21 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Asus G-Series Notebooks V2, Asus G73, G53 and etc . . .

TSJeffrey1987
post Aug 29 2010, 12:20 AM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(Kaizoku @ Aug 29 2010, 12:19 AM)
ok

Bro . . . do you buy any accessories recently for your babe ? brows.gif
TSJeffrey1987
post Aug 29 2010, 12:41 AM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(Viperion @ Aug 29 2010, 12:29 AM)
I got those temps in the first three weeks of ownership. After about one month, the temps started to go up and now I'm idling around your loads and maxing around 80~90C. I think the original TIM is degrading and I need to repaste sad.gif
Dude, you are taking the wrong course. Ever thought of business tongue.gif  laugh.gif
Dude . . . I have to agree with you on this matter. nod.gif I must be in the wrong course . . . sweat.gif
TSJeffrey1987
post Aug 29 2010, 12:42 AM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Aug 29 2010, 12:33 AM)
Most of the new G73 fanboy are jumping to Msi Gx660R for its value performance and no GSOD issue.

IMHO, the glossy surface around the MSi GX660R is killing me . . . I hate to have those fingerprints magnet surface on my notebook . . . laugh.gif
TSJeffrey1987
post Aug 29 2010, 12:55 AM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(Kaizoku @ Aug 29 2010, 12:52 AM)
yeah..ur right.. but then again, with our G73 rubberize casing, though it's not a fingerprint magnet...it's a dust magnet..huhuhuhu...
laugh.gif Use CyberClean . . . it will help you on getting rid of those irritating dust around your notebook . . . or cheaper alternative, that is, a microfiber cloth and H20. thumbup.gif
TSJeffrey1987
post Aug 29 2010, 12:57 AM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Aug 29 2010, 12:56 AM)
Seems like Gary posted a fix for the keyboard light after those updated to bios 211 with no lighting keyboard.

Still, i'm waiting for Asus to fix the GSOD issue. sweat.gif
hmm.gif I have seen that thread too . . . at least a relief for small part of the Asus G73 members . . . smile.gif

TSJeffrey1987
post Aug 29 2010, 01:50 AM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Aug 29 2010, 01:45 AM)
i know u still pretend to ignore that 'stucked' cyberclean aka ur bad experience.
So far, i've read... gx660r is fine. just that, the different batch comes with 1366x768 or 1920x1080 resolution.

laugh.gif Perhaps you guys can use to clean the notebook exterior and interior with no minute holes on it (eg: speakers grill) . . . it did a decent job I can say . . . thumbup.gif
TSJeffrey1987
post Aug 29 2010, 04:33 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(voleman @ Aug 29 2010, 02:16 PM)
hehe yah I got it from Ken at GentechPC, after following all the sifu recommendation
Alles klar! I have added you into the list! Welcome again to our big family . . . thumbup.gif
TSJeffrey1987
post Aug 29 2010, 09:54 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Aug 29 2010, 09:51 PM)
I might be taking some of the NBR advise on waiting HD6 series GPU. sweat.gif
Maybe G74? or refreshed G73.
Any rumors on the ETA? hmm.gif
TSJeffrey1987
post Aug 29 2010, 10:34 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Aug 29 2010, 10:31 PM)
not yet. It's all in Asus Hand. sweat.gif
How about the HD6 series GPU? Any news from ATi? smile.gif
TSJeffrey1987
post Aug 29 2010, 11:03 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Aug 29 2010, 10:46 PM)
Mobile HD6 series will be getting 256-bit bus instead of 128-bit limitation and of course  Eyefinity.
In other words, more memory bandwidth and performance. Perhaps 2 teraflops on a laptop already with Intel Sandy Bridge.

So far there's only HP Envy 17" that has HD5850m with eyefinity unlocked. There rest like alienware, clevo, sager does not have Eyefinity.

For me, eyefinity is important for my multitasking of coz the GPU performance. That depends if Asus could fix GSOD or i'll skip to HD6 series for Asus ROG G73 refresh/G74.
May I know what is your job till you need eyefinity setup? biggrin.gif
TSJeffrey1987
post Aug 29 2010, 11:26 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Aug 29 2010, 11:15 PM)
currently still looking for job. Still i do various stuff, coding, photoshop, currently self-learning javascript. Next should be flash, and sadly can't do maya on this weak gpu atm. Tried furmark on this lappy, 3-10 fps for 640x480 res. Too weak for 2 years old gpu.

In short, i just do wutever i find i feel like doing. sweat.gif
You just graduated? biggrin.gif
TSJeffrey1987
post Aug 30 2010, 04:03 AM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(Viperion @ Aug 30 2010, 03:52 AM)
You will play the never ending waiting game. Honestly, the GSOD doesn't effect the laptop too much if you know what to do. For normal work if your TIM was pasted properly from the factory your notebook will never GSOD. Those facing GSOD during normal windows environment has really high idle temps or screwed their OS. If you are facing GSOD within games, Furmark, etc. a simple re-clock of your GPU to 705/1100 solves the problem. I never had any GSOD when I got my laptop but my unit GSOD for the first time on catalyst 10.7 after one month of ownership and on Starcraft 2 tongue.gif Two observations I made, first my idle temps were steadily increasing. I think my TIM is degrading and I need a re-paste because I GSOD when the temps gets high on stock clocks. If I overclock to 705/1100 and reach the previous temps when I GSOD on stock the GPU is stable as a rock and no GSOD. Currently I am manually changing my GPU clocks with AMDGPU tool and shortcut keys which works like a charm. If you want everything automated, flash with the many vBios versions at NBR that clocks your GPU to 705/1100 default and solves all your problems.

My advice to you is to check your requirements and see if any laptop fits your list then bite the bullet or you will never be satisfied with anything. Take a trip down to any gaming notebook brand and you will also see many problems. What matters is there is a solution from the community and there will be an official fix in the near future from the manufacturer. I'm not sure if Gary Key in NBR is the real deal from Asus but it seems the community is really pushing for a resolution into the issues. Once all of this issues are fixed I think this notebook will be, wait for it.........L-E-G-E-N-D-A-R-Y! I've been watching too much How I Met Your Mother  tongue.gif  laugh.gif
rclxms.gif Very well said . . . I'm a 100% satisfied Asus customer I can say . . . not much complaint I can think of though there are some GSOD problems occured to some batch of the G73 notebook. Nevertheless, its price/performance ratio is outweigh any gaming notebooks out there. If one really does worry about the GSOD, they can aim for Sager perhaps? laugh.gif

Anyway, why you still not sleep early in the morning?

This post has been edited by Jeffrey1987: Aug 30 2010, 04:05 AM
TSJeffrey1987
post Aug 30 2010, 01:39 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Aug 30 2010, 07:34 AM)
What do you mean the GSOD issue?
GSOD = Grey Screen of Death smile.gif
TSJeffrey1987
post Aug 30 2010, 02:11 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(viruz019 @ Aug 30 2010, 02:04 PM)
guys, just curious..how long will it take for the laptop from gentech to arrive in malaysia once it left US, Los Angeles.

My laptop left US on august 27..till now no updates sad.gif
Please be patient dude. Usually, it will take 7 to 10 days to arrive at M'sia. Thus, just make sure that you click ferociously on the given USPS link . . . laugh.gif
TSJeffrey1987
post Aug 30 2010, 03:39 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(corallinkz @ Aug 30 2010, 03:13 PM)
hey guys,

just want to ask, the Asus g73jh a2 model is not available anymore on gentech? and there will be a newer model out which is g74? when?

Such a long time didn't hear from you, dude . . . biggrin.gif Did you buy the Asus G73Jh?

Yea, Asus G73Jh-A2 was discontinued by Asus and no refresh is released for this particular model. However, A1 is replaced by B1 currently and Asus G73Jw is coming soon with whole different GPU for certain. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Jeffrey1987: Aug 30 2010, 03:40 PM
TSJeffrey1987
post Sep 1 2010, 03:05 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(limlim78 @ Sep 1 2010, 12:50 PM)
GenTechPC starting pre-order of G73JW-A1. So dont know which model to choose. G73JH-B1 or G73JW-A1. Two model is same price.
Perhaps you can wait for somebody to do some GPU (GTX460) benchmarking 1st before you can make up your mind. icon_rolleyes.gif IMHO, Asus G73Jw attracts me more . . . laugh.gif
TSJeffrey1987
post Sep 1 2010, 03:09 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(ineser @ Sep 1 2010, 08:22 AM)
Just wondering, if you ask GenTech or xoticpc to do IC thermal pasting, is it worth it? Anyone of you ask GenTech or xoticpc to do IC thermal paste on your G73?
IMO, it is not worth it as the charge is quite high but I'm not really sure as I have not done it before. You can ask Viperion on this matter. smile.gif
TSJeffrey1987
post Sep 1 2010, 03:15 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(viruz019 @ Sep 1 2010, 01:24 PM)
bought it last week i tink..posted out on 27th..got 2 package actually..first arrive at malaysia on 30th..the other one still tracking..now wonder if they will deliver or shud i call poslaju or sumthing
Rich boy spotted! brows.gif 2 notebooks? Both are MSi?
TSJeffrey1987
post Sep 1 2010, 03:42 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(viruz019 @ Sep 1 2010, 03:37 PM)
hahah..yea..suppose to be 2 stealth bomber..but due to some problems..so im gettin 2 msi..saving up money for the g73 ..else g53 will do brows.gif ..wonder when will i be able to take the laptop..cant wait to do some review on it XD
2 MSi gaming notebook is not enough for your use? sweat.gif You are aiming to buy another Asus G- Series notebook again! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Jeffrey1987: Sep 1 2010, 03:42 PM
TSJeffrey1987
post Sep 1 2010, 03:57 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(viruz019 @ Sep 1 2010, 03:49 PM)
hahahah..personal interest i guess..hopefully the g53 wil look exactly like the g73 but smaller..then i can proudly carry around a portable stealth bomber brows.gif
Good for you! Waiting eagerly for your MSi GX660R review . . . biggrin.gif

21 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0442sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:13 AM