366 posts

end of AM3+? FX2 Last AMD Performance CPU

Is this article true? sad.gif
nill
post Aug 25 2012, 06:50 AM

366 posts

Price Cut On Monday

Too bad Malaysia is slow in lowering down the prices...
nill
post Aug 26 2012, 05:11 PM

366 posts

i wanna ask all of amd cpu owners, how fast or does AMD's cpu price drop in Malaysia (not after 2~3 years or for used cpus)?

AMD's cpu price already dropped in the US. when is Malaysia's turn?
nill
post Aug 26 2012, 08:30 PM

366 posts

Quoted from cpubenchmark.net, Phenom II X4 955 BE costs RM 450 (USD 145) last year, so AMD Malaysia did not charge extra (Its an older product so its expected).

shocking.gif shakehead.gif Price Trend in Malaysia VS

Edit: Price Trend in the US (The prices stated below are the retail prices recommended by AMD)

maybe only their Bulldozer FX CPUs (FX8150 & FX8120, e.g.

FX8150 :

Launch Date : Oct 2011 --> Price Cut Date, August 27, 2012
RM760 (USD 245) --> new US price RM568 (USD 183)

while FX8120 is

Launch Date : Oct 2011 --> Price Cut Date, August 27, 2012
RM636 (USD 205)) --> new US price RM475 (USD 153)

and Llano APUs are affected (A8 & A6, e.g.

A8-3870k price in Malaysia is also stuck at launch price:

Launch Date : Dec 2011 --> Price Cut Date, August 27, 2012
RM419 (USD 135) --> new US price RM314 (USD 101)

while A6-3670k lauch price is

Launch Date : Dec 2011 --> Price Cut Date, August 27, 2012
RM357 (USD 115)) --> new US price 248 (USD 80)

All of the cpus listed don't have favorable price cuts in Malaysia yet. Its almost one year, maybe AMD Malaysia thought Malaysians don't check the Internet for international prices or our market is too small.. I believe its the latter.

Edit: If AMD Malaysia wish to retain current price, let them keep them. Let us all shift to FM2, AMD APU and FX Pile Driver CPU instead and see how AMD Malaysia plans to do with their precious chips whistling.gif unless AMD manage to consume their stock in the US and if they have surplus stocks (especially Llano chips - there are more processors than motherboards avalable), we might get the same price cuts here in Malaysia biggrin.gif .

This post has been edited by nill: Aug 26 2012, 10:56 PM
nill
post Aug 31 2012, 06:08 AM

366 posts

rumors state that steamroller will be exclusive to the APUs only..

Anyway, AMD-users, any guesses on the expected price for AMD's high-end, FX-8350? Since AMD Malaysia still retails FX-8150 around RM800+, I will just buy them from NewEgg when they have discount..

Edited:

More Steamroller Rumors

If AMD Malaysia does read Low Yat forums, try to get rid of BullDozer asap from your inventory.

My guess for AMD Malaysia's marketing plan:

Marking up price for Pile Driver and then significantly lower down the price of Bulldozer although US citizens already enjoyed said discounts.

If Pile Driver is proven better, AMD Malaysia will definitely have a reason to sell Pile Driver high-end chips for RM900 ~ 1000.

This post has been edited by nill: Sep 1 2012, 11:01 AM
nill
post Sep 3 2012, 08:44 AM

366 posts

Warning: AMD Malaysia will definitely stick to their *competitive pricing starategy since their APUs have a better iGPU than Intel's solution. Hopefully Intel's Haswell can push Malaysia's price to match US pricing.

Meanwhile, FM2 boards might be obsolute faster than FM1 if Steamroller's build is vastly different than Bull-Dozer.

Llano chips are based on Phenom-II mobile arch and Pile Driver are Bulldozer-enchanced arch. I am sensing a FM3 board in late 2013, perhaps? I changed my mind, I will just stick to FM3 that is if AMD is stiill operating since they happily skipped off FM1 and FM2 boards.

Any counter-statements?

Edit: Socket change is good for every 2+ years but a yearly change points to unholy product price depreciation (yup, looking at you, Llano-chips).

This post has been edited by nill: Sep 3 2012, 08:47 AM
nill
post Sep 3 2012, 06:07 PM

366 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Sep 3 2012, 10:59 AM)
would like to see if AMD can bring in dual socket for consumer or not
dual socket drool.gif , i will definitely get one board straight away.
nill
post Sep 3 2012, 09:22 PM

366 posts

New AM3+ Mobo

Hopefully this is not the last mobo from Asus for AMD's CPUs..

AMD price list.

I predict AMD Malaysia price guides will be RM600 for A10-5800k, any other guesses?

BLT Corporations is accepting pre-orders for Trinity APUs, also accepting purchase in bulk and they ship overseas but the problem is the payment method.

This post has been edited by nill: Sep 4 2012, 12:18 AM
nill
post Sep 5 2012, 06:54 AM

366 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Sep 4 2012, 10:48 PM)
Desktop Trinity listed in US, affordable pricing revealed
hopefully AMD malaysia also offering good pricing, I'm waiting to builds Trinity system.
according to here, your sense is not true. Trinity successor still plan in FM2 socket, in late of Q2 2013.

So anyone here planning to get FM2 board, no worries. still last for at least 2 gen or will not obsolete faster than FM1. somehow, anything could changes in last minute; hopes fudzilla sources are true.
I guess A10-5800K around RM500 or below. AMD sure know if set too over from this price range might make it harder to compete with Intel.
rclxub.gif

@ wiki, Richland uses PileDriver core and it is a budget segment processor (Llano A4 successor and its a 32nm processor). - Sorry, its not an up-to-date source.
@ Fudzilla, Richland is an 28nm APU which have a PileDriver Core but uses the Radeon 8000 series graphic core.
There will be a new graphics core for FM2 socket APUs and it shows that FM2 supports 28nm APUs.

@djlah,
I should wait for Richland or go for any A-10 APUs that AMD Malaysia sells? The new graphic cores seems good but it will be 2013 until it is launched.

On an unrelated topic,
If I already have a Llano-APU (A6-3650), will there be any obvious improvement if i switch to A-10 PileDriver cores?

This post has been edited by nill: Sep 5 2012, 07:18 AM
nill
post Sep 5 2012, 08:28 PM

366 posts

Now i feel stupid for jumping into Llano APUs just this year but my last processor is an Intel Core 2 Duo (since 2009 ) so its still okay.

Pentium 3 --> Pentium 4 --> Core 2 Duo --> A6-3650

Come on AMD Malaysia, prepare me an

A10-5800k + Any Asus Mobo + 1600 4GHz x 2 DDR3

I already have an Radeon HD7700. Gimme a matching rig.

@soulfly,

you meant the cpu side or the gpu side of AMD's APU which has significant difference?
nill
post Sep 5 2012, 08:55 PM

366 posts

or simply change to

AMD: APUs & CPUs

Edited: Beating a Nephalm I-7 will definitely boost back AMD's reputation. However, AMD might stick to APUs and server market for now.

Money >> No.1 CPU maker

Superior APUs might steal Intel's laptop customer (mostly gamers). I might buy an Opteron based CPUs when it becomes affordable and has acceptable power consumption.

Imagine owning an 16-core CPU... brows.gif

This post has been edited by nill: Sep 5 2012, 09:22 PM
nill
post Sep 6 2012, 07:01 AM

366 posts

If AMD Malaysia FB is credible, there might be price cuts on Sep 15.

One question, if FX 8150 is priced competitively, will the Pile Driver FX 8350 launch price be the same with Bull Dozer FX 8150?
How much was it btw? RM1000?

I hope BD's (but looking at the US market, Llano chips will likely get more discounts while PD CPUs & APUs sales will be AMD Malaysia main focus) price cuts won't hurt PD sales that much. They need the investment money back for BD's R&D.

This post has been edited by nill: Sep 6 2012, 07:02 AM
nill
post Sep 17 2012, 04:04 PM

366 posts

Hooray!! Price Cuts! :b only @ lingloong but only FX8150 has significant difference ...

According to lingloong, he still sells

Phenom II AM3 1100T B/E RM660 VS BullDozer AM3+ FX-8150 RM665

Phenom II 1100T ETA 1-2 working days for stock. Anyone wants to get an AMD CPU, get from him now XD or wait and see if PileDriver could deliver, which could be October ~ November this year.

Dear pcminc,
please wait for PileDriver benchmarks before you decide anything.

This post has been edited by nill: Sep 17 2012, 06:39 PM
nill
post Sep 21 2012, 06:42 AM

366 posts

Vishera Pre-Orders Online

If this article is true, Vishera FX8350 will be priced similar to FX 8150 @ launch date. Please don't go rushing and buy without looking @ benchmarks. Just wait till next year until AMD Malaysia gives significant price cuts...

There is no one in this Low Yat that reduced their AMD CPUs price yet, except Ling Loong? shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by nill: Sep 21 2012, 06:51 AM
nill
post Sep 22 2012, 12:52 PM

366 posts

Edited: rudolfjie, an A10-5800k will be better than A8-3870k. Just don't expect it to beat an I5-2500k with dedicated GPU.

Trinity's FM2 board will at least last 2 generation until Steamroler's debut but pricing will suck back here in Malaysia.

This post has been edited by nill: Sep 22 2012, 01:00 PM
nill
post Sep 23 2012, 08:29 AM

366 posts

QUOTE(saturn85 @ Sep 23 2012, 02:33 AM)
i think bro yoongkeen also lower amd cpu price already: unsure.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1118302
yup, if you noticed, i've changed my signature much earlier. Now I am curious about stores price in Lowyat.. Is this what people called, price fixing?
nill
post Sep 23 2012, 04:51 PM

366 posts

QUOTE(hahantu @ Sep 23 2012, 04:34 PM)
which cpu's price did he reduced? curious to know  biggrin.gif
AMD's Bulldozer FX series. <-- e.g. FX8150 down by RM100+

Piledriver FX-8350 Pre-order Price: USD 253 (RM772) --> Malaysia --> RM872 (USD 285.85)

Trinity A10-5800k Pre-order Price: USD 131.45 (RM402) --> Malaysia --> RM502 (USD164.56)

Disclaimer: All prices are pure speculation!! laugh.gif but + USD30 (Malaysian Retailers Profit) VS + USD40++(international shipping rates) buying from E-Bay yawn.gif

In Malaysia, Trinity APU and Vishera retail price will definitely get stuck until 1 month before Steam Roller comes out doh.gif and AMD now have Wii U sales to back them up so who knows..

Vishera CPU in 23 October 2012?

Trinity Processors US Release Date @ October 2, 2012

Asus FM2 Mobo For OC

This post has been edited by nill: Sep 25 2012, 05:21 AM
nill
post Sep 26 2012, 08:42 PM

366 posts

QUOTE(shalzkasbsp @ Sep 26 2012, 05:49 PM)
hi sifus, i am trying to combine a AMD A8 3870 with a Asus F1A-55M mainboard.

will this be an efficient set up. probably with 8gb ram?
Dear shalzkasbsp,

I can't believe you bought doh.gif an Llano APU now. October 2 might be the release date for the Trinity APUs. If you get it for RM < 300 than its a bargain but if you paid RM 380~400, try to return it...

My Llano APU, A6-3650 costs me RM250 on early July & a new board costs RM200. It works fine but I did wish
I researched well that a new APU is just around the corner.

If nothing can be done, get 1600GHz Ram. The iGPU performance will be boosted. XD
nill
post Oct 1 2012, 09:02 PM

366 posts

[Want To Ask Help]

Amazon's Hike Up Price

There's a chance that AMD Malaysia will rise up their Trinity's APUs price at launch date.

Amazon is selling Trinity A10-5800k for RM443 (USD144.50) with free shipping. If the *great AMD Malaysia raise the price to RM500, please refrain from buying and get it from NewEgg Malaysia instead.

BTW, Pre-Order Price of Trinity A10-5800k is RM403 (USD 131.45).

@ russell612,
even if you switch on your pc for more than 6 hours a day, nothing will change although the TDP decrease by 30W unless your pc monitor is energy-saving, mobo not older than 5 years, cpu and gpu not oced whole year long..

Edited: zhen^wei has joined the price cuts cult started by AMD Malaysia...

This post has been edited by nill: Oct 2 2012, 07:26 AM
nill
post Oct 2 2012, 08:32 PM

366 posts

AMD's Trinity APU Confirmed Retail Price!!

This post has been edited by nill: Oct 2 2012, 08:39 PM

0.0552sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:10 PM