Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v6, Share your joy and hopefully no pain :)

akaneikegami
post Nov 30 2010, 05:48 PM

cookie munching monsta
1,049 posts

QUOTE(afizudin @ Nov 30 2010, 05:30 PM)
im not student biggrin.gif  tongue.gif
before i buy, i plan to use my sister student id if apple ask me.. btw, i try to find apple support email but cant found. i plan to forwad my invoice and my credit card bill to apple..
got. apple got email. i also buy from apple online store from singapore hehe. maybe you can call them...i saw this number on the page: 1800-80-6419.
akaneikegami
post Dec 1 2010, 05:07 PM

cookie munching monsta
1,049 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Dec 1 2010, 03:04 PM)
yay ! Now every (Malaysian) can buy iPad (officially) !
not to say what la but I would rather stick with mb. ipad...like not shiok la. imho, it's like the larger version of ipod only....
akaneikegami
post Dec 1 2010, 11:32 PM

cookie munching monsta
1,049 posts

QUOTE(JusticeDeserves @ Dec 1 2010, 05:10 PM)
Just purchased the Macbook Air 13" on the Apple Store. I got the mouse and super drive too. Hopefully the money was worth it.
Add: BTW, I ordered already but I haven't received the confirmation email yet. Any idea why? And I selected to pre-install iWork. How do I go about re-installing it later?
wait for a day or two. I got mine on that night I bought my MPB. Did Apple sent you any emails? I remember receiving a lot of emails from them LOL about shipping confirmation and blah blah blah blah.
akaneikegami
post Dec 2 2010, 10:59 PM

cookie munching monsta
1,049 posts

QUOTE(HW-Racer @ Dec 2 2010, 10:51 PM)
really don't know why,,,my macbook air 11" still having problem connecting to the internet..via home wireless adsl modem...

and today i tried to open iPhoto...but can't open...cause need to update the software first before can open... *#@%* !!!
if no internet connection, can use iphoto ???
should be possible. iphoto doesn't require internet connection as far as I know. And the wifi thing, mine connect perfectly. Maybe some config with your modem? Did you set it to enable sharing?
akaneikegami
post Dec 3 2010, 10:52 AM

cookie munching monsta
1,049 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Dec 3 2010, 09:46 AM)
"gay" means two things:

1. "homosexual"
2. carefree, happy

No idea which one he refers to though smile.gif

One thing need to be done on wifi problem, first .. turn off any security, test it .. if this is okay, try using WEP, if this okay .. then try WPA/2 .. BTW, what kind of router are you using dinraxxx?
i think his meaning is the wifi not working properly? sweat.gif
akaneikegami
post Dec 7 2010, 07:12 PM

cookie munching monsta
1,049 posts

i downloaded an item(in rar) which are divided into a few parts. how to unrar it? I tried but it unrar that part only and didn't combine with the other parts. should i use another software?
akaneikegami
post Dec 17 2010, 11:04 AM

cookie munching monsta
1,049 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Dec 17 2010, 10:15 AM)
I have been a MAC user for the last 5 years. LAG issue seriously only occur in Windows O/S - that's why you can see there are at least up to 20 types of software ( free, shareware and paid ) just for you to clean up/defragmentise your hard drive to improve hard drive performance. There are too such software for Mac but is not so commonly used. Infact I never used such software, I leave it to the O/S itself to do it. Some users prefer to use such software - it is one's choice. But on Windows you definately need. Also Windows OS " attracts" viruz attacks/infections which will affect the O/S stabilioty-performance. Virus infections are rare on Macs and "touch wood" never faced such in my last 5 years since using the Mac

Apple upgrades their Macs at least once a year ( minor ) and major ( about 2 years) unlike Windows Notebooks you see the makers changing their models every 2 to 3 months !!!

Having used the Windows platform for the past 20 years ( since 1985 ) , I must say using the MAC was a completely new refreshing experience. I am so impressed by the Mac I always promote users to change and always say " Once you use a Mac , you will never want to use a Windows OS machine anymore"
Ten points! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif You're right. I have been using Mac for a few months now and I am very satisfied with the performance, speed and design.
akaneikegami
post Dec 19 2010, 01:44 AM

cookie munching monsta
1,049 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Dec 17 2010, 01:37 PM)
guys recently i made an order @ store.apple.com/my
where can i keep track the delivery process?
they will email the tracking number to you. I think they are using DHL.
akaneikegami
post Dec 23 2010, 06:54 PM

cookie munching monsta
1,049 posts

I was trying to access http://www.twistermc.com/1960/mac-twitter-clients/ when it told me that my Apple Macbook has virus. OMG. Is it true or is it just an advertisement? I put my trust on twistermc because it's a pretty popular website. I am getting all freaked out because the only antivirus I have is Sophos and it detected no virus. What do you think?
akaneikegami
post Dec 24 2010, 11:31 AM

cookie munching monsta
1,049 posts

QUOTE(sepulse @ Dec 24 2010, 11:23 AM)
i`m in. bought this 1 month ago. quite happy with it.  biggrin.gif

awesome! how did you changed the appearance of your dock items? They seem to be different from mine. Hmmmm....
akaneikegami
post Dec 30 2010, 01:07 AM

cookie munching monsta
1,049 posts

i have a little problem here. i am using mozilla firefox in my mbp. when i load a certain site with like...ten or more images, the site stopped loading(it loads until halfway then stop loading already and the pictures did not come out). Then, when I try to download something that ends with a .dmg and .zip and .rar(all direct links), the same thing happened. It loads halfway then the download dialogue didn't come out at all. What's the problem and how can I fix this?
akaneikegami
post Dec 30 2010, 03:32 PM

cookie munching monsta
1,049 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Dec 30 2010, 02:36 PM)
Does the problem occur in other browsers?
Yes, I have tried Chrome and Safari. Same prob.
akaneikegami
post Dec 31 2010, 10:12 AM

cookie munching monsta
1,049 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Dec 30 2010, 09:03 PM)
Have you ruled out the your Internet connection? Tried other computers?
QUOTE(benny888 @ Dec 30 2010, 09:39 PM)
strange issue ; give an example of the site you visit
i have never experienced such issues using the mac for past 5 years - my browsers safari, firefox and chrome. are you using download programs and if so, what programs
I think I have sorta' figured out what's the problem. It seems like it's the firewall. I turned off my Belkin's firewall then everything's back to normal. The pictures start loading smoothly. But, I don't want to leave my firewall off as well. Is there a config/ setting I should set?
akaneikegami
post Jan 2 2011, 05:32 PM

cookie munching monsta
1,049 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Dec 31 2010, 09:29 PM)
I don't use a Belkin but a firewall shouldn't have this effect. Is this a new problem? Did you just get the Belkin? Was it working before?

One option is to keep the Belkin's firewall off and turn on the OSX firewall on your individual Macs. Honestly we don't even know what protection the Belkin's firewall actually affords you.

Added on December 31, 2010, 9:30 pm
What Mac is this? I've been using my Magic Mouse with a MBP for about 2 months now. So far no disconnection problems.

Have you tried to re-do the bluetooth pairing?
before i start using my Macbook, the problem exist but not that frequent. When I started using WiFi with my Macbook, it becomes worse. So, I followed your advice and turn on my Mac's firewall. Turning off the modem's firewall...will it really made the hacking easier? My computer and laptops...they won't be infected with virus or something right? Thanks btw.
akaneikegami
post Jan 19 2011, 02:25 PM

cookie munching monsta
1,049 posts

QUOTE(sumtuckieeeee @ Jan 19 2011, 12:56 PM)
I have a problem in connecting to the internet. The place I'm staying now has 3 connections. The thing is I can only connect to only 1 of the connections out of the 3. The other 2 it's written connected at the air port but whenever I open safari, it's written that I'm not connected to the internet. It's not the internet problem cause my gf can connect to the other 2 connections. Can anyone help me on this? I used to save all the connections but I tried removing it and to reconnect but it's still the same.
all 3 connections are using WiFi? maybe can try go outside shops which got WiFi like Starbucks and see whether can connect or not. Other browsers ler?
akaneikegami
post Jan 19 2011, 02:57 PM

cookie munching monsta
1,049 posts

QUOTE(sumtuckieeeee @ Jan 19 2011, 02:34 PM)
Yup, all 3 using wifi but only 1 can be used. Tried wifi in starbucks and mcd as well, all working.
other browsers? maybe try downloading mozilla or chrome, see whether it can be connected.
akaneikegami
post Jan 20 2011, 11:27 AM

cookie munching monsta
1,049 posts

yes. My MSN sometimes cannot sign in at first try also. But wait for a few min, then can already.
akaneikegami
post Jan 20 2011, 12:50 PM

cookie munching monsta
1,049 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jan 20 2011, 12:48 PM)
ppl still use MSN? ;p i abandoned it when i switched to mac in 2006. clients are very unstable...those that are stable, had ugly interface lol
Microsoft Messenger Version 8.0 ok what.
akaneikegami
post Jan 20 2011, 05:58 PM

cookie munching monsta
1,049 posts

QUOTE(gome @ Jan 20 2011, 05:40 PM)
hey guys, i've never thought i'd be posting something in the apple thread (*points to my avatar*), least even visiting it...but here i am.

i'm in a dilemma. i just won a mbp 13. a few months back, i bought an acer 4820tg laptop (14.1"). the acer basically trumps the mbp in everything (specs wise). one thing about this acer is that the palm rest tends to get warm under normal use, and i believe it is the same for mbp 13? i've not the time to try it out yet, but will be doing it soon.

i'd like to have your unbiased opinion on this, but since this is a macbook thread...who am i kidding rite? in any case, the final decision will be mine after trying out the mbp, but i'd appreciate your views (hopefully you can offer me some new perspectives).

thanks! tongue.gif
you won it? I bought it for RM3 500 and you just won it like that? >< So lucky! But seriously, as a Win7 and Mac user, I suggest you to take the MBP and sell the Acer. You will never regret using MBP! It's so much faster, more fun and the apps are fantastic!

This post has been edited by akaneikegami: Jan 20 2011, 05:58 PM
akaneikegami
post Jan 21 2011, 07:57 PM

cookie munching monsta
1,049 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jan 21 2011, 07:54 PM)
eh i dont think any macbook can fry eggs while watching youtube tongue.gif mine doesnt really heat up
yes. I don't think it is that hot la. sometimes, i put on my lap after using ten hours straight also not hot.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.1220sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:10 PM