soul2soul
post Feb 24 2012, 09:02 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

"The gods of the Thirty-three rejoice, their leader too,
Praising the Tathagata, and Dhamma's truth,
Seeing new-come devas, fair and glorious
Who've lived the holy life, now well reborn.
Outshining all the rest in fame and splendor,
The mighty Sage's pupils singled out.
Seeing this the Thirty-three rejoice, their leader too,
Praising the Tathagata, and Dhamma's truths."
(DN 18.13)

The divine beings in the heaven reported to the Buddha that the new gods in the heavens outshone others in glory and authority due to their previous holy life as human.
soul2soul
post Feb 24 2012, 01:43 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(hotjake @ Feb 24 2012, 09:30 AM)
u finished reading the tripitaka? motherofgod.jpg

how long did that take you? if it's in english version, which version?
I heard full England translation Pali Text Society costs about RM1000 ++

Maybe I would get one. hmm.gif
soul2soul
post Mar 24 2012, 08:46 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

hi everyone. Long time no post here already. How's everything? Hope you all well and happy.

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Mar 24 2012, 08:46 AM
soul2soul
post Apr 13 2012, 09:18 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

Good morning everyone.

Just to share with you all what the Buddha discovered during the night of his enlightenment.
First watch of the night (6pm -10pm):
The Reminiscence Of Past Births (Pubbe-nivasanussati Nana)

The Buddha recollected and remembered his past births, through many uncountable Aeons
Second watch of the night (10pm - 2am):
The Perception of the Disappearing and Reappearing of Beings (Cutupapata)

The Buddha saw, through his purified divine eye on how beings having passed away from one state, arose in another state according to his karma.

Third watch of the night (2am-6am)
The Comprehension of the Cessation of Corruptions (Asavakkhaya Nana

The Buddha attained the succession maturity of insight into nature of existence, and towards the end he realized the 4 noble truths.

His utterance upon the attainment of Nibbana.

Delivered am I
Rebirth is ended
Fulfilled the Holy Life
Done what was to be done
There is no more of this state again.

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Apr 13 2012, 09:18 AM
soul2soul
post Apr 13 2012, 09:25 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(Alphaproject @ Apr 13 2012, 09:23 AM)
greeting my fellow brothers...
Good morning!

Friday already. I rike.
soul2soul
post Apr 13 2012, 09:38 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(812799 @ Apr 13 2012, 09:29 AM)
i got a problem ...

errmmmm , you know the small tiny yellow box that recites something , battery operating thingy ...

i dunno why and cannot explain , when i hear for quite some time , my heart like not peaceful , it's like very annoying and i cant listen any longer ...

any particular reason ?
Not everyone has same affinity to objects/concepts that will calm his mind. We all have different temperaments, and things that work for some people might not work for other.

Is that the chant they use for dead people one? I remember my late grandmother passed away they got put this thing near her head...
soul2soul
post Apr 13 2012, 09:44 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(812799 @ Apr 13 2012, 09:41 AM)
errrrrr , no idea , but it's like "naaa moooooreeeee oooooo liiiiii"

something like that , i cant take the chant , my heart will feel very disturbed and not at peace at all ... perhaps i cant take it ?
Maybe you are type of person that don't really like noise and prefers quiet environment? If that is the case, you may want to look at other objects to attain calm.

Buddha taught 40 of them sweat.gif sweat.gif

Metta (loving-kindess) is universal. Everyone can do one.

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Apr 13 2012, 09:47 AM
soul2soul
post Apr 13 2012, 04:22 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

Sabbath precepts (uposatha Sila)

1. Panatipata veramanisikkhapadam samadiyami
I undertake to observe well the precept of abstaining from killing any living being

2. Adinnadana veramanisikkhapadam samadiyami
I undertake to observe well the precept of abstaining from stealing others' properties

3. Abrahma-cariya veramanisikkhapada samadiyami
I undertake to observe well the precept of abstaining from the ignoble practice of sexual intercourse

4. Musavada veramanisikkhapadam samadiyami
I undertake to observe well the precept of abstaining from telling lies, slandering, speaking harshly and talking vainly

5. Suramerayamajja-pamadatthana veramanisikkhapadam samadiyami
I undertake to observe well the precept of abstaining from consuming intoxicating drinks and drugs

6. Vikalabhojana veramanisikkhapada samadiyami
I undertake to observe well the precept of abstaining from taking food after midday till dawn then next day

7. Nacca gita vadita visuka dassana malagandha vilepana dharana mandana vibusanatthana veramanisikkhapadam samadiyami
I undertake to observe well the precept of abstaining from playing musical instruments, which are obstacles to the Noble Practice, and also abstaining from wearing flowers, using perfumes and beautifying with any cosmetics

8. Uccasayana mahasayana veramanisikkhapadam samadiyami

I undertake to observe well the precept of abstaining from staying on any high or luxurious seat or bed.

* 9. (for observing Navangasila) yathabalam mettasahagatena cetasa sabbavantam lokam phrittva viharami
I shall permeate all living beings with loving-kindness to the best of my ability.

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Apr 13 2012, 04:28 PM
soul2soul
post Apr 14 2012, 08:29 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(sunshine-kc @ Apr 13 2012, 09:52 PM)
Hi There,

Am a buddhist but did not know that this forum exist in Lowyat. LOL.

Any way, Saddu Saddu saddu to you brother for keeping this forum active and sharing.

Will be visiting Sri lanka next month, any suggestion as to buddhist places places to visit ? Plan to go to Anuradhadura and Polonnaruwa which are recommended by the Sri lanka tourism.

Anu suggestion would be welcome.

Metta

Sunshine
A friend of mine went there, he said it is a very nice place. Tranquil and rustic. He visited the shrine of the relics of the Buddha, not sure where though.

Take pictures and post it here!

soul2soul
post Apr 14 2012, 10:57 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(Koo_Hei @ Apr 14 2012, 10:29 AM)
When Buddha meditate under tree.. "something came interfere" him too..  trying to distract him
Hey, welcome to the thread!

Mara came to disturb our Buddha before the sunset. He wanted to distract the Buddha but he failed when the Buddha recollected his virtues , cultivated over Immeasurable Aeons. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Apr 14 2012, 10:58 AM
soul2soul
post Apr 14 2012, 11:01 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(meistsh_musical @ Apr 14 2012, 10:50 AM)
ok

Added on April 14, 2012, 10:53 amIF 2012 kambing
Our buddhism will save us??
World definitely not ending at Kambing 2012.

Still very very very long to go one...

You go take a cloth, go to a mountain, rub the stone there once in 100 years. The time that one Aeon (world cycle) has passed is when the mountain has been eroded... something like that lar..

But if world ended also, you will reincarnate to the Brahma worlds wat... (provided not so evil and get born to another world system hells lor)

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Apr 14 2012, 11:02 AM
soul2soul
post Apr 14 2012, 11:56 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(BlueBaby @ Apr 14 2012, 11:09 AM)
I was born a christian.Now I'm an Atheist.What kind of Buddhism should i practice?
Well, I would start by asking these questions

1. who is the historical buddha?
2. what did he teach?
3. why are there monks? when did the monks/nuns tradition start?
4. what is the aim of the teaching?
5. how did he practice? what did he do?
6. what is the role of non-monks in buddhism?

Try look for a book - "what buddhist believe" by the late Ven Dhammananda. It's available online. really a good introduction to Buddhism. From there, if you got any questions, you may post here and we will try to answer you if we know.

Or if you feel like asking anything here, anytime - ask. smile.gif

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Apr 14 2012, 12:00 PM
soul2soul
post Apr 14 2012, 12:10 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(-PraV- @ Apr 14 2012, 11:37 AM)
Wassup buddhists! ayam raised a hindjew but have buddhist beliefs.
Also, please keep the "bashing other religions" thing outta here la. later mods nuke your thered
It's ok. People bash us we meditate metta for them. We keep quiet only. Ohm nom nom. tongue.gif
soul2soul
post Apr 14 2012, 12:13 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(BlueBaby @ Apr 14 2012, 11:21 AM)
I wish to make peace and find serenity.To be a good person,an open minded intellectual.I don't suppose there is a god in Buddhism,yes?
As for my knowledge,I leave it to science.
That's a noble quest! I wish you success in your quest!

No creator God in buddhism.

Got divine beings , or rather beings who are more refined in intelligence and beauty than us. Unfortunately, they are also subjected to karma and their lifespan, although very long is also limited. Eventually everyone will succumb to the law of impermanence, and will take reappearance in other places according to karma.

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Apr 14 2012, 12:15 PM
soul2soul
post Apr 14 2012, 12:37 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(BlueBaby @ Apr 14 2012, 12:28 PM)
Thanks man appreciate it.
Do you meditate?
and yes pink floyd is the bomb.I'm what they call a modern day hippie.
I do.

If you are wondering, yes you can meditate too without much foundation in Buddhism but it has to be guided by experienced teachers who could give you at least a bit of theory. Got difference when you hear something outright from a living person , and reading something written on books.

I think buddhist practice is still relevant in the world today. It's chicken soup for the mind.

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Apr 14 2012, 12:50 PM
soul2soul
post Apr 16 2012, 09:35 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

Good morning everyone!

To share with you Buddha's daily routine
Buddha's daily routine

Buddha’s Day Was Divided Into 5 Sessions

1. The Forenoon Session (6a.m. – 12 noon)
Spiritual Assistance to all Beings;
As a rule, He went in search of the Vicious and the Impure; e.g. Anguilimala, and the Wicked Demon Alavaka. The Pure and Virtuous came in search of Him, e.g. Visakha, Anathapindika ‘the generous millionaire’ and Intellectual Sariputta and Moggallana came up to Him for Spiritual Guidance.

2. The Afternoon Session (12 noon – 6 p.m.)
Immediately after Lunch
Buddha takes a seat in the Monastery. Bhikkhus assemble to listen to Dhamma. Some approach Him for suitable objects of meditation, others retire to their cells.
After Discourse, He retires to His Perfumed Chamber to rest.
Attains to the Ecstasy of Great Compassion, surveys the World with His Divine Eye, provides spiritual advice to Bhikkhus, admonishes the erring disciples and retires to His Chamber.

Evening
Lay followers flock to Him to hear the Dhamma. Buddha preaches for one hour. As a rule, Buddha converts others through homely illustrations and parables, appealing more to the intellect than to emotion.
Only on rare occasions as in the case of Anguilimala and Khema did the Buddha resort to His Psychic Powers to effect a change of Heart in His Listeners.

3. The First Watch (6 p.m. – 10 p.m.)
Exclusively reserved for instructions to the Bhikkhus :-
Questions on the intricacies of the Dhamma;
Suitable objects of meditation;
Clarification of doubts.

4. The Middle Watch (10 p.m. – 2 a.m.)
Celestial Beings such as Devas and Brahmas question Him on the intricacies of the Dhamma. Several discourses and answers given to their queries recorded in Samyutta Nikaya.

5. The Last Watch (2.a.m. – 6 a.m.)
The wee hours of the morning comprise of :-

2-3 a.m. – Paces, as a mild form of exercise;
3-4 a.m. – Sleeps mindfully on the right side;
4-5 a.m. – Attains to the Fruit of Arahantship and enjoys Nibbanic Bliss;
5-6 a.m. – Attains the Ecstasy of Great Compassion radiating thoughts of loving kindness towards all Being and surveys the World with His Buddha Eye to see if He could be of service to any.

Note: The divine beings normally came at night to see the Buddha personally because that was when the monks have retired to their quarters and the Buddha was available to answer the devas/brahmas queries. When the divine beings came, the grove will be brightly lit with the radiance of their auras.

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Apr 16 2012, 09:37 AM
soul2soul
post Apr 16 2012, 07:21 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(meistsh_musical @ Apr 15 2012, 12:00 PM)

n sometime i alway think myself why human will die n wonder at hell or heaven or earth??? Why got bad n good person........

back to karma question
i dun really care about karma, my life i takecare myself
fate can change, n i do n try before..

It nice if we can face to face talk about it, it interesting
Everything is impermanent lor. Human body is very fragile. Currently the morals of human not very good so the human form created by their kamma can sustain their lifeforce up to 100 years nia.

But at the height of human morality, our lifespan can increase up to 100,000 years or some say can even go beyond that. But even then, still will die one. All formations are conditioned, that's why so suffering!

Good or evil person all made by ourselves one....

By ourselves evil is done, by ourselves evil is undone. By ourselves we are defiled, by ourselves we are purified! cool.gif
soul2soul
post Apr 17 2012, 09:32 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

Buddha's virtue - recollection.

“Iti pi so Bhagava, (1)Araham, (2)Sammasambuddho, (3)Vijja carana
sampanno, (4)Sugato, (5)Lokavidu, (6)Anuttaro purisadamma sarathi,
(7)Sattha deva-manussanam, (8)Buddho, (9)Bhagava ti.”

“By this (reason), He, the Exalted One is (1)Worthy, (2)Supremely
Enlightened, (3)Endowed with Knowledge and Conduct, (4)Well-gone,
(5)Knower of worlds, (6)Incomparable charioteer of men to be tamed,
(7)Teacher of gods and men, (8)Enlightened and (9)Exalted”.

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Apr 17 2012, 09:44 AM
soul2soul
post May 5 2012, 07:53 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

happy wesak day, may all of us find happiness
soul2soul
post May 5 2012, 11:59 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

Right Understanding

1. The Four Noble Truths (Ariya Sacca)

2. Ten Kinds of Immorality (Akusala Kammapatha)

Killing (Panatipata)
Stealing (Adinnadana)
Sexual Misconduct (Kamesumicchacara)
Lying (Musavada)
Slandering (Pisunavaca)
Harsh Speech (Pharusavaca)
Vain Talk (Samphappalapa)
Covetousness (Abhijjha)
Hatred (Vyapada)
False View (Micchaditthi)

3. Ten Meritorious Deeds (Kusala)

Generosity (Dana)
Morality (Sila)
Meditation (Bhavana)
Reverence (Apacayana)
Services (Veyyavacca)
Transference of merits (Pattidana)
Rejoicing in others' merits (Pattanumodana)
Hearing the doctrine (Dhamma Savanna)
Expounding the doctrine (Dhamma Desana)
Straightening ones' views (Ditthijju-Kamma)

4. The Three Universal Characteristics of Existence (Ti-lakkhana)

All formations are : -
Impermanent / transient (Anicca)
Unsatisfactory nature (Dukkha)
Insubstantial / no permanent entity (Anatta)

5. The Four Stages of Sainthood (Ariya-puggla) and the Ten Fetters (Samyojana)

Stream-Winner (Sotapanna) eradicates

Self-illusion (Sakkayaditthi)
Doubts (Vicikiccha)
Indulgence in wrongful rites and ceremonies (Silabata Paramasa)

Once-Returner (Sakadagami) eradicates

Doubts (Vicikiccha)

and weaken

Sense-desire (Kamaraga)
Hatred (Patigha)

Non-Returner (Anagami) eradicates

Doubts (Vicikiccha)
Sense-desire (Kamaraga)
Hatred (Patigha)

An Arahant eradicates

Doubts (Vicikiccha)
Sense-desire (Kamaraga)
Hatred (Patigha)
Attachment to Rupa Jhanas & Form-sphere (Ruparaga)
Attachment to Arupa Jhanas & Formless-sphere (Aruparaga)
Conceit (Mana)
Restlessness (Uddhacca)
Not-knowingness or Ignorance (Avijja)

6. Dependent Origination (Paticca Samuppada)

This post has been edited by soul2soul: May 5 2012, 12:01 PM

14 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 >Top

0.0965sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:20 AM