67 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

Q&A FAKE guitars plague discussion thread, Discussion summary at post #1

NoobAxe
post Oct 17 2010, 07:17 PM

506 posts

QUOTE(GibsonBFG @ Oct 17 2010, 04:35 PM)
guys, wondering is it safe to get these instrument via local distributor...  my frn inform that even u go MAJOR retail shop, it migh tb fake, as he tried before from those shop, their steel plate from bolt on neck arents genuine as no Fender logo on it..

how to diff it?  thx..
not like dat..
the thing is, fake shop dat sell fake as an ori will have a big margin/profit.. so they can grew big easily n fast..
fakes from china are dem cheap..

bcos their shop its big shop, it's easier ppl misundertood as it is a reputable shop
russellhere
post Oct 17 2010, 07:18 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(GibsonBFG @ Oct 17 2010, 04:35 PM)
guys, wondering is it safe to get these instrunment via local distributor...  my frn inform that even u go MAJOR retail shop, it migh tb fake, as he tried before from those shop, their steel plate from bolt on neck arents genuine as no Fender logo on it..

how to diff it?  thx..
depends.
best thing is to go through this board and ask around.
most of the guys here are trustworthy....most.

and determining whether a guitar is a fake or not is a whole different art.
best bet is take someone whose WAY more pro than you so he can help you out.
+3kk!
post Oct 17 2010, 07:23 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(russellhere @ Oct 17 2010, 07:18 PM)
depends.
best thing is to go through this board and ask around.
most of the guys here are trustworthy....most.

and determining whether a guitar is a fake or not is a whole different art.
best bet is take someone whose WAY more pro than you so he can help you out.
lol i took the leap on my fender, seriously till today i still dont know if its fake a not. the specs dont fit, but the tone, general built and feel trumps everything else i played.

i asked fender themselves, they also have no clue on it.

russellhere
post Oct 17 2010, 07:58 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Oct 17 2010, 07:23 PM)
lol i took the leap on my fender, seriously till today i still dont know if its fake a not. the specs dont fit, but the tone, general built and feel trumps everything else i played.

i asked fender themselves, they also have no clue on it.
that's kinda worrying to know.
but if at least your happy with how it sounds and happy with it in general,then it souldn't be a problem i guess.
+3kk!
post Oct 17 2010, 08:41 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(russellhere @ Oct 17 2010, 07:58 PM)
that's kinda worrying to know.
but if at least your happy with how it sounds and happy with it in general,then it souldn't be a problem i guess.
its is, the standard specs for a 57' reissue is a v-shaped neck, with cheap pups, 5 way toggle and basswood/alder. (japanese models) the pickguards dont fit well and the back plate is "kosong" too, made worse by faulty eletronics (its old and rusted) ive looked high and low for my specific model and i cant find it. sad.gif its not cheap too. to make it worse, its an MIJ from 93 which makes it harder to trace.

what i got tho, was a ash body (took the top out to inspect, was full of grain all over), texas specials ( very old wounded wires), 3 way toggle (cranky as hell), c-shaped neck. its either a damn well made fake cause someone took the trouble to wound the wires, use an ash body, made sure the decals and bridge fit to its era (1950's).

im still puzzled till this day, specs dont fit but hte tone and feel is astounding. made my mere PT10 a tone monster overnight.
russellhere
post Oct 18 2010, 02:01 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Oct 17 2010, 08:41 PM)
its is, the standard specs for a 57' reissue is a v-shaped neck, with cheap pups, 5 way toggle and basswood/alder. (japanese models) the pickguards dont fit well and the back plate is "kosong" too, made worse by faulty eletronics (its old and rusted)  ive looked high and low for my specific model and i cant find it. sad.gif its not cheap too. to make it worse, its an MIJ from 93 which makes it harder to trace.

what i got tho, was a ash body (took the top out to inspect, was full of grain all over), texas specials ( very old wounded wires), 3 way toggle (cranky as hell), c-shaped neck. its either a damn well made fake cause someone took the trouble to wound the wires, use an ash body, made sure the decals and bridge fit to its era (1950's).

im still puzzled till this day, specs dont fit but hte tone and feel is astounding. made my mere PT10 a tone monster overnight.
have you tried asking anyone expert like a luthier whether it's a fake?
+3kk!
post Oct 18 2010, 02:16 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(russellhere @ Oct 18 2010, 02:01 PM)
have you tried asking anyone expert like a luthier whether it's a fake?
i did post pics on the strat forums for review when i was buying it, they said that such strats are not rare in japanese models. they dont make fit to any specs.

it doesnt fit fake specs thats for sure, i doubt any fake guitars will take the trouble to imprint "fender" on the bridge and let it rot to feel 17 year old. the guitar is old 17 years in age tho

This post has been edited by +3kk!: Oct 18 2010, 02:32 PM
russellhere
post Oct 18 2010, 02:21 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Oct 18 2010, 02:16 PM)
i did post pics on the strat forums for review when i was buying it, they said that such strats are not rare in japanese models. they dont fit to any specs.
plastered pictures all over it too

it doesnt fit fake specs thats for sure, i doubt any fake guitars will take the trouble to imprint "fender" on the bridge and let it rot to feel 17 year old. the guitar is old 17 years in age tho
specs then might have been so different from today,
maybe in efforts to cut costs.
you never know.

Added on October 18, 2010, 2:21 pm
QUOTE(+3kk! @ Oct 18 2010, 02:16 PM)
i did post pics on the strat forums for review when i was buying it, they said that such strats are not rare in japanese models. they dont fit to any specs.
plastered pictures all over it too

specs then might have been so different from today,
maybe in efforts to cut costs.
you never know.

This post has been edited by russellhere: Oct 18 2010, 02:21 PM
xiong91
post Oct 18 2010, 08:58 PM

Wassupp
732 posts

hi guys.. im going to buy a new guitar for my brother.. looking for Santa Cruz Acoustic guitar for around RM260 in Bently music store... how to knoe tht whether it is fake or original..
bshen92
post Oct 18 2010, 10:01 PM

~
522 posts

100% china made ori. dont worry bout it. Not the best guitar though.
xiong91
post Oct 18 2010, 10:03 PM

Wassupp
732 posts

It means tht it is ori from Santa Cruz la? Nvm if it is china made as long as not china branded... my iphone oso made in china lah but so far so good lol
ZintanthraX
post Oct 19 2010, 04:45 AM

La Dolce Vita
2,324 posts

QUOTE(xiong91 @ Oct 18 2010, 10:03 PM)
It means tht it is ori from Santa Cruz la? Nvm if it is china made as long as not china branded... my iphone oso made in china lah but so far so good lol
it is china branded.means they r fake.its definitely not d same with d real santa cruz acoustics.they use santa cruz guitar name on their fakes,til now,lots n lots of newbies didnt even noe wuts d actual price 4 an ori santa cruz,or perhaps,in which country they r made.google up and u'll noe how much a real santa cruz guitar will cost u....

this is d link 4 giv u knowledge of d real santa cruz >> http://www.santacruzguitar.com/index.html
n diz is d link of how much a real santa will cost u >> http://cgi.ebay.com/Santa-Cruz-1934D-Mahog...=item563e016d3d

btw,real santas r not made in china smile.gif they r made in US....

hope diz helps....

This post has been edited by ZintanthraX: Oct 19 2010, 04:49 AM
Axel95
post Oct 19 2010, 01:18 PM

KEEP ROCKING!
1,284 posts

santa cruz is a really.. really awesomely pretty and beautiful guitar. china spoiled it..
+3kk!
post Oct 19 2010, 01:51 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(ZintanthraX @ Oct 19 2010, 04:45 AM)
it is china branded.means they r fake.its definitely not d same with d real santa cruz acoustics.they use santa cruz guitar name on their fakes,til now,lots n lots of newbies didnt even noe wuts d actual price 4 an ori santa cruz,or perhaps,in which country they r made.google up and u'll noe how much a real santa cruz guitar will cost u....

this is d link 4 giv u knowledge of d real santa cruz >> http://www.santacruzguitar.com/index.html
n diz is d link of how much a real santa will cost u >> http://cgi.ebay.com/Santa-Cruz-1934D-Mahog...=item563e016d3d

btw,real santas r not made in china smile.gif they r made in US....

hope diz helps....
wow are you suggesting that bently sells fakes? ive seen a few santa cruz there and around most reputable guitar shops in kl.

russellhere
post Oct 19 2010, 03:18 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Oct 19 2010, 01:51 PM)
wow are you suggesting that bently sells fakes? ive seen a few santa cruz there and around most reputable guitar shops in kl.
maybe,you never know.. rclxub.gif
ZintanthraX
post Oct 19 2010, 04:45 PM

La Dolce Vita
2,324 posts

yepp...they are.... smile.gif

u cant expect an ori santa 2 b cheap.
cheapest ori santa dat i noe retails at around $2000....so its about rm6k after conversion without shipping n taxes.
NoobAxe
post Oct 20 2010, 09:19 AM

506 posts

dulu, faker
sekarang, liar
last2, chicken

sbb faker tu pulangkan blk duit lps dpt copy repot ni.. hahaha..

FYI, the report were made after a buyer dat were oso my felo fb'ean, had been scammed by a faker for a NEW MIM fender strat dat are freaking RM 750????

btw, the report-er added me in facebook to ask for an advice about he'd depo to a seller that sell MIM fender strat at 750 dat are initially priced RM 1200.. so, confirmlah fake

i ask the buyer to bring a fren n acts like a guitar pro/all timer, then say it's a fake n ask for the depo refund..
i ady gave all info i have on how a fake fender looks like

the faker smell sthg fishy n simply say depo can't be refund.. (bcos the buyer make a mistake, dat he inform the faker b4 he wan to look at the fake, with A FREN) sweat.gif

after lodge report n post-express the copy, finally the fakers bank-in the depo back.. rclxms.gif

then again.. saw a new fake fender in mudah.my @ JOHOR just now..
haiyaa..
the STRATOCaster are very funny d

This post has been edited by NoobAxe: Oct 20 2010, 09:25 AM
gapnap
post Oct 20 2010, 11:00 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Oct 17 2010, 08:41 PM)
its is, the standard specs for a 57' reissue is a v-shaped neck, with cheap pups, 5 way toggle and basswood/alder. (japanese models) the pickguards dont fit well and the back plate is "kosong" too, made worse by faulty eletronics (its old and rusted)  ive looked high and low for my specific model and i cant find it. sad.gif its not cheap too. to make it worse, its an MIJ from 93 which makes it harder to trace.

As long as your Fender is MIJ , you don't really need to worry whether it is "Fake" or not . People are still not copying it . People fake mostly MIA & MIM Specs .

If you notice properly , Japanese Strats has different size than the regular MIA , MIM or MIC .
From Tremolo arm , Tremolo , pickguard size , heck even neck size .
Okay , Japanese Strats that i am talking about are Greco , Fender Japan , Tokai , Fernandes and so on .
One of the easiest ways to check , is take a normal squier trem arm , see if it fits your tremolo .
If it does , then it *might* be fake , if it doesn't (too big). You're more likely on the safe side .
Also , your machine head SHOULD be using Gotoh or something that is a higher grade (for high end models) . You can tell by the way it stays in tune .

Of course , there are many other methods . But this should get your started . Anyway , from the way you're describing it . Texas Special , V neck , Ash Body ..Should be something ST##V-##TX .

Everybody in Music Master knows about this , we stock LOADS of Fender Japan parts .From Trem Arm , Pickups , Tremolo to Machine Head . Because it is so hard to find .
Okay , Machine head isn't that bad , they are basically Gotoh .
The regular MIA , MIM , MIC parts are easily found anywhere on the streets .

This post has been edited by gapnap: Oct 20 2010, 11:05 AM
+3kk!
post Oct 20 2010, 11:36 AM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(gapnap @ Oct 20 2010, 11:00 AM)
As long as your Fender is MIJ , you don't really need to worry whether it is "Fake" or not . People are still not copying it . People fake mostly MIA & MIM Specs .

If you notice properly , Japanese Strats has different size than the regular MIA , MIM or MIC .
From Tremolo arm , Tremolo , pickguard size , heck even neck size .
Okay , Japanese Strats that i am talking about are Greco , Fender Japan , Tokai , Fernandes and so on .
One of the easiest ways to check , is take a normal squier trem arm , see if it fits your tremolo .
If it does , then it *might* be fake , if it doesn't (too big). You're more likely on the safe side .
Also , your machine head SHOULD be using Gotoh or something that is a higher grade (for high end models) . You can tell by the way it stays in tune .

Of course , there are many other methods . But this should get your started . Anyway , from the way you're describing it . Texas Special , V neck , Ash Body ..Should be something ST##V-##TX .

Everybody in Music Master knows about this , we stock LOADS of Fender Japan parts .From Trem Arm , Pickups ,  Tremolo to Machine Head . Because it is so hard to find .
Okay , Machine head isn't that bad , they are basically Gotoh . 
The regular MIA , MIM , MIC parts are easily found anywhere on the streets .
hmm thats assuring, i should pop by when im back to get some parts from you guys.

the reasons why i think its not a fake is that despite its cranky flaws its a very well made guitar, the tuners are said to be vintage klustons (it was waaay back in 93') and the lines are fading. but on the overall it does make a lot of fenders i've tired feel inferior.

cheers smile.gif
Sustainer
post Oct 21 2010, 10:47 AM

A solution to not owning a fake, go make your own custom built. You fake it and call it your own.

Damn..Stamp your pet's name at the the headstock after ...who cares..

another one of my rambling advice..

67 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0219sec    1.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 12:06 AM