Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v6, Share your joy and hopefully no pain :)

wiraone
post Dec 10 2010, 01:03 PM

Who cares about all the stars?
3,892 posts

SSD on Mac OS X ..!!

http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/apple/201...e-trim-in-osx/1

"It's very, very curious and absolutely not what we expected. While we know SSD performance is affected by the OS - after all, you need Windows 7 for TRIM support - but for OS X not to suffer from performance degradation when it's using an SSD seeming stunning to the point of being difficult to believe. "

wiraone
post Dec 17 2010, 06:24 PM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(chelsh @ Dec 17 2010, 08:59 AM)
if i upgrade MBA to 4gb ram, will it last me for at least 3 to 4 years? smile.gif
as i will have a 2-year-old dell studio 15 to accompany the new macbook biggrin.gif
I've an old MBP, 4 years old .. 2.16 GHz with 3 GB RAM.. and I believe my MBP can last for another 2-3 years down the road smile.gif
wiraone
post Dec 23 2010, 08:27 PM

3,892 posts

I've never trust any anti-virus on Mac .. none that work and none is needed. Probably its a third party advert .. get yourself an adsblock for safari or any of your favourite browsers and forget about those silly ads ..
wiraone
post Dec 27 2010, 07:11 PM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(zXJaMeSXz @ Dec 27 2010, 07:04 PM)
Hmm.... I bought it from Hikari... I guess I'll have to shipped it back to her...
Not sure if I still have the receipt...
What did you bought from her? The HD or the notebook? If it is still under warranty, might as well just go ahead asking them to fix it.. if it is HD problem, it is faster if you brought you own HD, ask them to swap it.. just like what I did.. bad thing about Apple support centres here .. they don't stock up anything .. so everything will take a week to get resolved. vmad.gif
wiraone
post Dec 27 2010, 07:41 PM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(zXJaMeSXz @ Dec 27 2010, 07:34 PM)
I bought the Hard Disk from her.... Might have to go to a Seagate center to get it fixed...
I just swap one of my old HDD from my old macbook... Aikz, stupid momentus XT spoiled for no reason....
I hate Seagate, the one that failed on my 8 months old MBP was Seagate Momentus (not the XT) .. Apple replaced it with Hitachi now.
wiraone
post Dec 28 2010, 08:38 AM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(shanecross @ Dec 28 2010, 08:20 AM)
Abit off topic guys, but is anyone anticipating the new MBP 2011 sometime around February? Or is it just me finding another reason to get another mac machine to compliment my MBW?
Earliest will be I believe in April ..
wiraone
post Dec 30 2010, 07:16 AM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Dec 30 2010, 02:41 AM)
hey, my friend bought a macbook pro 13" in US. can the adapter be used in malaysia?? coz the voltage of house plug in US and Malaysia different (110V in US while 240V in Malaysia). he told he that he feel some electric shock when he use it in Malaysia so he decided not to use it anymore. before spending money to get a Malaysia adapter, just want to ask whether or not US adapter is safe to use in Malaysia or not despite the different in voltage
Yes you can use the adapter (check the range of voltage printed on the adapter) but you need to change the 2-pin to 3-pin at the head (which is replaceable), I guess US adapter comes with this as an extension. But wait, that'll be no point since I believe the earthing is not connected to anything and the 'shock' or tingling is due to that.

Check this knowledgebase and see if this resolve the problem (go to the two-three-prongs part):

http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1713?viewlocale=en_US
wiraone
post Jan 9 2011, 05:13 PM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(BlueBerry~ @ Jan 9 2011, 03:45 PM)
Thinking of getting a laptop elevator for my MacBook Pro. Anyone using one? Recommendation?
Elevator? You mean riser? I'm using those chepo notebook cooler, got it free when my sister bought a notebook during pcfair years ago. Can't recommend any, but you could buy any of those coolers .. or just riser (Logitech has few nice one..)
wiraone
post Jan 30 2011, 05:07 PM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(d_lai_309 @ Jan 29 2011, 05:41 PM)
waiting for my HDD to be replaced for my Macbook Pro mid 2010....
been waiting for 2weeks, apple HQ just say the parts stuck in custom, why they not even got any HDD in stock????
You haven't come across my posting before I guess on the same exact model with failed HD.. anyway, if you've extra dough, just got yourself the Hitachi drive and replace the low grade Seagate HD that they put into the MBP mid2010 release. You can ask the service centre to do this for you while waiting for the new HD to arrive .. and when it arrives, just shove it into an external casing and make it as your time machine backup smile.gif BTW, Apple gave me Hitachi HD as a replacement .. so, I guess they know the problem with the Seagate batch.
wiraone
post Jan 31 2011, 07:09 PM

3,892 posts

It took them a week to wait for my HD replacement from Singapore + raya haji holidays for additional few days. So if you can't wait, buy yourself a Hitachi 7200rpm and ask them to put them in first. This will not void any warranty, took them just 15 minutes to put my new HD and when they got my replacement, they called me to pick it up.

But, if you can live with booting from external drive via USB while waiting for the replacement, I guess that should be okay. The only thing I hate about owning Apple products is, whatever fault diagnosed, it will take at least 5 working days to get the fault resolved .. grrr...

This post has been edited by wiraone: Jan 31 2011, 07:16 PM
wiraone
post Feb 12 2011, 03:28 PM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Feb 12 2011, 04:45 AM)
Now DHL takes over and we'll see if DHL really stands for "Dua Hari Lambat" :-)
From my previous experience with Apple/DHL, the acronym DHL still stands as Dua Hari Lambat..! smile.gif And no, they don't do Saturday delivery..
wiraone
post Feb 14 2011, 06:44 PM

3,892 posts

1st March? Ouch.. haven't accumulate enough dough to get one.. will see if my plastic card is enough to cover it ...
wiraone
post Feb 15 2011, 09:56 AM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Feb 15 2011, 04:38 AM)
do u need credit card for ebay, dont u
majority will accept paypal .. and you can use your debit card to link to your paypal account.

wiraone
post Feb 15 2011, 10:30 AM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(borneosailor @ Feb 15 2011, 10:03 AM)
if i have only ringgit in my paypal, i can purchase items sold in foreign currency??
Yes .. paypal will do a currency conversion and charge you based on RM.

Added on February 15, 2011, 10:40 ammore info on paypal here:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/404548

This post has been edited by wiraone: Feb 15 2011, 10:40 AM
wiraone
post Feb 15 2011, 12:47 PM

3,892 posts

Did you guys read this?

http://www.tuaw.com/2011/02/14/apple-worki...-could-be-free/

I'll wait for it .. smile.gif The find my mobile part is now free..
wiraone
post Feb 15 2011, 06:56 PM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Feb 15 2011, 03:46 PM)
i tried it with my iPhone 3GS running on 4.2.1, cannot. So its for those new device. iPod Touch 4 and also iPhone 4. Those running 4.1 can get the service by subscribing to MobileMe biggrin.gif
What I did last time was .. use my wife's iphone4 to register my mobile.me account .. and then, use the account on my 3GS .. works perfectly smile.gif Ouch.. way too far, we're discussing iphone & mobile.me here now smile.gif
wiraone
post Feb 16 2011, 12:33 PM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(gzavincent @ Feb 16 2011, 08:33 AM)
How to clean it???
Use a contact cleaner.. sprayable, can be found at local hardware shop or Ace Hardware. Don't spray it direct to the contact point though, probably use a cloth, spray the contact cleaner to the cloth and rub it over the contact on the macbook side. Do the same on the charger side too..

0.0440sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:29 PM