HTC Desire HD - officially launched in Asia Pac, The Ace has arrived. Soon to Malaysia
benny888
Oct 12 2010, 09:56 AM
Gadget Freak
I think we will see same sales strategy from maxis. Sell the phones with contract first, without contracts a month or more later. If I am maxis marketing director I will do so. Unlike iPhone 4 , it was simultaneously being sold and is unlikely for the dhd. the iPhone4 scenario is different due to demand . People are just crazy over it and maxis will use the opportunity to make quick bucks out of it. the desire hd will not and do not command sales as the iPhone4 magnetic pull. So maxis priority will be contract sales first. Just my 2 sens on marketing strategy.
irenic
Oct 12 2010, 09:58 AM
QUOTE(Atsutane-Shirane @ Oct 11 2010, 07:06 PM) Something funny kinda happen today... went to maxis center at pyramid... ask them about maxis will get DHD or not... at first both staff say they already "Got" it... Then when i say "Desire HD" again... 1 say dont have and 1 say have... then they fight together... lmao... Seriously... they CEO don't tell them about november release meh..? my friend works with maxis and she said they always be informed at the very last minute (like earliest a week before launching) unless u are directly involved in the product team.. or u got leaked news from friends that work on the new produt.. my friend was involved with iphone 4 launching event, and even that she only knews about it 1 week earlier. and so unsurprisingly till now she has not yet hear any news about the DHD or Desire Z..
jiidaineko
Oct 12 2010, 10:20 AM
QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 12 2010, 09:56 AM) the desire hd will not and do not command sales as the iPhone4 sheeps/zombies/drones. fix'd QUOTE(irenic @ Oct 12 2010, 09:58 AM) my friend works with maxis and she said they always be informed at the very last minute (like earliest a week before launching) unless u are directly involved in the product team.. or u got leaked news from friends that work on the new produt.. my friend was involved with iphone 4 launching event, and even that she only knews about it 1 week earlier. and so unsurprisingly till now she has not yet hear any news about the DHD or Desire Z.. ask her to lurk the internet moar lol. we as outsider are even more aware of such things.
irenic
Oct 12 2010, 11:03 AM
QUOTE(jiidaineko @ Oct 12 2010, 10:20 AM) ask her to lurk the internet moar lol. we as outsider are even more aware of such things. of coz she knews about there's a launching event for iphone 4, and she is also a user and keen follower of android.. wht i meant is the official words from maxis. they are to be briefed about product launching, new promotion everything.. like u know, they know there's new phone coming.. but when, who will involve with the launching, the pricing, or plan, everything will be briefed kinda last minute..
benny888
Oct 12 2010, 11:07 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(jiidaineko @ Oct 12 2010, 10:20 AM) fix'd ask her to lurk the internet moar lol. we as outsider are even more aware of such things. Wow ! that was a good fix I have also a old iphone 3GS and ipad and till today I still dont understand why people or applefanboys so called are so crazy over it. Apple products are not bad but I wont say it is the greatest. Their products has strengths and similarly weakness. But somehow Steve Jobs ( they called him Apple's God ) had mesmerized and " hynoptize " his followers to the extent they cannot accept anything but Apple. Luckily I am invulnerable to him and at least stay objective and have a mind of my own deciding what is good for me
jiidaineko
Oct 12 2010, 11:20 AM
QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 12 2010, 11:07 AM) Wow ! that was a good fix I have also a old iphone 3GS and ipad and till today I still dont understand why people or applefanboys so called are so crazy over it. Apple products are not bad but I wont say it is the greatest. Their products has strengths and similarly weakness. But somehow Steve Jobs ( they called him Apple's God ) had mesmerized and " hynoptize " his followers to the extent they cannot accept anything but Apple. Luckily I am invulnerable to him and at least stay objective and have a mind of my own deciding what is good for me in the world of apple, you have jesus jobs lol. haha yes indeed, they love converting feeble minded ppl. we 'rebels' have immunity.
irenic
Oct 12 2010, 11:47 AM
we are like the rebellion in the star wars movie where we are able to hold ourselves from being lure to the dark side of the force (apple) by the Sidious (jobs)
Oct 12 2010, 12:11 PM
QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 12 2010, 11:07 AM) Wow ! that was a good fix I have also a old iphone 3GS and ipad and till today I still dont understand why people or applefanboys so called are so crazy over it. Apple products are not bad but I wont say it is the greatest. Their products has strengths and similarly weakness. But somehow Steve Jobs ( they called him Apple's God ) had mesmerized and " hynoptize " his followers to the extent they cannot accept anything but Apple. Luckily I am invulnerable to him and at least stay objective and have a mind of my own deciding what is good for me feel like those ppl are either brain wash or mind controlled.
Ahkwang
Oct 12 2010, 12:48 PM
hmmm..was wondering - is there any casing for the desire HD that we can buy like for the iphone? need to protect this baby if need to buy. Any advise previous owner of HTC HD2 on how to protect this super big screen??
catfish
Oct 12 2010, 01:16 PM

Hahah loved everything about DHD... But do you think the screen is a lil too big for you palms?
Still split up whether to buy DHD or DHZ...
TSCynox
Oct 12 2010, 01:24 PM
QUOTE(catfish @ Oct 12 2010, 01:16 PM) Hahah loved everything about DHD... But do you think the screen is a lil too big for you palms? Still split up whether to buy DHD or DHZ... I will treat it like a micro-size computer/PDA rather than a phone if I really get the Desire HD. I do not use the phone function on my Desire much.
CocoMonGo
Oct 12 2010, 09:06 PM
QUOTE(alfredtwl @ Oct 12 2010, 09:39 AM) no i just worried like last time Desire. After a month then only selling contract free set ....  hmmm if its going to take so long to get a malaysian DHD... AP set here i come!! I mean if I can get a DHD at SD888 and KL price is going to be the same.. who cares especially since I can get it sooner? This post has been edited by CocoMonGo: Oct 12 2010, 09:06 PM
kokleong725
Oct 12 2010, 09:56 PM

Those phone like Desire or samsung galaxy s cant bought it from shop? what i means is i don't want buy under maxis. sorry... newbie here.. >.<
ccgenius
Oct 12 2010, 10:02 PM
QUOTE(kokleong725 @ Oct 12 2010, 09:56 PM) Those phone like Desire or samsung galaxy s cant bought it from shop? what i means is i don't want buy under maxis. sorry... newbie here.. >.< SGS only available exclusively under maxis, samsung and other shops are not selling it. You can either buy it with or without contract from maxis. desire is available at other shops other than maxis.
xproc
Oct 12 2010, 10:19 PM
http://www.eprice.com.tw/mobile/talk/?prod...018&tid=4520460desire HD is normal TFT, Desire Z is SLCD QUOTE 先前小編對於 Desire HD 的螢幕材質有點疑問,今天詢問了一下產品經理,得到下面的回覆:Desire Z 的螢幕材質是 SLCD(Super LCD),不過 Desire HD 並沒有採用 SLCD,而是一般的 TFT,原因是「SLCD 目前還沒有這麼大的面板」,不過產品經理表示 Desire HD 的螢幕支援 1670 萬色,色彩效果也很優。 This post has been edited by xproc: Oct 12 2010, 10:19 PM
Ahkwang
Oct 12 2010, 10:26 PM
http://www.maxis.com.my/mmc/index.asp?fuse....view&recID=479maxis announces launch of HTC HD7 (windows phone 7) OS. Hmm....HD7 was launched later than Desire HD, but maxis is announcing HD7 first! >< bahh...when is maxis announcing the DHD  maybe it's time to take a closer look at HD7.  very similar to the DHD in terms of specs.  will maxis launch two similar high end phones (albeit diff OS) at the same month (November)? Something doesn't add up....
akira de aimbuster
Oct 12 2010, 10:29 PM
QUOTE(xproc @ Oct 12 2010, 10:19 PM) bad bad news
alfredtwl
Oct 12 2010, 10:46 PM
QUOTE(xproc @ Oct 12 2010, 10:19 PM) Btw, HD7 using SLCD ??? Just check gsmarena and some website.
hot_hunt
Oct 12 2010, 10:47 PM
QUOTE(lw4ever @ Oct 12 2010, 06:50 AM) "The two smartphones will be available in Malaysia next month through a data plan tie-up with Maxis, which will also be the exclusive distributor for HTC Desire Z." Does this mean Maxis is not exclusive distributor for HTC Desire HD? http://www.nst.com.my/nst/articles/Newsfro...Desires/ArticleHTC launch 7 new phones- 5 Windows® Phone OS 7: HTC HD7,HTC 7 MOZART,HTC 7 TROPHY, HTC 7 SURROUND AND HTC 7 PRO.. on the other hand, 2 androind phone: HTC DESIRE HD and HTC DESIRE Z