Advice On PC Upgrade

SUSMatrix
post Jul 19 2010, 07:18 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

rm400??

hd 5750 is best buy now coz price just dropped RM100 from previous RM500!

ASUS Formula 5750 1GB - RM 399. Bought at C-ZONE yesterday in Digital Mall. thumbup.gif

I think GPU companies has started to dropped their prices in anticipation of the GTX-460 onslaught.

Better grab while u can...coz some places like ALL IT has run out of stock. According to the CZONE dude, ASUS having promotion. I see other 1GB 5750 still expensive...Gigabyte still selling at RM510.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jul 19 2010, 07:20 AM
SUSMatrix
post Jul 19 2010, 10:36 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(azzrul @ Jul 19 2010, 10:29 AM)
If you can't find 5750, HD 4850 @ RM299 is also a very good card. Faster than 512MB 5750 & a bit cheaper as well............duit lebih can invest on Hyper 212+ for your E6300  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
I wouldn't recommend 4850...1GB 5750 performs better than 4850...and use less power, cooler and physically smaller. I sold my 4850 a week or two ago...tongue.gif
SUSMatrix
post Jul 19 2010, 11:30 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(azzrul @ Jul 19 2010, 10:38 AM)
Ya la, 1GB 5750 @ RM399 is definitely a steal.....but very hard to find woooooooo.... cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
Try CZONE at Digital Mall, i think still have. ALL IT habis liao.....ASUS wanna clear stock b4 price drop...I think price drop for 5750/5770 is very soon oready, so ASUS clear it off b4 the rest follow.... Lowyat i dunno, didn't go there very long time. Very jam. dun wanna go. tongue.gif

U are not from KL/Selangor? I think other towns won't find this cheap price usually...maybe only after a general official price drop then it'll reach other places later.

SUSMatrix
post Jul 19 2010, 12:08 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(fizyboy @ Jul 19 2010, 11:43 AM)
I just called up CZone and they said still have 2 units left but more stock might arrive today smile.gif  4-5 units left @ lowyat branch.
I'm planing to drop by tomorrow.. don't you guys dare to buy from them before i get mine first!!  vmad.gif

tongue.gif
I am going there later to sapu all. You want? RM450. LOL.
SUSMatrix
post Jul 21 2010, 04:19 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(fizyboy @ Jul 20 2010, 07:46 PM)
Ehehe! i dah beli!
I was wondering why ASUS called it EAH5750 Formula
Now I know! They designed the fan like a sporty car / Formula F1 LOlz tongue.gif

Anyways, i will post 3DMark score before & after installing the card................ when i get the time to do it that is.. >_>
Stay tuned~
Congrats...we are in same group now...lol.
SUSMatrix
post Aug 4 2010, 09:19 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Get an e5400 and OC it to 4Ghz...cheap and good...tongue.gif
SUSMatrix
post Aug 4 2010, 10:58 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(fizyboy @ Aug 4 2010, 09:30 AM)
Hmm interesting.. but I'm no good at OC-ing sad.gif besides i'd rather spend RM500 knowing it will last for another 2-3 years instead of wasting RM200 on the same C2D upgrade tongue.gif
No need to know anything. Set everything auto. Just set FSB to 333, memory speed to ur memory specs (etc: 800Mhz), and the clock multiplier to 12. That's it! tongue.gif....but of course depends on ur mobo also....my Gigabyte EP45-UD3P mobo is great...OC very easy...no need to know any other parameters...LOL...Since u already on C2D, which model?? U probably just need a good cooler like a CM V6-GT. tongue.gif

If u upgrade, why don't choose the i3? It's better than the 955, slightly more expensive only...and can O/C to 4Ghz at least i think.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Aug 4 2010, 11:02 AM
SUSMatrix
post Aug 4 2010, 11:39 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Aug 4 2010, 11:11 AM)
Which i3 cpu are u talking here? I never read a review b4 showing a 2c/4t i3 beating a 4c/4t 955 b4.. sweat.gif Are u sure ur not talking bout i5? sweat.gif
Opps...my mistake...typo...555 not 955. doh.gif

According to the Starcraft 2 chart provided above, Starcraft 2 is so crap that it only know how to use 2 cores....frankly, not impressed...a brand new RTS released today should be able to use 4 cores at least.

Maybe i'll install tonight and test it out...hehe.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Aug 4 2010, 11:40 AM
SUSMatrix
post Aug 4 2010, 05:09 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Aug 4 2010, 04:13 PM)
i3 is a good processor with improper priced.
I recommend Athlon II x4 635 instead of i3.
Reason :
-> True 4 cores
-> Gaming performance is same with i3 but less bottlenecking on high end graphic card (i3 is just only to provide juice to HD5770)
-> Can pair with DDR2 mobo
-> LGA1156 is going to be replaced by LGA1155
Source to backup your claims?? tongue.gif

Anyway, TS only wanna plays Starcraft. Quadcores not supported. And it don't need very high end GPU either....basically SC2 is a technically low-end requirement game that looks more like 2 years late in terms of technology.... But i do agree with the platform replacement...dunno what intel is thinking, the i series barely started and now wanna replace them...doh.gif...for that a vote to AMD for better platform keeping longevity...dunno if AMD has AM4 in the works or not though.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Aug 4 2010, 05:10 PM
SUSMatrix
post Aug 5 2010, 09:37 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(fizyboy @ Aug 5 2010, 12:05 AM)
hmm maybe upgrading mobo + processor is not a good idea right now..
i mean, what if the expansion support more than 2 cores..
then this upgrade would look pretty pointless..
also, if i change my mobo, do i have to upgrade from ddr2 to ddr3 ram?

guess I should try overclocking my E6400 afterall..
found and printed out this guide: http://www.neowin.net/forum/topic/503808-i...verclock-e6400/ which seems pretty easy to understand..
how much is the CM V6-GT? i doubt that i know how to install it sad.gif

also im planning to upgrade my ram to 4GB since its quite cheap nowdays.. as mentioned in the first page, currently im on 2x 1GB HyperX PC6400 DDR800 CL4-4-4 .. 2 more slot left.. so should i buy 2x1GB or just 1x2gb? which one i should go for and good for overclocking & compatible with my current RAM?

KINGSTON PC667  (1gb: RM68, 2gb: RM127)
KINGSTON PC800  (1gb: RM68, 2gb: RM127)
KINGSTON KHX8500D2K2 2GB  (2gb: RM209)

im using windows xp sp3 btw..
Thank you so much for helping newbies like me!
CM V6-GT..retails for RM230 at C-ZONE...but i got discount ....RM215. LOL.

It's very easy to install, it is compatible with socket 775, AM3 and the intel i series. So you can re-use it next time u upgrade. For socket 775 very easy, but you need to take out ur mobo first. Generally:
(1) Take out mobo from casing.
(2) Take out the 2 fans from the heatsink (clip on only, no screws needed!) But take note of the direction of the fans for the airflow.
(3) Put the 775 backplate under the mobo.
(4) Put the 2 pieces of top plate on top of the mobo.
(5) Use the 4 screws and screw from bottom to up. So backplate holds the two pieces of top plate.
(6) Put mobo back to casing. Apply silicon gel to heatsink.
(7) Put middle plate (whatever u call it) across the bottom of heatsink connector and hold it to the top plates previously.
(8) Screw it in using a provided nut..the screw is very easy to use...has springs to prevent overscrew.
(9) Snap in the two fans (make sure airflow direction is correct).
(10) Connect the two fan cables together (cables provided) so they both can go into a single CPU fan header on the mobo.
(11) Connect the lights cable to a 4 pin power molex (this is only for the lights...doh.gif )

May sounds complicated, but quite easy actually, hardest part is (5) when u need to hold the backplate and align with the top plate to screw in the top plates holder. After that, it's a breeze.
Oh IMPORTANT: Make sure you connect any cables around the CPU area...like the 4 pin/12v power plug first before installing the cooler (b4 step (7) ). otherwise, you'll have very little space to put your finger around anywhere there...this thing is gigantic!!!

2GB is enough, my advise is don't go with different kind of RAMs if u intend to OC might cause a lot of problems.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Aug 5 2010, 09:41 AM

0.0199sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:41 PM