Q&A FAKE guitars plague discussion thread, Discussion summary at post #1

russellhere
post Sep 14 2010, 11:11 AM

380 posts

QUOTE(ZintanthraX @ Sep 14 2010, 10:48 AM)
i always avoid going there.i dnno y bt i feel like a friggin stranger in dat shop.plus,they do sell fakes past few years(especially epiphone).so i avoid d shop.
haha..
i love the way they sell acoustics ;
the guy will play giler-giler poyo.
then ask,"so how ?you want?"
never ask the buyer to test out sometimes xD
finalzz
post Sep 14 2010, 12:12 PM

531 posts

guitar collection also the same what. wanted to try out their guitars, can't even touch them! only the salesguy plays it, shows off and asks me whether i want it or not. =/
ashportal
post Sep 14 2010, 12:20 PM

750 posts

QUOTE(finalzz @ Sep 14 2010, 12:12 PM)
guitar collection also the same what. wanted to try out their guitars, can't even touch them! only the salesguy plays it, shows off and asks me whether i want it or not. =/

True tat, overprice summore sad.gif

russellhere
post Sep 14 2010, 12:22 PM

380 posts

basically; don't go to midvalley to buy your equipment. (:
Everdying
post Sep 14 2010, 12:31 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(russellhere @ Sep 14 2010, 12:22 PM)
basically; don't go to midvalley to buy your equipment. (:
more like dont go to any shopping complex to buy guitars tongue.gif
dma0991
post Sep 14 2010, 03:44 PM

nyoron~
3,333 posts

QUOTE(finalzz @ Sep 14 2010, 12:12 PM)
I think you got a bad salesperson..
I had a friend which I followed to guitar collection because he wanted to test the Martin OMJM..
I thought cannot because the price tag is 16k+..
Then the salesperson say can test so test it la..
Imagine in the middle of testing you somehow wrecked a 16k guitar.. moneyflies.gif cry.gif
SihamZhai
post Sep 14 2010, 10:05 PM

Green Droid Lover
1,035 posts

Fake as in what?? Indon made, china made?? or?? Anyway... i bought a china made BC Rich Warlock... BAD!! From now on, Im gonna order. Either Japan or US made...
Angel of Deth
post Sep 14 2010, 10:25 PM

1,242 posts

QUOTE(ZintanthraX @ Sep 14 2010, 10:48 AM)
i always avoid going there.i dnno y bt i feel like a friggin stranger in dat shop.plus,they do sell fakes past few years(especially epiphone).so i avoid d shop.
which shop? Name and place?
SUSPVCpipe
post Sep 15 2010, 12:48 AM

custom made
1,362 posts

QUOTE(SihamZhai @ Sep 14 2010, 10:05 PM)
Fake as in what?? Indon made, china made?? or?? Anyway... i bought a china made BC Rich Warlock... BAD!! From now on, Im gonna order. Either Japan or US made...
fake as in.... they create a copy and say its an ori.... made in china doesnt mean it a fake... it just the company want to use cheap labour.... if a fender, some day decided to establish a factory in china and produce a made in china fender, it still an ori....
flamestudio
post Sep 15 2010, 01:02 AM

1,758 posts

QUOTE(PVCpipe @ Sep 15 2010, 12:48 AM)
fake as in.... they create a copy and say its an ori....  made in china doesnt mean it a fake... it just the company want to use cheap labour.... if a fender, some day decided to establish a factory in china and produce a made in china fender, it still an ori....
True true. Made in China doesn't mean fake. Almost everything is also made in China under licensed now. Even Epi. Thats why now very difficult to rectified. Even sifus find it hard to rectify it. Damn.
ZintanthraX
post Sep 15 2010, 04:53 AM

La Dolce Vita
2,324 posts

QUOTE(Angel of Deth @ Sep 14 2010, 10:25 PM)
which shop? Name and place?
rhapsody,mid valley... smile.gif
garret
post Sep 15 2010, 05:25 AM

117 posts

Actually..Even Slash used a replica Les Paul on his early days..in fact the whole Appetite For Distruction album was recorded using REPLICA Les Paul.
Funny how THE definitive Les Paul/Marshall sound on Appetite was actually created with neither a Gibson nor a factory Marshall!
Yet both Jim Marshall and Gibson parade Slash around at the trade shows and don't mind making a crap load of money off of him..
hmmm...
one more fact, Slash and Jimmy Page both did a great deal for the popularity of Les Pauls with their first albums... without using Gibsons!

Just Sharing..

Added on September 15, 2010, 5:34 amCheck this out..LP with floyd rose.. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by garret: Sep 15 2010, 05:37 AM

SUSPVCpipe
post Sep 15 2010, 07:12 AM

custom made
1,362 posts

QUOTE(garret @ Sep 15 2010, 05:25 AM)
Actually..Even Slash used a replica Les Paul on his early days..in fact the whole Appetite For Distruction album was recorded using REPLICA Les Paul.
Funny how THE definitive Les Paul/Marshall sound on Appetite was actually created with neither a Gibson nor a factory Marshall!
Yet both Jim Marshall and Gibson parade Slash around at the trade shows and don't mind making a crap load of money off of him..
hmmm...
one more fact, Slash and Jimmy Page both did a great deal for the popularity of Les Pauls with their first albums... without using Gibsons!

Just Sharing..

Added on September 15, 2010, 5:34 amCheck this out..LP with floyd rose.. rclxms.gif
certainly doesnt use some cheapo truss rod, wood, machines, which usually fake does
russellhere
post Sep 15 2010, 09:49 AM

380 posts

QUOTE(PVCpipe @ Sep 15 2010, 07:12 AM)
certainly doesnt use some cheapo truss rod, wood, machines, which usually fake does
i doubt it.those times,china weren't the power houses they used to be.so fakes would be 1000x better compared to know.
take eddie van halen.
his guitar is basically chopped up parts of a kramer glued together.
because those times,you can do stuff like that.
the parts and even the fake guitars your buying did have good quality.

ashportal
post Sep 15 2010, 11:33 AM

750 posts

QUOTE(PVCpipe @ Sep 15 2010, 12:48 AM)
fake as in.... they create a copy and say its an ori....  made in china doesnt mean it a fake... it just the company want to use cheap labour.... if a fender, some day decided to establish a factory in china and produce a made in china fender, it still an ori....

Bro regarding what u say, i just wanna post a video of gibson vs epi, but it is not about which is the best, just for reference of china made qualities, i think epi is decent quality and worthy the price, no offence for epi users okay biggrin.gif . Epi nowadays made in china rite? n slash gibson lp in this video i believe is US made, can hear a lot of different, of course if we have enough money, surely buy a real gibs....enjoy the video everyone....btw im a fan of chappers, his videos always full of information...salute him notworthy.gif

ZintanthraX
post Sep 15 2010, 01:52 PM

La Dolce Vita
2,324 posts

hahaha....chappers esp horizon is da bez.... smile.gif
SUSPVCpipe
post Sep 15 2010, 02:25 PM

custom made
1,362 posts

QUOTE(russellhere @ Sep 15 2010, 09:49 AM)
i doubt it.those times,china weren't the power houses they used to be.so fakes would be 1000x better compared to know.
take eddie van halen.
his guitar is basically chopped up parts of a kramer glued together.
because those times,you can do stuff like that.
the parts and even the fake guitars your buying did have good quality.
i wont say thats a fake..... thats a custom guitari would say.... as long as he doesnt say its an "ori", let say, kramer
guitaristrocks
post Sep 15 2010, 03:11 PM

eddie van halen's guitar is like really cool.

there was once where guitarworld had the videos of him telling about the construction. doesnt sound pretty bad actually. i mean for such a small price being an awesome guitar today.
Angel of Deth
post Sep 15 2010, 05:58 PM

1,242 posts

QUOTE(ZintanthraX @ Sep 15 2010, 04:53 AM)
rhapsody,mid valley... smile.gif
wow, never thought MidValley also got shop sell fake items. Btw, that shop have certain evil aura and gloomy, not to point there aren't much customer either. So Rhapsody has been blacklisted.

Do you know the guitar shop located in front of Cheras Leisure Mall? I forgot the name but does that shop sell genuine gear?
russellhere
post Sep 15 2010, 11:46 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(Angel of Deth @ Sep 15 2010, 05:58 PM)
wow, never thought MidValley also got shop sell fake items. Btw, that shop have certain evil aura and gloomy, not to point there aren't much customer either. So Rhapsody has been blacklisted.

Do you know the guitar shop located in front of Cheras Leisure Mall? I forgot the name but does that shop sell genuine gear?
not sure.
my friend bought a epi les paul at a kedai near leisure mall he said.
i played it ; memang legit biggrin.gif
it could be the same shop i guess (:

Added on September 15, 2010, 11:52 pm
QUOTE(PVCpipe @ Sep 15 2010, 02:25 PM)
i wont say thats a fake..... thats a custom guitari would say.... as long as he doesnt say its an "ori", let say, kramer
if i implied that it was a fake,sorry la,salah cakap.
i was trying to say that even those times,the guitar standard was quite high.
early 70's,guitars were cheap and parts were plentiful.
even if you had a fake it would be of the best quality.
now with china around,they came and f***ed everything up.
greed has killed the trust of diehard guitarists.
almost everyone in this thread is semi paranoid to buy a new guitar,fearing it's a fake.
that's how bad it is nowadays i guess :/

This post has been edited by russellhere: Sep 15 2010, 11:52 PM

67 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0190sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:20 PM