Studying in the UK V3

limeuu
post Jun 30 2015, 11:41 AM

12,293 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Jun 30 2015, 10:51 AM)
The going rate for engineering graduates in London is around 24-27k, so it's not impossible. 

The trouble for international students is finding a company that is willing to sponsor a work visa, and companies that usually do are MNC with a hundreds of applications per intake.
fresh grads?....that's pretty high....much higher than doctors!!
limeuu
post Jul 1 2015, 10:27 AM

12,293 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Jun 30 2015, 03:36 PM)
Is it true that practicing GPs can earn in the range of the Consultants (55k to 85k pounds)?
the work description and remuneration of a gp in the nhs is rather complex, your relative in glasgow should be able to explain more...

generally, there is little income difference between gp and consultants in the nhs...but under the nhs gp capitation budget management system, your income depends on more than just working....how sick your list is, makes more impact....
limeuu
post Jul 1 2015, 07:32 PM

12,293 posts

sporeans receive a few perks for returning to work...including tax breaks, grants etc...pay in spore is about the same as uk....and between uk and spore, i think the choice is pretty clear which is preferable...

the situation is more mixed in australia....and about half of sporeans (they make the biggest group amongst internationals) choose australian lifestyle over their own claustrophobic country despite the carrots...

for msians, it makes no sense spending so much money and returning to the mess, fighting with russian and egyptian grads, and branded pendatangs in the process...
limeuu
post Jul 1 2015, 10:15 PM

12,293 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Jul 1 2015, 09:40 PM)
Having spent around 1.5 years in Sydney, my first impression of Sydney is that it's Singapore.  You get all the perks of Singapore, e.g. good food, nice beaches, shopping, city living etc but a lot less of the rigidity of Singapore.
Spore got 'nice beaches'?....lol

Housing, even at Sydney prices, and cars are cheaper....with a lot more space....there is no competition....

Downside is, labour is expensive in oz, sorry no filipino maid....and not as easy to become very rich as spore...
limeuu
post Jul 4 2015, 01:42 PM

12,293 posts

notice that the majority of "motivated and persistent" applicants are from either the sub-continent, africa or caribbean....that is because the uk is relative heaven compared to their roiginal country....

sea and east asians however, have booming economies to go to at or near home....msians just head for spore....
limeuu
post Jul 23 2015, 07:23 AM

12,293 posts

QUOTE(BabyMilkBath @ Jul 22 2015, 05:08 PM)
Could any one provide some advice on the most cost efficient way of transferring money from Malaysia to the UK?

How do I transfer large amount of money to UK (more than RM10000)? I need the money to pay my tuition fees.
QUOTE(azzaim92 @ Jul 22 2015, 06:03 PM)
For tuition payments, just TT to your university's bank account with your name/student id if you've gotten it. By far the easiest way.
QUOTE(chungdavi @ Jul 22 2015, 09:28 PM)
Also, I'm second to TT, pretty easy and efficient, saves you hassle.

Alternatively, you can also buy a bank draft and bring it over there to cash in to your new UK bank account.
QUOTE(BabyMilkBath @ Jul 22 2015, 10:59 PM)
Thanks for your reply. The daily transfer limit for TT is RM10,000. So if i want to pay my tuition fees (which cost more than the limit), does this means that I have to seperate the payment into few days? Is there any way to pay the full amount?
be careful how you give wrong advices....the question is the most cost effective way, and then how to pay fees, in relatively large amount....

the cheapest way is the bank draft....buy in any msian bank for rm5....bring over, and bank into your uk account once set up....no other charges....tt will cost you about rm20 here, and they take another few quids (usually about 10-15) the other side....

for fees payment, the easiest way is actually to pay by credit card on line....if your uni has this facility...and most do....it's large sum, may be over your (parents) cc limit, so give a call to the bank to request for a temporary increase in limit to cover the payment...however, do note that the roe used may be worse than the usual tt rate...about 1% more...

alternatively if not urgent, the bank draft comes in use again, buy one in the name of the uni, and post it to them...

the pound has strengthen in recent months, so it going to hurt....but take consolation in the fact that it is not as bad as 2007 when it was 7.2....
limeuu
post Jul 23 2015, 08:25 AM

12,293 posts

QUOTE(azzaim92 @ Jul 23 2015, 08:09 AM)
The thing about TT is that depending on your bank, you can ask for a lower exchange rate, which will in effect reduce the the overall cost of transferring the money over. It's not wrong advice if you research thoroughly.
TT follows the standard exchange rate, the same rate used for bank draft....if big amounts, or you know them, they can give you slightly better rates....but that works for both TT and draft...

TT is meant for urgent transfers....it is fast....but costly...definite not for routine small sum transfers....
limeuu
post Jul 23 2015, 08:34 AM

12,293 posts

i should add that if you have the right credit cards, payment through it gives you significant points, and can be redeemed for travel miles for airtickets...

eg, your fees is 20k pounds, so you pay about rm120k, with some maybank visa cards, you get 600k treats points, which you can redeem for about 125k enrich miles....you need a little bit more to redeem for a business class return mas ticket to lhr....

you pay about 1% more using the cc, and there are taxes of about 2,800 for the ticket....so for a total cost of rm4000, about the normal price of an economy ticket, you redeem a business class ticket worth normally rm15k....
limeuu
post Jul 30 2015, 07:54 AM

12,293 posts

There are many ways to get from KL to London.... If price is important, choose the cheapest, but be prepared for transits and transfers and longer time. Otherwise go non stop with mas or ba.

If you know your end date, book return, it is always cheaper than 2 one way tickets....alternatively, book one way, and when you return for summer break, book return ....fares can be surprisingly cheaper when starting from UK...

You will land in lhr mostly, but some airlines may land in Gatwick.... From lhr, the easiest way to Nottingham is the direct bus....if you want to take the train, you will need to go down to central London to the st pancras station first to catch the train....not convenient for first timers....

p/s as an alternative, consider flying into east midlands airport, which is the airport of the area, eg with klm via amsterdam....they connect with flybe into ema...save a 3 hrs bus/train journey, but it will likely cost more...

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jul 30 2015, 08:01 AM
limeuu
post Jul 30 2015, 08:10 AM

12,293 posts

QUOTE(lleoyu76 @ Jul 29 2015, 09:26 PM)
THis is the first time i deal with flight.. so basically i duno anything.. what are the site aggregators u mentioned? Kayak and Skyscanner??
these are websites that check the flights and fares with multiple airlines for you, and give you a list....makes your life easier....you can't book directly with them, they will direct you to the booking site, which may be the airline site itself, or another online booking agent....

a quick look at skyscanner to go in late sept, and return in mid june next year shows many fares around rm3500 with klm, vietnam air, even direct with ba is only rm3685.....
limeuu
post Jul 31 2015, 10:59 AM

12,293 posts

there is NO low cost airline between msia and europe at the moment....

the bus is a full size tour bus, with lots of space at the bottom for bags....but they do specify only one bag allowed....google it and check lah, don't expect everything to be spoon fed....
limeuu
post Jul 31 2015, 07:58 PM

12,293 posts

asking here is for people who have personal experiences to share...but details, you have to research yourself....

i know there is a regular bus service between nottingham and lhr, but details on schedule, fares, bags, i can't remember, just that it takes about 3 hours...
limeuu
post Aug 12 2015, 08:33 PM

12,293 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Aug 12 2015, 04:39 PM)
Wow, the Ringgit against the  pound is now RM6.29.

Looks like no brakes and yet to see the hike in interest rates in US and UK.
FYI, it reached 7.1 in 2007, so it still has legs.... lol
limeuu
post Aug 12 2015, 11:10 PM

12,293 posts

BNM already wasted USD 8billion of reserves supporting the myr.....

It is not possible in a freely traded currency to fight market forces....a lot of money is moving out of msia...foreign funds exiting klse...and msians money flight....

If msia's rating goes below to b grade, foreign funds will start selling msian gov bonds, then the fun will really start....sell down of klse has been going on for 3 months, but prices kept afloat by local funds...that support us buckling....
limeuu
post Aug 13 2015, 10:26 AM

12,293 posts

I have been telling people with children in UK to hedge when it was around 5.2....and that was just 1 year ago....you know you are going to need x amount of pounds, if you have the funds already in myr, just convert....why wait to do yearly or half yearly, and subjected to fluctuations?....
limeuu
post Aug 13 2015, 11:50 AM

12,293 posts

UK A levels out today, students will have access from 8am UK time, or 3pm here....

limeuu
post Aug 14 2015, 10:35 AM

12,293 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Aug 14 2015, 07:25 AM)
Agree! Now he better graduates as scheduled. LOL.
the issue of intercalation doesn't arise any more i supposed...
limeuu
post Aug 21 2015, 12:19 PM

12,293 posts

Didn't realise they have started charging for NHS cover.... Used to be free for all students....
limeuu
post Aug 21 2015, 04:55 PM

12,293 posts

there has been lots of abuse of the nhs services, not by international students, but by eu citizens, and other non student immigrants....so i am surprise the first group they tighten against are students...

it was one of the selling points of british education....
limeuu
post Sep 7 2015, 12:14 AM

12,293 posts

QUOTE(june_c @ Sep 6 2015, 12:27 PM)

Do you know what are the things that we cannot bring when boarding a flight ?
Staplers ? Scissors ?
check them in.....but if you are overweight, leave them...britain is a pretty civilised country, they do have staplers and scissors, and they will be cheaper than airlines overweight charges.....

16 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 >Top

0.0695sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:51 PM