Advice On PC Upgrade
TSfizyboy
Jul 18 2010, 11:05 PM, updated 16y ago

Hey thar! First of all, I'm just a casual PC gamer cuz I've been playing games on my xbox360 & ps3 (and iphone, if that counts).. However Starcraft 2 is coming very soon which left me no choice but to upgrade! :-s This is my specs: CODE Proc: Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 Mobo: Gigabyte 965P-DS3 RAM: 2GB HyperX PC6400 DDR800 CL4-4-4 (cost me RM1150 back then! geez) GPU: 256MB Palit Geforce 7600GS OC DDR3 1000/400 Needless to say, i can only play current games on low / lowest settings .. According to above specs, will it do any good if I just upgrade my graphic card? Budget is around RM400. Please advise. Thankies! This post has been edited by fizyboy: Jul 19 2010, 12:04 AM
:3mushy:3
Jul 18 2010, 11:10 PM
Yes, first and foremost you should upgrade your GC.
What is your PSU? Need to know this before suggesting a GC.
TSfizyboy
Jul 18 2010, 11:11 PM

I see, so my Graphic Card is the bottle neck? My PSU: ENERMAX 535Watt FMA Iron PSU Which graphic card should I go for? Will i be able to play on high setting after upgrade? Please help Sifuu This post has been edited by fizyboy: Jul 18 2010, 11:15 PM
phantomash
Jul 18 2010, 11:15 PM
your best bet would be the Sapphire HD5750 512MB, currently Thundermatch is selling it for RM410, not sure if they still have stock though. Otherwise go for GTS250 512MB, RM390 from Thundermatch too.
This post has been edited by phantomash: Jul 18 2010, 11:17 PM
TSfizyboy
Jul 18 2010, 11:20 PM

Thank you phantomash, may I ask if i upgrade to either of those GC, will I be able to get decent frame rate playing Starcraft 2 on high setting?
On my current rig, i even feel lag playing HD movies on youtube, for heaven's sake!
Eugene91
Jul 18 2010, 11:26 PM
HD Movies on youtube? did u use the latest flash player and updated ur graphics driver? anyways you do need a new graphic card..  You should get GTS250 man if you don't mind missing out on DX11.. I have 5770 with me and i felt abit disappointed due to the driver support and issues with games stuttering at start which would be gone after ahwhile.. Hopefully ATi resolves this issue with a new CCC update.. >.<
TSfizyboy
Jul 18 2010, 11:36 PM

Yea im using the latest flash n driver but it still stinks big time! haha  Well I don't mind missing on DX11 cuz i just want best value for money. And I know newest graphic card cost a bomb n not really worth the buck. Although i don't mind to top up a little bit more if I can get a better deal out of it. Also, should I buy a second hand GC or a new one? Besides my GC, which one is holding back its performance?
azzrul
Jul 18 2010, 11:44 PM
Your mobo is awesome man. I think E6400 @ 3.0GHz is possible without even touching vcore. For GC, just get HD 4850 @ RM299
TSfizyboy
Jul 19 2010, 12:09 AM

Ops sorry, its E6300 not E6400.. my bad, typo error on my part. And you know whats funny, i bought a decent OC mobo when i don't know anything abt OC-ing (or too chicken to do it)!
phantomash
Jul 19 2010, 12:12 AM
QUOTE(azzrul @ Jul 18 2010, 11:44 PM) Your mobo is awesome man. I think E6400 @ 3.0GHz is possible without even touching vcore. For GC, just get HD 4850 @ RM299 DX11 aside, HD5750 have slightly better performance than both the HD4850 and GTS250, while consuming much less power, and also runs at lower temperature. The only problem is finding the Sapphire 512MB version, as this card is getting out of stock in many stores. The 1GB version although is easily available but it does not offer much more performance boost while costing about RM50+- more. This post has been edited by phantomash: Jul 19 2010, 12:13 AM
Legend86
Jul 19 2010, 07:02 AM
QUOTE(phantomash @ Jul 19 2010, 01:12 AM) DX11 aside, HD5750 have slightly better performance than both the HD4850 and GTS250, while consuming much less power, and also runs at lower temperature. The only problem is finding the Sapphire 512MB version, as this card is getting out of stock in many stores. The 1GB version although is easily available but it does not offer much more performance boost while costing about RM50+- more. +1 TS, better get HD5750 instead of HD4850 or GTS250...but most shops only selling 1GB version...maybe u can try ur luck finding in garage sale...
cr9_88
Jul 19 2010, 07:15 AM

My suggestion: Upgrade ur graphic card. with budget around rm400. u can get ATI HD 4850 or ATI HD 5570 or 5670. at my place ATI HD 5750 oso is selling at rm399 u can always check the new pricelist in garage sales.
SUSMatrix
Jul 19 2010, 07:18 AM
rm400?? hd 5750 is best buy now coz price just dropped RM100 from previous RM500! ASUS Formula 5750 1GB - RM 399. Bought at C-ZONE yesterday in Digital Mall.  I think GPU companies has started to dropped their prices in anticipation of the GTX-460 onslaught. Better grab while u can...coz some places like ALL IT has run out of stock. According to the CZONE dude, ASUS having promotion. I see other 1GB 5750 still expensive...Gigabyte still selling at RM510. This post has been edited by Matrix: Jul 19 2010, 07:20 AM
azzrul
Jul 19 2010, 08:09 AM
, HD 5750 then. And don't forget to overclock that E6300 to 2800MHz (7x400fsb)
TSfizyboy
Jul 19 2010, 09:56 AM

OK HD 5750 it is! I'm still looking at GS but have yet to find a brand new HD5750 for RM400 or below. Mostly still around RM500  1GB HD5750 for RM399 is a very good deal indeed. I will try calling up CZone later on and see if they still have stock. This post has been edited by fizyboy: Jul 19 2010, 10:00 AM
azzrul
Jul 19 2010, 10:29 AM
QUOTE(fizyboy @ Jul 19 2010, 09:56 AM) OK HD 5750 it is! I'm still looking at GS but have yet to find a brand new HD5750 for RM400 or below. Mostly still around RM500  1GB HD5750 for RM399 is a very good deal indeed. I will try calling up CZone later on and see if they still have stock.  If you can't find 5750, HD 4850 @ RM299 is also a very good card. Faster than 512MB 5750 & a bit cheaper as well............duit lebih can invest on Hyper 212+ for your E6300 This post has been edited by azzrul: Jul 19 2010, 10:30 AM
SUSMatrix
Jul 19 2010, 10:36 AM
QUOTE(azzrul @ Jul 19 2010, 10:29 AM) I wouldn't recommend 4850...1GB 5750 performs better than 4850...and use less power, cooler and physically smaller. I sold my 4850 a week or two ago...
azzrul
Jul 19 2010, 10:38 AM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 19 2010, 10:36 AM) I wouldn't recommend 4850...1GB 5750 performs better than 4850...and use less power, cooler and physically smaller. I sold my 4850 a week or two ago...  Ya la, 1GB 5750 @ RM399 is definitely a steal.....but very hard to find woooooooo....
cr9_88
Jul 19 2010, 11:24 AM

QUOTE(azzrul @ Jul 19 2010, 10:38 AM) yeah, very hard to find it. In Ipoh, there is only 1 shop dat sell at this price. other shop >rm400 if u lucky , can get <rm400
SUSMatrix
Jul 19 2010, 11:30 AM
QUOTE(azzrul @ Jul 19 2010, 10:38 AM) Try CZONE at Digital Mall, i think still have. ALL IT habis liao.....ASUS wanna clear stock b4 price drop...I think price drop for 5750/5770 is very soon oready, so ASUS clear it off b4 the rest follow.... Lowyat i dunno, didn't go there very long time. Very jam. dun wanna go.  U are not from KL/Selangor? I think other towns won't find this cheap price usually...maybe only after a general official price drop then it'll reach other places later.