16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V2, FAQ at first post.

MYstombox
post Jul 20 2010, 09:54 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

It's android bug 2207 i suspect.
MYstombox
post Jul 20 2010, 10:08 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Guys,
can you all do a favour for me and run the following tests?

inside keypad type in
*#*#528#*#*

It will pop out wifi test

Then press menu button
Select rx test
then run
What do you guys see?

Received
Error
Per (%)

This post has been edited by MYstombox: Jul 20 2010, 10:10 PM
MYstombox
post Jul 20 2010, 10:15 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

If you use other app for navigation then yes you can turn off agps and just run those.

Google maps on the other hand needs data to transfer the map details to your phone.
MYstombox
post Jul 21 2010, 12:02 AM

Wired!
2,240 posts

You don't need APNdroid, I find APN onoff better.

Another thing, I factory reset my phone, and the facebook by samsung is gone. lol.

Added on July 21, 2010, 12:04 am
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jul 20 2010, 11:59 PM)
i can tell u that she/he is bullshitting...
there is no such thing of u will be using 3G if ur wifi only have 1-2 bars...well,at least for me...
last time  my iphone always connected to my uni wifi with bad signal(max 1 bar) and i always use it to download/update all my apps when my data usage nearly finish...it nvr use any single data at all...

same to my galaxy s...

unless ur wifi signal is fake or got problem
There is an option under wifi settings that will disable your wifi and go onto data if the screen is off.
Make sure that option is unticked.

This post has been edited by MYstombox: Jul 21 2010, 12:04 AM
MYstombox
post Jul 21 2010, 12:06 AM

Wired!
2,240 posts

The samsung facebook app is more streamlined I feel. Not too sure about the wifi thing though, can't test now that it's gone.
MYstombox
post Jul 21 2010, 01:09 AM

Wired!
2,240 posts

QUOTE(fongkarseong @ Jul 21 2010, 12:08 AM)
I also feel that he/she bullshitting....
I think they just want to simply charge the bill only. Even my colleague using Nokia E72 also same case with me, but lucky his amount not high as me.

For my own save, I will continue off APN and on WIFI for mobile internet. what do to.... sad.gif  sad.gif

Once contract full.. Sure change to DIGI unlimited plan!!!!!!!!!!! icon_idea.gif
Maybe you'd have found it cheaper to contract maxis, break contract pay the RM500 or whatever and signed onto digi in the first place.
Oh well :s , what a way for maxis to lose customers.
MYstombox
post Jul 21 2010, 08:40 AM

Wired!
2,240 posts

lol, most ridiculous thing I've heard this week.
MYstombox
post Jul 22 2010, 02:02 AM

Wired!
2,240 posts

I downloaded a cool app that shows the SGS has 5 touch sensors.
Called multitouch test

Another app, touch test force closes when I do the following:

I put all 5 fingers down onto the screen and move the phone in a circle, once it reaches a circle, the app hangs. lolz.

This post has been edited by MYstombox: Jul 22 2010, 02:04 AM
MYstombox
post Jul 22 2010, 04:08 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Download handcent and use it as your default SMS app.

Inside handcent there is notification setting. Use that.

Added on July 22, 2010, 4:09 pm
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jul 22 2010, 03:35 PM)
no need to uninstall it..
just tick handcent as default messaging app when the message box pop up
In addition to this, you need to go to the message app, and disable notifications from there.
So only handcent will notify you of new SMS. Not double.

This post has been edited by MYstombox: Jul 22 2010, 04:09 PM
MYstombox
post Jul 22 2010, 04:10 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

QUOTE(Fries @ Jul 22 2010, 03:28 PM)
how do you check if the phone is rooted?
my kernel version:
root@SE-S604 #2

what does that mean?

cheers
Not rooted. Mine stock is this kernel

Added on July 22, 2010, 4:11 pm
QUOTE(bunnymaker @ Jul 22 2010, 04:10 PM)
This is a really noob question, but does anyone know how to insert/attach numbers into the sms?

Thanks!
Using handcent, left button, attach, select contact.
This works with default messaging too. (Thanks to bunnymaker for confirmation)

This post has been edited by MYstombox: Jul 22 2010, 04:19 PM
MYstombox
post Jul 22 2010, 04:18 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

I meant left button, I got ahead of myself. lol...
MYstombox
post Jul 22 2010, 04:23 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Do you have an microSD card in your phone at the moment?

Added on July 22, 2010, 4:28 pm
QUOTE(wan2k12 @ Jul 22 2010, 03:25 PM)
hi all,
new owner of sgs here  rclxm9.gif  ...just got mine on last monday....need help here..WTB SGS screen protector matte....can any1 help me where to buy from or how can i buy it?
icon_question.gif
lhongwuh , I think that's his name. He has budget SP matte for RM10, postage not inclusive yet. PM him.

This post has been edited by MYstombox: Jul 22 2010, 04:29 PM
MYstombox
post Jul 22 2010, 04:34 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

I have a question, has anyone managed to see how they can turn on telephone numbers on the conversation list in handcent?
Meaning, the telephone numbers are listed as well.

Some of my contacts have 2 active mobile numbers, and handcent divides the treads into 2, but without a telephone number I won't know which is which.

Of course I could just divide them to XXX Carrier1 and XXX Carrier2 and so forth but I think there should be an easier way.
MYstombox
post Jul 22 2010, 04:46 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

QUOTE(cherrysista @ Jul 22 2010, 04:37 PM)
alamak.. i think i chose the Original as default thats y the double threads.. sad.gif anywhere i can re-default again or have to uninstall n reinstall? thanks for the lights.. smile.gif

Added on July 22, 2010, 4:39 pm
thanks hihihehe..
Yes you can redefault, follow these steps

1) Open messaging
2) Attempt to send a message to someone on the conversation list
3) Bubble should pop up
4) Check the box that says use this program as default
5) Press on handcent to select

Added on July 22, 2010, 4:47 pm
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jul 22 2010, 04:43 PM)
to cancel the default apps,go to settings>applications>manage application>choose the app that you want cancel the default > and clear defaults
This only works for installed apps, not for default apps like messaging.

Added on July 22, 2010, 4:50 pm
QUOTE(cherrysista @ Jul 22 2010, 04:37 PM)
alamak.. i think i chose the Original as default thats y the double threads.. sad.gif anywhere i can re-default again or have to uninstall n reinstall? thanks for the lights.. smile.gif

Added on July 22, 2010, 4:39 pm
thanks hihihehe..
Also, by default even after you install handcent, there will be 2 notifications.
Follow these instructions by handcent:

http://www.handcent.com/Faq.php#TWO_MSG

They have pictures too, so it's easy to follow.

This post has been edited by MYstombox: Jul 22 2010, 04:50 PM
MYstombox
post Jul 22 2010, 05:16 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

QUOTE(bunnymaker @ Jul 22 2010, 05:01 PM)
Anyone using the default Calendar widget? How do I change the alarm tone? I tried going through the settings, but there's no option to do so. sad.gif
Can't change AFIAK, but someone please correct me.
I use retro clock and agenda widget that links to calendar but also no alarm settings.
MYstombox
post Jul 22 2010, 05:20 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Hard reset for?
No reason to hard reset.
MYstombox
post Jul 22 2010, 06:13 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Bunny - It's fine, don't worry.
lithium batteries nowadays don't have issues that plagued the older battery technologies.
MYstombox
post Jul 22 2010, 08:58 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jul 22 2010, 08:48 PM)
yes
nope..
SGS phonebook can save more than 2 numbers under 1 name.
Just click the little plus sign inside the contact book.

Added on July 22, 2010, 8:59 pm
QUOTE(Narako @ Jul 22 2010, 08:04 PM)
hey anyone experience the gps issue that they claim is affecting the sgs??
Nothing, I can use it no prob as of today.

Added on July 22, 2010, 9:01 pm
QUOTE(cherrysista @ Jul 22 2010, 07:23 PM)
sorry another Q.. so far i can view draft messages in handcent sms.. but seems unable to locate the draft message in 'original' version.. where is it hiding? thanks..
It is there, it is just not labeled as draft.
Once you click on the person on the conversation list, there will be text in the box.
Once there is text inside, it denotes that it is a draft message.

This post has been edited by MYstombox: Jul 22 2010, 09:03 PM
MYstombox
post Jul 22 2010, 09:42 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

dannyng - go and download ringdroid, and use ur mp3 to edit and save to the ringtone u want, then select the tone inside settings.
MYstombox
post Jul 22 2010, 10:49 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

QUOTE(horphi @ Jul 22 2010, 10:32 PM)
Guys,

any 1 can help on which application should i add into ignore list ?i means task killer.
Set security to low then you can see more stuff.
I use task killer now as a compliment to auto memory manager.

No autokill set now, just in case I see something pop up that I don't need I can kill it, but otherwise I let AMM manage my memory for me.

16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0417sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 01:11 PM