Nokia C7, The Symbian^3, Mid Range S^3

ViRaViRa
post Jan 20 2011, 05:17 PM

Think GOOD. Live WELL. Be HAPPY.
4,625 posts

Nokia Ranger, reporting in with C7 in hand.

Great device. I like the design more than Nokia N8. Btw, I tried charging and confirm the light next to USB turns on.

ViRaViRa
post Jan 22 2011, 02:47 AM

4,625 posts

Somehow I am more impressed with the Nokia C7 compared to Nokia N8. Am I biased?

Btw, how long does your battery last after a full charge? Mine has still 30% left after about 26 hours. Below is my usage :
- WiFi 2 hour
- music player 4 hour
- running on 2G
- calls about 15 mins
- 10 smses
- 2 app downloads
- GPS navigation about 1 hour ++. (GPS is very good. It detects almost instantly (maybe about 3-4 sec) without data usage.

ViRaViRa
post Jan 24 2011, 12:21 AM

4,625 posts

Now i know why people complain that battery life of Nokia C7 is terrible. Charged full this afternoon and now 2 bar left (20%) after my push email is activated. Haiz...
ViRaViRa
post Jan 24 2011, 01:25 AM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Jan 24 2011, 12:46 AM)
Battery life more or less just same like N8 for me. It also got the same problem like N8, which is inaccurate battery indicator.

This also bring another strange phenomenon with the mobile charger. Both N8 and C7 charging work okay with USB but when using 2mm port, it wont charge at all.
For me there is no problem charging via 2mm port.

ViRaViRa
post Jan 25 2011, 11:53 AM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(kenny1807 @ Jan 25 2011, 11:39 AM)
I had sent it before..just take back not yet one weeks..they actually dont understand my problem..i keep call them.i am so sked
Just be a little stern to them. The magic word will be, "I want to speak to your manager".

Last time when my Nokia 6120c was at the NCC for more than 2 months, that was what I did and the manager personally called me to settle things.

You can also write on Nokia Malaysia's facebook wall about that and also look for their contact form at nokia website to make a complaint.

Worst case, you use newspaper e.g. Malay Mail where they have this consumer complaint thing (not sure the exact name).
ViRaViRa
post Jan 26 2011, 11:59 AM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Jan 26 2011, 11:48 AM)
new c7 owner reported in... tongue.gif

(and it's an ALIVE unit) rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
Just got your unit? blink.gif
ViRaViRa
post Jan 27 2011, 08:52 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Jan 27 2011, 08:05 PM)
I have to send my C7 back to Radiance/Nokia and exchange with replacement unit. Though I don't hope much there will be extra gift with the replacement units, I hope I do get some "gift". Hope I'm not talking too much though

Will send C7 tomorrow via Skynet
Does Radiance knows that you are going to send it back?
ViRaViRa
post Jan 29 2011, 11:12 AM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Jan 29 2011, 11:07 AM)
QC will improve time to time, just like N8. Last year, alot people have DOA N8. Now... u can say few to none. C7 will be like that someday
C7 came just after N8 (immediately after) and all the hardware problems should have been addressed by now, unless you have got a old stock.

I am still surprised that your box is sealed with "AVAXX inspected" sticker because if it has been inspected, it shouldn't even be dead on arrival.
ViRaViRa
post Jan 29 2011, 10:22 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Jan 29 2011, 06:54 PM)
TBH it kinda gone the opposite direction... look at phone's defect rate last time compared to now... i don recall N82 having much problem, even on earlier batches
Probably it is time for Nokia to change their hardware manufacturer in China.
ViRaViRa
post Jan 30 2011, 01:35 AM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Jan 29 2011, 11:41 PM)
foxconn have problem manufacturing meh? ipod, iphone, ps3 etc etc etc...    hmm......
Foxconn doesn't manufacture all the hardware for Nokia, do they? The reason for a mobo to fail is not always because of the mobo itself but due to incompatible OTHER hardwares which are attached to it.

This post has been edited by ViRaViRa: Jan 30 2011, 01:36 AM
ViRaViRa
post Jan 31 2011, 04:40 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jan 31 2011, 09:00 AM)
Maybe they should do it the online game style let a group of selected ppl maybe rangers and a lot others to use the unit first and come back with their feedback before officially launch. Nokia will just launch and fix the bugs later.
Good idea but doesn't work for Nokia. Why?

Because it takes Nokia such a long time to bring a 99.99% stable firmware. There are a lot of phones that I know where even after more than 1 year in the market, the firmware is still buggy.

Based on that, it doesn't make a difference for them by having test runners before they launch their phone.
ViRaViRa
post Feb 1 2011, 03:18 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Feb 1 2011, 02:09 PM)
Im so enough with photo spam which is not relevant to the particular product.make it spoiler pls.many ppl request for so many times d.please.
Probably you should specify who are the photo spammers smile.gif
ViRaViRa
post Feb 10 2011, 05:09 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(wuwah @ Feb 10 2011, 04:43 PM)
IMO, symbian still suitable. they can't just abandon this. just, make this as lower or middle end market. symbian is good for me as it used less power processor, less battery consumption. one more, ppl should start their smartphone with symbian IMO laugh.gif
Well, Symbian exist for years and yet, they are not able to fix the core issue which is the serious firmware bug. They actually DID make a lot of changes to Symbian but it is still the same as in performance.

Probably, Symbian is just not suitable for today's world. For smart phone beginners, they would have a bad impression about all smart phones if they start off with Symbian.

I support Nokia + WP7 thumbup.gif
ViRaViRa
post Feb 11 2011, 12:59 AM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Feb 11 2011, 12:48 AM)
nokia+WP7?nono...i cant imagine nokia phone cant send via bluetooth...no garmin.a big shakehead.gif to that.
iOS also don't have all that....but ppl don't complain blink.gif
ViRaViRa
post Feb 11 2011, 04:42 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(wuwah @ Feb 11 2011, 02:54 PM)
really? actually, C7 is my first smartphone. it is good for me laugh.gif I'm actually very satisfied with my decision to start with symbian rather than android after vast reading about both OS for nearly 4months rclxub.gif hope that nokia will not abandon symbian lor. continue to provide updates nod.gif this is one efficient OS. I can't imagine how android/iOS will perform if given 680Mhz processor, and 1200mAh battery

You will change your perception once you actually try an Android phone (well, not the crappy ones of course) smile.gif

BTW, the good news - Symbian will not be abandoned, at least for now smile.gif. So support for this OS still goes on.
ViRaViRa
post Feb 12 2011, 12:06 AM

4,625 posts

Btw nokia has announced that they will migrate all symbian phones to WP7. Not sure how is that possible but it was the latest announcement for Nokia

After reading the article, I realised that the message was, all FUTURE Nokia phones will be on WP7 and no more on Symbian. Damn, must sue the blogger for his wrong title.

This post has been edited by ViRaViRa: Feb 12 2011, 12:19 AM
ViRaViRa
post Feb 12 2011, 12:23 AM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Feb 12 2011, 12:21 AM)
Symbian will still exist for low end phone, wasn't it?
Yes, for some time.....so that they can get back their money for the losses. By 2013-2014, Symbian will almost have no support from Nokia.
ViRaViRa
post Feb 19 2011, 10:05 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(Faint @ Feb 18 2011, 04:08 AM)
Guys, how to take clearer pic by using this phone ? I always get blur pic =="
Two reasons for you to get a blurry picture :

1) shaky hands
2) it is a fixed focus camera phone. Make sure that the photo that you take is within the focus range.

This post has been edited by ViRaViRa: Feb 19 2011, 10:05 PM
ViRaViRa
post Mar 29 2011, 12:57 AM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Mar 28 2011, 11:32 PM)
Bufung,

Can you tell me more about BES/BIS? Issit steroid? How does BB extend its battery life with BES/BIS?
BIS using TRUE push technology. It is not like other OS which claims to have PUSH email but actually it still PULL the emails.

How does PUSH technology works? The RIM server in Canada will pull the emails for you. Once the email is pulled, it will then be pushed to your BBerry phone. Which means, your phone don't need waste its power to do the pulling job like Android, iPhone or Symbian. That is where the battery life is extended. Your phone only connects to internet when emails etc is pushed to your phone.

Also, when that happens, you will save your internet bandwidth as there is no unnecessary connection to internet to check for new emails.

That is the reason for C7 to have a bad battery life when you access email, internet etc.
ViRaViRa
post Mar 29 2011, 01:37 AM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(cloud8318 @ Mar 29 2011, 01:33 AM)
i also facing same symptom, C7 very easy get very warm at camera part, the worse one i been encounter is the phone so HOT till touch screen is freeze!! need to force shut down by long pressing power button!! but freeze drama only happen once, any solution beside sent to NCC? BTW sent to NCC will cure the very HOT symptom? hmm.gif
Probably because those parts at the back of the phone are mainly made of stainless steel rather than plastic and you are feeling the heat because of that.

I also had the same problem with my Nokia E71 last time. I think that should be OK.

Probably you can off your 3G and then use your phone because I realise that the phone gets more hot when it is running on 3G mode.

0.0336sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:35 PM