StarCraft 2 War Room, Multiplayer Strategies Only

TS-ZeN-
post Jul 29 2010, 05:16 PM, updated 16y ago

353 posts

This is the War Room

The only objective here is to improve ourself to be better in the Multiplayer part of SC2.
There should ONLY be discussion and sharing information of below 4 things.
1. Strategies - General Tips and so on. (Strategies section are general tips and hints. Can include links to online guides or unit information.)
2. Build Order - Build order discussion. (Recommended to be using the Build Order template at below sample)
3. Replays - SC2 replays or sc2 replays commentary. (Post youtube link or share replays among players by uploading to Hotfile or SC2 Replays site if you have the account)
4. Patch - Discuss unit changes and so on after patch.

I will ever try my best to arrange and organize useful information to this 1st page. So please dont spam too muchmaking it hard for me.

Example Build Order format :- (Taken from Shokz SC2 PF Rush Guide)

This post has been edited by -ZeN-: Jul 29 2010, 05:34 PM
Moonflown
post Jul 29 2010, 09:38 PM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

7 Pool

8 Overlord

Spawn 6 lings drone and overlord all in

Profit!
ZeratoS
post Jul 29 2010, 11:51 PM

Oh you.
1,044 posts

Anyone play T here? I've been getting cheesed funny strats I've never seen before from Z/P.

I think my build order is bad, but I'm not quite sure how to improve it.

Tried 10 Depo but I couldn't block in time before the scout got in. Should I be sticking to 8 Depo?

This post has been edited by ZeratoS: Jul 29 2010, 11:54 PM
cyclone9
post Jul 30 2010, 12:20 AM

War Kills Love , Love Save War
2,949 posts

please add me DerekLee Code: 627
i wan practice partner that can play 3 races biggrin.gif
Rambo_pang43200
post Jul 30 2010, 03:32 AM

43 posts

haha~ you guys have facebook??

Can join the Vista Latsik tournament~ biggrin.gif
TS-ZeN-
post Jul 30 2010, 06:50 AM

353 posts

Some of us joined, me super noob also joined for fun.

@ Zeratos - Dont go 8 depo unless u super cheesing. Most scout always do get in before barrack finished. Zerg normally got overload flying over, and Protoss probe is brave cause got shield to regenerate. Normally is 10 Depo, after depo finish direct same unit barracks. Then marine come out make way point to the probe or drone or overload.

Zerg scout normally will take ur gas to harass u. But dont panic, early on u just need 1 gas anyway, just make sure doesnt have 2 scout stole ur gas. Same goes for protoss but probe will be normally hide a pylon inside somewhere ur base. Then later on use warpgate to warp in army, so make sure to check all around ur base when u killed off the probe scout.
SUSsoundsyst64
post Jul 30 2010, 06:53 AM

I'm No-Longer-Noobs
3,725 posts

Yesterday play with one LYN players, I've been defeated less than 10 minutes cry.gif

ayam so noob. sad.gif

I use my own style ; build the buildings first, create lots of army and send one to scout the area. Is it a bad move?

This post has been edited by soundsyst64: Jul 30 2010, 06:58 AM
TS-ZeN-
post Jul 30 2010, 07:05 AM

353 posts

@soundsyst - depend la... but most games ended in 10minutes if someone cheesing and the opponent didnt have a good opener.
Do check out this 2 youtube sc2 commentary, u can learn alot.
HuskyStarcraft youtube
HDStarcraft youtube

This post has been edited by -ZeN-: Jul 30 2010, 07:07 AM
Sky.Live
post Jul 30 2010, 08:43 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

I want to improve on a single race first, decide to play zerg.

Any tips?

Currently playing like

max drone 10/10
vespene gas 2x
drone 12/10
overload

then double hatchery, get like a dozen lings, and few roaches.

This is problematic when enemy rush me with air unit and sometimes invis unit. How am I suppose to know which you unit to defense against? I always feel helpless against Terran when I use Zerg as marine medic is really painful for lings.

Sometimes i would go mutalisk but not sure how to harass properly.

How soon should hydra be pooping out?

ericpires
post Jul 30 2010, 09:06 AM

Arsenal FC
2,657 posts

Can i know whats the proper build to get warpgates? i mean do u go straight for them or how? only discover how to use warpgates last night hehe...
fizyboy
post Jul 30 2010, 09:36 AM

280 posts

Normally, warp gate should be researched as soon as you get cybernetic core because its so damn good! damn cheap too! only 50 mineral n 50 gas!
Its heavy on macro though since you can't queue up unit. Also, remember to use the 'W' hotkey to select all warp gates! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by fizyboy: Jul 30 2010, 11:25 AM
aLertz
post Jul 30 2010, 11:17 AM

Overconfidence is a flimsy shield
1,111 posts

hi guys...wanna ask, for zerg, when should i get the queen??
i heard straight after pool??
every straight also same straight after pool?? 12 hatch or 9 pool?
if 9 pool i dun think we'll have enough resource to get a queen tat early... hmm.gif
TS-ZeN-
post Jul 30 2010, 11:36 AM

353 posts

Just do your opener as usual but do get Queen ASAP, the creep tumour is very useful, but most useful is to get or larva. Super important, just like protoss got their chrono boost, and terran got their mule.
Honky
post Jul 30 2010, 11:46 AM

58 posts

ok this is a pretty noob question, but what are the numbers e.g. 10/12 beside the unit/building names mean on the build order list?
fizyboy
post Jul 30 2010, 11:53 AM

280 posts

Supply.

eg:

9/10 Pylon
12/18 Gateway

basically means

Build probes until you have used up 9 out of 10 supply (look at right top of the screen, besides mineral & gas), then send out a probe to warp a pylon near choke. Once this pylon is completed, your max supply will be increased to 18.

Continue building probes (remember to chrono boost) until you have 150 minerals, then build a gateway near your pylon, which usually your supply should be around 12.
ZeratoS
post Jul 30 2010, 12:30 PM

Oh you.
1,044 posts

QUOTE(-ZeN- @ Jul 30 2010, 06:50 AM)
Some of us joined, me super noob also joined for fun.

@ Zeratos - Dont go 8 depo unless u super cheesing. Most scout always do get in before barrack finished. Zerg normally got overload flying over, and Protoss probe is brave cause got shield to regenerate. Normally is 10 Depo, after depo finish direct same unit barracks. Then marine come out make way point to the probe or drone or overload.

Zerg scout normally will take ur gas to harass u. But dont panic, early on u just need 1 gas anyway, just make sure doesnt have 2 scout stole ur gas. Same goes for protoss but probe will be normally hide a pylon inside somewhere ur base. Then later on use warpgate to warp in army, so make sure to check all around ur base when u killed off the probe scout.
I've been going the standard Fact FE opening and its been working quite well I guess. I wasn't used to the strat so I lost like 5 games in a row due to cheesy builds or stuff I didn't anticipate. Been working on my macro and making better use of my scanner.

Auto-turret dropping seems to work quite well so far. I still need to learn expansion timing cause mine is VERY bad.
TS-ZeN-
post Jul 30 2010, 12:32 PM

353 posts

1st numeric is the probe/drone/scv count, and the 2nd numeric is the max supply.

let say for Terran u start with 7 scv, so supply will show 7/11.
When u building another scv then it will become 8/11, so the svc u building is scv#8.

10/11 Supply Depot - means on ur scv#10 use it to build the depot. (at least how i interpret it.)

Added on July 30, 2010, 12:35 pm@Zeratos - i not pro or even experience, but i read alot and watched quite some replays. Seem like the timing for expansion also based on your mineral and gas count. You need to keep them both around under 3 digit. That for me novice la the target i set. when reach almost 4 digit then i need to expand and use the money, no use saving up too much. So maybe u can based ur timing for Expand also.

This post has been edited by -ZeN-: Jul 30 2010, 12:35 PM
aLertz
post Jul 30 2010, 12:59 PM

Overconfidence is a flimsy shield
1,111 posts

alwiz keep ur resources low. Eg: below 4 digit...
tat's a hard thing to do during late game...but if u manage tat...u are quite good de biggrin.gif
ZeratoS
post Jul 30 2010, 09:54 PM

Oh you.
1,044 posts

QUOTE(aLertz @ Jul 30 2010, 12:59 PM)
alwiz keep ur resources low. Eg: below 4 digit...
tat's a hard thing to do during late game...but if u manage tat...u are quite good de biggrin.gif
Yeap, I'm getting better I think! Silver league is bad. I'm being allowed to turtle in till thors come out (which doesn't take too long since armory comes after I bring out a banshee or two to harass his resources.) then just open up, the base, proxy expand as a failsafe and push out I guess..

Really depends on the map lah.. I'm still a baddie!
TS-ZeN-
post Jul 30 2010, 10:15 PM

353 posts

@Soundsyst & HulkSmash

Check out these few matches. Is TLO vs WhiteRa, the link are in order Game 1~4 (Some match got 2 parts)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SgxQLYgh0Wc
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5IL87AH2iUk
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gbEjrlt5tgM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=auiRiyiRvXk
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DbpChfhNBhs
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=snu381x0o3M
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CpDLFIsuvd8

This post has been edited by -ZeN-: Jul 30 2010, 10:16 PM

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0225sec    1.75    5 queries    GZIP Disabled