Desktop Environment, GNOME, KDE, XFCE, LXDE etc etc..

TShotfloppy
post Aug 17 2010, 08:40 AM, updated 16y ago

95 posts

guys, lets discuss about Desktop Evironment here.

which one do you prefer ? why ?

as for myself, i love gnome.. dunno why.. but i think because when i first jump into this amazing linux world, i had been introduced to gnome.. from the yuck-look years ago, until the sleak'n'nice-look now, i'm keep using & loving it more and more.. its feel like this gnome developed just for me.. tongue.gif

i had tried kde and lxde as well.. but i just cant get along with them.. i love gnome much more..

maybe after reading other people opinions, it will be change.. who knows.. hmm.gif

so, guys, come and convice me.. icon_idea.gif
teknokrasi
post Aug 17 2010, 08:48 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(hotfloppy @ Aug 17 2010, 09:40 AM)
guys, lets discuss about Desktop Evironment here.

which one do you prefer ? why ?

as for myself, i love gnome.. dunno why.. but i think because when i first jump into this amazing linux world, i had been introduced to gnome.. from the yuck-look years ago, until the sleak'n'nice-look now, i'm keep using & loving it more and more.. its feel like this gnome developed just for me..  tongue.gif

i had tried kde and lxde as well.. but i just cant get along with them.. i love gnome much more..

maybe after reading other people opinions, it will be change.. who knows..  hmm.gif

so, guys, come and convice me..  icon_idea.gif
I'd prefered gnome as desktop environment, because its more cleaner than KDE. Hower for administration tasks I prefer uses shell script. Heard that gnome3 will be be sleek... thumbup.gif
TShotfloppy
post Aug 17 2010, 09:59 AM

95 posts

yeap.. thats also what i heard.. and the big change in gnome 3 is the gnome shell which will make working with desktop much easier.. thumbup.gif
powerwoot
post Aug 17 2010, 10:31 AM

讨厌的 ubuntu
2,930 posts

A new thread about our beloved DE rclxms.gif

My first DE was Gnome during the era of red hat and fedora core, been introduced to KDE by suse linux pro 9.1. and never look back to Gnome. However me encountered few problem with earlier KDE 4.x in opensuse 11.1 and switched to Gnome as it more stable. KDE on 11.2 and now back to Gnome again in 11.3.
teknokrasi
post Aug 17 2010, 10:49 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(powerwoot @ Aug 17 2010, 11:31 AM)
A new thread about our beloved DE  rclxms.gif

My first DE was Gnome during the era of red hat and fedora core, been introduced to KDE by suse linux pro 9.1. and never look back to Gnome. However me encountered few problem with earlier KDE 4.x in opensuse 11.1 and switched to Gnome as it more stable. KDE on 11.2 and now back to Gnome again in 11.3.
KDE 4.x is plagued by bugs and veteran users dislike the new "plasmaniod" version of KDE
powerwoot
post Aug 17 2010, 11:00 AM

讨厌的 ubuntu
2,930 posts

Apart form that KDE 4.4 in opensuse 11.3, any additional storage such as portable, external device the ease of automount no longer there as new implementation of HAL, yes it can be mounted manually by su but I need to do my job fast as my result switched back to Gnome.
TShotfloppy
post Aug 17 2010, 11:18 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(teknokrasi @ Aug 17 2010, 10:49 AM)
KDE 4.x is plagued by bugs and veteran users dislike the new "plasmaniod" version of KDE

yeah, those plasma things is one of a reasons why i stick with gnome..

anyone tried wmii or dwm ?
on wmii, i tried to execute wmiirc, but the file manager doesnt shown up.. dont know why.. blink.gif

and for dwm, i cant load it at all.. actually dwm installed automatically with wmii.. but i had changed it to manually installed..
do i have to remove wmii first ? hmm.gif

p/s: why is the link and normal text doesnt shown any differences ? duh ~ dry.gif

EDIT: owh.. they did differ.. its just not shown on preview.. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by hotfloppy: Aug 17 2010, 11:22 AM
Instant_noodle
post Aug 17 2010, 02:07 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

hmmm.... so many people seems to dislike KDE 4.4...

so far i yet to upgrade to 13.1 albeit peeps says KDE 4.5 is update-able and it had resolve most issues but i still miss 3.5.x version..

fiqir
post Aug 17 2010, 05:45 PM

BE YOURSELF
3,810 posts

i'm using Lubuntu LXDE for my netbook. its more lighter than windows 7.
FlameReaper
post Aug 17 2010, 06:07 PM

I lari portable on my dude
560 posts

On Ubuntu and have tried KDE, GNOME, LXDE. I don't know if OpenBox can be considered one or not, but I don't think so since it's just a window manager whistling.gif

LXDE is pretty quick and light for a DE, in fact I'd say the lightest ever, but I haven't had the chance to try XFCE yet because I'm too lazy to install the xubuntu-desktop package just to get it. But later I decided I don't need LXDE because later I decided it's enough if I run XTerm and loading it with Metacity/Compiz and the GNOME Panel if I wanted something very light laugh.gif

GNOME was my very first experience in Ubuntu thanks to class. It's a pretty neat workspace to work in, highly customizable and stuff. While not as flashy as KDE it does have its own merits for some other people I guess, because I think I just have poor taste in customizing GNOME to my own liking tongue.gif

KDE for me is the most visually appealing and is the reason I keep it together with GNOME. That's all. Oh, and because I'm learning to use the Qt Designer to learn Qt Ruby (now don't ask me why don't I just go to learn Qt 100% or any other language, kthx laugh.gif )

I guess when you've spent some time between both it's hard to decide which one you like the most.

EDIT: Oh yeah, I might be late... but for KDE users who recently updated to KDE 4.5 and are finding it to be very slow or is a bit lagging, try disabling the "Blur" desktop effect. It was the culprit of the lag for me though, dunno about others.

This post has been edited by FlameReaper: Aug 17 2010, 06:36 PM
fat16
post Aug 18 2010, 03:46 PM

4,582 posts

I miss KDE 3.5. Some distro with KDE4 have some problem like mounting partition.

I prefered XFCE than LXDE. Both lightweight but XFCE have more functions.
mgjg
post Aug 18 2010, 07:07 PM

734 posts

Been using Xfce (Xubuntu 7.xx, 8.xx, 9.xx, 10.xx, you name i have it wink.gif)
Really love the idea of lightweight DM -even my windows Xp/vista/windows 7 is setup to 'windows classic' theme.
powerwoot
post Aug 18 2010, 11:19 PM

讨厌的 ubuntu
2,930 posts

Can we include either moblin or meego into this de discussions? I tried linpus moblin last few weeks that shipped together acer aspire new notebook, impressed with the speed and interface. Here some screenshot of suse's moblin

drool.gif
TShotfloppy
post Aug 19 2010, 02:11 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(powerwoot @ Aug 18 2010, 11:19 PM)
Can we include either moblin or meego into this de discussions? I tried linpus moblin last few weeks that shipped together acer aspire new notebook, impressed with the speed and interface. Here some screenshot of suse's moblin

drool.gif
nice.. looks similar to gnome shell that will offered in gnome 3.0..
is this meego support touchscreen ?
Instant_noodle
post Aug 19 2010, 09:19 AM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

QUOTE(hotfloppy @ Aug 19 2010, 02:11 AM)
nice.. looks similar to gnome shell that will offered in gnome 3.0..
is this meego support touchscreen ?

tbh, i find it much close resemblance with google's os, feature and navigation wise
TShotfloppy
post Aug 19 2010, 09:45 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(Instant_noodle @ Aug 19 2010, 09:19 AM)
tbh, i find it much close resemblance with google's os, feature and navigation wise
since you mention about Google OS, have anyone try it ?
Is Google OS use their own DE ?
powerwoot
post Aug 19 2010, 10:22 AM

讨厌的 ubuntu
2,930 posts

QUOTE(fat16 @ Aug 18 2010, 03:46 PM)
I miss KDE 3.5. Some distro with KDE4 have some problem like mounting partition.

I prefered  XFCE than LXDE. Both lightweight but XFCE have more functions.
Opensuse 11.3 under KDE 4.4 is one of them, what is the logical reason behind by implementing the unfriendly partition mounting? Never happened with opensuse 11.2 KDE 4.3. That is the main reason me opt for Gnome until they fix this for their next version.

FlameReaper
post Aug 19 2010, 10:35 AM

560 posts

QUOTE(hotfloppy @ Aug 19 2010, 08:45 AM)
Never used it before, but IMO it looks like they're using their own DE, which somehow looks similar to the Google Chrome browser...
terry3386
post Aug 19 2010, 10:49 AM

484 posts

QUOTE(hotfloppy @ Aug 19 2010, 09:45 AM)
tried it .. awful lot like chrome .. well tats expected anyway since its running web based apps..
Only try a few stuff becoz really nothing much to try yet.. and yea it's their own DE
TShotfloppy
post Aug 19 2010, 11:57 AM

95 posts

i really love to try Google OS, but after i realise that they're depends on internet connection nearly 100%, maybe i should think again..
erm.. will GoOS (pronounce 'gooees'.. lol laugh.gif ) eat up all my maxis broadband bandwidths' ?
terry3386
post Aug 19 2010, 12:03 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(hotfloppy @ Aug 19 2010, 11:57 AM)
i really love to try Google OS, but after i realise that they're depends on internet connection nearly 100%, maybe i should think again..
erm.. will GoOS (pronounce 'gooees'.. lol  laugh.gif ) eat up all my maxis broadband bandwidths' ?
haha well they are targeting at cloud computing based OS anyway .. most of the apps things u do saved in the cloud

if u view youtube all day long .. yea it eventually will tongue.gif or streaming ..
but others I doubt so..saving a doc, pics etc won cost much of ur bandwidth as compared to streaming

just give it a try anyway it only cost u time n bandwidth to dl the iso and play it with vmplayer or virtualbox brows.gif
honn
post Aug 19 2010, 12:06 PM

114 posts

linux got newer verison now?

Added on August 19, 2010, 12:06 pmlinux got newer verison now? wa'st the latest o ?

This post has been edited by honn: Aug 19 2010, 12:06 PM
powerwoot
post Aug 19 2010, 12:34 PM

讨厌的 ubuntu
2,930 posts

QUOTE(honn @ Aug 19 2010, 12:06 PM)
linux got newer verison now?

Added on August 19, 2010, 12:06 pmlinux got newer verison now? wa'st the latest o ?
linux is sooooo universal, are you referring to kernel or distro version? hmm.gif

abubin
post Aug 19 2010, 02:52 PM

10,429 posts

xfce is a good balance between look, usability, lightweight and functional. KDE and GNOME is more functional and look better. LXDE is much more lighter. But xfce and thunar is awesome.
TShotfloppy
post Aug 19 2010, 08:39 PM

95 posts

OFFTOPIC:
maybe i should put a poll when i creating this topic..
is it possible to insert a poll on existing topic ?
locco81
post Aug 19 2010, 10:00 PM

I'm in da huhu world
1,121 posts

gnome all the way thumbup.gif
Instant_noodle
post Aug 19 2010, 11:01 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

just a thought:

do you guys 'pimp' you wm to make it more... faggish... such as adding hiding task bar, a docker below and imaging your using stevie's OS??
FlameReaper
post Aug 20 2010, 05:52 AM

560 posts

QUOTE(Instant_noodle @ Aug 19 2010, 10:01 PM)
just a thought:

do you guys 'pimp' you wm to make it more... faggish... such as adding hiding task bar, a docker below and imaging your using stevie's OS??
been there, done that... halfway perhaps? whistling.gif

then I decided I just don't feel good with trying to imitate a Mac OS on a laptop screen so I just tukar balik everything to custom yet unified kasi nampak seragam sikit instead of random modifications here and there.

it's better off when you can make the desktop go according to your own flavor, maximum customization capability at its best thumbup.gif
scorps
post Aug 20 2010, 08:43 AM

Something you call love, but I call sex
9,572 posts

i'm using LXDE , but some shortcut button like sound volume on my notebook not working with LXDE,but when on Gnome it's work
nevermind, i like LXDE because of fast and simple.
Gnome , i dont like the bar below < how to make this disable? it take space on the screen view

terry3386
post Aug 20 2010, 08:46 AM

484 posts

QUOTE(Instant_noodle @ Aug 19 2010, 11:01 PM)
just a thought:

nahh .. IMHO no point imitating jz the UI but can't experience the actual look and feel and the actual software used ..

I do use docking tools like Avant-Navigator for ease of software startup .. but after they introduce gnome-do i just use that most of the time smile.gif =)

For the ui part since i'm using compiz-fusion so I install another addon Emerald theme manager for customization.

And like FlameReaper said .. it's better to customize the wm to suite ur needs .. that said if macOSx ui is wat u familiar with by all means go ahead n customize it biggrin.gif
TShotfloppy
post Aug 20 2010, 08:04 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(Instant_noodle @ Aug 19 2010, 11:01 PM)
just a thought:

just put a cairo dock on the bottom, hide the upper panel, remove the bottom panel and make window transparent.. thats all.. oh, and a little compiz.. tongue.gif

QUOTE(scorps @ Aug 20 2010, 08:43 AM)
i'm using LXDE , but some shortcut button like sound volume on my notebook not working with LXDE,but when on Gnome it's work
nevermind, i like LXDE because of fast and simple.
Gnome , i dont like the bar below < how to make this disable? it take space on the screen view
disable ? you can remove or hide it.. right click on the panel, choose remove panel or properties > tick on autohide..
randytsx
post Aug 20 2010, 08:11 PM

275 posts

I love gnome for its clean and simple interface, same goes with Xfce (unlike KDE, which is overly complex & confusing, and sometimes it's kinda sluggish).

If window manager-only counts too, then enlightenment & fluxbox. biggrin.gif
pcbase
post Aug 20 2010, 08:42 PM

1,411 posts

Who said KDE overly complex & confusing ?
U never try openSUSE KDE. KDE done right.
Gnome default setup is more confusing. First thing i do is remove 'aplications place system' menu bar and replace with 'the main gnome menu'. Then delete bottom panel, move top panel to bottom.
randytsx
post Aug 20 2010, 09:29 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(pcbase @ Aug 20 2010, 08:42 PM)
Who said KDE overly complex & confusing ?
U never try openSUSE KDE. KDE done right.
Gnome default setup is more confusing. First thing i do is remove 'aplications place system' menu bar and replace with 'the main gnome menu'. Then delete bottom panel, move top panel to bottom.
I mean, in general. The KDE in openSUSE is an exception.

GNOME is okay. To get things done, it's always simple and straight-to-the-point, which in KDE, I'd have to read through quite a number of options before deciding on which one to enable/disable/click.

FlameReaper
post Aug 23 2010, 05:52 AM

560 posts

I just realized that adding an extra panel in KDE somehow skyrockets its RAM usage. I almost used 3/4 out of 4GB of my RAM when I did o_o

I wonder what's the problem here? I'm suspecting some certain widgets are causing the problem but I might be wrong.

I'm using the CPU Monitor + Memory Status + Bubblemon + Network Monitor combo on a secondary panel I made just to display these. Since Bubblemon didn't have much problems when I was running it by itself before, I'm suspecting that one of the other three might be the culprit - my main suspicion being the CPU Monitor widget... hmm.gif
TShotfloppy
post Aug 23 2010, 06:16 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(FlameReaper @ Aug 23 2010, 05:52 AM)
I just realized that adding an extra panel in KDE somehow skyrockets its RAM usage. I almost used 3/4 out of 4GB of my RAM when I did o_o

I wonder what's the problem here? I'm suspecting some certain widgets are causing the problem but I might be wrong.

I'm using the CPU Monitor + Memory Status + Bubblemon + Network Monitor combo on a secondary panel I made just to display these. Since Bubblemon didn't have much problems when I was running it by itself before, I'm suspecting that one of the other three might be the culprit - my main suspicion being the CPU Monitor widget... hmm.gif
whats top say about this ? hmm.gif
FlameReaper
post Aug 23 2010, 06:34 AM

560 posts

QUOTE(hotfloppy @ Aug 23 2010, 05:16 AM)
whats top say about this ? hmm.gif
the top part is the Bubblemon I'm talking about. Currently I set it to show the system temperature.

But I don't have problem with that so yeah...
powerwoot
post Aug 23 2010, 06:50 AM

讨厌的 ubuntu
2,930 posts

Nice widget similar to the ol gkrellm, but currently I am using google desktop for my monitoring purposes. Overheard that upgrading to KDE 4.5, higher cpu and memory usages been plagued to some.
FlameReaper
post Aug 23 2010, 07:08 AM

560 posts

QUOTE(powerwoot @ Aug 23 2010, 05:50 AM)
Nice widget similar to the ol gkrellm, but currently I am using google desktop for my monitoring purposes. Overheard that upgrading to KDE 4.5, higher cpu and memory usages been plagued to some.
this widget is actually a panel comprised of other widgets.

widgets from top to bottom:
Bubblemon
CPU Monitor
Memory Status
Network Monitor
Now Playing

well apart from the high RAM usage and some slowdowns when the RAM is 3/4 taken I don't seem to have any other problems. loving it still thumbup.gif
powerwoot
post Aug 23 2010, 07:27 AM

讨厌的 ubuntu
2,930 posts

I am just wandering if moblin could be run on desktop on top of my currently gnome de. I believed I can proceed with it, but in order moblin to install and run I am need to sacrifice some files currently needed by gnome pulak to make way moblin to install it's own file.
Instant_noodle
post Aug 23 2010, 12:49 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

instead of playing with 'what uses more ram', have you tried ctrl + esc to check applications for ram usage?

the last time i checked mine was roughly 1 year ago when a sudden slow down during KDE boot up, discovered i forgot to include swap during installation tongue.gif
FlameReaper
post Aug 23 2010, 03:14 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(Instant_noodle @ Aug 23 2010, 11:49 AM)
instead of playing with 'what uses more ram', have you tried ctrl + esc to check applications for ram usage?

the last time i checked mine was roughly 1 year ago when a sudden slow down during KDE boot up, discovered i forgot to include swap during installation tongue.gif
I don't know about how you use the swap memory, because mine is fixed at 256MB. I hear it's because I'm using Wubi to install Ubuntu...
TShotfloppy
post Aug 23 2010, 11:02 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(FlameReaper @ Aug 23 2010, 06:34 AM)
the top part is the Bubblemon I'm talking about. Currently I set it to show the system temperature.

But I don't have problem with that so yeah...
no, i means, when you issue top on terminal, which application using much CPU or memory ? then, thats application is the real culprit wink.gif
FlameReaper
post Aug 24 2010, 04:24 AM

560 posts

QUOTE(hotfloppy @ Aug 23 2010, 10:02 PM)
no, i means, when you issue top on terminal, which application using much CPU or memory ? then, thats application is the real culprit wink.gif
ah, sorry.

most of the time it's always KWin or plasma-desktop.

but nevermind, problem settled. I ditched the extra panel in exchange for conky in KDE as well as for my GNOME desktop thumbup.gif
TShotfloppy
post Aug 24 2010, 10:20 AM

95 posts

oic.. well done! rclxms.gif
scorps
post Aug 29 2010, 11:59 PM

9,572 posts

nautilus comes with gnome right?other file management that got good function?
FlameReaper
post Aug 30 2010, 05:47 AM

560 posts

QUOTE(scorps @ Aug 29 2010, 10:59 PM)
nautilus comes with gnome right?other file management that got good function?
Dolphin (comes with KDE)
PCManFM (comes with LXDE)

This post has been edited by FlameReaper: Aug 30 2010, 05:48 AM
scorps
post Aug 30 2010, 06:57 AM

9,572 posts

QUOTE(FlameReaper @ Aug 30 2010, 06:47 AM)
Dolphin (comes with KDE)
PCManFM (comes with LXDE)
PCManFM can view/mount network folder? hmm.gif
FlameReaper
post Sep 2 2010, 12:33 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(scorps @ Aug 30 2010, 05:57 AM)
PCManFM can view/mount network folder?  hmm.gif
never tried it though, because I wasn't very impressed with its GUI whistling.gif
khakilang
post Sep 15 2010, 04:51 PM

174 posts

I use Gnome simply because it come as default from Ubuntu. I have try OpenSUSE KDE and it look quite cool but I find Gnome easier to use, As for LXDE and XFCE, I use it on my older computer as they are lightweight DE. Not much different between them.
scorps
post Sep 16 2010, 11:28 AM

9,572 posts

so how about GNOME v3 ?
powerwoot
post Sep 16 2010, 12:56 PM

讨厌的 ubuntu
2,930 posts

QUOTE(scorps @ Sep 16 2010, 11:28 AM)
so how about GNOME v3  ?
final release supposed to be out at the end of this year but tangguh ke tengah tahun depan, current gnome 3 is for preview only.

Added on September 17, 2010, 11:24 amThose who is with gnome now, Faenza icons set is really cun. As su, run the /INSTALL, we'll have the iconset extracted to usr/share/icon rclxms.gif

The iconsets can be download from here.

This post has been edited by powerwoot: Sep 17 2010, 11:24 AM
kaibathelegacy
post Sep 17 2010, 10:36 PM

178 posts

Faenza available as ppa as well

CODE

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:tiheum/equinox
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install faenza-icon-theme

G-17
post Sep 19 2010, 04:07 AM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

Not really a fan of full DE's like Gnome or KDE. Only DE that I can (somewhat) live with is Xfce (real Xfce, btw... not Xubuntu Xfce).

I personally prefer standalone Window Managers (WM). If I really wanted a GUI heavy, 'bling-bling' desktop, I'd probably run Compiz standalone instead of Gnome or KDE, but 'bling' isn't really my thing, tbh.

My favourite WM is Openbox (the only truly dynamic WM), but I also like some of the tiling WM's like ScrotWM, Musca, wmii and Xmonad, since many of the apps I run are ncurses based.

This post has been edited by G-17: Sep 19 2010, 04:07 AM
dinnor
post Sep 19 2010, 11:30 AM

198 posts

I'm using LXDE, for what reason? it's simple , clean, and lightweight laugh.gif

Added on September 19, 2010, 12:08 pmhi if use open box as manager, so we no need to use mouse?
just depends on typing coding ?

This post has been edited by dinnor: Sep 19 2010, 12:08 PM
axxer
post Sep 19 2010, 01:14 PM

Banned
Validating
1,822 posts

QUOTE(dinnor @ Sep 19 2010, 11:30 AM)
I'm using LXDE, for what reason? it's simple , clean, and lightweight  laugh.gif

Added on September 19, 2010, 12:08 pmhi if use open box as manager, so we no need to use mouse?
+1 icon_rolleyes.gif
yup super simple and blazing fast.. hehe
G-17
post Sep 19 2010, 09:31 PM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

QUOTE(dinnor @ Sep 19 2010, 11:30 AM)
I'm using LXDE, for what reason? it's simple , clean, and lightweight  laugh.gif

Not exactly. Openbox is highly modular. You can make it almost 100% keyboard dependent if you want to. It all depends on how you configure the keybindings in your rc.xml Ncurses browsing can be done with the Vimperator add-on for Firefox, and you can also get tiling in Openbox if you install PyTyle (google it). Dmenu is essential for mouse-free use, imho.

By default, Openbox comes with very little, so you'll probably need to use the mouse for basic navigation at first.

At the end of the day, it all depends on how comfortable you are with editing the configs; mainly the rc.xml, autostart.sh (for your startup apps) and your required scripts.

Yo can also use a tiling WM like DWM, Scrotwm, Ratpoison...etc if you want a mouse-free setup.

Some useful links for you:
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Openbox
http://urukrama.wordpress.com/openbox-guide/ (a bit old, but still useful if you're new to Openbox)
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Dwm
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Musca
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ratpoison

As for LXDE, I never really got the point of it all. Probably easier for newbies, but it's defaults feel nowhere near as efficient as a pure Openbox setup that you've configured yourself, imho. PCmanFM handling wallpaper by default makes things feel messy, LX-terminal doesn't hold a candle to Urxvt, aTerm or Xfce4-terminal, and the LXPanel is just plain hideous (though that's just a subjectie opinion based on personal taste).

This post has been edited by G-17: Sep 19 2010, 09:34 PM
jem1004
post Sep 20 2010, 12:00 AM

43 posts

I like openbox because of it's simplicity.
Use it along with tint2 panel.
FlameReaper
post Sep 25 2010, 03:21 PM

560 posts

Just wondering if we should open a Desktop Screenshot show-off thread here?

I'm thinking to do it, but just wondering la.

Opening a thread so all of us can dump screenshots of our Linux desktop we are so proud of tongue.gif

how about it? brows.gif
failed.hashcheck
post Sep 25 2010, 08:00 PM

Neighborhood plant pathologist
2,090 posts

I prefer gnome, but recently encounter hell lot of problem with sound that I dont have time to deal with.
solution - use KDE.
G-17
post Sep 26 2010, 01:56 AM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

QUOTE(FlameReaper @ Sep 25 2010, 03:21 PM)
Just wondering if we should open a Desktop Screenshot show-off thread here?

I'm thinking to do it, but just wondering la.

Opening a thread so all of us can dump screenshots of our Linux desktop we are so proud of tongue.gif

how about it? brows.gif
There's already a desktop screenshot thread. I've been dumping screenies of my Linux desks over there for a few months already.
The Windows-rainmeter crowd are probably annoyed with me by now. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by G-17: Sep 26 2010, 01:57 AM
powerwoot
post Sep 26 2010, 07:06 AM

讨厌的 ubuntu
2,930 posts

QUOTE(failed.hashcheck @ Sep 25 2010, 08:00 PM)
I prefer gnome, but recently encounter hell lot of problem with sound that I dont have time to deal with.
solution - use KDE.
In contrary, I prefer Gnome more in opensuse 11.3. Tried KDE, but Gnome aura is more appealing, don't know why. KDE just too fast, let most of the bugs to be iron out first. Moreover I want to try myself Gnome Shell (Gnome 3 preview), really hope the final release of opensuse 11.4 can catch up with Gnome 3 which will be about the same time to be release, atau sekurang2nya repos untuk update dah ada. About audio in Gnome, never encounter any problem with me, be it pulseaudio, alsa or any others.

Added on September 26, 2010, 7:09 am
QUOTE(G-17 @ Sep 26 2010, 01:56 AM)
There's already a desktop screenshot thread. I've been dumping screenies of my Linux desks over there for a few months already.
Me too posted it once from my KDE desktop, ledem see that linux desktop also can give a challenge thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by powerwoot: Sep 26 2010, 07:09 AM
failed.hashcheck
post Sep 26 2010, 02:27 PM

Neighborhood plant pathologist
2,090 posts

QUOTE(powerwoot @ Sep 26 2010, 07:06 AM)
In contrary, I prefer Gnome more in opensuse 11.3. Tried KDE, but Gnome aura is more appealing, don't know why. KDE just too fast, let most of the bugs to be iron out first. Moreover I want to try myself Gnome Shell (Gnome 3 preview), really hope the final release of opensuse 11.4 can catch up with Gnome 3 which will be about the same time to be release, atau sekurang2nya repos untuk update dah ada. About audio in Gnome, never encounter any problem with me, be it pulseaudio, alsa or any others.
maybe pulseaudio problem fixed on 11.3
last time i use gnome on 11.2 every audio slider(whether on taskbar, audio player, video player, control panel etc) act as master audio control. and to make it worse, the master slider on control panel works one direction like flow control valve, keep leveling up the volume but never turn it down, then suddenly turned to max and all other sort of unimaginable quirks. rclxub.gif

maybe I'll try to use gnome again on 11.4(heh, they say next release will include latest gnome so there will be lots of ohh... and ahhs.. on it biggrin.gif )

This post has been edited by failed.hashcheck: Sep 26 2010, 02:31 PM
FlameReaper
post Sep 26 2010, 02:32 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(G-17 @ Sep 26 2010, 12:56 AM)
QUOTE(powerwoot @ Sep 26 2010, 06:06 AM)

Added on September 26, 2010, 7:09 am

Me too posted it once from my KDE desktop, ledem see that linux desktop also can give a challenge  thumbup.gif
Ah, thanks. Probably I'll try looking for that thread. Have been dwelling in subforums too much all this while, have to lurk moar sad.gif

EDIT: Oh, it's a subforum. Didn't realize it, always masuk forum not from the front page, terus masuk subforums sweat.gif

... Hey, G-17... I think I've seen your screenshot somewhere before... Ubuntu Forums?

This post has been edited by FlameReaper: Sep 26 2010, 02:42 PM
G-17
post Sep 26 2010, 05:18 PM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

QUOTE(FlameReaper @ Sep 26 2010, 02:32 PM)
... Hey, G-17... I think I've seen your screenshot somewhere before... Ubuntu Forums?

Yes, probably UB forums (which is strange, considering I haven't used Ubuntu in a long while). Also post frequently in the CrunchBang forums, sometimes in Arch, BSD and Gentoo forums as well (but my screenshots there are different ones... I like leading multiple online lives tongue.gif).

Nice Gnome Shell screenie, btw.

This post has been edited by G-17: Sep 26 2010, 05:23 PM
ManagerLeague Malaysia
post Oct 4 2010, 05:47 PM

32 posts

openbox .. period
powerwoot
post Oct 29 2010, 08:24 AM

讨厌的 ubuntu
2,930 posts

Just upgraded my KDE 4.4.4 into the latest stable 4.5.2. I can feel the speed, and some changes been made due to mass bug fixes by KDE developers. Those who are using opensuse 11.3 and KDE as de, the howto can be read from http://anl4u.com/?p=950 thumbup.gif
gengstapo
post Oct 29 2010, 08:37 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

I prefer Gnome, for me its more nice compared to KDE.. tongue.gif
powerwoot
post Oct 29 2010, 09:06 AM

讨厌的 ubuntu
2,930 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Oct 29 2010, 08:37 AM)
I prefer Gnome, for me its more nice compared to KDE.. tongue.gif
Most of the while I am with gnome as I am too lazy to mess with KDE especially these 4.x, previously I used to 3.x Just to play with something new, me ended my gnome last night and replaced it with KDE and do the upgrade soon after that. Hundred of new packages to upgrade and it took about 450mb size of downloading.
gengstapo
post Oct 29 2010, 09:22 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

What so cool bout KDE? I try google some screenie but I dont find any which is nicer than Gnome.. tongue.gif
Instant_noodle
post Oct 29 2010, 10:08 AM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Oct 29 2010, 09:22 AM)
What so cool bout KDE? I try google some screenie but I dont find any which is nicer than Gnome.. tongue.gif

personal preferences?? like how i always got myself annoyed with the foot... oh, the foot... why the put a foot as an icon?? why cannot be a palm? or at least a coolface would be nice

@powerwoot,
i got sets of questions to ask before virtually 'destroying' the current installation by upgrading from stable to current (pending task, need to wait until i'm free, not feeling lazy and not on some destructive manner...)

how fast is fast? smooth even with pre-dualcode notebook? how's the responsiveness??
powerwoot
post Oct 29 2010, 10:22 AM

讨厌的 ubuntu
2,930 posts

QUOTE(Instant_noodle @ Oct 29 2010, 10:08 AM)
personal preferences?? like how i always got myself annoyed with the foot... oh, the foot... why the put a foot as an icon?? why cannot be a palm? or at least a coolface would be nice

@powerwoot,
i got sets of questions to ask before virtually 'destroying' the current installation by upgrading from stable to current (pending task, need to wait until i'm free, not feeling lazy and not on some destructive manner...)

how fast is fast? smooth even with pre-dualcode notebook? how's the responsiveness??
How fast is fast, likely I can't tell the exact fast it is but for sure I feel the smoothness of booting the splash, clicking the apps icon quite responsive (no longer bouncing the balls) as well the dolphin. Currently I using it for my desktop, core 2 duo with 64bit version. For your info, I did the fresh install and from 4.4.4 do the upgrade to 4.5.2.

Here's the announcement from KDE about 4.5.2

4.5.2 brings a number of improvements:

* KSharedDataCache, the new performance tool has seen scalability and performance improvements.
    * Performance of loading icons has been improved by better use of the new shared data cache.
    * The display of tooltips in Dolphin has been fixed in certain cases where it would display outdated previews.
    * KWin and especially its compositing manager has seen some optimizations and bugfixes for specific filters.
Read more here http://www.kde.org/announcements/announce-4.5.2.php
cocooh
post Oct 29 2010, 12:24 PM

✔ Awesomeness ✔
2,789 posts

O.O Use Kubuntu before , KDE is much more like 7 , which can provide transparency and 100% customizable . But KDE which is Kubuntu is too complicated for me @@ Im still a beginner , better stick with Gnome xD . Looking foward to the new compiz intergrated in Unity testing .

0.0374sec    0.98    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:35 AM