Credit Card v11

travelyew
post Sep 25 2010, 09:28 AM

241 posts

Lastly i get my titanium cc, just share my application history:

22 aug - left my phone no. on OCBC website.
23 aug - Agent called me
25 aug - Sent all my documents.
26 aug - start process.
3 sept - Application unsuccessful. Called agent and CS few times in few days to get the reason, useless.
10 sept - get the letter from OCBC to inform my application failed.
14 sept - Called CS again. Made an appeal.
16 sept - Bank called to verify some info.
17 sept - card approved.
22 sept - received the card.

Almost a month for whole process........
However, not start use, just activate.
Later will try to use for my 1st cc....
rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

travelyew
post Sep 26 2010, 12:07 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(tzeling @ Sep 25 2010, 10:18 PM)
how did you appeal? is it just call the 1300885000 n speak to any CS n tell them u wanna appeal?

my application history:

24 Aug - Left my cell no at OCBC web
25 Aug - Agent Called
26 Aug - Sent all relevant docs for Titanum application
14 Sept - Application unsuccessful. The reason is confidential but I found out d reason discretely, that is "Fail under scorecard" Was told by CS that to apply for the card would have to wait for another 6 mths
18 Sept - Got my Titanum app rejection letter fr OCBC
21 Sept - Agent told me no need wait til after 6 mth & she will resubmit my application next mth.

So not cool.... sad.gif
I thought just my application refused......
However, just to share.
I have called CS few times after my application failed to ask the reason, as u faced, CS unable to tell u the reason. But the CS told me can make an appeal.
She ask me to attached the income tax statement then e-mail to cap@ocbc.com.
I have mentioned i have FD in OCBC (My FD deposit few months ago b4 their cc launch).
Nothing more.

The CL given by bank less than 2x of my salary but close with the FD amount.
So i think the reason the bank approved my card is because of FD.

U can search back which some forumer have suggested to deposit FD then apply.
U may try it..

travelyew
post Sep 26 2010, 11:13 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Sep 26 2010, 10:44 PM)
someone got 5% from tesco, tesco express and esso using his Ti card. jusco is 1%. if you read chinese, here's the link: http://cforum.cari.com.my/viewthread.php?t...&extra=page%3D1
How about carrefour??
No body mention about it...
travelyew
post Sep 26 2010, 11:28 PM

241 posts

Just saw a advertisement by public bank at esso with new cc i.e. public esso card which up to 8% discount for esso petrol.
But i can't find any info on public bank website.
travelyew
post Sep 26 2010, 11:31 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(ck3lam @ Sep 26 2010, 11:21 PM)
In my opinion, C4, tesco, giant are all under one place, so by right they should have the same MCC while jusco normally split into 2 or 3 sections, so it could have different MCC. Well, just have to try tongue.gif
Hopefully C4 is in 5%, coz i normally go there...

travelyew
post Sep 26 2010, 11:35 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Sep 26 2010, 11:30 PM)
Someone was talking about this card too, in Debit Card thread.
The debit card there just mention 1%.
What i saw is up to 8%!!!
travelyew
post Sep 26 2010, 11:58 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(roy918 @ Sep 26 2010, 11:54 PM)
You will not get any rebate for TM auto billing with OCBC Titanium card.
RM2 rebate only for VISA card.
Oh???
I just wanna do it.
unfortunately i only have titanium card.

Added on September 27, 2010, 12:01 am
QUOTE(jack2 @ Sep 26 2010, 11:56 PM)
Ya lo...
Don't mention what card at all...

This post has been edited by travelyew: Sep 27 2010, 12:01 AM
travelyew
post Sep 27 2010, 12:56 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(ck3lam @ Sep 27 2010, 12:26 AM)
So I guess it doesn't matter which credit card you use, it's what package you subscribe. Maybe I better confirm with TM before changing my AMEX to OCBC Ti.

Added on September 27, 2010, 12:30 am

Not sure whether OCBC online got any excel file export feature for easy calculation later, some banks do have such convenience.
So how about combo package??

travelyew
post Sep 27 2010, 08:12 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(Angel On Fire @ Sep 27 2010, 04:38 AM)
Dear all,

If a courier arrives at my apartment to deliver my credit card and I'm not in, what would happen to the card?  Will he leave the card in my mailbox?

I don't want to put my office as the delivery address as I might be changing jobs soon.

Added on September 27, 2010, 4:44 am
Great! I hope this new card by Public Bank will give the OCBC Tit Card a run for its money.
Depend on courier company, for post laju, normally will leave a card to inform u to take it at nearest post office.
For others, normally will call u after few times failed to reach u.
travelyew
post Sep 27 2010, 07:01 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Sep 27 2010, 10:25 AM)
Have you received your OCBC Titanium?
Got it last week...
travelyew
post Sep 27 2010, 10:25 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(eddievh @ Sep 27 2010, 10:11 PM)
If i fail to get Ocbc Titanium,i'm gonna apply Public Bank cobrand Esso visa card with 8% rebate when fill at Mobil/Esso station. 8% + my smile card 1.5% total 9.5%  drool.gif  drool.gif
I saw it at esso petrol station, but i can't find any info....

travelyew
post Sep 28 2010, 06:46 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(wshoh @ Sep 28 2010, 01:53 PM)
Just had a quick look at the T&Cs available here (link to PDF) for this new PB-Esso Mobil Visa Gold Credit Card.
Seems to be a good card to complement OCBC's Titanium Mastercard for those whose fuel expenses alone average RM500.00-800.00 (where you get 3.0% cash rebate (plus additional 3% for a total of 6% until 31 March 2011). Wef  1 April 2011, the additional 3.0% disappears...

AND for those who don't already hold a Citibank Cashback Platinum CC. I suppose very few forumers here spend in excess of RM1200.00 on fuel alone per month (RM600.00 max fuel rebate for Citibank and OCBC (subject to verification - as pointed out by ck_tonny, the OCBC savings calculator for fuel maxes out at RM600.00).
Total Monthly Retail Purchase at Esso or Mobil Service Stations (RM) 

Cash Rebate Tier (%)
< = 100  0.5
>100 - 200  1.0
>200 - 500  2.0
>500 - 800  3.0
>800  5.0

Note that the maximum cash rebate amount for PB-Esso Mobil Visa Gold CC is RM50.00 per month for fuel.

Holders of DA/CIMB card with (current) 2% fuel rebate and AMEX Gold CC with 5x MR points (2.5% equivalent in RM) will have to decide whether the RM50.00 service tax can be offset from fuel rebates gained through this card. Needless to say, there are many calculating gurus in this thread who can contribute on this point.

I am a former long time Shell petrol user who recently converted to Esso/Mobil (I personally find the current Esso fuel formulation to have more or less the same fuel economy but much better acceleration (power delivery) and lower engine noise (smoothness), for RON95). Driving a fuel-guzzling KIA Spectra 1.6 Auto! Anyway, there is a separate thread for fuel consumption somewhere in this forum.

Also, Bonuslink points are nothing as compared with the RM15 for every RM1000 spend earned with the Smiles loyalty card (equivalent to 1.5% cashback which you get on top of credit card swap rebates/points).
This cc got nothing special except to use for esso petrol.
However, free for life and low minimum income are suit for those just graduate and spend a lot for petrol

This post has been edited by travelyew: Sep 28 2010, 06:48 PM
travelyew
post Sep 28 2010, 08:43 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(Angel On Fire @ Sep 28 2010, 06:46 PM)
I have to disagree with you. Prefer to receive my cards (and anything else) by normal post. Courier is more secure but it's too much hassle to wait in person for the courier, especially since I'm staying alone. The best solution will be Post Express - don't have to receive it in person yet it is a registered mail.

Added on September 28, 2010, 7:00 pm

Thanks for the info.

Looks like OCBC doesn't want my business. Had an unpleasant experience with the staff who I contacted for my appeal. In the future, I won't deposit a single sen in this bank  sad.gif

My first choice now is DA, followed by You.nique. PB's Esso credit card doesn't appeal to me, though I might get the debit card since it's free for life.
If your application approved, although u not receive the card, u still need to pay RM50 for GST.
U better check it.

travelyew
post Sep 28 2010, 10:58 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Sep 28 2010, 10:55 PM)
so that is not really "8%" rebate?
8% if u spend more than 800 per month for petrol in promotion period.

travelyew
post Sep 28 2010, 11:13 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Sep 28 2010, 11:03 PM)
Who can use that amount of petrol within a month? sweat.gif
It is still very hard to achieve even after combining all my family members' petrol consumption.

Why strive so hard to earn that 5%? An OCBC Titanium will do. thumbup.gif
U may apply if the OCBC RM50 cash back per month is not enough for you.
Just use that card for Esso petrol for your all family members.

travelyew
post Sep 29 2010, 07:57 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(Angel On Fire @ Sep 29 2010, 12:50 AM)
blush.gif  This is going to sound silly but ....

Do I just need to silently hand the restaurant cashier the DA/CIMB card and the 10-20% discount off the total bill will automatically be given? Or do I need to inform the cashier that his restaurant offers discount to DA/CIMB card holders?

Added on September 29, 2010, 12:52 am
I'm going to be a DA card holder too, soon, hopefully  tongue.gif

Added on September 29, 2010, 12:57 am
Nah, my application was declined. I received the "you are not succesful" letter less than 10 days after I submit my application. I tried to get the agent to find out the reason. She said she'll try but since then she has not called me or answered my calls.
Don't trust the agent, i face the same problem too.
She said will call me back, but i didn't any call at all.
I called back after 2 days, the answer really disappointed.

travelyew
post Sep 29 2010, 07:15 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(jtcs87 @ Sep 29 2010, 06:58 PM)
Hi guys, i willing to ask that if my friends own RM 2k as basic salary + RM 500 as allowance. But he didnt contribute to EPF. Is that he able to apply the Maybank CC?
Quite hard to apply without EPF statement.
As i know, the EPF statement will be used to proof your salary statement.

travelyew
post Oct 1 2010, 09:16 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Oct 1 2010, 11:22 AM)
Yes, I got the same thing. Received it within 1 day from posting date. Wonder how could their snail mail is so fast?
I think is area problem, mayb some area's postmen too lazy bah..
hmm.gif hmm.gif

Like what normally read at news, somewhere found a lot of letter......

travelyew
post Oct 1 2010, 09:37 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(tzeling @ Oct 1 2010, 09:31 PM)
it's my 1st time applying credit cards so i have a lot of doubts. n yeah i did give a try on OCBC Titanum but failed, now trying to get Citibank's Gold Card...my agent said to me that I prob might nt get the Gold card since my basic is lower than 3k, although my income (basic + allowance) is 3k+. So let's see how it goes. I did clarify to her that I got fixed allowance tho. Seems like although u reach min Gold's requirement 36k p.a. but it's nt good enough to be qualified somehow.
The OCBC Ti really hard to apply, already heard many peoples failed.
Why not apply SCB Gold, got RM88 cash back, but i donno this promotion still available or not.
travelyew
post Oct 1 2010, 10:41 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(tzeling @ Oct 1 2010, 10:36 PM)
SCB don't have cash rebate cards, it's a reward type of card. ya got the rm88 cashback. I think stil on since the website got. Citibank oso nt bad got RM50 cashback...I would love to Citi's Gold Shell Card. However, atm I got tis SCB debit master which offer me 7% cash rebate on fuel and 5% on groceries/watson/guardian, nt sure wat else. So I go for Citi AirAsia Gold Master first. My agent tell me try apply AirAsia Gold Master if can get it, then automatically can get Citi's Gold Shell Card. If I straight apply Gold Shell Card n my app nt approved, they give me Silver Shell (the diff is significant) at least AirAsia Silver/Gold benefits same, just CL diff. So test if i can get Citi Gold 1st or not. Since the AirAsia would be useful for me n they got this RM50 cashback so can try out for 1 year, i think.
However, i don't like the card with annual fee, although some waive if u call them.
But if the bank don't waives the fee, so u need to cancel the card, it is not good for your record.

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0490sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:55 AM