Astro B.yond V6.0, NEW WORLD OF ENTERTAINMENT
smileguy
Sep 28 2010, 02:29 PM
Measat sued for RM1.3bil over B.yond box By NURBAITI HAMDAN and ONG HAN SEAN KUALA LUMPUR: A local TV support equipment supplier, AV Asia Sdn Bhd, has sued Measat Broadcast Network Systems Sdn Bhd and another company for a staggering RM1.3bil over an alleged breach of "mutual non-disclosure agreement" over AV Asia’s rain-fade technology to reduce satellite signal disruption during rainy weather. AV Asia claimed that its confidential information was used by the first defendant in the suit, Measat, to launch the Astro B.yond high definition (HD) product. The suit was filed through the firm of Messrs Watson Peters & Mohd Fuad at the High Court registry in Jalan Duta here on Tuesday.
Qash-M
Sep 28 2010, 02:31 PM
QUOTE(smileguy @ Sep 28 2010, 02:29 PM) Measat sued for RM1.3bil over B.yond box By NURBAITI HAMDAN and ONG HAN SEAN KUALA LUMPUR: A local TV support equipment supplier, AV Asia Sdn Bhd, has sued Measat Broadcast Network Systems Sdn Bhd and another company for a staggering RM1.3bil over an alleged breach of "mutual non-disclosure agreement" over AV Asia’s rain-fade technology to reduce satellite signal disruption during rainy weather. AV Asia claimed that its confidential information was used by the first defendant in the suit, Measat, to launch the Astro B.yond high definition (HD) product. The suit was filed through the firm of Messrs Watson Peters & Mohd Fuad at the High Court registry in Jalan Duta here on Tuesday.  So, what are the goodness on our side?
adriankhoo153
Sep 28 2010, 02:44 PM
Guys, did u leave ur astro byond in stanby mode or off the power. Each time off the power it will boot next time when on back. Quite long also have to wait. Last time the old Astro dun have this boot time woh.
SiriuslyCold
Sep 28 2010, 02:50 PM
QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Sep 28 2010, 02:44 PM) Guys, did u leave ur astro byond in stanby mode or off the power. standby mode. QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Sep 28 2010, 02:44 PM) Last time the old Astro dun have this boot time woh. last time old Astro not the same as byond
ZaX17
Sep 28 2010, 02:56 PM

QUOTE(dxjb @ Sep 28 2010, 02:14 PM) no u cant..ur byond box and the smart card are exclusive to each other..meaning u cannot use standard astro card in ur Byond box and vice versa..why do u want to cancel ur account? just use the current account to install Byond,, They will automatically change it 4 u.. I canceled my old account last time to get another set of decoder so that I can watch Astro at different location (daytime in living room and maybe night time in my room) by inserting the smart card to another decoder. Now I planned to apply a new account and cancel the old one (should be no more contract because it was like 3 years ago), so that I can watch Astro at 3 different rooms, but with only one smart card. So currently the decoder and smart card can't be share with another decoder/smart card? That's bad... Or maybe I should downgrade my current Astro package and split them into 2 accounts, at least paying for the same price? Any idea anyone?
smileguy
Sep 28 2010, 03:12 PM
QUOTE(Qash-M @ Sep 28 2010, 02:31 PM) So, what are the goodness on our side?  If u can take them to Court and u suceed then the gates wld be open for customers to sue, but............  but I feel sorry for th Plaintiffs !  They were never sued in the 15 years they enjoyed immunity if only they can be sued and our Courts decide without influence  like wat happened to Singtel we can definately sue for rain fade . This post has been edited by smileguy: Sep 28 2010, 03:23 PM
neb
Sep 28 2010, 03:14 PM
QUOTE(smileguy @ Sep 28 2010, 03:12 PM) If u can take them to Court and u suceed then the gates wld be open for customers to sue, but............  why sue, we still have rain-fade problem, whatever the technology, it doesn't work  astro should just gives us 1m dish, this will really tackle rain-fade without using any exotic technology vietnam DTH operator I think is using 1m offset ku-band dish This post has been edited by neb: Sep 28 2010, 03:38 PM
andytan18
Sep 28 2010, 03:48 PM

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Sep 28 2010, 02:50 PM) standby mode. last time old Astro not the same as byond i leave it on standby but i noticed that the hard disk always on (spinning) even I'm not doing any recording, will it spoilt?? This post has been edited by andytan18: Sep 28 2010, 03:49 PM
Sting Ray
Sep 28 2010, 04:16 PM

QUOTE(neb @ Sep 28 2010, 01:56 PM) yes you will get everything brand new for PVR it will require an extra cable from the satellite dish, because pvr has dual-tuner thanks bro. my current dish and cable are quite old alreay (> 10 years) and it is goold if they replace everything.
putih
Sep 28 2010, 04:42 PM

QUOTE(neb @ Sep 28 2010, 03:14 PM) why sue, we still have rain-fade problem, whatever the technology, it doesn't work  astro should just gives us 1m dish, this will really tackle rain-fade without using any exotic technology vietnam DTH operator I think is using 1m offset ku-band dish Yes bro neb, you are spot on. That's why when I first read the charges I was confused - Astro stealing raid-fade technology from these guys and installed in B-yond box .... well all beyonders know Byond box suffers from raid-fade .... haha... what a joke.
adriankhoo153
Sep 28 2010, 04:52 PM
QUOTE(andytan18 @ Sep 28 2010, 03:48 PM) i leave it on standby but i noticed that the hard disk always on (spinning) even I'm not doing any recording, will it spoilt??  Hmm but i notice that standby mode emit heat leh.. Seems warm when touch.. I normally leave it in standby mode at morning and off at night b4 i sleep.
smileguy
Sep 28 2010, 05:31 PM
AV Asia also alleged that Measat withheld information from its Astro B.yond customers - who bought a new decoder and a new satellite dish for a monthly payment of RM20 to receive HD programmes - that they did not need to install the new dish to receive the programmes " This is interesting !
Qash-M
Sep 28 2010, 05:36 PM
QUOTE(neb @ Sep 28 2010, 03:14 PM) astro should just gives us 1m dish, this will really tackle rain-fade without using any exotic technology vietnam DTH operator I think is using 1m offset ku-band dish B.yond dish is 65cm. More 5cm than 1m.
MyDevil
Sep 28 2010, 05:50 PM
QUOTE(Qash-M @ Sep 28 2010, 05:36 PM) B.yond dish is 65cm. More 5cm than 1m.  100 centimeters = 1 meter lah.
404fail
Sep 28 2010, 06:03 PM
I wish for a Taiwanese HD channel
neb
Sep 28 2010, 06:15 PM
QUOTE(smileguy @ Sep 28 2010, 05:31 PM) AV Asia also alleged that Measat withheld information from its Astro B.yond customers - who bought a new decoder and a new satellite dish for a monthly payment of RM20 to receive HD programmes - that they did not need to install the new dish to receive the programmes " This is interesting !  so if av asia win the case, we don't have to pay astro RM20/month anymore? if that is true, is is actually a good news for astro subscribers, more saving on subscription fee This post has been edited by neb: Sep 28 2010, 06:19 PM
Qash-M
Sep 28 2010, 06:18 PM
QUOTE(MyDevil @ Sep 28 2010, 05:50 PM) 100 centimeters = 1 meter lah. I know. It doesn't suck to have BIG dish, right?
neb
Sep 28 2010, 06:31 PM
QUOTE(Qash-M @ Sep 28 2010, 06:18 PM) I know. It doesn't suck to have BIG dish, right?  not all dishes are alike, offset one piece dish(astr uses these dishes) is more efficient than prime focus multi-segment dish This post has been edited by neb: Sep 28 2010, 06:35 PM
Qash-M
Sep 28 2010, 06:35 PM
B.yond decoder, if configure correctly can watch other country channel too  ?
neb
Sep 28 2010, 06:39 PM
QUOTE(Qash-M @ Sep 28 2010, 06:35 PM) B.yond decoder, if configure correctly can watch other country channel too  ? if someone successfully hacked it, byond box may be used to receive other satellites transmmission in current byond state, it can't be configured to receive other satellites, only measat 3 and 3A