QUOTE(kxj5201 @ Sep 10 2017, 01:40 AM)
Take 5 la, minimum if u want to become human / deva next life. No 5 precepts , danger in this life and next
Group LYN Buddhism Retreat - SERIOUS TALK, No trolling please
Sep 10 2017, 03:53 PM
4,308 posts Joined: Aug 2013 |
Sep 10 2017, 04:10 PM
98 posts Joined: Jan 2017 From: Earth? |
Sep 10 2017, 04:16 PM
QUOTE(kxj5201 @ Sep 10 2017, 04:10 PM) 5 precepts not difficult one la. Refrain from killing Refrain from taking what is not given Refrain from sexual misconduct Refrain from wrong speech Refrain from intoxicants Ok right ? The taking of usually begins with salutation to the Buddha. Followed by taking refuges in the Buddha, dhamma and sangha. And the 5 precepts recited. End with aspirations It's usually recited daily Your precepts strong , you are very virtuous. The devas will protect u This post has been edited by Chrono-Trigger: Sep 10 2017, 04:20 PM |
Sep 10 2017, 05:04 PM
Sep 10 2017, 09:43 PM
Sep 13 2017, 01:19 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
6,596 posts Joined: Sep 2010 From: DONT KNOW |
Sep 13 2017, 02:02 PM
654 posts Joined: Nov 2015 |
QUOTE(kxj5201 @ Sep 10 2017, 05:04 PM) Actually you can practice or undertake the precepts without recitations in front of monks which is more of traditions. Just resolve that mentally to undertake the precepts. Practice progress gradually. |
Sep 13 2017, 07:22 PM
QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Sep 10 2017, 09:43 PM) Traditionally, the laity request the precepts from the Monk and the recite the 5 precepts in Pali language. QUOTE(putra23 @ Sep 13 2017, 02:02 PM) Actually you can practice or undertake the precepts without recitations in front of monks which is more of traditions. Just resolve that mentally to undertake the precepts. Practice progress gradually. oh i see... many thanks.. |
Sep 14 2017, 08:03 AM
QUOTE(kxj5201 @ Sep 13 2017, 07:22 PM) Welcome.246-247:He who destroys life, tells lies, takes what is not given him, commits adultery and takes intoxicating drinks, digs up his own roots even in this very life 248: Know this, O man! Not restraining oneself is evil; do not let greed and ill will subject you to prolonged misery. (Dhp. 246-8) This post has been edited by Chrono-Trigger: Sep 14 2017, 08:08 AM |
Sep 14 2017, 08:13 AM
Cause of reappearance in the Realm of the Hungry Shades
"Then there is the case where a certain person takes life, takes what is not given, engages in sensual misconduct, engages in false speech, engages in divisive speech, engages in abusive speech, engages in idle chatter, is covetous, bears ill will, and has wrong views. With the break-up of the body, after death, he reappears in the realms of the hungry shades. He lives there, he remains there, by means of whatever is the food of hungry shades. He lives there, he remains that, by means of whatever his friends or relatives give in dedication to him. This is the possible place for that gift to accrue to one staying there." - Janussonin Sutta, AN 10.177 This post has been edited by Chrono-Trigger: Sep 14 2017, 08:16 AM |
Sep 15 2017, 10:03 AM
Ok something more cheerful today, shall we?
Reappearance in Heavens (deva states) "Then there is the case where a certain person refrains from taking life, refrains from taking what is not given, refrains from sensual misconduct, refrains from false speech, refrains from divisive speech, refrains from abusive speech, refrains from idle chatter, is not covetous, bears no ill will, and and has right views. And he gives food, drink, cloth, vehicles, garlands, scents, creams, bed, lodging, & lamps to brahmans & contemplatives. With the break-up of the body, after death, he reappears in the company of devas. There he experiences the five strings of divine sensuality [delightful sights, sounds, smells, tastes, tactile sensations]. It's because he refrained from taking what is not given... and had right views that he reappears in the company of devas. And it's because he gave food, drink, cloth, vehicles, garlands, scents, creams, bed, lodging, & lamps to brahmans & contemplatives that he experiences the five strings of divine sensuality. But at any rate, brahman, the donor does not go without reward." Janussonin Sutta, AN 10.177 This post has been edited by Chrono-Trigger: Sep 15 2017, 11:52 AM |
Sep 15 2017, 01:58 PM
Payasi Sutta (Debate with a Sceptic) DN: 23
6. ‘Whatever you may say about that, Reverend Kassapa, I still think there is no other world...’ ′Have you any reasons for this assertion, Prince?’ [320] ‘I have, Reverend Kassapa.’ ′How is that, Prince?’ ‘Reverend Kassapa, I have friends, colleagues and blood-relations who take life, take what is not given, commit sexual offences, tell lies, use abusive, harsh and frivolous speech, who are greedy, full of hatred and hold wrong views. Eventually they become ill, suffering, diseased. And when I am sure they will not recover, I go to them and say: “There are certain ascetics and Brahmins who declare and believe that those who take life, ... hold wrong views will, after death at the breaking-up of the body, be born in a state of woe, an evil place, a place of punishment, in hell. Now you have done these things, and if what these ascetics and Brahmins say is true, that is where you will go. Now if, after death, you go to a state of woe, ... come to me and declare that there is another world, there are spontaneously born beings, there is fruit and result of good and evil deeds. You, gentlemen, are trustworthy and dependable, and what you have seen shall be as if I had seen it myself, so it will be.” But although they agreed, [321] they neither came to tell me, nor did they send a messenger. That, Reverend Kassapa, is my reason for maintaining: “There is no other world, there are no spontaneously born beings, there is no fruit or result of good or evil deeds.”’ __________ (Prince Payasi told the Monk his doubt about Hell existence and his reasons for it) This post has been edited by Chrono-Trigger: Sep 15 2017, 02:00 PM |
Sep 15 2017, 02:03 PM
Payasi Sutta (Debate with a Sceptic) DN: 23
8. ‘Whatever you may say about that, Reverend Kassapa, I still think there is no other world...’ ′Have you any reason for this assertion, Prince?’ ‘I have, Reverend Kassapa.’ ‘What is that, Prince?’ ‘Reverend Kassapa, I have friends ... who abstain from taking life, from taking what is not given, from committing sexual [323] offences, from telling lies or using abusive, harsh and frivolous speech, who are not greedy or full of hatred and who have right views. 714 Eventually they become ill... and when I am sure they will not recover, I go to them and say: “There are certain ascetics and Brahmins who declare and believe that those who abstain from taking life ... and have right views will, after death at the breaking-up of the body, be born in a happy state, a heavenly world. Now you have refrained from doing these things, and if what these ascetics and Brahmins say is true, that is where you will go. Now if, after death, you go to a happy state, a heavenly world, come to me and declare that there is another world... You, gentlemen, are trustworthy and dependable, and what you have seen shall be as if I had seen it myself, so it will be.” But although they agreed, they neither came to me, nor did they send a messenger. That, Reverend Kassapa, is my reason for maintaining: [324] “There is no other world...′′′ _________________ (Prince payasi continues to cast doubt about existence of Heavens and states his reasons for it) |
Sep 20 2017, 12:16 AM
Sep 22 2017, 12:42 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
笑看人生·苦與悲 粵語 talk is in cantonese .... this nun already past away 2 years ago ...
she is quite famous in hong kong n this video is more like teaching how to apply buddhism in daily life ... how to solve personal problem n how to see thing in different way .... and last part is QnA .... quite interesting video, relaxing n entertaining ... but 2hrs long This post has been edited by will4848: Sep 22 2017, 03:35 PM |
Sep 27 2017, 12:22 AM
Sep 27 2017, 08:40 AM
QUOTE(will4848 @ Sep 27 2017, 12:22 AM) In short, summary of abhidhamma are Ultimate realities 1. Citta (consciousness) 2. Cetasika (mental factors) 3. Rupa (materiality) [ 1 + 2 = The mind ] [ 1 + 2 + 3 = conditioned states] 4. Nibbana (unconditioned state) This post has been edited by Chrono-Trigger: Sep 27 2017, 09:42 AM |
Sep 27 2017, 08:40 PM
QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Sep 27 2017, 08:40 AM) QUOTE(will4848 @ Sep 27 2017, 12:22 AM) In short, summary of abhidhamma are Ultimate realities 1. Citta (consciousness) 2. Cetasika (mental factors) 3. Rupa (materiality) [ 1 + 2 = The mind ] [ 1 + 2 + 3 = conditioned states] 4. Nibbana (unconditioned state) |
Sep 29 2017, 09:08 AM
Sep 30 2017, 01:45 AM
QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Sep 29 2017, 09:08 AM) This is a very deep topic. u also know deep leh From the lectures you posted, what have you understood about it? when we listen to a dharma talk, sometime we understand, sometime we dont n most of the time we dont how to apply in our practice... what have i understood about it is not important cos what i listen is just what i need to listen ... that all... the reason i post the video is bcos i dont see people talk about consciousness in this forum ... most people here like to talk about karma karma karma ... but without knowing the 8th(alaya) consciousness, how can u fully understand karma ?? |
| Change to: | 0.0320sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:07 AM |