Streamyx TMnet throttle MKV, AVI and PPS mayb Youtube !, Solution Removed Thank to 007 SPY

rainbow6
post Aug 3 2010, 02:33 PM

532 posts

Wait wait, its happening across the region. We have a customer from Thailand, the ISP did not throttle but totally block all UDP streaming, and during the testing they even block https. Now only http and https are opened and the rest still blocked.

TM got share in Thai telekom kut?

rainbow6
post Aug 3 2010, 03:04 PM

532 posts

I'm in network and system development as well as security deployment in many areas and at the moment I'm clueless as to what TM trying to achieve. I put the blame on cisco, avaya and the huawei out there. What they are doing is not a long term solution, only short term but costing TM millions to deploy the solutions. If the content providers start using https, what will they do next? TM spies, PM me for cheaper solution to throttle though I probably charge you same as what Cisco charging you.

rainbow6
post Aug 3 2010, 04:16 PM

532 posts

Half of the top management in TM knew of VPN capabilities and another half is milking money from corporate to use VPN. Blocking is not an option but throttling is another issue. Don't try PI cause its a cyber crime and they have ACT for that.

Throttling is just an excuse TM uses to oversell their capacity. Deploy DMCA and reduce all this download automatically which in effect showed that TM is doing this for their own benefits, not for people. TM knows they cannot block cause it goes against the MSC charters which guarantee all access irrespective of its content.

BolehVPN is designed to help users suffering from slow speed in the highspeed society and getting quick fix from overzealous ISPs and there's no stopping another 200 bolehvpn copycats coming out. Reuben is in legal business and he knows there is no law that can stopped you from using this software. Unless they start vetting every software that comes to this country, VPN will be here for a long time and traffic shaping will also be part of ISPs plan.

rainbow6
post Aug 3 2010, 04:39 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(wkn @ Aug 3 2010, 04:34 PM)

Dont take my comments literally, as long as you know what you are doing then its ok. Don't go hijacking into someone else traffic or alter information, then you are ok. Its like owning a gun, don't go shooting everyone.

Signing off and guys this is about bashing TM not about who's better in knowledge but sharing them.
rainbow6
post Aug 4 2010, 06:56 AM

532 posts

QUOTE(hkspower @ Aug 4 2010, 02:54 AM)
this cb bn gov have billions to waste/corrupt on white elephant project n all other crap but no monie to upgrade bandwidth ??
Those projects are in the past. Ever think of any new project the last 2 years? Nothing...govt no money to fund project on their own.
TM is driving the HSBB and hope they can get payment from govt and the millions Unifi users by 2012. So complaint to TM no use ma, TM tell govt, its my money, so I do what I want la.

rainbow6
post Aug 4 2010, 01:50 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Aug 4 2010, 01:42 PM)
Additionally, I found four more exploits in their throttling implementation which I could probably also repackage into applications. No proxy/vpn server or file renaming required. Someone at TM didn't do their homework properly biggrin.gif
Since when did TM do their homework properly? All they are doing is do a trials and errors and probably reading a lot of tips from this forum. Most probably a lot of errors.
rainbow6
post Aug 4 2010, 02:13 PM

532 posts

HTTP and FTP capping being done all along for quite sometimes. Especially during the peak hours (when is peak hours lol).
You cannot sue them for capping, as long they give you access, even at 1kbit, you can't sue them.

Once they capped on port 80, nothing much you can do to bypass that, a rules such as, if source port 80, throttle it to snail speed, then what ever solution you have will probably won't work anymore. Guess more homework to the TM guys. Their switches for Streamyx is in brickfields DC where everything goes thru there before streamyx users can go international and CBJ2 controlling all TM gateway to international links. So hackers, try scans CISCO NX-OS or IOS in those 2 datacenters and see what you can do.

rainbow6
post Aug 4 2010, 02:24 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(developer @ Aug 4 2010, 02:17 PM)
my college using streamyx 2m package RM 618 fix ip starting with 219 is able to download avi files, mkv files from megaupload free account for full speed.
Hahahaha, question will be, are you willing to pay RM618 for corporate lines so you get full speed? I bet his p2p is still crawling.
Marketing talks will be to get a normal streamyx+VPN and get full speed in everything at a cheaper price.

rainbow6
post Aug 4 2010, 02:54 PM

532 posts

Here's a conspiracy theory that has been going on for ages.
1. Sell a technology that can promote piracy (software providers)
2. Form a task force to limit (LIMIT not stop) - govt and public sectors
3. Develop internet and promote p2p and filesharing - software provides and technologist
4. Introduce new equipment to detect this p2p - networking devices manufacturers
5. ISP buy equipments to throttle

See where all the $$$ being made by them. At the end of the day, everyone get their money worth. Nothing is free. Without piracy, enforcement officers will be out of jobs, BSA staff will be selling keropok, and without p2p, cisco cannot make millions from ISP. Same concepts, if there is no war, there is no armies or weapons.

TM said it costs them 10bil to do HSBB, thats about RM450 per person if all 22millions malaysian buy HSBB. If 50% malaysian buy HSBB, then in 2-3 years, TM will recover their investment and after that milking money from users. So yes, Malaysians are paying very high for their insuperior highmaintenance broadband. Lets see after 3 years, if TM will reduce the price to RM240 a year per user of UNIFI, then it will be 1Malaysia broadband not 1TM broadband.

rainbow6
post Aug 4 2010, 03:37 PM

532 posts

Guys,
You can use this tool http://broadband.mpi-sws.org/transparency/bttest.php and see if you are being shaped or not.

No guarantee on the accuracy but at least something to waste time on.

rainbow6
post Aug 4 2010, 06:19 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(supervisionx @ Aug 4 2010, 05:43 PM)
any of you using wimax?? stable and fast?  i m start thinking to change my isp.
If you take wimax, then you be very thankful to streamyx. At least streamyx can still surf, wimax you cry and vomit blood.
rainbow6
post Aug 4 2010, 08:03 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(supervisionx @ Aug 4 2010, 06:27 PM)
how about maxis broadband. i get  470KB/s max  inside my air-con room. but maxis dont have unlimitted plan  doh.gif
maxis 3G is fast BUT p2p is totally block unless you have vpn biggrin.gif
I know a trick how to get unlimited, I've being using it the last couple of years.

Now come to think of it, Maxis staff maybe PMing for that trick.

QUOTE(gacktleong @ Aug 4 2010, 07:56 PM)
how come, even a torrent wif rmvb files oso seems doesnt run on my dl too sad.gif
Err, they shape torrent, so whatever format in the torrent file does not matter. It can be a text files, it will still be throttled.

This post has been edited by rainbow6: Aug 4 2010, 08:14 PM
rainbow6
post Aug 4 2010, 11:37 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(peacelover1990 @ Aug 4 2010, 11:04 PM)
bolehvpn business is going to be very good. thanks to tm haha
We're not the only one. There are others too except we are the thumbup.gif
Again thank you to all those that subscribes, its a worthwhile investment definitely no regrets, and a note to those who subscribes, keep a copy of the active keys in your gmail / hotmail / webmail so that when you are at your friend house or even in cyber cafe, you can curi their bandwidth with our VPN. Just install the necessary software/client and you are on the way to get whatever makes you happy.

rainbow6
post Aug 5 2010, 08:36 AM

532 posts

So far I haven't got any complaint from our seedbox users yet. They downloaded all kinds of stuff, mkv, avi, mp3, mp4, er just name it ext to their seedboxes and then use ftp/http to download to their local PC.
Maybe they run 10 threads per download which is at 35K/thread, will still give a 350K/s.

rainbow6
post Aug 5 2010, 10:36 AM

532 posts

We got about 500 users on active connections at the moment and just tested p2ping with vpn still going 400KB/s on the 4mbit streamyx. Looking at the speed test from one of the servers doesn't show that they are crawling.

10.10.10.1 => 10.10.12.14 2.89Mb 2.78Mb 2.78Mb
<= 91.2Kb 77.4Kb 77.4Kb
10.10.10.1 => 10.10.11.246 1.43Mb 1.40Mb 1.40Mb
<= 171Kb 161Kb 161Kb
10.10.10.1 => 10.10.12.162 1.26Mb 1.48Mb 1.48Mb
<= 37.2Kb 45.2Kb 45.2Kb
10.10.10.1 => 10.10.15.198 306Kb 424Kb 424Kb
<= 1.12Mb 1.08Mb 1.08Mb
10.10.10.1 => 10.10.11.198 1.09Mb 1.18Mb 1.18Mb
<= 218Kb 190Kb 190Kb
10.10.10.1 => 10.10.14.70 1.15Mb 1.21Mb 1.21Mb
<= 71.1Kb 72.5Kb 72.5Kb
10.10.10.1 => 10.10.12.78 1.02Mb 1.02Mb 1.02Mb
<= 217Kb 215Kb 215Kb
10.10.10.1 => 10.10.12.130 912Kb 996Kb 996Kb
<= 226Kb 224Kb 224Kb
10.10.10.1 => 10.10.12.38 837Kb 762Kb 762Kb

rainbow6
post Aug 5 2010, 12:33 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(developer @ Aug 5 2010, 12:05 PM)
well my area is not throttled on openvpn yet. i cant test also. the thing is with all this experiment and so on, i cant really know if they are throttling or the connection is just slow. 1 thing is for sure, ppstream are being throttled.

enjoy it for a moment. hahaha
A lot of lessons here to learn by TM tech team. Now you guys just gave them weekend home works and new assignments.
Strategic wise, we are going to lose this war since we are telling them what we want to do next. This is definitely not art of war.

rainbow6
post Aug 5 2010, 02:09 PM

532 posts

Its mouse vs cat now, the game is on... and the winner will be crowned as .... apa nama?
rainbow6
post Aug 5 2010, 02:31 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(cshong @ Aug 5 2010, 02:24 PM)
A lot of open source software which are large in file size are distributed through bittorrent due to some issues. All these files are considered legal. I doubt that TM staffs who decided to throttle P2P have brain or not.
Those they termed it as casualty of war biggrin.gif

rainbow6
post Aug 5 2010, 08:51 PM

532 posts

To be fair to everyone, p2p (be it bittorrent, pps, emule) is not healthy for the ISP. Without control, you can bring an entire network to a standstill, especially if you have only 10GBit backbones to support a million users.
During my early days, my p2p testing brought an entire data center to a stop. Not even DNS can be resolved and all access to 3000 websites hosted in that data center are no longer reachable and the network engineer asks me why are there so many trying ddos my server. Bittorent was new then and cisco has no clue what's hitting their equipment.

IF I'm TM i be screaming too if I have 800,000 users screaming at me to satisfy the other 200,000. I would rather lose the 200,000 users than lose my pants when the 800,000 go to other ISPs. What will you do if you are TM?
Instead of telling and saying who at fault, maybe suggesting ways to compromise is a much better approach. Actually the 800,000 paying customers is subsidizing the other 20%.

As an old and not so wise man, here's something to ponder,

All those screaming at streamyx, what do you do if you are TM and want to make sure all your users happy?

rainbow6
post Aug 6 2010, 08:56 AM

532 posts

I wonder how many users actually do pps ?
How many do p2p, and anyone knows how big is the pipe that malaysia has to US/UK/rest of the world?

Anyone knows of the exact bandwidth to international available from Malaysia?
Maybe TM or the international providers should reveal the prices to everyone and proof that it costs so much to communicate internationally and if it does costs one arm and a leg, then its time to shut up complaining and bashing TM.

0.0490sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:55 PM