Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v6, Share your joy and hopefully no pain :)

tzxsean
post Nov 6 2010, 12:46 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

im going to buy my very 1st mac..which is MBP
any advice for me bout apple online store because im getting 1 from there
tzxsean
post Nov 6 2010, 01:20 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(neekun @ Nov 6 2010, 12:06 PM)
Buying from online is hassle free. Just create an Apple account and start shopping. Once done, wait for delivery smile.gif
already created few weeks back... just waiting for the correct timing. by the way, the 1 day shipping estimation is reliable or not? hmm.gif
tzxsean
post Nov 6 2010, 10:36 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(PearlyLPU @ Nov 6 2010, 09:44 PM)
Hello people. I'm in the market for a laptop to complement my desktop pc at home. I'm still undecided between the MBA 11" or MBP.

To owners of the new MBA, can it handle the playback of 720p videos? icon_question.gif I've read people complaining(???) the 720p youtube video playback as jerky and unsatisfactory on macrumors.

Plus, is the screen on the MBP 13 better than MBA for viewing HD contents? hmm.gif
I would say if you going for 13", it is wiser to get MBP.... if u are finding secondary laptop and mobility...11" is the right one for you
tzxsean
post Nov 7 2010, 02:01 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(myDelirium @ Nov 7 2010, 01:15 AM)
which macbook is student friendly . meaning that it would be affordable but not cheap(low spec) .
state ur budget and we shall voice out our opinion...each ppl has own judgement bout affordability
tzxsean
post Nov 7 2010, 08:29 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

if I wish to pick up my MBP myself...where should I collect ? DHL service point for DHL service centre?
tzxsean
post Nov 10 2010, 04:54 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(afizudin @ Nov 10 2010, 10:03 AM)
i bought my mba using education price.. got discount rm233.. apple not asking me for student proof, but im just prepared for the proof.. and all my key keyboard stay at the place  biggrin.gif
eh? rm233? i tot is RM200? which spec and model of MBA you purchased?
tzxsean
post Nov 10 2010, 08:06 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(baoz @ Nov 10 2010, 07:32 PM)
Well as long as you're a student you shouldn't have to worry about providing proof...

Surprised that Apple didn't ask for identification for this discount. Maybe they'd think everyone would provide fake student ID?
well...I'm student...taking ACCA..Sentral Technology College doesnt provide student ID..all I got is ACCA ID card... Is tat valid?
tzxsean
post Nov 11 2010, 12:57 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Nov 11 2010, 12:34 AM)
hmmm..

Do you think i should go for Macbook? instead of Macbook pro

Intel GMA? which year Mac using this?

2GB DDR3 memory - is 2GB good enuff?

NVIDIA GeForce 320M graphics / NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M with 256 MB - Is the graphics nice? what is the 256MB?

64GB flash storage1 - What is this?

Sorry for being such noob  sweat.gif
education store...MBP: 3899--->3599
MBW: 3299--->3099...
add 500...u got higher ram...backlit keyboard... and etc...
tzxsean
post Nov 11 2010, 11:31 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(winnie_love @ Nov 11 2010, 11:20 AM)
haiz.. went to the apple store for many times d.. just like the MBA, but can't afford the price lar~ ><"
education store discount RM200 on every MBA model
tzxsean
post Nov 11 2010, 11:50 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(winnie_love @ Nov 11 2010, 11:40 AM)
wah.. so nice!~. but, is it accept credit card, or any conditions for that?  smile.gif
credit card..debit card oso can..as long as u enable the on9 payment thing..and it's eligible for students... they rarely ask u 2 show ur proof as student thou as pointed out by other forumers
tzxsean
post Nov 23 2010, 11:37 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

with the days to next refresh for MBP is nearer..i doubt i should buy it now...moreover new processor going to be used next year. Rumor had it said that it will be refreshed on feb 2011....dilemma...
tzxsean
post Nov 23 2010, 02:40 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(AzrinRain @ Nov 23 2010, 02:26 PM)
@tzxsean
i doubt february. april is a more likely date.
if it's Q2 rather than Q1...I dont c why I shall not buy it now
but if it's Q1..then I buy now...I will make a loss anyhow
as in reduction of current model price due to EOL or same price but better specs MBP 13"
tzxsean
post Nov 23 2010, 06:43 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Jing-leBelle @ Nov 23 2010, 05:39 PM)
Are you urge to get the MBP now? If there's  not that rush to get, better wait for a while =p Just my two cents
not really very urging... will wait if it's within Q1

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Nov 23 2010, 05:51 PM)
just get MBA ... it just launched....
my budget for the MBA is only the entry level model
and lets say I got 800 from other source
I need to fork out 2300 for basic MBA and 2800 basic MBP
of course MBA wont get refresh so soon
but MBP will be definitely updated next year

kinda worry MBA cant satisfy my needs

im going to make it my primary laptop

This post has been edited by tzxsean: Nov 23 2010, 07:54 PM
tzxsean
post Nov 23 2010, 09:12 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Nov 23 2010, 09:04 PM)
but no one will know if it's within Q1 or not sad.gif

imagine, u wait until 29th april no update. 30th april u go buy the current MBP. 1st may they announce new model tongue.gif

i'd say if u're satisfied with the performance of the current model, juz get it.
actually im more tempted to buy Air... tongue.gif
considering 500 savings can be used to get magic mouse and other accessories
and will still left with some amount

bt entry level MBA ..I wonder it has the capability for me to use for long term and main laptop...
if Air I can buy now actually...no need to wait

This post has been edited by tzxsean: Nov 23 2010, 09:34 PM
tzxsean
post Nov 23 2010, 10:03 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

Apple Black Friday Teaser - Source
only available in Online Store US only? sad.gif
or is it worldwide?

This post has been edited by tzxsean: Nov 23 2010, 10:16 PM
tzxsean
post Nov 24 2010, 08:50 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

Is it? Theprevious 1 offered Usd100 discount on mbp..

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0235sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:27 PM