126 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

Model Kits Gundam & Mecha Modelling Thread v15, Celebrating 30 Years of Plastic Goodness

edwardgsk
post Aug 24 2010, 02:56 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

Damn, i was talking bout PG SF last week, now appear in mag about its debut liao laugh.gif

My sixth sense is awesome!! laugh.gif
TSParody
post Aug 24 2010, 03:22 PM

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Aug 24 2010, 04:29 AM)
All due respect to Katoki, but he is somewhat overrated. Many mecha fans tend to worship him as the best designer ever, but many of his famous designs prior to Unicorn were remakes - Wing EW mechas, RX78 ver Ka... Having said that, the Unicorn mechas were pretty unique although many of the non-major units in the novel were again remakes of Okawara designs from previous UC series.

I agree. Not the best, but he really sure had a lot of mecha (not just Gundams) designs under his belt. The Japanese tend to respect seniority and those with experience, which i think is the case with all the Katoki hype. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Aug 24 2010, 04:29 AM)
Personally I think Izubuchi is a better designer... They look somewhat different from Okawara's original OYW designs, yet they fit seamlessly into the UC universe. Just look at the 0080 and CCA mechas.

Izubuchi? Man, his MG Hi-Nu design got so much criticisms (mainly about proportions). I personally don't find anything wrong with it though. In fact, i quite like it. I have one on display at home and it's gorgeous. wub.gif

QUOTE(zieraq @ Aug 24 2010, 07:45 AM)
screw the mobility & articulation. I want a good looking kit! anything else is secondary bruce.gif

This is what i'd call the Katoki mindset. tongue.gif

QUOTE(LightningZERO @ Aug 24 2010, 10:30 AM)
Hey, anyone knows where I can order Robot Damashii 00 Qan[T] online?

AmiAmi
or HLJ
or Hobby Search

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Aug 24 2010, 12:45 PM)
I will look forward to the dragoon system. Let see how it will look like. But i really hope the mechanism will look like Strike PG even more rather than 00 Raiser PG, cause I really do not see much detail of 00 from outside though. ( But inside definitely is details~~ ).

Then prepare to be disappointed. PG Strike follows the design in Gundam Evolution, that's why it had so much details. PG Strike Freedom, as already seen in the lineart, is similar to the MG version EXCEPT that the legs are longer and fatter and the shoulder armors have a long crack that exposes the inner frames. sweat.gif

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Aug 24 2010, 12:45 PM)
Price wise.. I do not think it will be much expensive than 00 raiser PG cause that PG you are buying both 00 and raiser  whistling.gif . So definitely will be much cheaper or more or less the same.

Then prepare to be surprised on how much the gold plating would push up the price. laugh.gif

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Aug 24 2010, 02:56 PM)
My sixth sense is awesome!! laugh.gif

Almost as good as an octopus named Paul thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Parody: Aug 24 2010, 06:37 PM
Duke Beard
post Aug 24 2010, 03:22 PM

WWE Champion
1,305 posts

Hmmm maybe the reason why katoki name sells is becoz his lineart is epic. seing his lineart is a pleasure to the eyes. I still remember seeing okawara strike freedom which is bulky & out of proportion. the best thing about katoki lineart is it was like looking the actual model itself. how it would like in production. unlike other designer Izibuchi included, the engr of model kit have to do their own interpretation of how the kit should look like. after that some people might piss of claiming the model doesnt look like anyhing of the what lineart showed(the viewer already have their own interpretation & anticipation which contradict what the engr have produce). I think thats what make katoki name sells. His superb lineart rclxms.gif I also love it. as a kid back then I always challenge my friend who can make better robot design tongue.gif

for PG SF I want wing the RD style rclxm9.gif

Got people actually said unicorn is crap & blame katoki for it wink.gif  just think if unicorn dont have the destroy mode or the destroy mode already on no need to transform. that surely wont be as epic. or consider the MG cannot transform, need to buy separately like the HGUC. if anybody can produce a better unicorn surely that guy can call katoki crap. Let's be humble people. He may not as good as how his name sells but calling him crap doesn't make us better than him. last time I rant about Bandai's marketing. this surely is their another marketing stunt. so rant on u'll be a psycho just like me laugh.gif

Unicorn 1 of my favorite kit. screw the mobility & articulation. I want a good looking kit! anything else is secondary bruce.gif
I agree with you on the KA's lineart. I like Beecrafts as well. The plus point of KA kits are the loads of Decals that comes with it as well, lol!

But yeah, KA has his good side and bad, but we shouldn't diss designers just because sometimes they do stuff below expectations. icon_rolleyes.gif

Overall, I like the stuff KA comes out with.

PG Strike? Nah, I prefer to go the MG route.

This post has been edited by Duke Beard: Aug 24 2010, 03:24 PM
TSParody
post Aug 24 2010, 06:41 PM

Here's a clearer shot of the PG SF lineart:

------

And the surprisingly good-looking MG Gouf 2.0 (EXPO limited clear edition) rclxms.gif

kellefe
post Aug 24 2010, 06:53 PM

183 posts

@parody ~

Ush ~~ About the Gouf Expo i was poisoned since it declared release as expo ~ now even more poisoned by it ~ but sadly adi owned the normal version with painted ~ doesnt feel wanna take it ~ but still ~~~ poisoned gao gao ~
gaiachronicler
post Aug 24 2010, 07:31 PM

58 posts

any mg hazel series out there? i dun recall seeing any of them hmm.gif
Kikifish
post Aug 24 2010, 07:55 PM

32 posts

from the lineart i can see that.. PG looks buffed up compare to MG which looks like a model.. lolz.. the "abs" cannon is circular like the anime.. thighs shorter and calves bigger.. and the shoulders look bigger..
xDarkKn1ghtx
post Aug 24 2010, 08:47 PM

322 posts

Well, if that was all the details it has, then i am really disappointed. For a PG line model, I was determined it would live up to its name, being perfect and all tongue.gif . Lets not give up hope yet. We might have not yet seen the full art yet hmm.gif

Added on August 24, 2010, 8:55 pmAnyway, we still need a mold to judge on it right?

This post has been edited by xDarkKn1ghtx: Aug 24 2010, 08:55 PM
StarGhazzer
post Aug 24 2010, 08:56 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

Got people actually said unicorn is crap & blame katoki for it wink.gif  just think if unicorn dont have the destroy mode or the destroy mode already on no need to transform. that surely wont be as epic. or consider the MG cannot transform, need to buy separately like the HGUC. if anybody can produce a better unicorn surely that guy can call katoki crap. Let's be humble people. He may not as good as how his name sells but calling him crap doesn't make us better than him. last time I rant about Bandai's marketing. this surely is their another marketing stunt. so rant on u'll be a psycho just like me laugh.gif
When did I ever say Katoki is crap? I adore his Unicorn and Victory mecha designs if that's not already clear enough. It's just that apart from those two aforementioned series his other designs often trend more towards fantasy/flashy ones rather than utilitarian/militaristic.

QUOTE(Parody @ Aug 24 2010, 03:22 PM)

Izubuchi? Man, his MG Hi-Nu design got so much criticisms (mainly about proportions). I personally don't find anything wrong with it though. In fact, i quite like it. I have one on display at home and it's gorgeous.  wub.gif

Izubuchi's Hi-Nu is the one that many loved.
MG Hi-Nu was a redesign that many complained about.
I personally don't care for either coz I'm more of a Nightingale fan.

QUOTE(gaiachronicler @ Aug 24 2010, 07:31 PM)
any mg hazel series out there? i dun recall seeing any of them hmm.gif
No MG.

HGUC ada.
gaiachronicler
post Aug 24 2010, 09:18 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Aug 24 2010, 08:56 PM)
No MG.

HGUC ada.
it saddens me cry.gif hazel series so nice.... sad.gif
golbeza
post Aug 24 2010, 09:21 PM

58 posts

hahaha, suddenly got argument over Katoki's mecha designs laugh.gif . Man alive, all of the GFFs are based on his designs liao, i rike 'em all. Well, it's all up to different people's interest in liking the design of the mecha smile.gif
xDarkKn1ghtx
post Aug 24 2010, 09:41 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(golbeza @ Aug 24 2010, 09:21 PM)
hahaha, suddenly got argument over Katoki's mecha designs  laugh.gif . Man alive, all of the GFFs are based on his designs liao, i rike 'em all. Well, it's all up to different people's interest in liking the design of the mecha smile.gif
Cuz they din get Okawara to do the designs i guess. I, personally wanna give Katoki a chance. If he messes it up i will swear to not buy any ver.ka in the future
nazrul90
post Aug 24 2010, 09:47 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(Kikifish @ Aug 24 2010, 07:55 PM)
from the lineart i can see that.. PG looks buffed up compare to MG which looks like a model.. lolz.. the "abs" cannon is circular like the anime.. thighs shorter and calves bigger.. and the shoulders look bigger..
QUOTE(golbeza @ Aug 24 2010, 09:21 PM)
hahaha, suddenly got argument over Katoki's mecha designs  laugh.gif . Man alive, all of the GFFs are based on his designs liao, i rike 'em all. Well, it's all up to different people's interest in liking the design of the mecha smile.gif

---------
The RX-78-2 in Beginning G doh.gif is named Forever gundam....
look like combination with RX-178 Super Gundam + RX-78-2
but the people still will buyin' it as long as it RX-78-2..

This post has been edited by nazrul90: Aug 24 2010, 09:50 PM
xDarkKn1ghtx
post Aug 24 2010, 09:49 PM

322 posts

It definitely does. Why make a carbon copy when they can make a new one
MyKy44
post Aug 24 2010, 09:50 PM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

god damn.... 2 pages of words and no pics of plastic?

maybe i couldn't share the enthusiasm cos i wasn't a fan of SF tongue.gif
xDarkKn1ghtx
post Aug 24 2010, 09:50 PM

322 posts

1 page of pointless debate. Since it already happened, lets live with it cry.gif
Tiger I
post Aug 24 2010, 09:58 PM

210 posts

Looking forward for HGUC GM type C. I always love a cannon fodder, they seems much more realistic, and more towards military styling, which i adore most wub.gif BTW is there any custom made Tieren? Just want to know, hehe
Hellscream
post Aug 24 2010, 10:05 PM

Katoki art and design is not bad. Why everyone dislike it ?

I kind of like Katoki mecha design.
ur4m3shi
post Aug 24 2010, 10:14 PM

~ Absolute Master of the Fist ~
958 posts

suprised bandai don't reuse the pg OO frame like strike -> astray hmm.gif
edwardgsk
post Aug 24 2010, 10:16 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

^Perhaps for 00Q or Exia PG, but definitely not SF. Inner frame is totally different.

126 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0294sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:03 AM