TSalien2003
post Sep 1 2010, 10:43 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(ps3roxor @ Sep 1 2010, 10:30 PM)
I've heard the Carrick is out of favour and may be sold next summer. I think he really hasn't been pulling his weight and it would be a good piece of business, but we really need a replacement for Scholes one way or another.

As for BeBe, I am really curious how good this guy is, considering SAF never even took a look at him. Seriously, as great as SAF is, I don't think that's the right way to do things. 7m could've been spent in better ways
Well, we will have to put the trust on our scouts + Queiroz this time.

Rio Ferdinand to make comeback in Man Utd reserves

Rio Ferdinand will make his comeback from the knee injury that ruled him out of the World Cup in a Manchester United reserve game on Wednesday night.

The 31-year-old defender missed the World Cup after injuring ligaments in a collision with Emile Heskey during England training in South Africa.

If he comes through unscathed against Oldham, Ferdinand could make a first-team return at Everton on 11 September.

That week United have home games against Rangers and Liverpool.

Ferdinand's fellow England defender Wes Brown, Brazilian midfielder Anderson and Italian striker Federico Macheda are also all expected to play for United's reserves on Wednesday.

Ferdinand's return to action is earlier than expected, with United manager Sir Alex Ferguson having previously said he did not expect him back until the end of the month.

His comeback is too late for Ferdinand to have any involvement in England's Euro 2012 qualifiers against Bulgaria on Friday, 3 September and Switzerland on Tuesday, 7 September, but it will be a welcome bit of good news on the injury front for manager Fabio Capello.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/t...utd/8960796.stm

Leading by example

Nemanja Vidic is relishing the responsibility that comes with being captain of the Reds, but insists he is just one of a number of leaders within the squad.

The Serbian international has been United’s ever-present skipper so far this season and has led by example with a string of commanding displays at the heart of the defence.

Vida says wearing the armband is a great honour, but believes the current side are blessed with a host of players with leadership qualities.

“Being captain is a big achievement and honour for me, and I enjoy the responsibility,” he told ManUtd.com.

“But I must say we have a few captains in our team – Gary Neville, Scholesy, Giggsy and Rio – they are the real leaders in our team. The other players look to those players.

“For me, as a captain you don’t need to do anything special, you just have to be yourself and be an example to the other players.

“I just try to give my best in every game and use the experience I have gained over the years to help the team be successful.”

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...&newsid=6651688

This post has been edited by alien2003: Sep 1 2010, 10:55 PM
DaBestOne
post Sep 1 2010, 10:54 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

I dun understand why many are picking on Carrick. IMHO, he's still one good player, great passing ability and vision, and also good in long range shots as well.

In fact, I think he will be a better option than Lampard to pair up with Gerrard in the national team. England could have been better with him. Just can't see the reason pairing up gerrard with Lampard. It's a proven failure.
ps3roxor
post Sep 1 2010, 10:58 PM

181 posts

Well my opinion is that he doesn't have that 'dominating presence' in the midfield. He fits the bills with Lampard or Gerrard because while these 2 are dominating personas and get in front often, he will have to stay back.

He was great in the 1st one or two seasons he joined us, but recent seasons there haven't been many convincing displays.
Wan
post Sep 1 2010, 11:16 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Sep 1 2010, 10:54 PM)
I dun understand why many are picking on Carrick. IMHO, he's still one good player, great passing ability and vision, and also good in long range shots as well.

In fact, I think he will be a better option than Lampard to pair up with Gerrard in the national team. England could have been better with him. Just can't see the reason pairing up gerrard with Lampard. It's a proven failure.
It's just natural IMO to have that doubt. Scholes and Giggs are getting older and likely to have only a season or two at most being as effective as they are today. We have Fletcher, but he's a different kind of a player. Ando and Gibson doesn't look like a certainty ATM. And so the spotlight is on Carrick to help lessen the burden and help us have a smooth transition from the old to the new generation.

QUOTE(ps3roxor @ Sep 1 2010, 10:58 PM)
Well my opinion is that he doesn't have that 'dominating presence' in the midfield. He fits the bills with Lampard or Gerrard because while these 2 are dominating personas and get in front often, he will have to stay back.

He was great in the 1st one or two seasons he joined us, but recent seasons there haven't been many convincing displays.
He has never been that kind of a player. In fact I don't think we have someone with that type of presence since Keano left. He has been consistently good for 3 seasons. Only last season was a blip. We'll see how he does in the coming season. If his form doesn't pick up, we'll let him go and brought in someone else. Until then, he has every chance of capturing his form and place back. Looked like his former self against Chelsea. Just a matter of time before he gets his chance again. SAF might just silently let him know he got to earn his place by putting him on the subs list in all our games so far although another possible reason is that SAF just want to build our form and momentum by playing almost the same side for a few games before making changes to the side.
hazremi
post Sep 1 2010, 11:20 PM

1million people saved this avatar bcoz she's too cute!
5,676 posts

attack start with carrick but not him who finish the attack..he doesnt get the limelight
ps3roxor
post Sep 2 2010, 01:09 AM

181 posts

QUOTE(hazremi @ Sep 1 2010, 11:20 PM)
attack start with carrick but not him who finish the attack..he doesnt get the limelight
but the same can be said with Scholes, he starts every attack. The saying goes, form is temporary, class is permanent.

In Hargreaves with have someone with the dominating persona and hard tackler, i.e Keano's true successor. I love the way he plays and he really shows the will to win balls and matches. My fav part of him is during the UCL 2008 in Moscow where he took the penalty and score. He pumped his fist with a mean look and was almost practically saying "take that u fekking blues!"
fesick
post Sep 2 2010, 01:20 AM

Serious mode
2,009 posts

Hargreaves on the list!!

Owen Hargreaves has been included in Manchester United's 25 man squad list, despite a list of injuries that has seen him play just 30
seconds since September 2008.Manchester United's Owen Hargreaves has made the cut
Hargreaves does not count as a 'Homegrown' player as he spent his early years in Germany, but Sir Alex Ferguson has taken a gamble in including
the England midfielder and hopes to see him back to full fitness after he spent time with a specialist in the United States.
The rules: Each club's 25-man squad should have eight home-grown players who - regardless of age or nationality - spent three years (or a total of 36 months)
in the youth system of a club in England or Wales before they reached the age of 21.Contrary to reports elsewhere, players aged under 21 can, if required,
be named in the 25-man squad as a home-grown player. An Under-21 player is defined as being born on or after January 1, 1989.
Clubs can use an unlimited number of Under-21 players in addition to their 25-man squad. For instance, Chelsea would not need to name
Daniel Sturridge or Gael Kakuta in their 25-man squad.

Read more : Soccernet.com

This post has been edited by fesick: Sep 2 2010, 01:21 AM
Zen-X
post Sep 2 2010, 01:23 AM

1,238 posts

ur squad until Januray next year:

Manchester United: Ben Amos, Darren Fletcher, Tomasz Kuszczak, Darron Gibson, Edwin van der Sar, Ryan Giggs, Wes Brown, Owen Hargreaves, Nani, Anderson, Park Ji-Sung, Jonathan Evans, Patrice Evra, Rio Ferdinand, Paul Scholes, Antonio Valencia, Gary Neville, Dimitar Berbatov, John O'Shea, Javier Hernandez, Nemanja Vidic, Michael Carrick, Michael Owen, Wayne Rooney. (United can also use Fabio, Rafael, Ritchie De Laet, Gabriel Obertan, Bebe, Chris Smalling, Federico Macheda).

idevonz
post Sep 2 2010, 01:34 AM

1,290 posts

Owen Hargreaves in the 25 man squad eh? He really needs some serious game time though.
Sheep319
post Sep 2 2010, 01:37 AM

how do i post
6,364 posts

VAS DIS? Hargreaves? On my list?

D:

I wonder when will his Grobbelaar knees be back in shape.
Calvin871989
post Sep 2 2010, 01:38 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

i still remember Van der Vaart saying on this : http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11667_6324592,00.html

anyways, nice late signing from spurs thumbup.gif

Owen Hargreaves made it to the 25 squad list ? good for him! wouldnt be fair to kick him out. he still can prove his worth at united.
mhyug
post Sep 2 2010, 01:45 AM

1,553 posts

hoho owen makes the list.so who knows this might be the baptism of fire the guy needs.fngers crossed second half of the season he makes a FULL comeback!!come on godssssss of football let me see owen playing again come this january!!!!!!
DaBestOne
post Sep 2 2010, 01:50 AM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

Who is left out then? All the major players are included
mhyug
post Sep 2 2010, 01:53 AM

1,553 posts

hoo now spurs can have more credibility in cl.vdv will make the difference in the cl for them.

anyway us united fans shouldnt be so down wit the less activity(tho we did sign 3 players!!).signings DONT guarantee trophy's ,a team wins trophies.so far we have a team so why all the fuss with no signings etc etc.this season were still covered.

the only problem i see is in a season or when giggs and scholes retires and we have some time to go before then.so look forward dont be sooo down beat lo biggrin.gif .by that time we might see the young ones stepping up, or who knows make signings that you crave so much.so for this season, rest easy and let the football take its course. biggrin.gif

Added on September 2, 2010, 1:57 am
QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Sep 2 2010, 01:50 AM)
Who is left out then? All the major players are included
mm no one i guess.the rest are either under 21 or fall in the category of home grown players.

its official now:(from our club's fb page)

Manchester United Official Premier League squad announced.
Homegrown: Gibson, Giggs, Brown, Evans, Rio, Scholes, Neville, O'Shea, Carrick, Owen & Rooney.

Other: Amos, Fletcher, Kuszczak, Van der Sar, Hargreaves, Nani, Anderson, Park, Evra, Valencia, Berbatov, Chicharito & Vidic.

Plus under 21s Fabio, Rafael, De Laet, Obertan, Bebe, Smalling & Macheda

This post has been edited by mhyug: Sep 2 2010, 02:56 AM
IcyDarling
post Sep 2 2010, 05:23 AM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Sep 1 2010, 11:54 PM)

of course it would be better. Both Lampard and Gerrard are more like CAM type that tends to go forward with the ball or just shoot it from a million feet away. Both of them have the same role thus none of them would want their other CM partner to have the chance to shine. That is why Capello pushed Gerrard to the wings and threw in Barry alongside Lampard in CM position
FaezFarhan
post Sep 2 2010, 06:08 AM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

Manchester United New Boy Bebe: Sir Alex Ferguson Made Me Cut My Dreadlocks

Sir Alex Ferguson told Manchester United new boy Bebe to have a close shave if he wanted to avoid the hair dryer treatment.

Bebe, 20, was pictured with flowing dreadlocks after he was snapped up by United for £7.4 million last month. Upon his unveiling at the club, the long locks had made way for a crew cut.

Speaking to A Bola as he prepared to make his Portugal under-21 bow against England on Friday, Bebe revealed the Scot had ordered him to the barbers.

He said: "I am working hard, everyone has helped me a lot.

"I have adapted well, given the short time I have been there.

"The older ones help me a lot."

"Did Ferguson make me cut my hair? More or less ... " the ex-Vitoria attacker smiled.

http://www.goal.com/en/news/9/england/2010...son-made-me-cut

Hahaha this explains the haircut biggrin.gif doh.gif

Manchester United Keeping Tabs On Standard Liege Star Steven Defour - Report

Manchester United are continuing to monitor Standard Liege star Steven Defour and could make a move for him in the New Year.

Manager Sir Alex Ferguson is a long term admirer of the player and sent a message to him when he was recovering from a broken foot last winter. The Belgium international has regained his place in the first team after reaching match fitness and is viewed as a potential replacement for Paul Scholes and Owen Hargreaves.

Speaking to talkSPORT, a source confirmed United were watching Defour and could bid when the transfer window re-opens in January.

They said: "United were interested in Defour but there was no official bid. He wouldn't have moved this summer any way.

"Beyond that, we will look in January and assess it then. United remain keen on him, for sure."
http://www.goal.com/en/news/9/england/2010...ege-star-steven

Anyone knows bout this guy? We were linked to him every year yet we haven't made a single move. If he's that good, why other teams aren't interested? hmm.gif
cekutz
post Sep 2 2010, 06:53 AM

291 posts

We won the Champs League with pretty much the same midfield lineup of course minus Owen Hargreaves but we reached final a year later without him. Carrick is a good midfielder, maybe not world class, but his overall contribution is fantastic and fans tend to overlook that probably due to his price tag or over comparison to Scholes. But i still rate him highly, his passing and vision is very good.
Wan
post Sep 2 2010, 07:45 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(ps3roxor @ Sep 2 2010, 01:09 AM)
but the same can be said with Scholes, he starts every attack. The saying goes, form is temporary, class is permanent.

In Hargreaves with have someone with the dominating persona and hard tackler, i.e Keano's true successor. I love the way he plays and he really shows the will to win balls and matches. My fav part of him is during the UCL 2008 in Moscow where he took the penalty and score. He pumped his fist with a mean look and was almost practically saying "take that u fekking blues!"
Scholes is on another level himself, and not many are and close to joining him on the same step.

Hargreaves ain't a Keano successor. Hard tackler, dominating persona is just part of it. Passing ability is more important. Don't have to be great like Scholes, but have to at least be useful or comfortable enough there. Hargreaves haven't showed enough there to suggest we can rely on him there aside from providing defensive cover and and an endless amount of hard work in that position. He looked really good out wide though..

---------

Rio played 45 mins for the reserve. Ando played the full 90mins. Score was 2-1 in our favour. Macheda got the winner.
DaBestOne
post Sep 2 2010, 08:43 AM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

Good to hear that Ando played the full 90 minutes. Is he ready for a premier league game now?

This post has been edited by DaBestOne: Sep 2 2010, 08:57 AM
ricky5457
post Sep 2 2010, 09:06 AM

574 posts

huhuhu
we miss Van der Vaart
cheap and superb player ...

123 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top