Are there anything to boost appetite?

TSsnowberry
post Jul 17 2010, 07:36 PM, updated 16y ago

504 posts

ever since i started bulking up, when i start to take my meal, i get full easily or dun feel like eating.

whereas before i started bulking up, i can easily finish a meal.

so i was thinking if theres something i can take to boost my appetite?
ah_suknat
post Jul 17 2010, 07:45 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

perhaps you eat too much that you stomach cant digest anymore....
if you want to bulk, get weigh gainer, more calories in smaller servings than your regular meal.
LadyVanity
post Jul 18 2010, 12:53 AM

249 posts

some ppl get suppressed appetites frm training too hard... i personally find that in this case B-complex supplements work great.

how long hv u been bulking too, btw? if u hv been dieting/cutting for awhile prior to this ur stomach may hv shrunk... ur body may not be accustomed to the sudden load of food coming in at first but after awhile ur stomach should "stretch out" and you'll be fine.
kurtkob78
post Jul 18 2010, 07:33 AM

Do your best
3,833 posts

how about to reduce appetite when cutting ? Any tips ?
ah_suknat
post Jul 18 2010, 09:41 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Jul 17 2010, 11:33 PM)
you cant do it overnight, try training more during the day, as lady vanity said and proven by myself too, exhaustion makes you loss appetite.
LadyVanity
post Jul 18 2010, 02:32 PM

249 posts

QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Jul 18 2010, 07:33 AM)
well.... not that i know of.... =/ ppl say certain fat burning supps suppress appetite... but in my case = hantu lapar. lol.

usually whn i start cutting im hungry as hell but after awhile ur bod gets used to it and ur stomach "shrinks"... so u cant eat that much anyways after awhile.
usually whn im cutting i realise that even on my cheat days.. if i go for buffet i cant eat as much and i get full very fast cos ive become more accustomed to smaller meals and portions.

kurtkob78
post Jul 18 2010, 02:51 PM

Do your best
3,833 posts

lol cheat day buffet. Cheat days is the happiest day during my cutting phase. I eat full plate of rice 3 times a day. not forgetting chocolate, biscuits, wafer, ice cream, durian, rojak ... yummy
pizzaboy
post Jul 18 2010, 03:19 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(snowberry @ Jul 17 2010, 07:36 PM)
ever since i started bulking up, when i start to take my meal, i get full easily or dun feel like eating.

whereas before i started bulking up, i can easily finish a meal.

so i was thinking if theres something i can take to boost my appetite?
I used to be like you, especially after a hard 4 hour session with my coach.

Upon studies, I've found that this is caused by the repetitive action, and your body starts conserving energy. Our bodies become efficient at performing the action, thus we don't usually feel that hungry. ANother thing is because we've overtrained and all the body wants is to recover and rest.

When this happens, my coach switched the entire system of training. We went from snatches to pulls to deadlifts, to drop snatches to snatches and finally fast pulls. Then we moved to a short 5 minute circuit at the end. In just 1 week, my body started recovering better and training improved. So you could probably give tht a shot too
TSsnowberry
post Jul 18 2010, 04:23 PM

504 posts

QUOTE(LadyVanity @ Jul 18 2010, 12:53 AM)
some ppl get suppressed appetites frm training too hard... i personally find that in this case B-complex supplements work great.

how long hv u been bulking too, btw? if u hv been dieting/cutting for awhile prior to this ur stomach may hv shrunk... ur body may not be accustomed to the sudden load of food coming in at first but after awhile ur stomach should "stretch out" and you'll be fine.

i started bulking and workout 1month ago, from 50kg - 56kg. but now when i eat i feel full after awhile.

no idea wats happening. been eating alot to hit my target last month and manage to get 56kg now.

so should i go get b-complex?what can it actually do?
LadyVanity
post Jul 18 2010, 05:56 PM

249 posts

b-complex aids metabolism of protein, lipids and carbs in the body and plays an important part in mantaining and utilizing energy. it also helps in the process of making new cells (cell growth), good for skin, helps with production of red blood cells.... so as you can see... its an important supplement for any bodybuilder.
iamyuanwu
post Jul 18 2010, 06:02 PM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(snowberry @ Jul 18 2010, 04:23 PM)
i started bulking and workout 1month ago, from 50kg - 56kg. but now when i eat i feel full after awhile.

no idea wats happening. been eating alot to hit my target last month and manage to get 56kg now.

so should i go get b-complex?what can it actually do?
Yes, you should. It's vitamins that are involved in energy utilization, and everything else that LadyVanity mentioned.

Added on July 18, 2010, 6:06 pm
QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Jul 18 2010, 03:19 PM)
I used to be like you, especially after a hard 4 hour session with my coach.

Upon studies, I've found that this is caused by the repetitive action, and your body starts conserving energy. Our bodies become efficient at performing the action, thus we don't usually feel that hungry. ANother thing is because we've overtrained and all the body wants is to recover and rest.

When this happens, my coach switched the entire system of training. We went from snatches to pulls to deadlifts, to drop snatches to snatches and finally fast pulls. Then we moved to a short 5 minute circuit at the end. In just 1 week, my body started recovering better and training improved. So you could probably give tht a shot too
Basically you just changed the training into something else? And after some time with this new system, does the same thing happens again?

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Jul 18 2010, 06:07 PM
pizzaboy
post Jul 19 2010, 02:00 PM

9,495 posts

I have found that, when I switch back to my weightlifting training methods, it happens instantly. When I work in Pushmore, where I do a strength training protocol and then move to a Crossfit workout, I'm famished.

My body is extremely used to the 2-3 rep range, so by switching it to singles and 5's, it gets really hungry. I also improve better, when I'm hungry. I'm dead serious. When I felt full all the time, my improvements were at a tortoise pace. When I train and feel hungry, I've grown bigger and stronger and my training feels more, solid. My lifts are more consistent.

0.0165sec    1.88    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:14 PM