38 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

abit Fatal1ty AN8 for AMD 64bit, Overclocking ability...

irenic
post Aug 8 2005, 04:47 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

hmm one more thing.. why abit temperature so high aa? on water uguru reported my sandy's temp at 44 idle.. but my hardcano 13 shows the temp is 28.. last time with my DFI my sandy idle at 33C only..

is there any bios or version of uguru that fix this temperature problem?
antonio
post Aug 8 2005, 05:07 PM

AMD Phenom II & Intel i7 Overclocker
4,032 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Aug 8 2005, 04:47 PM)
hmm one more thing.. why abit temperature so high aa? on water uguru reported my sandy's temp at 44 idle.. but my hardcano 13 shows the temp is 28.. last time with my DFI my sandy idle at 33C only..

is there any bios or version of uguru that fix this temperature problem?
ya lor...when i bench my temp go up until 80c on the guru panel....but my aerogate show 44c only....summore very tension when pc alwiz restart...arghhhh..stupid thermal proctection..... shakehead.gif
cyberloner
post Aug 8 2005, 05:23 PM

1,560 posts

QUOTE(PCcrazy @ Aug 7 2005, 01:08 AM)
If only you are not obsessed perhaps you can spot the grass might be greener on the other side also.
can't u del the ABIT fan boy post?
just del the DFI fan boy post yea

cyberloner
post Aug 8 2005, 05:24 PM

1,560 posts

QUOTE(antonio_zth @ Aug 8 2005, 05:07 PM)
ya lor...when i bench my temp go up until 80c on the guru panel....but my aerogate show 44c only....summore very tension when pc alwiz restart...arghhhh..stupid thermal proctection..... shakehead.gif
u better bring back to the place u buy it
antonio
post Aug 8 2005, 05:25 PM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(cyberloner @ Aug 8 2005, 05:24 PM)
u better bring back to the place u buy it
i can confirm it is not running that hot...is the bios reading that is wrong....haiyah...where a bios editor when u need one??.... shakehead.gif

irenic
post Aug 8 2005, 05:36 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(antonio_zth @ Aug 8 2005, 05:07 PM)
QUOTE(antonio_zth @ Aug 8 2005, 05:25 PM)
i can confirm it is not running that hot...is the bios reading that is wrong....haiyah...where a bios editor when u need one??.... shakehead.gif
is this a well known issue? hopefully abit will release a bios that have accurate temp reading..
antonio
post Aug 9 2005, 07:06 PM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Aug 8 2005, 05:36 PM)
is this a well known issue? hopefully abit will release a bios that have accurate temp reading..
not only this...a lot more...from HD to GFX SLI incompabilities....my god what happend to Abit???And their forum got tons of questions and a few answers.... shakehead.gif
cyberloner
post Aug 10 2005, 12:03 AM

1,560 posts

QUOTE(antonio_zth @ Aug 9 2005, 07:06 PM)
not only this...a lot more...from HD to GFX SLI incompabilities....my god what happend to Abit???And their forum got tons of questions and a few answers.... shakehead.gif
http://www.hardcoreware.net/reviews/review-297-10.htm
Go f him lah

So you decided to go with an SLI setup for your next rig. Probably going to pair it up with a 3000+ Venice, which can be had for under $150 at such places as Newegg.com. Obviously you're intending on overclocking that Venice to the absolute limits. To take it there, you're going to need some capable memory, like OCZ's new Enhanced Latency PC4800, with timings as low as 2.5-4-4-10 at 600 MHz. A gig of that goes for $255 at Newegg.com.

Now you need a motherboard.. What are your choices? The Asus A8N SLI is absolutely everywhere. But can it OC like a b****? Does it have absolute full control over fan speeds? How about integrated temperature and voltage monitoring like you've never seen before? Nope.

That leaves the DFI Lanparty boards. But it is bloated with extra features you don't need, driving the price up. And again, it doesn't have uGuru.

That leaves you with Abit. They have two boards for you at this level: The "Fatal1ty" AN8 SLI, and the AN8 SLI we looked at today.

From here, you have to decide if the $100 price premium is worth it for a uGuru panel, which is pretty damn cool, but not "almost twice the price" cool.

The AN8 SLI. That's the board for you; no other will do. No other board does such a fantastic job of giving you exactly what you need, and absolutely nothing you don't.

If you can't tell by now, I am blown away by uGuru. Its implementation is almost perfect, and offers you more benefit than things like extra ethernet controllers and PCI based RAID controllers you'll never want to use.

The AN8 did pretty much everything else right too. Performance is top notch, layout is nearly perfect, and our sample was solid as a rock in weeks of testing.
pizzaboy
post Aug 10 2005, 12:41 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(cyberloner @ Aug 10 2005, 12:03 AM)
http://www.hardcoreware.net/reviews/review-297-10.htm
Go f him lah

So you decided to go with an SLI setup for your next rig. Probably going to pair it up with a 3000+ Venice, which can be had for under $150 at such places as Newegg.com. Obviously you're intending on overclocking that Venice to the absolute limits. To take it there, you're going to need some capable memory, like OCZ's new Enhanced Latency PC4800, with timings as low as 2.5-4-4-10 at 600 MHz. A gig of that goes for $255 at Newegg.com.

Now you need a motherboard.. What are your choices? The Asus A8N SLI is absolutely everywhere. But can it OC like a b****? Does it have absolute full control over fan speeds? How about integrated temperature and voltage monitoring like you've never seen before? Nope.

That leaves the DFI Lanparty boards. But it is bloated with extra features you don't need, driving the price up. And again, it doesn't have uGuru.

That leaves you with Abit. They have two boards for you at this level: The "Fatal1ty" AN8 SLI, and the AN8 SLI we looked at today.

From here, you have to decide if the $100 price premium is worth it for a uGuru panel, which is pretty damn cool, but not "almost twice the price" cool.

The AN8 SLI. That's the board for you; no other will do. No other board does such a fantastic job of giving you exactly what you need, and absolutely nothing you don't.

If you can't tell by now, I am blown away by uGuru. Its implementation is almost perfect, and offers you more benefit than things like extra ethernet controllers and PCI based RAID controllers you'll never want to use.

The AN8 did pretty much everything else right too. Performance is top notch, layout is nearly perfect, and our sample was solid as a rock in weeks of testing.
You forgot about my beloved MSI Neo4 Platinium SLI and Non SLI. And the Gigabyte too.
irenic
post Aug 10 2005, 01:52 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

i dont think top overclockers do need the uguru biggrin.gif
charge-n-go
post Aug 10 2005, 03:41 PM

4,060 posts

The Fatal1ty AN8 costs about $50 less than its Pentium 4-bearing counterpart, the AA8XE, but that still rings it in at around $200. That's a lot to pay for a motherboard by anyone's standard. Still, if it provides a significant boost in performance, it's worth it, right?

If you don't consider overclocking a critical factor, this is one of the best Athlon 64 boards we've tested. It's packed with good features, and extremely easy to work with. The benchmarks are the highest we've seen for an Athlon 64 FX-55. Will similar new chipset motherboards for AMD's CPUs deliver similar performance? We'll be taking a look at quite a few of them over the coming weeks, and it will be interesting to see how they stack up. Compared with the last-generation chipsets, it's a real winner.

That said, we were extremely disappointed to find that we could hardly overclock our FX-55 chip at all. It's hard to know exactly where to place the blame for this—on the CPU, its cooling, or the motherboard. Still, for a motherboard that emphasizes overclocking, our lack of success is definitely bad news. The features and utilities for juicing up your CPU are fantastic, so this could be a great board for those users. We just didn't get there in our tests. At this price, this is obviously not a board for everyday users. If you're a hard-core enthusiast, we have no problem recommending it. The benchmark scores are fantastic, and the nForce 4 Ultra chipset delivers fantastic features. The slot layout is highly unusual and could be bad or good depending on what you plan to install, so plan accordingly.

http://www.extremetech.com/article2/0,1697,1776914,00.asp

The LanParty line of motherboards from DFI have always catered to the kind of PC enthusiast who likes to really push his components to the limit, and this one is no exception. It's not necessarily designed for ease of use, but for tweaking, tuning, poking, and prodding your components until you eke out every last bit of performance. The UV sensitive slots are a bit of extra eye candy for the case modders out there, but the real star of the show is the BIOS. DFI has done an exceptional job with adding the kind of BIOS features that hardcore PC builders really appreciate. The built-in MemTest86 and user-selectable backup BIOS banks are great ideas. Really extreme overclockers will get a kick out of pushing their expensive RAM up to 4 volts.

Having said that, we find ourselves mystified about a couple of things. Why is DFI stuck in three-years-ago mode with no web-based, Windows BIOS update software? Why on earth would they put a x4 PCIe slot on a consumer motherboard? Why make the user change six large sets of jumper blocks to enable dual-graphics mode? Why put the analog audio jacks on a removable bracket when it's going to go in the back I/O panel anyway? None of these things are really problems, per se, but they're curious design decisions that we feel might be keeping the board from its full potential.

If you're a hardcore overclocker, you've almost certainly heard of DFI's LanParty series before. You should know that this model continues the legacy of adding features to help you push your hardware beyond its intended specifications. It's also not outrageously expensive, and in fact costs a little less than many other nForce 4 Ultra motherboards on the market. If you don't plan on tweaking out your system, you may be better off with a board that includes more x1 PCIe slots, but there's still a lot to like here. Dual gigabit Ethernet and six USB 2.0 ports on the back I/O panel are features anyone can enjoy.

http://www.extremetech.com/article2/0,1697,1788677,00.asp

This post has been edited by charge-n-go: Aug 10 2005, 03:44 PM
charge-n-go
post Aug 10 2005, 03:44 PM

4,060 posts

By the way, if u think Lan Party has unnecessary features, just go for the Ultra Infinity series. It's cheaper and overclock as good as Lan Party.

There's good and bad on both boards, depend on what you want for yourself. I assume in overclocker's united, more ppl will like to push the o/c to limit, so IMHO, DFI is still a better choice. Feature or not, tat doesnt matter, the ultimate goal is to get the highest o/c and best result. Well, if u wanna compare everything, and consider non-oc performance, it's better u post it in hardware section.

This post has been edited by charge-n-go: Aug 10 2005, 03:47 PM
antonio
post Aug 10 2005, 04:18 PM

4,032 posts

wehh...dfi geng...shooh shohh...dun make noise in here....shooh...shohh... tongue.gif...here is for abit Fatal1ty discussion not ABIT VS DFI.....hahahaha...

p/s:i hope ur happy cyberloner...a DFI fan's post being deleted in here....
charge-n-go
post Aug 10 2005, 04:25 PM

4,060 posts

sorry sorry.... I forgotten the topic already. I was fired up by fanboy ma b4 this, hahaha. Now hv to bersabar tongue.gif
antonio
post Aug 10 2005, 04:32 PM

4,032 posts

hhehehe...i got both board...so i can 'say' or 'preach' in here.... tongue.gif
PCcrazy
post Aug 10 2005, 08:38 PM

Milanista
3,224 posts

QUOTE(antonio_zth @ Aug 10 2005, 04:32 PM)
hhehehe...i got both board...so i can 'say' or 'preach' in here.... tongue.gif
antonio, you better keep it to yourself because I see no light at the end of the tunnel. Just talk about what is good that Abit can offer and provided if you have something negative to say, please do it in proper manner biggrin.gif , otherwise it will end up in a flame war. I'm sure mods (not me cos I'm too lenient) and staffs are not too keen with that. biggrin.gif
antonio
post Aug 11 2005, 09:18 AM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(PCcrazy @ Aug 10 2005, 08:38 PM)
antonio, you better keep it to yourself because I see no light at the end of the tunnel. Just talk about what is good that Abit can offer and provided if you have something negative to say, please do  it in proper manner  biggrin.gif , otherwise it will end up in a flame war. I'm sure mods (not me cos I'm too lenient) and staffs are not too keen with that.  biggrin.gif
the light is there...its just there is a wind blowing quite strong and trying to blow the light away...ok sorry Mr. Mod...i promise no more light through tunnels...i will just ignore what ever wind,typhoon,tsunami that comes along my path... laugh.gif

cyberloner
post Aug 23 2005, 01:04 AM

1,560 posts

Check out newest bios 17
temp issue is fix...
now it is working like champ
Fries
post Aug 23 2005, 03:25 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(cyberloner @ Aug 23 2005, 01:04 AM)
Check out newest bios 17
temp issue is fix...
now it is working like champ
Bios Release Date 21/7/2005?
irenic
post Aug 23 2005, 10:36 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(Fries @ Aug 23 2005, 03:25 PM)
Bios Release Date 21/7/2005?
yups... i flashed it yesterday and so far i can say this is the best bios for this board. Sadly still cant solve the 1T issue.. In terms of temperature reading, i'm not sure whether Abit just simply minus 10C from temp in previous bios.. but my temp now is the correct one, 29 idle n around 38 full load at stock vcore. (almost same with my hardcano 13 and same with what my previous DFI lanparty reported)

38 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0181sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:38 AM