WhatsApp for Android, (Beta)

TShnr2802
post Aug 29 2010, 12:21 PM, updated 16y ago

627 posts

The messaging application WhatsApp Messenger, made popular on the iPhone, is now available as a beta release for Android!

Direct & official download:
http://www.whatsapp.com/android/ or
http://beta.whatsapp.com/WhatsApp.apk

If you get an error while logging in into the app with your SMS code, saying you have to be a registered beta tester, just retry later that day.
Many user on different forums say that it seems to work better in the evening. (US time)
You have to do the verification only once, then the app is unlocked for you.
Have Fun!

(taken from xda forum; thanks to cgorki)

You may refer to xda thread for more info
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=764163
-------------------------------

INTRODUCTION
Welcome to the WhatsApp Messenger for Android beta program! For questions and support, please send email to:

android-support@whatsapp.com.

When sending us bugs, please use this route inside the application:

Chats > Menu > Settings > About > Contact Us

This will guarantee that we receive application logs along with your bug report.

NOTES
The software will upgrade automatically. Please upgrade frequently to get bug fixes and improvements.
WhatsApp is not compatible with most task killer applications. They potentially drain your battery and causes message delays.
The SEND key is the enter / return key on the lower right of the soft keyboard.
The LED on HTC Desire only shines green
On Samsung Galaxy / Captivate these features do not work or are problematic: contacts menu item, send audio message, contact us

NOT IMPLEMENTED
Emoticons / emoji
Facebook address book items are not available to WhatsApp
Broadcast message
Send / Receive contact.
Chat wallpaper

LATEST CHANGELOG

fix two bugs related to message deletion and message ordering.
1.0.7619 was a bad build. Our apologies.

do not leave audio files at the root of the sdcard when using the built in recorder
fix conversation list display after message deletion
add enter key interface setting
fix crash related to broadcast message
fix crash related to loading messages
fix five miscellaneous crashing bugs

fix registration problem resulting in un-chattable contacts
video messages now have a thumbnail for easy recall
fix crash bug while forwarding a message
fix crash bug while broadcasting a message
feature: Add WhatsApp Contact Shortcut from home screen
improve offline message notifications -- one beep for offline messages
fix one crashing bug at startup
fix three miscellaneous crashing bugs

Changelog Link - http://beta.whatsapp.com/test/7/WhatsApp.html

This post has been edited by hnr2802: Oct 7 2010, 04:13 PM
KTCY
post Aug 29 2010, 12:43 PM

BumbleBeeā„¢
12,505 posts

Been using it for around 1months+
So far so good on my Desire wink.gif

TShnr2802
post Aug 29 2010, 12:51 PM

627 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 29 2010, 12:43 PM)
Been using it for around 1months+
So far so good on my Desire wink.gif
before this the apk are not shared publicly. furthermore, you have to email them to let them activate the app for you.
in your case you only have about 60day+- to use the app after that if you still wanna use it u gonna have to pay USD$1.99/year. tongue.gif it hv trial period of 90 days
btw, so your Contacts menu working? what does it actually do?

This post has been edited by hnr2802: Aug 29 2010, 12:59 PM
pluginbaby
post Aug 29 2010, 01:03 PM

2,661 posts

works very well for my desire.. it loads my contacts and detects my other friends using whatsapp too smile.gif

i did the same method of attempting to verify, i managed to verify a day later and im using it now... btw, its battery hogging and ram consuming very indeed i guess.. my phone became back smooth after i killed the process (and the hidden service too!)
KTCY
post Aug 29 2010, 01:11 PM

BumbleBeeā„¢
12,505 posts

QUOTE(hnr2802 @ Aug 29 2010, 12:51 PM)
before this the apk are not shared publicly. furthermore, you have to email them to let them activate the app for you.
in your case you only have about 60day+- to use the app after that if you still wanna use it u gonna have to pay USD$1.99/year. tongue.gif it hv trial period of 90 days
btw, so your Contacts menu working? what does it actually do?
They activate for me and email me all the details for activation wink.gif

I know all that mate. Need not to explain to me. I got mine less than one week from official beta release and got it working within few days wink.gif

My contact work perfectly.
TShnr2802
post Aug 29 2010, 01:24 PM

627 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 29 2010, 01:11 PM)
They activate for me and email me all the details for activation wink.gif

I know all that mate. Need not to explain to me. I got mine less than one week from official beta release and got it working within few days wink.gif

My contact work perfectly.
sorry because trying to explain it to u. oh well. i guess i dont need to pay anything my license from whatsapp blackberry still intack. the app stated Paid biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by hnr2802: Aug 29 2010, 01:24 PM
SUSkhalpowers
post Aug 30 2010, 02:01 PM

1,966 posts

QUOTE(hnr2802 @ Aug 29 2010, 02:24 PM)
sorry because trying to explain it to u. oh well. i guess i dont need to pay anything my license from whatsapp blackberry still intack. the app stated Paid biggrin.gif
Tq bro for the sharing... just now succesfully registered my what app...huhu...

kuanyu
post Aug 30 2010, 04:43 PM

46 posts

Now is a good time for activation wink.gif
allenlyk
post Aug 30 2010, 05:52 PM

1,125 posts

if i get the initialization failed, not authorized message thingy.. do I need to resend the verification sms?
SUSkhalpowers
post Aug 30 2010, 11:35 PM

1,966 posts

Yeap....

need to resend back..
subpar
post Aug 31 2010, 10:21 AM

I would totally turn lez for Effy...
827 posts

Should try verification now, it just worked for me and I am chatting away! But I do find it a bit laggy, anyone experiencing the same problem? Lags when I press enter and when I'm typing, so that my virtual keyboard hangs for a moment. Can be a little bit frustrating because it tends to eat my words but hey, still a great piece of app!
KTCY
post Aug 31 2010, 10:30 AM

BumbleBeeā„¢
12,505 posts

No problem for mine. Not laggy at all. Even send and receive photos from my friend smoothly.
SUSkhalpowers
post Aug 31 2010, 12:29 PM

1,966 posts

QUOTE(subpar @ Aug 31 2010, 11:21 AM)
Should try verification now, it just worked for me and I am chatting away! But I do find it a bit laggy, anyone experiencing the same problem? Lags when I press enter and when I'm typing, so that my virtual keyboard hangs for a moment. Can be a little bit frustrating because it tends to eat my words but hey, still a great piece of app!
lag bcoz of ur phone..not bcoz the app.. biggrin.gif
KannaSai1
post Aug 31 2010, 01:56 PM

6,933 posts

need sms to activate..... sigh....
plateau
post Aug 31 2010, 01:59 PM

Don't Touch My Starsā„¢
984 posts

QUOTE(KannaSai1 @ Aug 31 2010, 01:56 PM)
need sms to activate..... sigh....
Yes...cause need to activate ur phone no.

For android version, it's currently free. Don't know till how long though..
hihihehe
post Aug 31 2010, 10:51 PM

13,790 posts

try to activate from 4pm until now but still cant...zzz
already received 4 activation sms
KTCY
post Aug 31 2010, 11:06 PM

BumbleBeeā„¢
12,505 posts

If you still can't email them. I got mine working right after they released it on Aug.
pluginbaby
post Aug 31 2010, 11:09 PM

2,661 posts

whatsapp was updated on mine and now no lags smile.gif
KTCY
post Sep 1 2010, 11:21 AM

BumbleBeeā„¢
12,505 posts

It goes official beta release for Android 2.2 ONLY

if you have Android OS 2.2, you can now get WhatsApp beta from http://www.whatsapp.com/android/ (only Android 2.2 for now, 2.1 soon-ish)

via Twitter
hihihehe
post Sep 1 2010, 11:24 AM

13,790 posts

i just successful activate with my SGS..it will push automatically?
KTCY
post Sep 1 2010, 11:25 AM

BumbleBeeā„¢
12,505 posts

Yes.
Deznom
post Sep 1 2010, 12:33 PM

359 posts

working beautifully.. just downloaded, installed and verified on my N1.. no noticeable lags at all..
hihihehe
post Sep 1 2010, 12:56 PM

13,790 posts

hows the battery life?
KTCY
post Sep 1 2010, 01:59 PM

BumbleBeeā„¢
12,505 posts

Try yourself. I can't tell as I off my data whenever I don't use it.
mikelee
post Sep 1 2010, 04:24 PM

1,419 posts

No noticeable lag while using it here. Running on the background and pushes message notification just like receiving an SMS. Awesome application if you are subscribe to unlimited plan.

Regarding battery usage, I don't see the application under "Battery Use" in Android Settings. It is like not taking any battery at all. How about you guys?
akachester
post Sep 1 2010, 04:26 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

This version, is trial / time limited version?
mikelee
post Sep 1 2010, 04:29 PM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Sep 1 2010, 04:26 PM)
This version, is trial / time limited version?
Trial 90 days, after that charge USD$2 per year.
SUSkhalpowers
post Sep 1 2010, 04:33 PM

1,966 posts

QUOTE(mikelee @ Sep 1 2010, 05:29 PM)
Trial 90 days, after that charge USD$2 per year.
yeaa rite.... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

ps/ not border with batery life.... biggrin.gif
TShnr2802
post Sep 2 2010, 06:47 AM

627 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Sep 1 2010, 12:56 PM)
hows the battery life?
when chatting it reduced my battery life but not alot. but when idle no significant changes.

QUOTE(mikelee @ Sep 1 2010, 04:24 PM)
No noticeable lag while using it here. Running on the background and pushes message notification just like receiving an SMS. Awesome application if you are subscribe to unlimited plan.

Regarding battery usage, I don't see the application under "Battery Use" in Android Settings. It is like not taking any battery at all. How about you guys?
but a little bit lag when replying chat on my galaxy s.
Deznom
post Sep 2 2010, 12:00 PM

359 posts

hmm.. it does seem fine on mine.. but then again.. i dont use it as often so the drain might not be noticeable... dont really have alot of ppl in my contacts that use it..
SUSd3m0n
post Sep 22 2010, 01:50 PM

Just A Member
898 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Sep 1 2010, 11:24 AM)
i just successful activate with my SGS..it will push automatically?
Yup. Make sure your data connection is on or you won't receive.

This is a very good software. Can chat for free with cross platform friends. Not that I have many using WhatsApp. Well, time to promote!
izzahothman
post Sep 24 2010, 01:38 PM

just install whatsapp few days ago..works like a charm on my desire..but i'm quite confused here..when i read this thread..it said that the trial version is only for 90days..but in my phone setting..it stated that my trial version is for 1 year - expired on sep 2011.. erm....
monked
post Sep 24 2010, 01:41 PM

1,079 posts

QUOTE(izzahothman @ Sep 24 2010, 01:38 PM)
just install whatsapp few days ago..works like a charm on my desire..but i'm quite confused here..when i read this thread..it said that the trial version is only for 90days..but in my phone setting..it stated that my trial version is for 1 year - expired on sep 2011.. erm....
mine stated N/A hmm.gif
jujx
post Sep 24 2010, 01:48 PM

1,398 posts

I think it has been updated
SUSd3m0n
post Sep 24 2010, 03:32 PM

Just A Member
898 posts

I got that as well. Meh, I'm not complaining. I'll do when they start charging. tongue.gif
irenic
post Sep 24 2010, 03:52 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

i bought whatsapp thru apple store using my iPhone 4.. then as i decided to use my maxis number in my galaxy S, i installed whatsapp for android.. and it's good to see it stated mine is paid version and expired in year 2020. lol

haha
SUSd3m0n
post Sep 24 2010, 04:02 PM

Just A Member
898 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Sep 24 2010, 03:52 PM)
i bought whatsapp thru apple store using my iPhone 4.. then as i decided to use my maxis number in my galaxy S, i installed whatsapp for android.. and it's good to see it stated mine is paid version and expired in year 2020. lol

haha
Well thats because you already paid for it.
irenic
post Sep 24 2010, 04:09 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

yes.. what i want to say is the license is cross platform between iOS, android and maybe blackberryOS and also nokia.. unlike other application where it is based on the appstore of the device only..

kinda cool! haha
edtan5
post Sep 24 2010, 10:23 PM

retired MT-ian
1,524 posts

just install whatsapp on my galaxy s. at verification page after i entered my phone number and send, the "please wait a moment" goes on forever. what's wrong? i did get the verification sms on my other phone. but nothing happen. is this normal? do i need to try again and again till it's working?
thanks notworthy.gif

edit: solved the problem, have to verify with the in tact sim card number to activate doh.gif

This post has been edited by edtan5: Sep 25 2010, 03:05 AM
KTCY
post Sep 25 2010, 03:39 AM

BumbleBeeā„¢
12,505 posts

Mine too showing 2011 expiry date.
hihihehe
post Sep 25 2010, 10:10 AM

13,790 posts

same to me after updated to latest version..no need to purchase it
KTCY
post Sep 27 2010, 09:23 AM

BumbleBeeā„¢
12,505 posts

They might reduce it back once the status of beta got removed.
SUSd3m0n
post Sep 27 2010, 10:42 AM

Just A Member
898 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 27 2010, 09:23 AM)
They might reduce it back once the status of beta got removed.
I don't mind paying for the app. It actually saves me a lot of money. My normal sms bill montly - RM60+. Now, RM5-10. biggrin.gif
guppy
post Sep 27 2010, 11:25 AM

206 posts

hey guys, cool that iphone apps are making their way to android and all but how is this different from say, using ebuddy, trillian or gtalk?
SUSd3m0n
post Sep 27 2010, 11:36 AM

Just A Member
898 posts

Nothing really. Its just a hyped up app that's picking up steam. More and more user are using it.
KTCY
post Sep 27 2010, 11:38 AM

BumbleBeeā„¢
12,505 posts

QUOTE(guppy @ Sep 27 2010, 11:25 AM)
hey guys, cool that iphone apps are making their way to android and all but how is this different from say, using ebuddy, trillian or gtalk?
Whatsapp uses mobile phone number instead of having to register or sign in.
guppy
post Sep 27 2010, 11:50 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(d3m0n @ Sep 27 2010, 11:36 AM)
Nothing really. Its just a hyped up app that's picking up steam. More and more user are using it.
Wokay... and there's a pricing model attached as well? Hmm.. I already use gtalk as an sms replacement for most of my close buddies..

QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 27 2010, 11:38 AM)
Whatsapp uses mobile phone number instead of having to register or sign in.
Ah.. I see it now. As long as you have a person's number, AND that person uses WhatsApp, you basically will be able to add them as a contact on WhatsApp, right? That's pretty cool. Beats having to fish for his/her email like all the other IMs.

jujx
post Sep 27 2010, 11:51 AM

1,398 posts

QUOTE(guppy @ Sep 27 2010, 11:50 AM)
Wokay... and there's a pricing model attached as well? Hmm.. I already use gtalk as an sms replacement for most of my close buddies..
Ah.. I see it now. As long as you have a person's number, AND that person uses WhatsApp, you basically will be able to add them as a contact on WhatsApp, right? That's pretty cool. Beats having to fish for his/her email like all the other IMs.
1 thing i like about whatsapp is, when you install, it quickly list down everyone in contact list that have whatsapp. Pretty much all iphone users tongue.gif
jiidaineko
post Sep 27 2010, 11:56 AM

579 posts

developers are viewing Android as a market with huge potential. 1 day...crapple fartapps store will no longer be special lol.

p.s - the digi ifart4 ads in android thread just doesnt make sense =P
SUSd3m0n
post Sep 27 2010, 01:55 PM

Just A Member
898 posts

QUOTE(jiidaineko @ Sep 27 2010, 11:56 AM)
developers are viewing Android as a market with huge potential. 1 day...crapple fartapps store will no longer be special lol.

p.s - the digi ifart4 ads in android thread just doesnt make sense =P
Well said, especially on the ifart part.
mengsuan
post Sep 27 2010, 03:26 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

I installed it. Good thing is it uses phone number as contacts. No need for manual linking.

Sadly not many are using whatsapp.
SUSd3m0n
post Sep 27 2010, 03:33 PM

Just A Member
898 posts

That is the main issue though. Only 2 people in my contact. *Sigh* Gotta find more lenglui.
mengsuan
post Sep 27 2010, 03:35 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Well, I have 10+ but some of them aren't active anymore in whatsapp. Most of them are some contacts that I haven't contacted for long time. laugh.gif
guppy
post Sep 27 2010, 03:45 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Sep 27 2010, 03:26 PM)
I installed it. Good thing is it uses phone number as contacts. No need for manual linking.

Sadly not many are using whatsapp.
yeah man. Same here.

Most of those using are my contacts in marketing/advertising from Singapore.
SUSd3m0n
post Sep 27 2010, 04:16 PM

Just A Member
898 posts

Yeah me too. Just need to persuade people to use it so I can save more money!
KannaSai1
post Sep 27 2010, 06:00 PM

6,933 posts

it say my apps is old version, cant actv. sad.gif
fonda82
post Sep 28 2010, 10:35 PM

202 posts

Jz download this app n installed.. Dono y it says not compatible with task manager.. Any guru can help?
SUSd3m0n
post Sep 29 2010, 07:53 AM

Just A Member
898 posts

QUOTE(KannaSai1 @ Sep 27 2010, 06:00 PM)
it say my apps is old version, cant actv. sad.gif
Uninstall and install the latest beta version. That should work.

http://beta.whatsapp.com/android/release/WhatsApp.apk

QUOTE(fonda82 @ Sep 28 2010, 10:35 PM)
Jz download this app n installed.. Dono y it says not compatible with task manager.. Any guru can help?
What do you mean not compatible with task manager? Is your task manager terminating it everytime you open the app?
fonda82
post Sep 29 2010, 08:48 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(d3m0n @ Sep 29 2010, 07:53 AM)
Uninstall and install the latest beta version. That should work.

http://beta.whatsapp.com/android/release/WhatsApp.apk
What do you mean not compatible with task manager? Is your task manager terminating it everytime you open the app?
it say whatsapp is not compatible with 3rd party task manager... uninstalled it and finally its works fine... bdw... which task killer do u guys recommend? newbie here... jz getting started...
SUSd3m0n
post Sep 29 2010, 09:29 AM

Just A Member
898 posts

Good to hear that. Not using task manager. I let Android do everything.
fonda82
post Sep 29 2010, 09:52 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(d3m0n @ Sep 29 2010, 09:29 AM)
Good to hear that. Not using task manager. I let Android do everything.
So u mean its not necessary to install task killer to kill process?

SUSd3m0n
post Sep 29 2010, 09:56 AM

Just A Member
898 posts

QUOTE(fonda82 @ Sep 29 2010, 09:52 AM)
Yup, because Android can handle task by itself. It is optimized to kill and restore process. It can choose which process to kill and store. Most people use task manager to save battery and performance but Android already does it at its best.
mengsuan
post Sep 29 2010, 01:08 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

I don't use any task killer too. Don't see the need to keep releasing memory. It's always fast for my liking.

Btw, there's an update pushed to my whatsapp.
fonda82
post Sep 29 2010, 02:33 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(d3m0n @ Sep 29 2010, 09:56 AM)
Yup, because Android can handle task by itself. It is optimized to kill and restore process. It can choose which process to kill and store. Most people use task manager to save battery and performance but Android already does it at its best.
oh.... stil exploring my gf android hp... thanx dude!! biggrin.gif
SUSd3m0n
post Sep 29 2010, 03:42 PM

Just A Member
898 posts

QUOTE(fonda82 @ Sep 29 2010, 02:33 PM)
oh.... stil exploring my gf android hp... thanx dude!!  biggrin.gif
No problem, glad to help fellow Android mate out.

What features do you guys think that Whatsapp should add to improve the app?
basSist
post Sep 29 2010, 03:58 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Sep 29 2010, 01:08 PM)
I don't use any task killer too. Don't see the need to keep releasing memory. It's always fast for my liking.

Btw, there's an update pushed to my whatsapp.
i got the update as well. but i think a minor one, doesn't feel any difference?
mengsuan
post Sep 30 2010, 11:02 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Supposed to fix bugs according to changelog. No added features.
flyguy
post Oct 1 2010, 01:44 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(fonda82 @ Sep 29 2010, 09:52 AM)
task killer does not improve performance. Maybe it does in short timespan, but long term it doesnt. You'll see alot of task open in teh task killer.. you thought why the heck its there.. its taking my mem. sO you kill it. A few min later its back up. Its the BG process. dont kill it. let it finish its task. If you kill it, it will only come back up again n REDO the whole task it was doing ealier. Result? SLOW phone tht everyone is complaining.

This applies especially to the galaxy S! I uninstalled all task killer n my phone is flying w/o a single hitch.
SUSd3m0n
post Oct 1 2010, 10:18 AM

Just A Member
898 posts

Btw, do you guys get frequent DC for the server? I get this sometimes. I wonder if the server is overloaded at some point.
mengsuan
post Oct 1 2010, 05:43 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

No. Although their twitter always mentioned about downtime but I never encountered problem yet.
adrianteddy
post Oct 2 2010, 01:00 AM

Founder of Lowyat.Net Android Community Club
1,542 posts

HEHE

This post has been edited by adrianteddy: Aug 1 2012, 12:34 PM
linuss
post Oct 2 2010, 01:15 AM

394 posts

new version doesn't work on my desire..help...connection problem eh
mengsuan
post Oct 2 2010, 01:55 AM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

I have one psychological issue which I have kept in mind since the installation of whatsapp. Why does it create an (Unknown) contact for my own phone number? I wish to delete it off but only has the option to hide. Moreover this hiding isn't permanent. It may hide away for now but it will occasionally appear and I have to hide again.

I don't like (Unknown) contact.
SUSd3m0n
post Oct 4 2010, 09:06 AM

Just A Member
898 posts

QUOTE(adrianteddy @ Oct 2 2010, 01:00 AM)
jom, kita share whatsapp kita smile.gif anyone wanna add me 017 619 7491 ?
Only if you're a hot chick. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(linuss @ Oct 2 2010, 01:15 AM)
new version doesn't work on my desire..help...connection problem eh
Wait and try again. Sometimes the server is down, not because of the new version.

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Oct 2 2010, 01:55 AM)
I have one psychological issue which I have kept in mind since the installation of whatsapp. Why does it create an (Unknown) contact for my own phone number? I wish to delete it off but only has the option to hide. Moreover this hiding isn't permanent. It may hide away for now but it will occasionally appear and I have to hide again.

I don't like (Unknown) contact.
The only way I can see is for you to delete your number. Other than that you can e-mail Whatsapp to remove the feature.
Cyclone1
post Oct 4 2010, 05:14 PM

408 posts

Guyz, I just installed whatsapp on my sgs.. but I cant see my frens contact leh... my fren is using iphone...
SpIcYjOe
post Oct 4 2010, 09:32 PM

Lookie at my many staries...
1,953 posts

hey, why i cannot send messages to most of my whatsapp friends... the tick only shows 1... means the message is sent to the network but not the user.... can send to few but not all....
squareballs
post Oct 5 2010, 12:37 AM

4,331 posts

I just installed it.. chatting quite fast the speed..love it
SUSd3m0n
post Oct 5 2010, 09:38 AM

Just A Member
898 posts

QUOTE(Cyclone1 @ Oct 4 2010, 05:14 PM)
Guyz, I just installed whatsapp on my sgs.. but I cant see my frens contact leh... my fren is using iphone...
Reinstall. Make sure you have the right apk.

QUOTE(SpIcYjOe @ Oct 4 2010, 09:32 PM)
hey, why i cannot send messages to most of my whatsapp friends... the tick only shows 1... means the message is sent to the network but not the user.... can send to few but not all....
It means that either your friend is not using whatsapp anymore or they're haven't read the msg yet.

QUOTE(squareballs @ Oct 5 2010, 12:37 AM)
I just installed it.. chatting quite fast the speed..love it
Welcome to the club man.
monked
post Oct 5 2010, 10:52 PM

1,079 posts

my whatsapp account status and expiration remain unknown ... good thing?
SUSd3m0n
post Oct 7 2010, 08:25 AM

Just A Member
898 posts

QUOTE(monked @ Oct 5 2010, 10:52 PM)
my whatsapp account status and expiration remain unknown ... good thing?
Try reinstalling.
- JaY -
post Oct 7 2010, 11:11 AM

t(^.^t)
1,031 posts

QUOTE(d3m0n @ Oct 5 2010, 09:38 AM)
It means that either your friend is not using whatsapp anymore or they're haven't read the msg yet.
i thought the 2nd tick is similar to delivery report for sms? as in the phone received. cause i dont think they can detect wether the user reads it already a not. sweat.gif
monked
post Oct 7 2010, 11:20 AM

1,079 posts

QUOTE(d3m0n @ Oct 7 2010, 08:25 AM)
Try reinstalling.
i re-install a few time already?
izzit because i use whatsapp with a iphone b4? which causes "unknown" status?
SUSd3m0n
post Oct 7 2010, 01:05 PM

Just A Member
898 posts

QUOTE(- JaY - @ Oct 7 2010, 11:11 AM)
i thought the 2nd tick is similar to delivery report for sms? as in the phone received. cause i dont think they can detect wether the user reads it already a not. sweat.gif
That is true. One tick is when the msg successfully delivered to the server. Two tick means the user received the msg on their phone. It doesn't detect whether they user read it already or not, but if the msg is pushed to their phone. One example is there is only one tick because the other user didn't turn on his 3g/data. So the msg stays in the server until he/she turns it on.

QUOTE(monked @ Oct 7 2010, 11:20 AM)
i re-install a few time already?
izzit because i use whatsapp with a iphone b4? which causes "unknown" status?
What do you mean by using it on an iPhone?
monked
post Oct 7 2010, 01:07 PM

1,079 posts

QUOTE(d3m0n @ Oct 7 2010, 01:05 PM)
That is true. One tick is when the msg successfully delivered to the server. Two tick means the user received the msg on their phone. It doesn't detect whether they user read it already or not, but if the msg is pushed to their phone. One example is there is only one tick because the other user didn't turn on his 3g/data. So the msg stays in the server until he/she turns it on.
What do you mean by using it on an iPhone?
i used to use whatsapp on a iphone ...
using the same number ...
now change to android ...
will that affect the status of my account? dont need to pay yearly? xD
SUSd3m0n
post Oct 7 2010, 02:53 PM

Just A Member
898 posts

QUOTE(monked @ Oct 7 2010, 01:07 PM)
Owh ok. No you don't need to pay for it because you paid for it before. The unknown status is just probably a bug. But you should be able to use it without paying it again.
redzanime
post Oct 20 2010, 02:14 AM

355 posts

official whatsapp app in market. get it now biggrin.gif
akachester
post Oct 20 2010, 09:49 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(redzanime @ Oct 20 2010, 02:14 AM)
official whatsapp app in market. get it now biggrin.gif
Is it a limited version or full free version?
Fornx
post Oct 20 2010, 09:51 AM

Zenith
758 posts

^full free version for 1 yr.. smile.gif
akachester
post Oct 20 2010, 10:25 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

I see. So how this works? Do i need data connection with this? Installed this just now, and seem like the usual SMS application which is good. But i am wondering whether it will use Data Connection fees.

This post has been edited by akachester: Oct 20 2010, 10:26 AM
hazril
post Oct 20 2010, 10:31 AM

.: This Is Brazil! :.
3,070 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Oct 20 2010, 10:25 AM)
I see. So how this works? Do i need data connection with this? Installed this just now, and seem like the usual SMS application which is good. But i am wondering whether it will use Data Connection fees.
yes...u need data connection or at least a WIFI connection if im not mistaken bro...
akachester
post Oct 20 2010, 11:55 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(hazril @ Oct 20 2010, 10:31 AM)
yes...u need data connection or at least a WIFI connection if im not mistaken bro...
Alright. Thank you so much bro smile.gif
manejist
post Oct 20 2010, 12:46 PM

168 posts

whatapps messenger and your 3rd party task manger are incompatible, please remove your task manager and try again ! what does this mean? i dont understand can someone help me with this! i'm using htc wildfire ! biggrin.gif i have reinstall 3 time still the same thing happen !
cruzzmz
post Oct 20 2010, 09:01 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

u need a wifi or a 3g data plan to make it work ... and whatsapp is faster than pingchat from what i can see ... since if u use pingchat on wifi the msg will be a lill bit late ...
- JaY -
post Oct 20 2010, 11:00 PM

t(^.^t)
1,031 posts

anyone experience message delays? my APN is on 24/7, sent a message to my fren on 7pm, he sent me a message back on 8pm, but i only received it 11pm. kinda weird isn't it? thats after i connect to wifi, previously on APN. icon_question.gif
cruzzmz
post Oct 20 2010, 11:13 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

i think when switching network the delay will happent
mengsuan
post Oct 21 2010, 12:28 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(manejist @ Oct 20 2010, 12:46 PM)
whatapps messenger and your 3rd party task manger are incompatible, please remove your task manager and try again ! what does this mean? i dont understand can someone help me with this! i'm using htc wildfire ! biggrin.gif i have reinstall 3 time still the same thing happen !
You have to remove task killer.
yvliew
post Oct 21 2010, 10:26 PM

Listening to IU - Strawberry Moon
3,918 posts

QUOTE(monked @ Oct 7 2010, 01:07 PM)
Your whatsapp account should expired on 2021.. This is what my friend experienced. Bought with iphone, and register the number with iphone... switch to android, activate it.. he gets 2021...
iamshf
post Oct 30 2010, 12:27 PM

845 posts

hi

do u guys feel pingchat is better than whatsapp ?? is free for android, iOS & blackberry

those frens with iphone, they preferred pingchat rather than whatsapp
cos is free

This post has been edited by iamshf: Oct 30 2010, 12:27 PM
mengsuan
post Oct 30 2010, 12:37 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

It's just $0.99 a year.

I use whatsapp because:
1. I have a lot of friends using whatsapp but not pingchat
2. Whatsapp message delivery appears to be more prompt that pingchat at most of the time
3. Account tied to phone number. No need to recontact friends to know their ID.
yvliew
post Oct 30 2010, 08:45 PM

Listening to IU - Strawberry Moon
3,918 posts

WhatsApp is what I will tell ppl to download if they have BB,iphone or android!!
SpIcYjOe
post Oct 30 2010, 08:51 PM

Lookie at my many staries...
1,953 posts

QUOTE(iamshf @ Oct 30 2010, 12:27 PM)
hi

do u guys feel pingchat is better than whatsapp ?? is free for android, iOS & blackberry

those frens with iphone, they preferred pingchat rather than whatsapp
cos is free
pingchat was great at first but compared to the lightweight of whatsapp and the stability... whatsapp is better... smile.gif
oneeleven
post Oct 31 2010, 05:49 PM

1,515 posts

Need a big chunk of memory for a new app so deleting Whatsapp.

Can use MostSMS.com for free local SMS. International SMS now Maxis also reduced price.

shark7
post Jan 15 2011, 02:02 AM

1,378 posts

why i need to wait 20 mins to receive the code..for whatsapp
it have countdown timer 20mins..
miyakochan89
post Mar 14 2011, 11:29 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

I can't seem to initialize the whatsapp. it keeps saying that I need to connect to the internet but I AM connected.
xiong91
post Mar 14 2011, 11:49 PM

Wassupp
732 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Mar 14 2011, 11:29 PM)
I can't seem to initialize the whatsapp. it keeps saying that I need to connect to the internet but I AM connected.
YC? haha... Connected via Wifi or Data? (actually it doesn't matter..) perhaps u should reinstall it.. i faced that prob before on my galaxy and prob solved.. not sure about ur x10
miyakochan89
post Mar 14 2011, 11:56 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

O__O

Bong?

Er, I tried reinstalling it a few times actually.
I tried it on my another phone which always runs well on Whatsapp, then i uninstalled it just now, and it couldn't reinitialize too... =___=|||
Nels
post Mar 15 2011, 12:24 AM

Tech Enthusiast
811 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Mar 14 2011, 11:29 PM)
dude. my exact same problem sleep.gif
lch78
post Mar 15 2011, 12:26 AM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

Time to shift to "beluga" or "live profile"
`shinryu
post Mar 15 2011, 12:39 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(Nels @ Mar 15 2011, 12:24 AM)
dude. my exact same problem sleep.gif
Same here sad.gif . Reinstalled 6 times -__- . Wtf.
Nels
post Mar 15 2011, 12:43 AM

Tech Enthusiast
811 posts

just got my phone today and when i want to whatttttsappp u give me FAILURE. aaaaargh.

it works now.

This post has been edited by Nels: Mar 15 2011, 12:05 PM
yujin86
post May 24 2011, 11:46 AM

1,739 posts

i notice that whatsapp drain a lot of juice from my galaxy s after i install it... any solution?
SonnyCooL
post May 24 2011, 01:12 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(yujin86 @ May 24 2011, 11:46 AM)
i notice that whatsapp drain a lot of juice from my galaxy s after i install it... any solution?
issit ????
basically i found whatapp pretty light in battery and resources . . . . .
salem74
post May 24 2011, 02:20 PM

32 posts

what about kaokaotalk? since whatsapp need to paid after using for 1 year.
SonnyCooL
post May 24 2011, 02:41 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(salem74 @ May 24 2011, 02:20 PM)
what about kaokaotalk? since whatsapp need to paid after using for 1 year.
is only usd 1.99 and no ad, is much better deal compare with maxis (high fees + a lot junk sms) ....
U need to save 1.99 to do other stuff, but they need the money to develop + server cost, so as a fair user, there is no free lunch but fair lunch smile.gif

yee29
post May 26 2011, 07:11 PM

29 posts

y i cant view contact photo in my HTC Incredible S?
last time i can view using HTC Aria
SUSthieflord
post May 26 2011, 07:21 PM

Androdify Yourself!
3,098 posts

who willing to post his/her number here? i wanna add tongue.gif
SonnyCooL
post May 27 2011, 04:39 AM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(thieflord @ May 26 2011, 07:21 PM)
who willing to post his/her number here? i wanna add tongue.gif
u r funny ....
if u want to try, u can pm me ur number smile.gif
hehhehehe
raymond3689
post Jun 22 2011, 03:27 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(edtan5 @ Sep 24 2010, 10:23 PM)
just install whatsapp on my galaxy s. at verification page after i entered my phone number and send, the "please wait a moment" goes on forever. what's wrong? i did get the verification sms on my other phone. but nothing happen. is this normal? do i need to try again and again till it's working?
thanks notworthy.gif

edit: solved the problem, have to verify with the in tact sim card number to activate doh.gif
i have the same problem also...may i know what u meant by verifying the in tact sim card number??? thanks.
shark7
post Jun 26 2011, 11:14 PM

1,378 posts

dunno why but
iphone whatsapp is much friendly than android .
it shoud be the same but i like iphone version more
wkkm007
post Aug 10 2011, 09:58 AM

3,123 posts

@ hnr2802 y still beta on ur thread title?
mydragoon
post Aug 10 2011, 10:04 AM

7,044 posts

installed it mainly coz most of my friends are on it... i'm personally not too keen because it costs $.

i mean... its not like we dun have alternatives like... *ahem*... viber. wink.gif
Nat0306
post Aug 12 2011, 05:26 PM

can't see contact photo, only show android icon for my SE X10i, anyone face the same or anyone know the solution?

This post has been edited by Nat0306: Aug 12 2011, 05:27 PM
HeartRoxas
post Aug 12 2011, 09:00 PM

aka Xyreon
1,258 posts

QUOTE(Nat0306 @ Aug 12 2011, 05:26 PM)
can't see contact photo, only show android icon for my SE X10i, anyone face the same or anyone know the solution?
same.. when i first install all pictures are showing.. then i decide to full wipe once when i flash a ROM and after reinstall... it all became android pic since then..
LovingYou
post Aug 14 2011, 05:05 PM

124 posts

my LG optimus black can install this app or not
fcuk90
post Aug 14 2011, 06:24 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(LovingYou @ Aug 14 2011, 05:05 PM)
my LG optimus black can install this app or not
yes . why not ? haha
LovingYou
post Aug 14 2011, 07:07 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Aug 14 2011, 06:24 PM)
yes . why not ? haha
but must root my hp 1st before this app right?
but i dont know how to root my hp coz i got it today == sad.gif
ccgenius
post Aug 14 2011, 07:19 PM

1,349 posts

QUOTE(LovingYou @ Aug 14 2011, 07:07 PM)
but must root my hp 1st before this app right?
but i dont know how to root my hp coz i got it today == sad.gif
no need root, just search for whatsapp in the market and install..
5zal06
post Aug 14 2011, 08:08 PM

195 posts

i prefer whatsapp than viber

bcause viber not many ppl use

but i like iphone version of whatsapp
its a bit better than android .
other than that its the same thing except that android can make more ppl in conference
LovingYou
post Aug 14 2011, 09:16 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(ccgenius @ Aug 14 2011, 07:19 PM)
no need root, just search for whatsapp in the market and install..
okay
then why we need to root our hp ?
just the same meaning as jailbreak ?
greatgreedyguts
post Aug 14 2011, 09:38 PM

When in doubt, toss your wife
666 posts

QUOTE(Nat0306 @ Aug 12 2011, 05:26 PM)
coz they are fb contacts photo, photos synced by facebook application will not show up there, you need other contact sync apps to sync the pictures(HTC friend stream will not face this problem)

Added on August 14, 2011, 9:40 pm
QUOTE(LovingYou @ Aug 14 2011, 09:16 PM)
okay
then why we need to root our hp ?
just the same meaning as jailbreak ?
root is somehow similar to jailbreak, but android already allows you to do most, but root is to do heavy customizations which involve modifying system files which may damage the device if used wrongly, it also may decrease security, so unless you know what you are doing,you don't need root(except titanium backup users)

This post has been edited by greatgreedyguts: Aug 14 2011, 09:40 PM
./Hack-Fusion
post Aug 18 2011, 09:52 AM

1,111 posts

i want to ask if my android hp no insert sim card can use the whatsapp??
feralee
post Aug 18 2011, 10:49 AM

Enthusiastic (R)(C)(tm)
4,897 posts

QUOTE(./Hack-Fusion @ Aug 18 2011, 09:52 AM)
i want to ask if my android hp no insert sim card can use the whatsapp??
for Htc u can via wifi
for other models i not so sure
mydragoon
post Aug 18 2011, 10:57 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(feralee @ Aug 18 2011, 10:49 AM)
for Htc u can via wifi
for other models i not so sure
using wifi... u still need to first have a simcard inside the phone, right?
gajahwhite
post Aug 20 2011, 01:58 AM

Android Monster
1,852 posts

i understand that WhatsApp is free for 1 year..
let say if i reached 1 year of using WhatsApp.. is it the apps blocked (can't open), or it will "earn" our money w/o any notice?
ericmaxman
post Aug 20 2011, 05:32 PM

-
7,951 posts

Hmm, the Symbian version can set whether to use cellular data or WiFi only, why the Android version can't?

doh.gif

Stupid app sucking up my credit each time I have "Data Enabled"

dry.gif

This post has been edited by ericmaxman: Aug 20 2011, 05:33 PM
mynewuser
post Sep 16 2011, 07:58 PM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Aug 20 2011, 05:32 PM)
Hmm, the Symbian version can set whether to use cellular data or WiFi only, why the Android version can't?

doh.gif 

Stupid app sucking up my credit each time I have "Data Enabled"

dry.gif
I using whatapps with WIFI. No issue.
bigbigmac
post Oct 21 2011, 02:33 AM

123 posts

EDIT: forget it, i'll just buy it lol

My whatsapp is expiring. Any ideas how to extend it? If you know what I mean biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bigbigmac: Oct 21 2011, 02:40 AM
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Oct 21 2011, 04:59 AM

1,704 posts

Any method to install WhatsApp on tablet?
gtfan
post Oct 21 2011, 09:59 AM

932 posts

Try Chaton by Samsung. Another alternatives to Whatsapp and it's free. Currently only available for android.
HeartRoxas
post Oct 21 2011, 10:04 AM

aka Xyreon
1,258 posts

Then try better alternatives like kik, kakao, ping chat, liveprofile, viber. At least they have cross platform. Samsung's product are sad (software i mean).
post Oct 21 2011, 10:45 AM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(Crazy.SoT.Gila @ Oct 21 2011, 04:59 AM)
Any method to install WhatsApp on tablet?
i dunno bout ur Tablet but i got install on my Galaxy Tab 7" without any problem just straight download from the market.
mikeeeee
post Oct 21 2011, 11:52 AM

*~Tien9Chi~*
3,026 posts

QUOTE(0300078 @ Oct 21 2011, 10:45 AM)
i dunno bout ur Tablet but i got install on my Galaxy Tab 7" without any problem just straight download from the market.
Thats because your tablet is just a bigger phone , technically tongue.gif

kanethesun
post Oct 21 2011, 12:43 PM

1,426 posts

whatspp will only work with device with simcard, because you do not login with any user id / password, but your phone number itself is the id
SonnyCooL
post Oct 27 2011, 04:51 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(kanethesun @ Oct 21 2011, 12:43 PM)
whatspp will only work with device with simcard, because you do not login with any user id / password, but your phone number itself is the id
nope smile.gif
u can verify it via phone (sms) then relocate whatapp to any android device smile.gif

mydragoon
post Oct 31 2011, 01:55 PM

7,044 posts

guys... u guys are not annoyed by the fact that we have to pay usd1.99 per year for this apps after the first year?

i'm actually quite disappointed by this pricing coz from what i was told -- BB and ios is a one time cost. symbian version is free.
xsaintzx
post Oct 31 2011, 07:30 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Oct 31 2011, 01:55 PM)
guys... u guys are not annoyed by the fact that we have to pay usd1.99 per year for this apps after the first year?

i'm actually quite disappointed by this pricing coz from what i was told -- BB and ios is a one time cost. symbian version is free.
Nope, I think USD1.99 which is around RM6 for a year is quite reasonable.
Whatsapp is one of the best IM app I've used, tried Fring, Viber, Skype, Line and I think Whatsapp is better in terms of text messaging only.

You can switch to other IM alternatives after a year if you don't want to pay the RM6.
Although I'm still confuse why they want to give different pricing approach to different platform, is Apple paying them or giving them incentives or something? But think of the bright side we got to use it for free in the first year. smile.gif
mynewuser
post Oct 31 2011, 07:54 PM

2,549 posts

I read somewhere, if you register your number using iphone and ten reactivate back in andriod, it will show 10 year expire date. Any one can confirm on this?
wcyly
post Nov 3 2011, 11:13 AM

85 posts

I have been using whatsapp on my HTC Desire for a while now but it is annoying that the LED notification for arriving messages does not work.

I have correctly set Settings>Message Notifications>Light as "Green" since this is default colour for the Desire. The Notification Tone works correctly and the tone is played on the arrival of every message, but not the LED.

The LED never lights up. I have missed messages because of that.

Anyone else has this problem?

mi-g
post Jan 9 2012, 12:20 PM

Part-time Troll
1,501 posts

Guys, how to remove Whatsapp contact from the default phonebook? its annoying coz every contact that have whatsapp number will be duplicated instead of merged under 1 name..

This post has been edited by mi-g: Jan 9 2012, 12:26 PM
vostro78
post Jan 9 2012, 01:04 PM

6,804 posts

I already reinstalled more then 10 times on diff device cause some was reset some was buy new phone. So far all show 1 year except nexus s show lifetime.
aidlover
post Jan 9 2012, 01:28 PM

1,002 posts

Mine show expired on 2021
shark7
post Jan 9 2012, 02:47 PM

1,378 posts

QUOTE(mi-g @ Jan 9 2012, 12:20 PM)
Guys, how to remove Whatsapp contact from the default phonebook? its annoying coz every contact that have whatsapp number will be duplicated instead of merged under 1 name..

why yr whatsapp looks different and nicer??

and how u guys check the expiry date + how many whatsapp contact we have?
mi-g
post Jan 9 2012, 03:05 PM

Part-time Troll
1,501 posts

QUOTE(shark7 @ Jan 9 2012, 02:47 PM)
why yr whatsapp looks different and nicer??

and how u guys check the expiry date + how many whatsapp contact we have?
that screenshot is not Whatsapp.. its my GO Contacts EX app using iPhone skin.

check expire date by opening Whatsapp then go to Settings and select Account Info. see the Service Expiration date there..

btw, anyone can answer my earlier question?
eye
post Jan 9 2012, 03:10 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(mi-g @ Jan 9 2012, 12:20 PM)

Go to Contacts>> Menu>> More>> Display Options ...
mi-g
post Jan 9 2012, 03:12 PM

Part-time Troll
1,501 posts

QUOTE(eye @ Jan 9 2012, 03:10 PM)
Go to Contacts>> Menu>> More>> Display Options ...
haha yup. found already after playing around it abit.. settle now thumbup.gif thanks
nerd
post Jan 9 2012, 05:48 PM

another brick in the wall.
3,373 posts

Having erratic notification LED behaviour recently. Sometimes it would flash and sometimes it won't. Anyone else facing the same problem?
longlongzai
post Jan 9 2012, 06:22 PM

156 posts

My phone always gave noti sound and led when I reveived msg. No problem, guys checkk ur settings, not the whatapps problem.
ericmaxman
post Jan 10 2012, 08:00 PM

-
7,951 posts

My license due next month.

One year did pass by quite fast i see tongue.gif

How to pay? hmm.gif
jusbella
post Jan 23 2012, 10:37 AM

3,036 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Jan 10 2012, 08:00 PM)
My license due next month.

One year did pass by quite fast i see tongue.gif

How to pay? hmm.gif
Click Settings, Account Info, den click Purchase online, pay by google checkout or paypal, u also can click SEND PAYMENT URL and copy the URL to friend who got paypal/google checkout to help u pay.

Added on January 23, 2012, 10:38 amBTW am I the lucky one?

My account expired next month, feb 28, and suddenly I got whatsapp notification, they extend my trial period till august 28, extend 6 months lol...

This post has been edited by jusbella: Jan 23 2012, 10:38 AM
Boy96
post Jan 23 2012, 11:12 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Eh, why is my service expiration is on sep 11 2012? I got this phone just weeks ago!
jusbella
post Jan 23 2012, 11:39 AM

3,036 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jan 23 2012, 11:12 AM)
Eh, why is my service expiration is on sep 11 2012? I got this phone just weeks ago!
Maybe ur phone number is registered b4..
fiqir
post Jan 23 2012, 11:50 AM

BE YOURSELF
3,810 posts

QUOTE(jusbella @ Jan 23 2012, 11:39 AM)
Maybe ur phone number is registered b4..
lol. that might be true. pity the current mobile number. biggrin.gif
figuremeout
post Jan 23 2012, 02:13 PM

~In another life, I would make u stay~
890 posts

whatsapp will expire after one year. i just knew! LOL
AskarPerang
post Jan 23 2012, 02:23 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

QUOTE(jusbella @ Jan 23 2012, 10:37 AM)
Click Settings, Account Info, den click Purchase online, pay by google checkout or paypal, u also can click SEND PAYMENT URL and copy the URL to friend who got paypal/google checkout to help u pay.

Added on January 23, 2012, 10:38 amBTW am I the lucky one?

My account expired next month, feb 28, and suddenly I got whatsapp notification, they extend my trial period till august 28, extend 6 months lol...
how come got trial extension? Your birthday is it?
jusbella
post Jan 23 2012, 03:19 PM

3,036 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Jan 23 2012, 02:23 PM)
how come got trial extension? Your birthday is it?
Hi, I really don't know, not my birthday too... just surprise once I turn on my mobile lol...

EDIT:

I heard other forumer said that actually WhatsApp is free, once your license nearly expires, they will renew it for half a year. And they do this endless...

So hope somebody account nearly expired can feedback whether they extend ur acc or not...

This post has been edited by jusbella: Jan 23 2012, 03:50 PM
teh_master
post Jan 23 2012, 05:40 PM

415 posts

QUOTE(jusbella @ Jan 23 2012, 03:19 PM)
Hi, I really don't know, not my birthday too... just surprise once I turn on my mobile lol...

EDIT:

I heard other forumer said that actually WhatsApp is free, once your license nearly expires, they will renew it for half a year. And they do this endless...

So hope somebody account nearly expired can feedback whether they extend ur acc or not...
this actually happened to me last week, extended for another 6 months. i think my initial free trial expiring by Feb 2012.
djhenry91
post Jan 24 2012, 12:25 PM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

i wanna ask u tht whatapps can chg display pic?
enaleni
post Jan 24 2012, 01:25 PM

397 posts

Whatsapp is shutting down on 28th jan Message from Jim Balsamic (CEO of Whatsapp) we have had an over usage of user names on whatsapp Messenger. We are requesting all users to forward this message to their entire contact list. If you do not forward this message, we will take it as your account is invalid and it will be deleted within the next 48 hours. Please DO NOT ignore this message or whatsapp will no longer recognise your activation. If you wish to re-activate your account after it has been deleted, a charge of 25.00 will be added to your monthly bill. We are also aware of the issue involving the pictures updates not showing. We are working diligently at fixing this problem and it will be up and running as soon as possible. Thank you for your cooperation from the Whatsapp team..smile.gif

FINAL WARNING!
If your WhatsApp Logo has not turned red you are not registered as a frequent user and by 10am C.A.T WhatsApp will start charging you. To become a frequent user send this message to 10 people who receive it (2 ticks) and you WhatsApp logo should now turn Tangerine Orange as a result of late registration but you will then become a frequent user.

This message i got from my friend.... Can someone can confirm this message is true or not? ohmy.gif
eyerule
post Jan 24 2012, 01:29 PM

my cow died, it slipped on a banana skin
1,036 posts

go follow whatsapp on twitter. that is fake
enaleni
post Jan 24 2012, 01:31 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(eyerule @ Jan 24 2012, 01:29 PM)
go follow whatsapp on twitter. that is fake
Haha thanks... What a mess.... biggrin.gif
jusbella
post Jan 24 2012, 01:48 PM

3,036 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Jan 24 2012, 12:25 PM)
i wanna ask u tht whatapps can chg display pic?
No, cannot.
jason18689
post Jan 24 2012, 01:53 PM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

QUOTE(enaleni @ Jan 24 2012, 01:25 PM)
Whatsapp is shutting down on 28th jan  Message from Jim Balsamic (CEO of Whatsapp) we have had an over usage of user names on whatsapp Messenger. We are requesting all users to forward this message to their entire contact list. If you do not forward this message, we will take it as your account is invalid and it will be deleted within the next 48 hours. Please DO NOT ignore this message or whatsapp will no longer recognise your activation. If you wish to re-activate your account after it has been deleted, a charge of 25.00 will be added to your monthly bill. We are also aware of the issue involving the pictures updates not showing. We are working diligently at fixing this problem and it will be up and running as soon as possible. Thank you for your cooperation from the Whatsapp team..smile.gif

FINAL WARNING!
If your WhatsApp Logo has not turned red you are not registered as a frequent user and by 10am C.A.T WhatsApp will start charging you. To become a frequent user send this message to 10 people who receive it (2 ticks) and you WhatsApp logo should now turn Tangerine Orange as a result of late registration but you will then become a frequent user.

This message i got from my friend....  Can someone can confirm this message is true or not?  ohmy.gif
When received such thing.
The first thing is to do is to google the name of "Jim Balsamic" to see if he is the CEO of Whatsapp.
So i google-ed it, turns out to be false. Then, you will have a clearer picture of it =) nod.gif
celaw
post Jan 24 2012, 02:36 PM

1,263 posts

My account will expired in April, will report here soon.. haha..
fariz
post Jan 24 2012, 02:44 PM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

This message i got from my friend....  Can someone can confirm this message is true or not?  ohmy.gif
http://blog.whatsapp.com/index.php/2012/01...x-really-it-is/
djhenry91
post Jan 24 2012, 09:55 PM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

QUOTE(jusbella @ Jan 24 2012, 01:48 PM)
No, cannot.
why iphone and nokia got display picture??
SonnyCooL
post Jan 24 2012, 11:05 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

Whatsapp is shutting down on 28th jan  Message from Jim Balsamic (CEO of Whatsapp) we have had an over usage of user names on whatsapp Messenger. We are requesting all users to forward this message to their entire contact list. If you do not forward this message, we will take it as your account is invalid and it will be deleted within the next 48 hours. Please DO NOT ignore this message or whatsapp will no longer recognise your activation. If you wish to re-activate your account after it has been deleted, a charge of 25.00 will be added to your monthly bill. We are also aware of the issue involving the pictures updates not showing. We are working diligently at fixing this problem and it will be up and running as soon as possible. Thank you for your cooperation from the Whatsapp team..smile.gif

FINAL WARNING!

i really laugh out loud, when i saw this msg, can't believe there still ppl believe in chain news ...
nothing_nth
post Jan 24 2012, 11:35 PM

no stars
2,408 posts

QUOTE(jusbella @ Jan 23 2012, 03:19 PM)

EDIT:

I think this is the wise decision made by them... most of my friends even myself port to LINE... LOL... if they charge for $$... whatapps gonna eat LINE's dust laugh.gif
jusbella
post Jan 24 2012, 11:54 PM

3,036 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Jan 24 2012, 09:55 PM)
why iphone and nokia got display picture??
They take from phone contact list display.

This post has been edited by jusbella: Jan 24 2012, 11:55 PM
djhenry91
post Jan 24 2012, 11:57 PM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

ohhh....thx
Aimar Walabi
post Jan 28 2012, 04:42 AM

VIP 22 - 0123004005
508 posts

which one more stable in galaxy note (v2.3.6), WhatsApp or Viber?
shark7
post Jan 28 2012, 10:37 AM

1,378 posts

hey guys . whatsapp is free 1 year for the num i use or for the phone??

bcause i had been using whatsapp since 2010 same number just different phone .. still can use..
Aimar Walabi
post Jan 28 2012, 12:35 PM

VIP 22 - 0123004005
508 posts

QUOTE(shark7 @ Jan 28 2012, 10:37 AM)
hey guys . whatsapp is free 1 year for the num i use or for the phone??

bcause i had been using whatsapp since 2010 same number just different phone .. still can use..
Yaa.. I also wanna know.. smile.gif
beemek
post Jan 28 2012, 11:15 PM

184 posts

Can you send voice message from Android to Iphone?

Boy96
post Jan 29 2012, 12:19 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(beemek @ Jan 28 2012, 11:15 PM)
Can you send voice message from Android to Iphone?
From the options, can, But I havent test it yet
zurggie
post Jan 29 2012, 01:33 AM

299 posts

Any of u guys used BBM before? Some of my friend who has android buy BB just to use BBM with his friends. I wonder why not just use WhatsApp? Any advantage in using BBM over WhatsApp?
shark7
post Jan 29 2012, 02:49 AM

1,378 posts

QUOTE(zurggie @ Jan 29 2012, 01:33 AM)
Any of u guys used BBM before? Some of my friend who has android buy BB just to use BBM with his friends. I wonder why not just use WhatsApp? Any advantage in using BBM over WhatsApp?
from what i know its faster like send pics/video (not sure ,but thats the only special thing bout bb..i can't remember the advantage for bb ..hurm .

iinm they use bbm bcause they wanna chat with artist . -.- its like twittr ..
Aimar Walabi
post Jan 29 2012, 05:23 PM

VIP 22 - 0123004005
508 posts

QUOTE(zurggie @ Jan 29 2012, 01:33 AM)
Bbm faster than whatsapp
shark7
post Jan 29 2012, 07:36 PM

1,378 posts

QUOTE(Aimar Walabi @ Jan 29 2012, 05:23 PM)
Bbm faster than whatsapp
Fast in receiving msj? U mean like 0.00001 secs faster?
benny888
post Jan 29 2012, 07:51 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(shark7 @ Jan 29 2012, 07:36 PM)
Fast in receiving msj? U mean like 0.00001 secs faster?
Very much faster just like receiving SMS, possibly even faster - one word unmatchable. BBM if i give it a score of 10 being fastest, whatsapp 5 only. BEST of BBM video, audi, media files attachment is fast an easy plus downloading to view, simply unbeatable

This post has been edited by benny888: Jan 29 2012, 07:52 PM
shark7
post Jan 29 2012, 08:02 PM

1,378 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jan 29 2012, 07:51 PM)
Very much faster just like receiving SMS, possibly even faster - one word unmatchable. BBM if i give it a score of 10 being fastest, whatsapp 5 only. BEST of BBM video, audi, media files attachment is fast an easy plus downloading to view, simply unbeatable
Nvr use bb before.. But on wifi i can receive whatsapp msj quite fast..if its like 0.1 secs faster i wont care..
But dunno bout video...pics is acceptable..

But bbm clone , imsj sux so bad..hard to believe apple made some stupid app like that..even whatsapp is better

Btw benny can u answer my ques at the top on thisnpage..really want to know how whatsapp work actually

This post has been edited by shark7: Jan 29 2012, 08:03 PM
benny888
post Jan 29 2012, 08:06 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(shark7 @ Jan 29 2012, 08:02 PM)
Nvr use bb before.. But on wifi i can receive whatsapp msj quite fast..if its like 0.1 secs faster i wont care..
But dunno bout  video...pics is acceptable..

But bbm clone , imsj sux so bad..hard to believe apple made some stupid app like that..even whatsapp is better

Btw benny can u answer my ques at the top on thisnpage..really want to know how whatsapp work actually
It is tied to the number irrespective of phone model
Aimar Walabi
post Jan 31 2012, 07:46 PM

VIP 22 - 0123004005
508 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jan 29 2012, 07:51 PM)
yaaa.. thats the main advantage BB have, plus fast email.. other than that, BB still cant beat android phone..
davidbilly87
post Jun 27 2012, 02:47 AM

513 posts

After the whatapps expired still can receive the msg from friends ? cause next month my whatapps will expired sad.gif
palmjack
post Jun 27 2012, 07:23 AM

84 posts

I find Whatsapp for Android sucks compared to iPhone as I can't get the sender contact name to be displayed constantly, just the phone number.
nyunyu
post Jun 27 2012, 07:34 AM

His Royal Highness
1,394 posts

Guys, I've been using whatsapp for years, among the first to use it when it was announced for android.

So far they have bumped my expiration date to Mar 2022 (used to be Mar 2013)
ramz
post Jun 27 2012, 08:48 AM

21,350 posts

QUOTE(palmjack @ Jun 27 2012, 07:23 AM)
I find Whatsapp for Android sucks compared to iPhone as I can't get the sender contact name to be displayed constantly, just the phone number.
what u mean? all my sender contacts are by name.
xerox8908
post Jun 27 2012, 08:51 AM

Look at all my stars
2,725 posts

I tried with two phone .
whatsapp almost instantly received in 1-3 seconds after send .
No matter is message or attachment .
raclette
post Jun 27 2012, 08:55 AM

428 posts

QUOTE(davidbilly87 @ Jun 27 2012, 02:47 AM)
After the whatapps expired still can receive the msg from friends ? cause next month my whatapps will expired sad.gif
Normally its gonna extend ur expiry.
ramz
post Jun 27 2012, 09:04 AM

21,350 posts

whatsapp is good but is not good all the time. like any sms system, u have congestion, downtime, and maintenance that disables the service for a short period. so for people who fast to make conclusion, just use whatsapp for a while longer then only complain. so far whatsapp have served me well. but i do get occasional annoying moments. when that happens i still have viber.

and the bb vs whatsapp showdown, bb is no longer special la. a messaging system has to be open to be acceptable. the moment u close it its no longer special. so what if it is 0.0001 secs faster, and so what if it is more secure. if u can only talk to you felllow bb friends and not to the rest of the world i don't need you. same goes to you facetime and imessage.
hAnn
post Jun 27 2012, 11:11 AM

329 posts

mines gonna expired in october, i have only been using for 2 years. found nice chatting apps recently, u all can try this Wechat, much more features than whatsapp, for example it can send voice messages, u can upload photos to a personal space ur frens can view, u can search for local contacts around you within like 10km (great for knwing more chicks tongue.gif)

just to name a few, do check it out.
palmjack
post Jun 27 2012, 04:22 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jun 27 2012, 08:48 AM)
what u mean? all my sender contacts are by name.
Not on my Honeycomb Galaxy Tab 7.7

waie
post Jun 28 2012, 06:23 PM

WieWie WaWaā„¢
1,246 posts

QUOTE(hAnn @ Jun 27 2012, 11:11 AM)
mines gonna expired in october, i have only been using for 2 years. found nice chatting apps recently, u all can try this Wechat, much more features than whatsapp, for example it can send voice messages, u can upload photos to a personal space ur frens can view, u can search for local contacts around you within like 10km (great for knwing more chicks tongue.gif)

just to name a few, do check it out.
The thing about wechat, I have no friends in it. its not that really famous. looks good to me but then... Haih :/
TSOM
post Jul 3 2012, 05:54 AM

2,145 posts

Hi ..

I want to ask .......
1) what happens when you change number? Do you get a new 1year free trial, or you continue with your old trial deadline?

2) when you change number, can your old contacts (from old number) still contact you?
ken2291
post Jul 3 2012, 06:12 AM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Jul 3 2012, 05:54 AM)
Hi ..

I want to ask .......
1) what happens when you change number? Do you get a new 1year free trial, or you continue with your old trial deadline?

2) when you change number, can your old contacts (from old number) still contact you?
1) continue with old trial because it's tied to phone number. But my trial has been renewing by itself for 3 times by now rolleyes.gif

2) No, when u change number, your Whatsapp now uses your new number. Unless your friends have your new numbers. If not, they'd be "whatsapp-ing" your old number
shark7
post Jul 3 2012, 06:24 AM

1,378 posts

I just checked mine expiry date.. year 2020 maybe because i already use this num on iphone before..

I download whatsapp on iphone when it was free.
But dont think whtspp will survive till 2020. I mean there must be better apps or something later
TSOM
post Jul 3 2012, 06:33 AM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Jul 3 2012, 06:12 AM)
1) continue with old trial because it's tied to phone number.  But my trial has been renewing by itself for 3 times by now rolleyes.gif

2) No, when u change number, your Whatsapp now uses your new number.  Unless your friends have your new numbers.  If not, they'd be "whatsapp-ing" your old number
I see .. thanks!

That means if I change a new phone number, then I get a new 1 year trial for that new number, right?
ken2291
post Jul 3 2012, 11:11 AM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Jul 3 2012, 06:33 AM)
I see .. thanks!

That means if I change a new phone number, then I get a new 1 year trial for that new number, right?
No problem. Exactly smile.gif
SUSDayang Kemboja
post Jul 3 2012, 11:26 AM

53 posts

Sometimes my whatsapp will hang on my HTC chacha sad.gif
Apart from that, no complaint at all!
Good app so far.
SUStsunade
post Jul 3 2012, 11:30 AM

2,063 posts

my watsapp hangs frequently recently after the update sad.gif
ruztynail
post Jul 3 2012, 12:05 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

mine is a paid app on iphone. port my number over to my s3. under payment info my service expires in Jan 8, 2021.. 9 more years to go.. hahaha..

i hv allot of people on whatsapp.. more than 250 peeps.. last count on iphone.. cant check the number on android.. i cant go by a day without it.. totally replaces my sms, mms, location sharing, contacts sharing etc etc..
ramz
post Jul 3 2012, 12:20 PM

21,350 posts

yeah, everybody should have a data plan. then we can all stop donating big amounts to our service provider!! and the service provider will make the cloud services as priority then the tradional services.
show_cool
post Jul 3 2012, 12:32 PM

29 posts

i prefer use Line~~

but why whatsapp's user is more than Line?
ruztynail
post Jul 3 2012, 02:30 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

QUOTE(show_cool @ Jul 3 2012, 12:32 PM)
i prefer use Line~~

but why whatsapp's user is more than Line?
whatsapp started way earlier right? the base there is big already.. hence people on it cont to use it gua..
show_cool
post Jul 3 2012, 04:08 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Jul 3 2012, 02:30 PM)
whatsapp started way earlier right? the base there is big already.. hence people on it cont to use it gua..
btw...

whatsapp is less delay than line~

this is the gud thing
ramz
post Jul 3 2012, 04:31 PM

21,350 posts

whatsapp got new ics update today
SUSSayid Kasturi
post Jul 3 2012, 04:41 PM

52 posts

Sometimes I wonder how service provider earns money?
When everyone is using whatsapp instead of sms hmm.gif
ramz
post Jul 3 2012, 04:50 PM

21,350 posts

QUOTE(Sayid Kasturi @ Jul 3 2012, 04:41 PM)
Sometimes I wonder how service provider earns money?
When everyone is using whatsapp instead of sms  hmm.gif
that is why we all kena pakat use data plan. once everybody is on board, we have no use of the traditional plan, and so service provider will concentrate on making data plan the main business. then are communication cost will get lower. u think paying 10sen per sms and 20 sen per minute of call is reasonable? no no no its not reasonable. i can call the north poll right now for free, and i get do it right now. why must i pay 20 sen per minute on local calls? we being screwed right under our nose and we just accept it.
et_kt
post Jul 3 2012, 08:18 PM

357 posts

I also prefer LINE due to the sticker function. But lately found out Chaton has better (animated) and more stickers.

But sadly only a handfull of my friends are using LINE & Chaton. Majority still using WhatsApp.
zalws
post Jul 17 2012, 06:42 PM

135 posts

latest whatsapp update got problem sleep.gif
durianman
post Sep 11 2012, 08:03 PM

Dear all,

i just bought a new htc desire v ... problem with whatsapp for me is that after downloading it, i do not get the notification (as in the red dot notification on the whatsapp icon) when new messages arrive. tried uninstallinvg n installing but the problem still persist. any of u can advice?

thanks in advance
et_kt
post Sep 11 2012, 08:06 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(durianman @ Sep 11 2012, 08:03 PM)
Dear all,

i just bought a new htc desire v ... problem with whatsapp for me is that after downloading it, i do not get the notification (as in the red dot notification on the whatsapp icon) when new messages arrive. tried uninstallinvg n installing but the problem still persist. any of u can advice?

thanks in advance
Did u add +6 before your phone number?
durianman
post Sep 12 2012, 12:09 PM

ohhh ... i may not have ... i shall try if thats the problem

Added on September 12, 2012, 12:12 pmet_kt, no not working either ... i still received messages but just that there is no notification on the icon .. strange

This post has been edited by durianman: Sep 12 2012, 12:12 PM
Genoss - Apple House
post Oct 2 2012, 02:59 AM

516 posts

Did anybody here know how to reinstall watapps without losing any of by chat history?
SUSaaronsuarez95
post Oct 2 2012, 08:12 AM

huehuehue
721 posts

backup copy file to pc
benny888
post Oct 2 2012, 08:24 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Genoss - Apple House @ Oct 2 2012, 02:59 AM)
Did anybody here know how to reinstall watapps without losing any of by chat history?
I always use titanium backup to backup n restore it back
Perfect solution
Genoss - Apple House
post Oct 2 2012, 01:58 PM

516 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 2 2012, 08:24 AM)
I always use titanium backup to backup n restore it back
Perfect solution
hmmm hmm.gif
titanium backup
I going to search it later
thanks biggrin.gif
puchongite
post Feb 21 2013, 11:58 AM

33,675 posts

How bad the battery drain for this application ( assuming using 3G data ).

Anyone has real data ? Assuming whatsapp is the only data application installed, anyone has really data about the battery drain with/without whatsapp ?
iceman31
post Feb 21 2013, 12:05 PM

Mewtwotwotwotwo
2,631 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Feb 21 2013, 11:58 AM)
How bad the battery drain for this application ( assuming using 3G data ).

Anyone has real data ? Assuming whatsapp is the only data application installed, anyone has really data about the battery drain with/without whatsapp ?
not that bad. i got facebook/falcon pro/whatsapp/instagram/line/viber/wechat/. refresh when ever i open .

there is new whatsapp (beta) but only can be downloaded from the website . whats new is the holo design . look elegant and sexy

http://www.whatsapp.com/android/
puchongite
post Feb 21 2013, 12:09 PM

33,675 posts

QUOTE(iceman31 @ Feb 21 2013, 12:05 PM)
not that bad. i got facebook/falcon pro/whatsapp/instagram/line/viber/wechat/. refresh when ever i open .

there is new whatsapp (beta) but only can be downloaded from the website . whats new is the holo design . look elegant and sexy

I supposed you may be charging you phone 2 twice a day ? Kekeke ....
iceman31
post Feb 21 2013, 12:38 PM

Mewtwotwotwotwo
2,631 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Feb 21 2013, 12:09 PM)
I supposed you may be charging you phone 2 twice a day ? Kekeke ....
more than that. maximizing the use of my nexus 4 biggrin.gif
puchongite
post Feb 21 2013, 12:40 PM

33,675 posts

QUOTE(iceman31 @ Feb 21 2013, 12:38 PM)
more than that. maximizing the use of my nexus 4 biggrin.gif
Haha my goodness, then it's not considered "not that bad". It's VERY BAD ! LOL !
iceman31
post Feb 21 2013, 12:44 PM

Mewtwotwotwotwo
2,631 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Feb 21 2013, 12:40 PM)
Haha my goodness, then it's not considered "not that bad". It's VERY BAD ! LOL !
to be honest i never actually test my battery to the fullest . if i got time to charge . i will charge. smt like that.

well u asked me on my usage with instagram twitter and all.

if using whatsapp alone can last from morning till night.
dikae
post Feb 21 2013, 02:57 PM

an apple a day
9,208 posts

QUOTE(Genoss - Apple House @ Oct 2 2012, 03:59 AM)
use titanium back up thumbup.gif
monara
post Feb 21 2013, 03:28 PM

Enthusiast?
1,008 posts

QUOTE(monara @ Feb 21 2013, 06:55 AM)
hi guys,
really need some help since i am newb with android phone..
have tried download whatssap from playstore, but sadly there was "download error 413".
how can i rectify this? else, how/where can i download whatssap to the phone.
device is experia tipo though. thanks for your help. really appreciate it. smile.gif
guys, anyone know about this, can help? icon_question.gif
puchongite
post Feb 21 2013, 03:32 PM

33,675 posts

QUOTE(monara @ Feb 21 2013, 03:28 PM)
Are you using wifi or 3G ?

Sometimes the wifi gets into powersave/sleeping mode, so you got download error lar.
SUSvuetnam
post Feb 21 2013, 04:10 PM

1,259 posts

hello all.. I just saw a warning that my whatsapp going to expire in 7/3/2013.. what should I do? I don't have credit card to purchase.. me using samsung galaxy y-rooted already wan...
SUSvuetnam
post Feb 21 2013, 04:13 PM

1,259 posts

icon_question.gif
mudkipryan94
post Feb 21 2013, 05:23 PM

someone need a sarcasm meter?
12,000 posts

QUOTE(vuetnam @ Feb 21 2013, 04:13 PM)
icon_question.gif
attention horse
SUSvuetnam
post Feb 21 2013, 05:31 PM

1,259 posts

orang minta tolong.. this budak kata I attention horse doh.gif
mydragoon
post Feb 21 2013, 05:38 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(vuetnam @ Feb 21 2013, 05:31 PM)
orang minta tolong.. this budak kata I attention horse doh.gif
why not? 3 mins later, you just post one emoticon? you expect people to be here 24-7 monitoring questions and replying?!?

to answer your Q, if you dun have credit card... then how to pay?!? this is logic unless you're hinting for a link to a blackmarket apps?

i believe you can also use debit cards. add the debit card to your Google play and you can use google play to pay for the whatsapp.
antt00
post Feb 21 2013, 05:41 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(vuetnam @ Feb 21 2013, 04:10 PM)
hello all.. I just saw a warning that my whatsapp going to expire in 7/3/2013.. what should I do? I don't have credit card to purchase.. me using samsung galaxy y-rooted already wan...
Normally it gets renewed right. hmm.gif Just wait until that date.
mydragoon

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Genoss - Apple House @ Oct 2 2012, 02:59 AM)
though old Q...

just thought i'd share... there's an option in whatsapp to restore chats though i have not had the chance to test it out myself.

see: http://www.redmondpie.com/how-to-backup-an...ges-on-android/
antt00

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(monara @ Feb 21 2013, 03:28 PM)
SUSvuetnam
post Feb 21 2013, 05:47 PM

1,259 posts

oh its ok then... I'll wait and see then..
monara
post Feb 22 2013, 12:19 AM

Enthusiast?
1,008 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Feb 21 2013, 03:32 PM)
Are you using wifi or 3G ?

Sometimes the wifi gets into powersave/sleeping mode, so you got download error lar.
using 3g. i think its not network issue.
i tried download other app, can but whereas for certain apps like whatssap, viber, cant.
afraid if it has someting related to the phone compatibility.
QUOTE(antt00 @ Feb 21 2013, 05:41 PM)
so using this to download via phone?
tq, will try later..
ss_izal
post Sep 15 2013, 11:48 AM

591 posts

guys how to restore crypt backup files, if the backup file is more than a month old? my phone is damage, and only bought a new one after a month. whatsapp faq only stated, it will prompt for restore if the file is within 7 days. tq.

on separate note, can old backup integrated to the new one, so that when restore both old and new will be available in whatsapp

This post has been edited by ss_izal: Sep 15 2013, 11:50 AM
mastering89
post Sep 16 2013, 04:32 PM

miao miao
2,546 posts

QUOTE(ss_izal @ Sep 15 2013, 11:48 AM)
guys how to restore crypt backup files, if the backup file is more than a month old? my phone is damage, and only bought a new one after a month. whatsapp faq only stated, it will prompt for restore if the file is within 7 days. tq.

on separate note, can old backup integrated to the new one, so that when restore both old and new will be available in whatsapp
havent tried for backup more than a month. but just copy thr whatsapp folder (from old tablet to new phone) and it prompts to restore after enter phone number smile.gif
ss_izal
post Sep 19 2013, 04:28 PM

591 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ Sep 16 2013, 04:32 PM)
havent tried for backup more than a month. but just copy thr whatsapp folder (from old tablet to new phone) and it prompts to restore after enter phone number smile.gif
after so many tries , the solution is just simple one, changing the date of your phone within 7 days of whatsapp backup when installing the software will just do the trick. what an easy solution. but now left with just the old messages, cant combine the new message in interim phase before i found this solution.

This post has been edited by ss_izal: Sep 19 2013, 04:30 PM

0.1130sec    0.69    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:44 PM