Studying in the UK V3

limeuu
post Aug 2 2012, 03:55 PM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Aug 2 2012, 12:55 PM)
Midland Bank is defunct only because it was eventually renamed by HSBC. What its current network is like matters, not what it grew from.

History and origin may be important but not relevant here because HSBC as it stands today is one of the biggest British banks with sizeable retail operations in Britain. As a retail deposit-taking institution, it's also probably one of the safest in the UK.

I think it's one of the big ones that didn't need bailouts/financing packages from the British government in 2008-2009.
my point is, it is the previous midland bank, which was one of the big 4 retail banks in the 80's.....ie, a very british bank, because the re branding as hsbc gives some people an impression it is a 'foreign' bank in uk.....
limeuu
post Aug 6 2012, 12:47 PM

12,295 posts

there is no need for health insurance.....as all students will be covered under the nhs for free....

the nhs was one of the british accomplishments celebrated during the opening of the london olympics.....
limeuu
post Aug 6 2012, 03:23 PM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(Nidz @ Aug 6 2012, 03:02 PM)
X-ray is needed?
Hmm.. I never came across this requirement during my application.
it is not a requirement by the uni, but by ukba....when you first arrive at the airport in uk, they may want a cxr, and to avoid delay, it is best to have one done in msia and bring the xray and report with you in your hand carry.....
limeuu
post Aug 6 2012, 04:21 PM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(M@Y @ Aug 6 2012, 03:38 PM)
The insurance should be travel insurance. The Chartis Travel Guard. The Classic, Superior and Premier. Speak with your travel agent. Its optional for u whether u're buying it or not.

Gosh, today i'm going to go for my full medical checkup and X-ray sad.gif
you do NOT need a 'full medical checkup'.....just the cxr...

don't bother with travel insurance, you are going there to live and study, NOT travel....
limeuu
post Aug 7 2012, 06:18 PM

12,295 posts

payment of tuition fees is not a requisite for issuance of the cas by ukba......and i think most unis also do not need payment of fees on acceptance of offer....unlike the practice in oz....
limeuu
post Aug 13 2012, 09:10 AM

12,295 posts

one could have avoided all these translation issues if the money is transferred to the student at least 28 days prior, and you will just need the statement/bank book showing the student has the money in his/her account the last 28 days....then no need birth cert, parent letter etc.....
limeuu
post Aug 14 2012, 03:02 PM

12,295 posts

enrol with the mas grads programme, and i think they will give you another 10kg....

emirates' connection at dubai is not very good, and it's NOT a direct flight.....but the plus point is they fly direct into manchester, newcastle, glasgow and birmingham, in addition to heathrow....
limeuu
post Aug 14 2012, 04:09 PM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(M@Y @ Aug 14 2012, 03:45 PM)
No, dun jinx it sad.gif

The connection processing is very messy or something?
i mean it is not a short connection, and the transit may be quite long, depending on where your final destination....i generally consider it long if it is more than 3 hours....i hate transits (unless it's at changi!).....

you will be issued the boarding pass dxb-lhr(or whatever), so you just need to clear security and then go straight to the departure gate.....or wander around the transit area, is the transit is long....don't worry, there will be thousands of transit passengers connecting at dubai......
limeuu
post Aug 14 2012, 06:50 PM

12,295 posts

that is why i said emirates connection is not very good....

the a380 is definitely more spacious, although the seats may appear the same, thinner seats mean more leg room, very much quieter, and more space to move around/exercise on long flights....but the difference is not the aircraft, but what the airlines do with it....so you will find different levels of experience with different airlines.....even in cattle class....

i like qantas' self service counters, where you can help yourself to drinks, fruits, biscuits....unfortunately mas has decided not to do likewise....
limeuu
post Aug 14 2012, 09:33 PM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Aug 14 2012, 09:26 PM)
They will do so once they get a new supplier for a much reduced price on the nasi lemak!
joke aside, the self service counter does not provide hot food, nor liquor, only can soft drinks, a water fountain, fruits like apples and bananas and small pack of biscuits.....it's meant for people who are hungry in between the main meals on very long flight, eg the 14 hrs to lhr....save them some work....

in contrast, sq runs a mid flight hot snack service with cup noodles and hot drinks......which some people may prefer.....
limeuu
post Aug 16 2012, 04:19 PM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(Djinn1982 @ Aug 16 2012, 04:13 PM)
Coincidentally, flying from S'wak too. Didn't know I could pay for a golden lounge voucher. Always thought you had to be flying First Class or Biz or have crazy amount of flyer miles like George Clooney in Up in the Air to have access. Anyway, chose Etihad as my carrier, not MAS. Never flown with a Middle Eastern airline. Should be interesting.
etihad is pretty good, with decent connection at abu dhabi.....good avod/ife but not many top current movies.....
limeuu
post Aug 17 2012, 10:34 AM

12,295 posts

if one intends to do cooking, and one is a rice eater, then a rice cooker will be very useful.....there is no need to buy anything fancy, there are local brands which make small pots of 0.8-1.2L capacity, and that is adequate....
limeuu
post Aug 17 2012, 12:27 PM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(Djinn1982 @ Aug 17 2012, 11:50 AM)

Get it there. It's the UK. Not that hard to find one there. One less item to transport.
you will not be able to find small rice cookers in uk....they all seem to be designed to feed big families.... biggrin.gif
limeuu
post Aug 17 2012, 05:04 PM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Aug 17 2012, 04:32 PM)

I know the superstores like Wing Yip and Korean groceries do. You can even get special pot boilers to cook instant noodles.
are these rice cookers, or boiler/slow cookers?.....they are not the same.....although, the later may also be capable of cooking rice?.....
limeuu
post Aug 17 2012, 07:06 PM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Aug 17 2012, 05:09 PM)
that looks okay for one of two persons....0.72l.....

but the price!! i think that's double what it cost here!

and they have only 4 branches, none near east midlands.....explains why i have never heard of them..... smile.gif

people not near their 4 branches will probably be better off buying one from msia...
limeuu
post Aug 17 2012, 10:14 PM

12,295 posts

if it is a small one, it will actually fit inside a 25" luggage, so what we have done is stuff some other items inside the cooker, and then place the cooker inside the bag....

do note that unless you have lots of help, and someone to receive you at the airport, it is best to restrict the number of items to carry if you need to make you own way alone...
limeuu
post Aug 17 2012, 11:17 PM

12,295 posts

actually, it is true it's not easy to find daylight white bulbs/energy savers.....they use warm whites (yellow) mostly.....

limeuu
post Aug 27 2012, 12:22 PM

12,295 posts

it's already discussed in this thread, recently...

it is not customs, but immigration, called ukba....

no need check up...

just chest xray, and bring the film and report in hand carry...
limeuu
post Aug 29 2012, 11:57 AM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Aug 29 2012, 11:43 AM)
M&S has sweaters, fleeces and trench coats but don't' do winter jackets.

A winter jacket should be water resistant, have a good inner layer (sometimes detachable) and not be much heavier than a regular jacket.

Stores that stock them are outdoor gear outlets (Blacks, Millets etc) or those with their own store front.
m & s do sell winter jackets....i have one.... biggrin.gif

while brand names are good, you can get generic/high street brand jackets for a lot less, and they are just as warm.....during sales, they may be as cheap as 20 quid, but something about 50 quid during a sale will be pretty good stuff, as the list price may be double....

winter wear is also just as fashion fickle.....you may not want to be wearing an 'obsolete' jacket for years on end..... biggrin.gif
limeuu
post Aug 30 2012, 12:13 AM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Aug 29 2012, 11:53 PM)
Wasn't aware they had winter jackets. Is yours water resistant ?

As for the cheap stuff, wouldn't recommend them. Just 1 wash and you can feel the wind blowing in.
yes it is waterproof (as far as the drizzle in uk is concerned, but will of course not be resistant to the msian tropical downpour...), and yes, it has an inner lining which can be detached when it is warmer.....

i also have 'cheap' one (bhs sale, 20 quid) which works just as well, and no, one wash did not produce holes..... biggrin.gif even if it did, i can buy another one the next winter....it's only 20 pounds.... tongue.gif

maybe i am just a cheapskate..... smile.gif

16 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0555sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:14 AM