Nokia C7, The Symbian^3, Mid Range S^3
TSBuFung
Feb 9 2011, 09:43 PM
QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Feb 9 2011, 05:36 PM) symbian3 firmware update is now all standardized.1 device got update,all got update. then u have to look at what hardware all the Symbian^3 having.. all are almost identical... ARM11, nHD... QUOTE(doomx @ Feb 9 2011, 05:40 PM) sad to hear so where will they be venturing now since the platform is on fire. but in the other platform the fighting are even more intense.. and they are lack behind now....
ne0cz
Feb 9 2011, 10:34 PM
no more other symbian phones. Only Nokia. It will be considered very sick even if not dead... Like proprietary software already
andrekua
Feb 10 2011, 12:46 AM
QUOTE(ne0cz @ Feb 9 2011, 10:34 PM) no more other symbian phones. Only Nokia. It will be considered very sick even if not dead... Like proprietary software already Erm, Nokia can shrink Symbian department and used it to keep their attractiveness in the lower to mid end market. It was well polished to fend off other phones from others as long as they can include a good camera to fend off SE. Perhaps they should just concentrate on Meego first and then get a hang of it to see where it lies in the market. I dont think you will see Android or WP7 soon. It will be 1-2 years depending on the popularity of Meego.
TSBuFung
Feb 10 2011, 07:55 AM
QUOTE(andrekua @ Feb 10 2011, 12:46 AM) Erm, Nokia can shrink Symbian department and used it to keep their attractiveness in the lower to mid end market. It was well polished to fend off other phones from others as long as they can include a good camera to fend off SE. Perhaps they should just concentrate on Meego first and then get a hang of it to see where it lies in the market. I dont think you will see Android or WP7 soon. It will be 1-2 years depending on the popularity of Meego. did u read the ceo memo? he said by the speed of them, probably u will only see 1 meego device in 2011......
andrekua
Feb 10 2011, 08:03 AM
QUOTE(BuFung @ Feb 10 2011, 07:55 AM) did u read the ceo memo? he said by the speed of them, probably u will only see 1 meego device in 2011...... Who cares what happened to Nokia anyway? I just want to see the damn Meego right now. If Nokia delivered it, and its good, it will be a start...
TSBuFung
Feb 10 2011, 08:54 AM
QUOTE(andrekua @ Feb 10 2011, 08:03 AM) Who cares what happened to Nokia anyway? I just want to see the damn Meego right now. If Nokia delivered it, and its good, it will be a start... dream on then..
wuwah
Feb 10 2011, 04:43 PM
IMO, symbian still suitable. they can't just abandon this. just, make this as lower or middle end market. symbian is good for me as it used less power processor, less battery consumption. one more, ppl should start their smartphone with symbian IMO
ViRaViRa
Feb 10 2011, 05:09 PM
QUOTE(wuwah @ Feb 10 2011, 04:43 PM) IMO, symbian still suitable. they can't just abandon this. just, make this as lower or middle end market. symbian is good for me as it used less power processor, less battery consumption. one more, ppl should start their smartphone with symbian IMO  Well, Symbian exist for years and yet, they are not able to fix the core issue which is the serious firmware bug. They actually DID make a lot of changes to Symbian but it is still the same as in performance. Probably, Symbian is just not suitable for today's world. For smart phone beginners, they would have a bad impression about all smart phones if they start off with Symbian. I support Nokia + WP7
TSBuFung
Feb 10 2011, 09:05 PM
QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Feb 10 2011, 05:09 PM) Well, Symbian exist for years and yet, they are not able to fix the core issue which is the serious firmware bug. They actually DID make a lot of changes to Symbian but it is still the same as in performance. Probably, Symbian is just not suitable for today's world. For smart phone beginners, they would have a bad impression about all smart phones if they start off with Symbian. I support Nokia + WP7  not Nokia + BB OS?
nicholasbeh
Feb 11 2011, 12:48 AM
nokia+WP7?nono...i cant imagine nokia phone cant send via bluetooth...no garmin.a big  to that.
ViRaViRa
Feb 11 2011, 12:59 AM
QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Feb 11 2011, 12:48 AM) nokia+WP7?nono...i cant imagine nokia phone cant send via bluetooth...no garmin.a big  to that. iOS also don't have all that....but ppl don't complain
andrekua
Feb 11 2011, 01:45 AM
QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Feb 11 2011, 12:59 AM) iOS also don't have all that....but ppl don't complain  IOS = I OWE STEVE... As long as you pay, you can have Papago, Angry Birds, PVZ, etc...
wuwah
Feb 11 2011, 02:54 PM
QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Feb 10 2011, 05:09 PM) Well, Symbian exist for years and yet, they are not able to fix the core issue which is the serious firmware bug. They actually DID make a lot of changes to Symbian but it is still the same as in performance. Probably, Symbian is just not suitable for today's world. For smart phone beginners, they would have a bad impression about all smart phones if they start off with Symbian. I support Nokia + WP7  really? actually, C7 is my first smartphone. it is good for me  I'm actually very satisfied with my decision to start with symbian rather than android after vast reading about both OS for nearly 4months  hope that nokia will not abandon symbian lor. continue to provide updates  this is one efficient OS. I can't imagine how android/iOS will perform if given 680Mhz processor, and 1200mAh battery » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « conserve energy  greener
ViRaViRa
Feb 11 2011, 04:42 PM
QUOTE(wuwah @ Feb 11 2011, 02:54 PM) really? actually, C7 is my first smartphone. it is good for me  I'm actually very satisfied with my decision to start with symbian rather than android after vast reading about both OS for nearly 4months  hope that nokia will not abandon symbian lor. continue to provide updates  this is one efficient OS. I can't imagine how android/iOS will perform if given 680Mhz processor, and 1200mAh battery » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « conserve energy  greener You will change your perception once you actually try an Android phone (well, not the crappy ones of course)  BTW, the good news - Symbian will not be abandoned, at least for now  . So support for this OS still goes on.
nicholasbeh
Feb 11 2011, 05:56 PM
QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Feb 11 2011, 04:42 PM) You will change your perception once you actually try an Android phone (well, not the crappy ones of course)  BTW, the good news - Symbian will not be abandoned, at least for now  . So support for this OS still goes on. for C7 price range,X10 as comparison...haha.
TSBuFung
Feb 11 2011, 07:31 PM
QUOTE(wuwah @ Feb 11 2011, 02:54 PM) really? actually, C7 is my first smartphone. it is good for me  I'm actually very satisfied with my decision to start with symbian rather than android after vast reading about both OS for nearly 4months  hope that nokia will not abandon symbian lor. continue to provide updates  this is one efficient OS. I can't imagine how android/iOS will perform if given 680Mhz processor, and 1200mAh battery » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « conserve energy  greener enough talking of efficient OS etc... they are plenty of 600Mhz android phone in the market.. just that most of them are A8 but Nokia love ARM11... like ppl using i7... Nokia prefer Pentium 4....
wuwah
Feb 11 2011, 08:31 PM
QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Feb 11 2011, 05:56 PM) for C7 price range,X10 as comparison...haha. I have very bad experience with SE. so, no SE for me, maybe forever QUOTE(BuFung @ Feb 11 2011, 07:31 PM) enough talking of efficient OS etc... they are plenty of 600Mhz android phone in the market.. just that most of them are A8 but Nokia love ARM11... like ppl using i7... Nokia prefer Pentium 4.... hm.. I want to test my sis' wildfire. but still don't have the time yet
andrekua
Feb 11 2011, 11:17 PM
QUOTE(BuFung @ Feb 11 2011, 07:31 PM) enough talking of efficient OS etc... they are plenty of 600Mhz android phone in the market.. just that most of them are A8 but Nokia love ARM11... like ppl using i7... Nokia prefer Pentium 4.... You just gotta love Nokia fans... priceless
andrekua
Feb 11 2011, 11:34 PM
QUOTE(BuFung @ Feb 11 2011, 11:20 PM) Maybe its about time to use my N8 ranger and capture the video of how Im going to destroy C7 ranger as a salute to Nokia for finally get the courage and admit there is a serious TIME LAG in its vision.