Disk Partition Recovery, When BASIC becomes DYNAMIC suddenly
bata
Sep 25 2006, 10:38 PM
my fren hav a prob here..... his hdd suddenly bcome type44 format instead of NTFS.... is there any other way to repair the partition??
its not about how to recover back the data...... i know how to.....but its a bit time consuming coz his hdd quite large
Chow.
super macgyver
Sep 26 2006, 12:18 AM
QUOTE(allengorden @ Sep 17 2006, 05:29 PM) To my experience several things might have happened to your external hdd. 1. Bad sectors 2. Bad SMART (IC spoilt) 3. Using the front chassis usb ports(for pc)- this is a big no no. Pls use the back ones as the front usb ports have not enough power to fuel the external hdd. data will corrupt. 4. Initial formatting of hdd should be formatted by a pc using a hdd convertor. Means the notebook hdd should be attached to a pc using a ide adaptor. The data will be more stable and correct hdd size will be reported accurately. u sure? the 4 th statement? coz i alwiz use usb to format it but no issue ler.
hellfire8888
Oct 4 2006, 07:07 PM
QUOTE(super macgyver @ Sep 26 2006, 01:18 AM) u sure? the 4 th statement? coz i alwiz use usb to format it but no issue ler.  of course not true la..lol it is funny to see all sort of crap advise here.. sigh...
superlfc
Oct 5 2006, 08:44 AM

previously i cant access to my 2.5 hdd using external usb 2.0... after going thru this post... i got myself a 2.5 to 3.5 ide adapter at low yat place.... connect to my pc and i got all my file back!!!
much much more smoother and faster
hellfire8888
Oct 9 2006, 01:44 PM
QUOTE(superlfc @ Oct 5 2006, 09:44 AM) previously i cant access to my 2.5 hdd using external usb 2.0... after going thru this post... i got myself a 2.5 to 3.5 ide adapter at low yat place.... connect to my pc and i got all my file back!!! much much more smoother and faster good for u
super macgyver
Oct 10 2006, 03:35 PM
QUOTE(superlfc @ Oct 5 2006, 08:44 AM) previously i cant access to my 2.5 hdd using external usb 2.0... after going thru this post... i got myself a 2.5 to 3.5 ide adapter at low yat place.... connect to my pc and i got all my file back!!! much much more smoother and faster the xternal enclosure is faulty?
syyang85
Oct 17 2006, 04:59 PM
I had the same problem too. My NTFS somehow changed to RAW due to i suspect faulty cables + Nvidia stupid IDE drivers which caused my lots of troubles with cd-roms + hard disk.
I used Getdataback for NTFS. I got back some of my files. It can scan for previous data even u've formated the drive. As long as u didn't fully erased the disk( writing all ZEROS into the drives).
super macgyver
Oct 17 2006, 05:27 PM
jimlim007
Oct 18 2006, 03:18 AM
QUOTE(syyang85 @ Oct 17 2006, 04:59 PM) It can scan for previous data even u've formated the drive. As long as u didn't fully erased the disk( writing all ZEROS into the drives). what is that mean dind't fully erased the disk (writing all zeros into the drive)??? perhaps, as i mentioned my data gone bcos Partition damage. So i recreated partition lo....into 2 NTFS and now running at system. I want to ask, is it now i do recovery data in window or i need to erased my window and do recovery in DOS....??
jimlim007
Oct 18 2006, 03:19 AM
QUOTE(super macgyver @ Oct 17 2006, 05:27 PM) if u want recover it back, u should do further operation on ur hdd in the first place after happened tis tragedy.  good luck, but still can recover sum as long u dun put any more data on it for now. what is that mean in red text??? currently i redownload all the file that i m missing. few GB already save wor......then how???
super macgyver
Oct 22 2006, 12:02 AM
QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Oct 18 2006, 03:19 AM) what is that mean in red text??? currently i redownload all the file that i m missing. few GB already save wor......then how??? nvm, u already damage the allocation in the hdd sector which can recover.
Neil_ppc
Nov 20 2006, 02:31 PM
try "diskgen" is very good! It's chinese ver
winlose2582
Nov 25 2006, 10:59 PM
QUOTE(superlfc @ Oct 5 2006, 08:44 AM) previously i cant access to my 2.5 hdd using external usb 2.0... after going thru this post... i got myself a 2.5 to 3.5 ide adapter at low yat place.... connect to my pc and i got all my file back!!! much much more smoother and faster Im now also facing the same problem. Everytime i plug in my ext 2.5 hdd, the pc goes hang....after i unplug the notebook hdd, the pc is working fine... some file is corrupted in 2.5 hdd...so now very upset... I think i need to buy the 2.5 to 3.5 ide adapter to retrieve back my files...
Ash
Nov 26 2006, 07:20 PM
QUOTE(huichai @ Aug 10 2006, 05:16 PM) I used dskprobe.exe to change dynamic to basic disk.. It worked just change a value and the hd (IDE) became a basic disk... where can i get dskprobe.exe?
Netto Hikari
Dec 9 2006, 12:33 AM
guys, u all noe how to recover data from a spoil hdd? the hdd when i use it as external.....it has no file system(not ntfs or fat32 or basic or dynamic....just plain) but previously it IS install with winxp home.
super macgyver
Dec 11 2006, 12:33 PM
QUOTE(winlose2582 @ Nov 25 2006, 10:59 PM) Im now also facing the same problem. Everytime i plug in my ext 2.5 hdd, the pc goes hang....after i unplug the notebook hdd, the pc is working fine... some file is corrupted in 2.5 hdd...so now very upset... I think i need to buy the 2.5 to 3.5 ide adapter to retrieve back my files... it just around RM25 under garage sales section. QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Dec 9 2006, 12:33 AM) guys, u all noe how to recover data from a spoil hdd? the hdd when i use it as external.....it has no file system(not ntfs or fat32 or basic or dynamic....just plain) but previously it IS install with winxp home. how come? if u got install winxp into it, sure it is got fat system like ntfs, fat32.
Netto Hikari
Dec 11 2006, 12:38 PM
QUOTE(super macgyver @ Dec 11 2006, 12:33 PM) how come? if u got install winxp into it, sure it is got fat system like ntfs, fat32. i really got no idea. the wierd part is that it report the hdd space as empty which is impossible as it contains all my dad data's inside. edit: some how i manage to screencap it. it takes like 5-20 minutes for the windows to regconise it as a normal HDD.  its the drive e:. This post has been edited by Netto Hikari: Dec 11 2006, 12:47 PM
lOvEbItE
Dec 13 2006, 04:24 PM
I've used partition magic to merge to drives Drive D and Drive E. All the files in Drive E will be put into 1 folder in Drive D, assume the folder name is "myfiles".
After partition merged, I try to open "myfiles" folder but it mentioned that I got no access rights! What happened? Any idea?
wongzai
Dec 19 2006, 03:20 PM
personal recommend Easy Recovery Data Recovery....very helpful and ec to use to recover data..