Photography Canon S95, replacement for S90

adam_lss
post May 14 2011, 01:01 PM

7th heaven
4,495 posts

QUOTE(jedi_master @ May 14 2011, 09:47 AM)
S95 owner checking in.. is this our official thread or what?  hmm.gif
official or not tak tau, but here's where all of us owners gather! welcome to the club! smile.gif

anyway, any s95 users here using filters such as this?

Filter
adam_lss
post May 15 2011, 09:36 PM

7th heaven
4,495 posts

QUOTE(Gyllen05 @ May 15 2011, 12:47 PM)
Hey, Thanks Fatani. Guess I just gotta experience more with my S95.  tongue.gif 
I've checked out some of your pictures, they are cool.

Added on May 15, 2011, 12:49 pm
Adam,
This website is pretty useful. Thank you very much!  rclxms.gif
i have been to some other sites, i think the most the hassle-free and the most informative belongs to this site, from basic to the most advanced technics, all are being discussed here smile.gif
adam_lss
post May 22 2011, 03:05 PM

7th heaven
4,495 posts

picture of the missus smile.gif

adam_lss
post May 31 2011, 02:17 PM

7th heaven
4,495 posts

QUOTE(Frida8 @ May 31 2011, 12:25 PM)
search the price at ebay and t-dimension, want to get a s95 so badly...ssss
buy and join the club! smile.gif
adam_lss
post May 31 2011, 03:43 PM

7th heaven
4,495 posts

QUOTE(lwk523 @ May 31 2011, 02:57 PM)
Damn.. It's very nice photo .. rclxms.gif  I still consider S95 or NEX5  hmm.gif  . Any advice ?
u are asking people in the s95 club whether s95 is good or some other cameras are better? i think u know our answers liao! tongue.gif
adam_lss
post May 31 2011, 04:07 PM

7th heaven
4,495 posts

QUOTE(Frida8 @ May 31 2011, 03:56 PM)
can't wait to join s95 family rclxms.gif
come n join smile.gif

adam_lss
post Jun 2 2011, 09:53 AM

7th heaven
4,495 posts

QUOTE(kurtkantoi @ Jun 2 2011, 08:57 AM)
Just bought S95 yesterday. The seller told me need to charge the batteries for 8 hours for 1st time. Do I have to follow that? Lazy to read manual book..hehe
it is more or less like the battery when u just purchase a new handphone smile.gif
adam_lss
post Jun 2 2011, 11:21 AM

7th heaven
4,495 posts

QUOTE(kurtkantoi @ Jun 2 2011, 11:17 AM)
So I still have to follow the 8 hours is it?
i did for mine, no harm done so far smile.gif
adam_lss
post Jun 3 2011, 08:12 AM

7th heaven
4,495 posts

QUOTE(fatani @ Jun 3 2011, 04:04 AM)
yes, i would always try to avoid Auto Mode or P Mode UNLESS there's no time to setup e.g candid moments  smile.gif . Manual is my Fav biggrin.gif
yes, with very minor editing..
also, if possible, AVOID using ISO Auto, because high ISO on this cam is not very pleasing (as expected from a compact sensor)..This is one of the example of the high iso (to be fair, i oredi reduced the noise a bit).

what noise reduction editor u using?
adam_lss
post Jun 3 2011, 12:39 PM

7th heaven
4,495 posts

QUOTE(fatani @ Jun 3 2011, 11:44 AM)
either LR or PS
i was trying this standalone software, Noise Ninja, not too bad too
adam_lss
post Jun 5 2011, 12:50 PM

7th heaven
4,495 posts

adam_lss
post Jun 9 2011, 10:12 AM

7th heaven
4,495 posts

QUOTE(hiroko_jiayi @ Jun 8 2011, 10:43 PM)
it is not freeware rite?
nid to purchase it to avoid watermark?
why is it so sharp???
Do u did a lot of editing? it looks so nice!!!!!!!
what camera setting u use?
haha, thanks smile.gif
i took the ori pics on RAW, so later just edit the contrast and color a bit under this trial-ware called OLONEO(www.oloneo.com), original specs, F8.0, ISO400, AWB

the ori pics (not on this pc) is slightly brighter, so just tweaked it, in fact 1st time playing with RAW tongue.gif

This post has been edited by adam_lss: Jun 9 2011, 10:16 AM
adam_lss
post Jun 9 2011, 01:33 PM

7th heaven
4,495 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jun 9 2011, 01:16 PM)
Most of the literature out there on the web is for dslr (needed the dof but compact dun have this problem) so for compact... use a larger aperture like f4 for max lens perform (it's even fine wide open) to lower down your ISO 2 stops down to 100. This should give the best performance.

For RAW conversion... the bundled DPP software is not bad lor... also can use photoscape (freeware) for some effects etc.
thanks Sniper,
in fact, i normally use between F2-F4 under AV mode, the only reason why i used F8.0 for this shot was because i wanted the lights behind to have the pointy stars effect... wokay, let me try other shots n see smile.gif

oh yeah, canon DPP cant install on my 10inch lappy, my max screen resolution is only 1024X600 doh.gif
adam_lss
post Jun 9 2011, 11:27 PM

7th heaven
4,495 posts

QUOTE(hiroko_jiayi @ Jun 9 2011, 05:21 PM)
anybody is interested to bulk purchase this case?

http://www.amazon.com/Pelican-1010-026-100.../ref=pd_sim_e_3

or anybody selling?
wa mau 1! nod.gif
adam_lss
post Jun 10 2011, 08:20 AM

7th heaven
4,495 posts

QUOTE(hiroko_jiayi @ Jun 10 2011, 12:19 AM)
HAHA, anyone volunteer to do bulk purchase? as i dunno much about purchasing from Amazon.com =(
bulk purchase? u mean only for the 2 of us?hahaha
adam_lss
post Jun 11 2011, 07:25 PM

7th heaven
4,495 posts

QUOTE(Lucidus @ Jun 11 2011, 06:40 PM)
@adam_lss

Hi bro. Can't help noticing that you got quite a number of great shots.

Are those photos straight from ur memory card, or it went through some editing first?

Coz I just cant seem to tweak the settings on my S95 to get those kinda outcomes sad.gif
hey Lucidus, thanks smile.gif
though i wont even dare say the pics i take are any good!hahaha

which shots? normally i dont edit them, except for the pirates exhibition at mid valley, just playing around with the raw files...

by d way, how long have u been using? mine's around 6 months old only, dont think mine's dirty or dusty enough to really send for servicing
adam_lss
post Jun 12 2011, 12:34 PM

7th heaven
4,495 posts

QUOTE(Lucidus @ Jun 11 2011, 08:00 PM)
Mine is going for its seventh month. Bought November last year.

I always on iA though. Don't hav enough theory on ISO, aperture and what not.

Hrmm I notice that the lens hav quite a number of dust, and there's more on other parts upon closer examination. I'm quite an abuser actually. I bring this S95 along on hiking trip, waterfall trekking, city tour, etc. Practically anything.

Most of my shots I notice does not hav a satisfying contrast, and the colour is abit dull to my eyes. Hence I always edit my shots to fix that.

Maybe I don't hav to if I know my way through manual mode etc. sad.gif
what u can do is that maybe, u can get Lock and Lock casing like aquos recommented? i mean, if u go hiking, get into mud n stuff, the casing would be able to provide a layer of protection, not really waterproof or anything but at least it can prevent some knocks...

oh yeah, dont worry so much about the Manual mode, u have to at least understand the fundamentals of the cam - ISO, aperture, etc, if not, just put in on auto mode, it is wonderful enough! smile.gif
adam_lss
post Jun 12 2011, 09:35 PM

7th heaven
4,495 posts

QUOTE(hiroko_jiayi @ Jun 12 2011, 08:57 PM)
where can i get the lock and lock casing?
not sure, but according to Aquos, most hardware stores shud have..
adam_lss
post Jun 13 2011, 02:06 PM

7th heaven
4,495 posts

adam_lss
post Jun 13 2011, 07:31 PM

7th heaven
4,495 posts

QUOTE(masachi @ Jun 13 2011, 05:30 PM)
how nice.... the ponits are so clear
QUOTE(aquos @ Jun 13 2011, 07:20 PM)
Great pic. Very nice bokeh.
thanks, it was under a bright sunny day, i think was around 3pm, using Manual mode and manual focus, the sun was too bright till i cant even see clearly on the lcd while manually focusing, which is y i think the picture could be even sharper if i s95 had a viewfinder... tongue.gif

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0212sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:33 PM