but the screenshot looks like damaged. Kinda digitized.

Noob Q: How to activate & use swype?
buntutwoman
post Sep 28 2010, 01:02 AM

182 posts

i think i have 2 galaxy 3's with me. i5801. dunno if i should sell or not since i'm not using it.

areankim
post Sep 28 2010, 01:10 AM

"Live Life Cool"
3,705 posts

QUOTE(Clerks @ Sep 28 2010, 12:19 AM)
Rooted this phone earlier to use shootme. I can use the apps but the screenshot looks like damaged. Kinda digitized.

Noob Q: How to activate & use swype?
Long press on Text Box, Choose Input Method, Tick Swype. you are ready to SWYPE!
keagan
post Sep 28 2010, 01:44 AM

526 posts

oops..posted at a wrong section =p

This post has been edited by keagan: Sep 28 2010, 01:45 AM
vworm69
post Sep 28 2010, 08:41 AM

34 posts

Morning guys...could someone pls help me with the ADWironman theme that i dwnload through the market...after it was sucessfully installed...i could not find it anyehere on my G5...thanks in advane...
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 28 2010, 08:58 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(vworm69 @ Sep 28 2010, 08:41 AM)
Morning guys...could someone pls help me with the ADWironman theme that i dwnload through the market...after it was sucessfully installed...i could not find it anyehere on my G5...thanks in advane...
smile.gif Press the most left key(physical key) in home screen, find it near there..........
vworm69
post Sep 28 2010, 09:14 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 28 2010, 07:58 AM)
smile.gif Press the most left key(physical key) in home screen, find it near there..........
Thanks bro...will try it out when i get back home...i could not find it there...may be i have uninstalled it...check out at the manage application folder...there's no theme apps that i have installed... icon_rolleyes.gif
kidmad
post Sep 28 2010, 09:18 AM

4,481 posts

QUOTE(vworm69 @ Sep 28 2010, 09:14 AM)
Thanks bro...will try it out when i get back home...i could not find it there...may be i have uninstalled it...check out at the manage application folder...there's no theme apps that i have installed... icon_rolleyes.gif
U installed ADW belum? You need ADW 1st before you are able to select the theme la. btw Galaxy TW Loader is great why changing! ADW laggish tongue.gif
sjn hassan
post Sep 28 2010, 09:32 AM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 27 2010, 10:54 PM)
laugh.gif Who wanna open a new official thread?
1 more vote for u laugh.gif
vworm69
post Sep 28 2010, 09:41 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Sep 28 2010, 08:18 AM)
U installed ADW belum? You need ADW 1st before you are able to select the theme la. btw Galaxy TW Loader is great why changing! ADW laggish tongue.gif
Aiyaaa...ADW is a seperate things ka?not installed it yet..where to find?is it in the market apps?btw is Galaxy TW loader is an apps that we have to dwnload through the market? shakehead.gif i'm really noob...forgive me...and thanks a lots for helping.
kidmad
post Sep 28 2010, 09:55 AM

4,481 posts

QUOTE(vworm69 @ Sep 28 2010, 09:41 AM)
Aiyaaa...ADW is  a seperate things ka?not installed it yet..where to find?is it in the market apps?btw is Galaxy TW loader is an apps that we have to dwnload through the market? shakehead.gif i'm really noob...forgive me...and thanks a lots for helping.
haha that explains, it is actually just a launcher, you can get it from AppBrain. there is lotta kind of launcher (interface for themes - after installing them only you can use them to select your themes, currently ADW should have the most themes). Home Pro, Sense, ADW, Zeam and so on. Feel free to search and try it out your own. I personally using Zeam on both my Milestone and Galaxy 5. Not too fancy but it's fast definately. TW Launcher is the launcher which comes with our phone by Samsung, its one good Launcher as well.

http://www.appbrain.com/
vworm69
post Sep 28 2010, 10:11 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Sep 28 2010, 08:55 AM)
haha that explains, it is actually just a launcher, you can get it from AppBrain. there is lotta kind of launcher (interface for themes - after installing them only you can use them to select your themes, currently ADW should have the most themes). Home Pro, Sense, ADW, Zeam and so on. Feel free to search and try it out your own. I personally using Zeam on both my Milestone and Galaxy 5. Not too fancy but it's fast definately. TW Launcher is the launcher which comes with our phone by Samsung, its one good Launcher as well.

http://www.appbrain.com/
biggrin.gif TQVM bro...u helps a lots...will surf the appbrain...another question...what is root...do we have to do that so that our downloaded file can be save to our memory card... sweat.gif
sjn hassan
post Sep 28 2010, 10:14 AM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(vworm69 @ Sep 28 2010, 10:11 AM)
biggrin.gif TQVM bro...u helps a lots...will surf the appbrain...another question...what is root...do we have to do that so that our downloaded file can be save to our memory card... sweat.gif
Q: How does rooting works?
A: It essentially adds two files to the system folder (su and superuser.apk). It is just like installing a computer driver that provides direct access to the hardware.

Q: What benefits does rooting gives?
A: Quite a lot, some market apps depend on root.
Currently rooting gives you the following:
Bluetooth File Transfer(OBEX)
Put apps folder on SD card (app2SD)
Full Backup
Full control over the phone

more info

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1211308
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 28 2010, 10:21 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

Benefit of Root
-you can uninstall the system apps like, google maps, wallpaper, Layar.......
-you can use the apps which require root level, like screenshoot apps, overclock apps etc.........
-use custom ROM

Disadvantage of Root
-might bring unstable of system
-void warranty

Added on September 28, 2010, 10:22 amFor apps2sd, you need to root and custom ROM.
Unfortunately there is no custom ROM available for Galaxy 5 at this moment

This post has been edited by StupidGuyPlayComp: Sep 28 2010, 10:22 AM
kidmad
post Sep 28 2010, 10:36 AM

4,481 posts

QUOTE(vworm69 @ Sep 28 2010, 10:11 AM)
I think it is more like the running memory which is used. Anyway not much difference to me, the only thing i am waiting is a custom ROM for Froyo 2.2. I want it to be inside my Milestone and Galaxy 5. Wonder how would a 5 time faster OS works in an Android. haha
vworm69
post Sep 28 2010, 10:40 AM

34 posts

u guys rock...lots of info i have been had enough for start...and a very quick reply tooo...may all the best to u guys...
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 28 2010, 10:47 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Sep 28 2010, 10:36 AM)
I think it is more like the running memory which is used. Anyway not much difference to me, the only thing i am waiting is a custom ROM for Froyo 2.2. I want it to be inside my Milestone and Galaxy 5. Wonder how would a 5 time faster OS works in an Android. haha
I knew xda team is working on it, actually they release some update but it really minor i think, not worth to flash the update

Added on September 28, 2010, 10:54 am biggrin.gif Do you guys think that the "Samsung Apps" a really useless resource.......
I cant find any apps there, sux our ROM space only

This post has been edited by StupidGuyPlayComp: Sep 28 2010, 10:54 AM
sufyian
post Sep 28 2010, 11:51 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 27 2010, 10:06 PM)

bro..what is a-gps? is it different with gps? currently im using gps with papago software,the one u give me..but need 5-10 min to lock the satellite...but u said with a-gps can help me faster...so how to do it bro? sweat.gif
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 28 2010, 12:01 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(sufyian @ Sep 28 2010, 11:51 AM)
bro..what is a-gps? is it different with gps? currently im using gps with papago software,the one u give me..but need 5-10 min to lock the satellite...but u said with a-gps can help me faster...so how to do it bro?  sweat.gif
icon_rolleyes.gif A-GPS stand for Assisted GPS, which can use nearby few tele broadcast station to locking your current position. Some data will send out to test the station distance. So it will charge you data fees(gprs fees), around RM0.10 per locking.

With the help of a-gps, it will lock the satellite faster, once it locked the a-gps will stop function, giving the task to GPS (FOC now)
sjn hassan
post Sep 28 2010, 12:16 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 28 2010, 12:01 PM)
icon_rolleyes.gif A-GPS stand for Assisted GPS, which can use nearby few tele broadcast station to locking your current position. Some data will send out to test the station distance. So it will charge you data fees(gprs fees), around RM0.10 per locking.

With the help of a-gps, it will lock the satellite faster, once it locked the a-gps will stop function, giving the task to GPS (FOC now)
how to enable?
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 28 2010, 12:48 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Sep 28 2010, 12:16 PM)
how to enable?
smile.gif automatic enable if you switch on gprs
sufyian
post Sep 28 2010, 03:34 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 28 2010, 12:48 PM)
smile.gif automatic enable if you switch on gprs
switch on gprs? sweat.gif ..detail bro icon_question.gif

Added on September 28, 2010, 3:48 pmi found this GPS setting..but i not dare to test it..can any1 here try to configure...especially bro 'StupidGuyPlayComp'...
here to setting the GPS

Open the dialer (the green phone button) and enter the following: *#*#1472365#*#*

This post has been edited by sufyian: Sep 28 2010, 03:48 PM
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 28 2010, 04:02 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(sufyian @ Sep 28 2010, 03:34 PM)
switch on gprs? sweat.gif ..detail bro  icon_question.gif

Added on September 28, 2010, 3:48 pmi found this GPS setting..but i not dare to test it..can any1 here try to configure...especially bro 'StupidGuyPlayComp'...
here to setting the GPS

Open the dialer (the green phone button) and enter the following: *#*#1472365#*#*
Setting - Wireless & Network - Mobile Networks - Enable always on mobile (tick is mean gprs activated, but I choose to untick, beware of the backgroud data burn your wallet)
sjn hassan
post Sep 28 2010, 04:22 PM

3,544 posts

StupidGuyPlayComp...my MamaGo is working just now..i think about 1-2 min to detect the GPS..tried this morning but failed..it's seems not stable hmm.gif
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 28 2010, 04:27 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Sep 28 2010, 04:22 PM)
StupidGuyPlayComp...my MamaGo is working just now..i think about 1-2 min to detect the GPS..tried this morning but failed..it's seems not stable  hmm.gif
smile.gif The detection will affect by weather, are you test at same location?
sjn hassan
post Sep 28 2010, 04:40 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 28 2010, 04:27 PM)
smile.gif The detection will affect by weather, are you test at same location?
it's a sunny day hmm.gif
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 28 2010, 04:58 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Sep 28 2010, 04:40 PM)
it's a sunny day  hmm.gif
laugh.gif Really no ideal why cant detect...........busy working recently, long time I dint activate GPS already
sjn hassan
post Sep 28 2010, 06:14 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 28 2010, 04:58 PM)
laugh.gif Really no ideal why cant detect...........busy working recently, long time I dint activate GPS already
wierd...just test again just now and it's working within 1-2 minutes hmm.gif
kidmad
post Sep 28 2010, 08:34 PM

4,481 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 28 2010, 04:02 PM)
Setting - Wireless & Network - Mobile Networks - Enable always on mobile (tick is mean gprs activated, but I choose to untick, beware of the backgroud data burn your wallet)
no worries, a-gps can work without using your edge/gprs/3g/hspd. you can off your 3g network and try without you can still detect. always been using it. Assisted GPS will online use your mobile statelite to frequency to track where you are.
Savor_Savvy
post Sep 28 2010, 08:56 PM

2,776 posts

guys, how long is the charging time? saw somewhere it's like 4 hours?
iwant2
post Sep 28 2010, 09:58 PM

On My Way To Become A Great ...
987 posts

Okay,since i bought my Samsung Galaxy 5,my aim is for hTC Legend,but it goes high(price),ganna wait next year for it but....(was in loved with Legend)

But Then,i met Samsung Galaxy 5,it is superb! i bought it for RM720 with memory card 8gb free cover....Its a good phone!!

Is this the official thread for Galaxy 5? hehe,i read 3 pages of this thread,maybe this is the official 1? haha..

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Sep 28 2010, 09:56 PM)
guys, how long is the charging time? saw somewhere it's like 4 hours?
my first charge is 4 hours i think,the seller ask me to,but now,i charged nearly 2 hours or less maybe...

Love this phone! nod.gif
kidmad
post Sep 28 2010, 09:59 PM

4,481 posts

QUOTE(iwant2 @ Sep 28 2010, 09:58 PM)
Okay,since i bought my Samsung Galaxy 5,my aim is for hTC Legend,but it goes high(price),ganna wait next year for it but....(was in loved with Legend)

But Then,i met Samsung Galaxy 5,it is superb! i bought it for RM720 with memory card 8gb free cover....Its a good phone!!

Is this the official thread for Galaxy 5? hehe,i read 3 pages of this thread,maybe this is the official 1? haha..
my first charge is 4 hours i think,the seller ask me to,but now,i charged nearly 2 hours or less maybe...

Love this phone!  nod.gif
ooo you go and buy the memory card and free cover? they did not provide? Most of us here bought it at RM630.
iwant2
post Sep 28 2010, 10:02 PM

987 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Sep 28 2010, 10:59 PM)
ooo you go and buy the memory card and free cover? they did not provide? Most of us here bought it at RM630.
Yea,they did not provide.. Urgh really? This shop ( in lowyat ) is a trusted shop coz my family bought a lot of phones there...

RM630 with 8gb memory card ? walao...
kidmad
post Sep 28 2010, 10:06 PM

4,481 posts

QUOTE(iwant2 @ Sep 28 2010, 10:02 PM)
Yea,they did not provide.. Urgh really? This shop ( in lowyat ) is a trusted shop coz my family bought a lot of phones there...

RM630 with 8gb memory card ? walao...
no la rm630 with 2gb. you should search here in da forums 1st. buy from our forumer. Anyway i saw in a shop in lowyat too. RM650 no memory card, immediately i walk away. this buggers trying to take the memory card out and sell seperately.
amalost
post Sep 28 2010, 10:31 PM

798 posts

RM720 with 8gb is ok la..not bad
kidmad
post Sep 28 2010, 10:35 PM

4,481 posts

QUOTE(amalost @ Sep 28 2010, 10:31 PM)
RM720 with 8gb is ok la..not bad
not really, it seems like a cheat to me. they took your 2gb sd and sold you another 8gb sd at rm100. this guys are.... haihs...
iwant2
post Sep 28 2010, 10:54 PM

987 posts

First,this phon eis RM699,then discount rm14 (i brought my sis (studying about business and ganna be accountant soon -.-) along with me XD,so she calculate like crazy and pressing the calculator like damn hard,kk,back to the story,the shop giv discount rm 14 )

And added 8gb ( i request for it ) , the seller said that it is RM 50 or RM 40 or so,then total RM720...
silentser
post Sep 29 2010, 02:08 AM

OH MAH ANDROID
3,177 posts

QUOTE(iwant2 @ Sep 28 2010, 10:54 PM)
First,this phon eis RM699,then discount rm14 (i brought my sis (studying about business and ganna be accountant soon -.-) along with me XD,so she calculate like crazy and pressing the calculator like damn hard,kk,back to the story,the shop giv discount rm 14 )

And added 8gb ( i request for it ) , the seller said that it is RM 50 or RM 40 or so,then total RM720...
699 is the ori price for this phone, maybe the memory card you get is a good one. i bought from pda expert a very reputable store. 699 i get 4gb transcend brand memory card (that guy open the package right infront of me), with capdase screen protector (rm35/38 last time i check at shop). so 699 very worth it. rm630 maybe come with 2gb memory of dont know what brand, and with china screen protector

This post has been edited by silentser: Sep 29 2010, 11:47 AM
fcuk90
post Sep 29 2010, 03:08 AM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

how the browsing web on this phone ?

i saw this phone today . at pdaexpert . erm quite small?
iwant2
post Sep 29 2010, 07:05 AM

987 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Sep 29 2010, 03:08 AM)
699 is the ori price for this phone, maybe the memory card you get is a good one. i bought from pda gadget a very reputable store. 699 i get 4gb  transcend brand memory card (that guy open the package right infront of me), with capdase screen protector (rm35/38 last time i check at shop). so 699 very worth it. rm630 maybe come with 2gb memory of dont know what brand, and with china screen protector
Owh yea,Sorry to all,i forgot,i got screen protector also,

RM720 = 8gb Memory Card,Screen protector(freebies),Phone Cover or casing(freebies),nice Samsung paper bag(freebies)

haha...
vworm69
post Sep 29 2010, 07:55 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Sep 29 2010, 02:08 AM)

i saw this phone today  . at pdaexpert . erm quite small?
Morning to all G5ers...
The web browsing on these phone are nice..i'm using opera mini and Dolphin HD browser...no pinching but when u tap at the screen it wil zoom in the page...with Dolphin HD...there's a small zoom in/out at the right bottom on the screen...scrolling left/right were so smooth and fast...i said it before and would love to saying it again...i'm using P1 wifi at my home..these G5 processor were fast at downloading a web page...no regrets purchasing these babies bro... icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by vworm69: Sep 29 2010, 07:56 AM
iwant2
post Sep 29 2010, 08:26 AM

987 posts

QUOTE(vworm69 @ Sep 29 2010, 08:55 AM)
Morning to all G5ers...
The web browsing on these phone are nice..i'm using opera mini and Dolphin HD browser...no pinching but when u tap at the screen it wil zoom in the page...with Dolphin HD...there's a small zoom in/out at the right bottom on the screen...scrolling left/right were so smooth and fast...i said it before and would love to saying it again...i'm using P1 wifi at my home..these G5 processor were fast at downloading a web page...no regrets purchasing these babies bro... icon_rolleyes.gif
Nice2..im using TMnet modem -> router dlink ... My web browsing is superbly and unpredictable fast....

OPera mini and Dolphin HD browser? Wll get it! biggrin.gif Thx for ur share..
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 29 2010, 08:48 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Sep 29 2010, 03:08 AM)

i saw this phone today  . at pdaexpert . erm quite small?
smile.gif Web browsing is speed, as fast as PC, but the small screen request you always zoom in and out
vworm69
post Sep 29 2010, 09:05 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(iwant2 @ Sep 29 2010, 07:26 AM)
Nice2..im using TMnet modem -> router dlink ... My web browsing is superbly and unpredictable fast....

OPera mini and Dolphin HD browser? Wll get it! biggrin.gif Thx for ur share..
smile.gif your most wellcome bro...go get the Dolphin browser HD...their bookmarks are great!it was available for free in the "market"...and thanks to our fellow buddies that reccomended me using appbrain...cool...android market as well...they have their own apps to download...just installed it on my G5.
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Sep 29 2010, 09:59 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

Report In to new thread

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1580112
iwant2
post Sep 29 2010, 10:07 AM

987 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 29 2010, 10:59 AM)
All go there~
aj6203
post Dec 6 2010, 01:00 PM

Hello guys~

I am newbie here. Would like to ask for some advice as to where should I go to buy Samsung i5500?

Hoping to find a good and honest dealer that might be selling cheaper than RRP as well? Preferably around PJ, USJ and Shah Alam

Thank you very much!
rattan
post Dec 7 2010, 03:11 AM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

This G5 model can multitask/run apps in background ?
kenny79
post Dec 7 2010, 10:44 AM

3,200 posts

QUOTE(aj6203 @ Dec 6 2010, 01:00 PM)
Hello guys~

I am newbie here. Would like to ask for some advice as to where should I go to buy Samsung i5500?

Hoping to find  a good and honest dealer that might be selling cheaper than RRP as well?  Preferably around PJ, USJ and Shah Alam

Thank you very much!
senq o sheng heng doing promotion now rm649+3 year waranty

0.1144sec    0.84    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:17 AM