Things to ask when visiting potential property, Things to ask the agent for 1st time

TSawiekupo
post Jul 14 2010, 09:44 AM, updated 16y ago

Lucky to be coming home again..
1,481 posts

Hi guys,

May I know some of the most important things to ask when we meet the realty agent & pay a visit to any potential property (house) that we are much interested.

Beside of this, what are other things that we should pay close attention (on the house) during this 1st visit?

Any to-do-list or things to avoid when showing our interest for the house?

sky_micro
post Jul 14 2010, 09:56 AM

82 posts

erm, I suppose should ask on all the hidden fees?

Whenever I visit new place:
- I will be really careful on the security,
- the community around that area (signs of illegal foreign workers / students),
- what sort of people live next door (you wouldn't want weird neighbors long term)
- if renovation works is needed, which are the parts you CAN'T demolish (sometimes there are the main supports you can't remove right in the middle of nowhere, nonsense)
- carpark, if condo I will look at the lightings at night

that's all I could think of now smile.gif
leongal
post Jul 14 2010, 09:58 AM

~I have a new mission in life~
3,188 posts

i think the most important is to get the agent's name card and verify if he is licensed one.....check his background (you might not know he could be "playing fool" together with the owner), which I almost felt into this trap when i first viewed a place
Skydrop
post Jul 14 2010, 10:09 AM

361 posts

QUOTE(leongal @ Jul 14 2010, 09:58 AM)
i think the most important is to get the agent's name card and verify if he is licensed one.....check his background (you might not know he could be "playing fool" together with the owner), which I almost felt into this trap when i first viewed a place
blink.gif how? Mind to share it here so we can take some precautions?
leongal
post Jul 14 2010, 10:16 AM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(Skydrop @ Jul 14 2010, 10:09 AM)
blink.gif  how? Mind to share it here so we can take some precautions?
if he doesn't give you name card (by saying that he has run out of them), be cautious....
after you get his name card (and even if he doesn't - ask for the company name), call the company up and check
ask people around about the real estate company and the agent
shinnosuke
post Jul 14 2010, 10:17 AM

who are you?
1,997 posts

QUOTE(Skydrop @ Jul 14 2010, 10:09 AM)
blink.gif  how? Mind to share it here so we can take some precautions?
call the company, verify if the agent is really working there.
google the company name, check with registrar if you're really keen. IINM they have association or something like that

In my case, it's pretty easy cos the company have a website and the agent is listed there with picture
TSawiekupo
post Jul 14 2010, 10:20 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(sky_micro @ Jul 14 2010, 09:56 AM)

- what sort of people live next door (you wouldn't want weird neighbors long term)
- if renovation works is needed, which are the parts you CAN'T demolish (sometimes there are the main supports you can't remove right in the middle of nowhere, nonsense)

thanks sky for all the list.. it's a double storey terrace house so I think I'll try see how many car can fit the front park..

noted with thanks. will try to ask for his card.. wink.gif

Also, would it be appropriate to ask for the discounted price from the original price that was quoted by the agent in this 1st meeting even if I have not check the market value of this property? (Well I did ask for the address but the agent said he cant disclose the address on the phone.. is this common practice?)

This post has been edited by awiekupo: Jul 14 2010, 10:22 AM
leongal
post Jul 14 2010, 10:24 AM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(awiekupo @ Jul 14 2010, 10:20 AM)
thanks sky for all the list.. it's a double storey terrace house so I think I'll try see how many car can fit the front park..
noted with thanks. will try to ask for his card.. wink.gif

Also, would it be appropriate to ask for the discounted price from the original price that was quoted by the agent in this 1st meeting even if I have not check the market value of this property? (Well I did ask for the address but the agent said he cant disclose the address on the phone.. is this common practice?)
you can ask the price, but don't agree on the spot
Skydrop
post Jul 14 2010, 10:37 AM

361 posts

QUOTE(leongal @ Jul 14 2010, 10:16 AM)
if he doesn't give you name card (by saying that he has run out of them), be cautious....
after you get his name card (and even if he doesn't - ask for the company name), call the company up and check
ic. Thanks!

Added on July 14, 2010, 10:38 am
QUOTE(shinnosuke @ Jul 14 2010, 10:17 AM)
call the company, verify if the agent is really working there.
google the company name, check with registrar if you're really keen. IINM they have association or something like that

In my case, it's pretty easy cos the company have a website and the agent is listed there with picture
True, never rush into anything ya. Thanks.

This post has been edited by Skydrop: Jul 14 2010, 10:38 AM
uniquesoul
post Jul 14 2010, 11:38 AM

104 posts

For me..i'll take note on what neighbors are staying next door, ask about facilities around the area, most important drive and survey the surroundings. If there's a playground, check if there is any vandalism, if there is any= dangerous ppl likes to hang out there. Look for defect of the hse..
faceless
post Jul 14 2010, 11:44 AM

Straight Mouth is Big Word
4,515 posts

QUOTE(leongal @ Jul 14 2010, 10:16 AM)
That being the case, might as well call Malaysian Institute of Estate Agents to check the credibility of the company from the society's president.

What to Ask
1) Recent transaction done for the area. If the agent can tell you many transaction then the agent specialised in the area.
2) If he can answer 1, then he will know of the future development plans in the area.
3) He should also which is the best and worse units and why.
leongal
post Jul 14 2010, 11:56 AM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Jul 14 2010, 11:44 AM)

1) Recent transaction done for the area. If the agent can tell you many transaction then the agent specialised in the area.
but also beware of the agent "bull-shitting" and "disgracing" your smaller amount of transaction compared to his portfolio

for example, the agent who wanted to cheat me said "what you scared? I deal with millions ringgit property, yours is just like what RM 200k+"

if he ever says that, walk away

ubsacc2004
post Jul 14 2010, 11:58 AM

No life without MUsic
1,860 posts

QUOTE(leongal @ Jul 14 2010, 11:56 AM)
but also beware of the agent "bull-shitting" and "disgracing" your smaller amount of transaction compared to his portfolio

for example, the agent who wanted to cheat me said "what you scared? I deal with millions ringgit property, yours is just like what RM 200k+"

yes agree with you.
just walk away.
sky_micro
post Jul 14 2010, 11:58 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(uniquesoul @ Jul 14 2010, 11:38 AM)
For me..i'll take note on what neighbors are staying next door, ask about facilities around the area, most important drive and survey the surroundings. If there's a playground, check if there is any vandalism, if there is any= dangerous ppl likes to hang out there. Look for defect of the hse..
That being the case, might as well call Malaysian Institute of Estate Agents to check the credibility of the company from the society's president.

What to Ask
2) If he can answer 1, then he will know of the future development plans in the area.
WOW! I learned a lot here myself! Thanks for the info guys!
uniquesoul
post Jul 14 2010, 12:03 PM

104 posts

Reminds me of an arrogant agent, where i call up and ask about the hse b4 viewing. As i was inform abt that hse, i decide not to view the property and he ask what is my budget and requirements. After i inform him, he said "whoa, with this kinda budget i dont think you can get a house lo", bye bye!!
I was freaking piss off.. mad.gif
Tohsan
post Jul 14 2010, 02:16 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(sky_micro @ Jul 14 2010, 09:56 AM)

additional point, anyone died in the house before whether its natural death or committing suicide.... tongue.gif
shay_g
post Jul 14 2010, 02:54 PM

17 posts

if condo or apartment... check for the leakage... if there any leakage...
make sure they solve the problem 1st...
if not... will make you headache for the long time...
or dont buy that house...

TSawiekupo
post Jul 14 2010, 03:19 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(uniquesoul @ Jul 14 2010, 11:38 AM)
Thanks.. opposite the house got a playground.. but i see lots of er.. how do i say this.. "junior mat rempit" hanging out there...

What to Ask
ok noted.. will ask his previous transaction history in that area..

hehehe.. dun worry, i'll definitely walk away if he do that... even if the house is 200k, it still worth sumthin... think so easy to get 200k arr?

QUOTE(uniquesoul @ Jul 14 2010, 12:03 PM)
Reminds me of an arrogant agent, where i call up and ask about the hse b4 viewing. As i was inform abt that hse, i decide not to view the property and he ask what is my budget and requirements. After i inform him, he said "whoa, with this kinda budget i dont think you can get a house lo", bye bye!!
I was freaking piss off.. mad.gif
hoho.. tx for sharing yr exp.. wink.gif

QUOTE(Tohsan @ Jul 14 2010, 02:16 PM)
additional point, anyone died in the house before whether its natural death or committing suicide....  tongue.gif
seriously arr? okok.. i try ask..

QUOTE(shay_g @ Jul 14 2010, 02:54 PM)
if condo or apartment... check for the leakage... if there any leakage...
make sure they solve the problem 1st...
if not... will make you headache for the long time...
or dont buy that house...
its a double storey terrace house.. but i still hv to check for leakage rite?

all in all, thx again guys for yr advice.. keep it coming eh.. gonna meet the agent & visit the house this 6pm..

leongal
post Jul 14 2010, 03:34 PM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(awiekupo @ Jul 14 2010, 03:19 PM)

seriously arr? okok.. i try ask..
no point asking....cos even if there's someone who die there before, they wun tell....you got to figure out yourself tongue.gif
faceless
post Jul 14 2010, 03:36 PM

4,515 posts

Good point Leongal. My purpose is to test his knowledge of the area. Of course you take what he say with a grain of salt. I also agree with what I put in bold. That is not the way to win a client's trust.

QUOTE(Tohsan @ Jul 14 2010, 02:16 PM)
additional point, anyone died in the house before whether its natural death or committing suicide.
Good point. If I am the agent I will tell you, "not that I know of" even though there had been 2 or 3 cases. The truth for this info will kill the sale.

QUOTE(awiekupo @ Jul 14 2010, 03:19 PM)
Thanks.. opposite the house got a playground.. but i see lots of er.. how do i say this.. "junior mat rempit" hanging out there
This is as good as the info that a person had commited sucide in the house.

This post has been edited by faceless: Jul 14 2010, 03:37 PM
uniquesoul
post Jul 14 2010, 03:41 PM

104 posts

Want to know got ppl die or murder in the house b4? Bring a kid below 3yrs old. If the kid cry for no reason, something is fishy in the hse,..not sure if that true but lots of ppl say tht..
By the way, u gotta ask the owner why he/she wanna sell that hse.,.
I visit a d/storey hse b4 (very nice,perfect and fully furnish)and i ask the owner, her reason is she wanna move to a apartment cause the house is too big for her and her daughter and i dont see her husband anywhere. So i suspect.. end up we didn't buy it.

Lots of young mat rempits? hmm..better becareful..This kinda ppl make noise at night..with their bikes.
faceless
post Jul 14 2010, 03:52 PM

4,515 posts

If cant find kids below, dogs would do the job too.

On the festival of hungry ghost, my dog will bark like crazy. It is not the same bark when he is on heat.
uniquesoul
post Jul 14 2010, 04:06 PM

104 posts

But how can u bring a dog to visit ppl's house?
TSawiekupo
post Jul 14 2010, 04:09 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Jul 14 2010, 03:52 PM)
If cant find kids below, dogs would do the job too.

On the festival of hungry ghost, my dog will bark like crazy. It is not the same bark when he is on heat.
i dun hv dog.. but i hv 1 yr old baby.. still can or not?
faceless
post Jul 14 2010, 04:41 PM

4,515 posts

Can its 3 year or less according to UniqueSoul. I dont know about age but I know toddlers had a strange ability to sense the presence of disturbed spirits.
uniquesoul
post Jul 14 2010, 04:49 PM

104 posts

No prob..toddler or baby below 3 years old..
jam_lennon
post Jul 14 2010, 05:23 PM

4,156 posts

QUOTE(uniquesoul @ Jul 14 2010, 03:41 PM)
Want to know got ppl die or murder in the house b4? Bring a kid below 3yrs old. If the kid cry for no reason, something is fishy in the hse,..not sure if that true but lots of ppl say tht..
By the way, u gotta ask the owner why he/she wanna sell that hse.,.
I visit a d/storey hse b4 (very nice,perfect and fully furnish)and i ask the owner, her reason is she wanna move to a apartment cause the house is too big for her and her daughter and i dont see her husband anywhere. So i suspect.. end up we didn't buy it.

Lots of young mat rempits? hmm..better becareful..This kinda ppl make noise at night..with their bikes.
i believe this is a joke. btw i think that's better ask the neighbor
uniquesoul
post Jul 14 2010, 05:41 PM

104 posts

Neighbor malas to layan you. Bring a Taoist master with you.
pltan
post Jul 14 2010, 07:26 PM

499 posts

I ask for

PSF = then you can calculate your $/PSF
Dividend|rental Yield% historical and current....
sohakyee
post Jul 14 2010, 11:27 PM

358 posts

First thing after all, why is the house vacant??!
leongal
post Jul 15 2010, 12:30 AM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(sohakyee @ Jul 14 2010, 11:27 PM)
First thing after all, why is the house vacant??!
it will be difficult to get a frank answer for this....seriously....
post Jul 15 2010, 01:21 AM

864 posts

QUOTE(leongal @ Jul 15 2010, 12:30 AM)
it will be difficult to get a frank answer for this....seriously....
what kinda answer u expect to get? there are thousand of possibility.

Added on July 15, 2010, 1:32 am
QUOTE(0106127 @ Jul 15 2010, 01:21 AM)
hi guys,

these are not the question that you should ask first. those question that are posted above are only applicable if you decide to buy the property.

the first question u should ask the agent or the owner is:

1: freehold or lease hold.
2: if leasehold, how many years remaining and how old is the building.
3: what is the market value. ps note that it is market value and not market price.
4: what is the maximum amount of loan that you can get.
5: what is the valuation of the property.
6: if it is landed property, ask for the geran, lot number.
7: if it is not landed property ask for the master title, and if any individual title issued?
8: any caveat on the property.
9: any restriction on the property. such as bumi lot, malay reserve, charge to bank, state consent, developer consent.
10: if all the above are positive then only talk abt the price to negotiate. if u dont know the answer to the above question, would be buyer will be easily fooled and does not know where to start bargaining for price.
11: ps there is no need to ask if he have a name card (name card can be printed rm10/box)
12: no need to ask if he is working there. what happen if he resign after taking ur money.
13: no need to verify if he is a registered property agent. note: most of the agent now are agent with the job desc as negotiators. most of them does not have a license.
14: after the above only comes the question if someone dies, any ghost, and stuff. get the legal aspect correct before determining personal issue. if there is problem with above. better look for other property.downt waste ur time.
15: on money to be paid, ask that agent or negotiator to deal with ur lawyer. pay him thru ur lawyer. and i here mean ur lawyer, not his recommended lawyer!
16: with ur lawyer u couldnt be cheated, unless ur lawyer also pakat with the negotiator to cheat you.

DEAL!!!!

This post has been edited by 106127: Jul 15 2010, 01:38 AM
TSawiekupo
post Jul 15 2010, 10:23 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(106127 @ Jul 15 2010, 01:21 AM)

Added on July 15, 2010, 1:32 am
hi guys,

these are not the question that you should ask first. those question that are posted above are only applicable if you decide to buy the property.
the first question u should ask the agent or the owner is:

1: freehold or lease hold.
2: if leasehold, how many years remaining and how old is the building.
3: what is the market value. ps note that it is market value and not market price.
4: what is the maximum amount of loan that you can get.
5: what is the valuation of the property.
6: if it is landed property, ask for the geran, lot number.
7: if it is not landed property ask for the master title, and if any individual title issued?
8: any caveat on the property.
9: any restriction on the property. such as bumi lot, malay reserve, charge to bank, state consent, developer consent.
10: if all the above are positive then only talk abt the price to negotiate. if u dont know the answer to the above question, would be buyer will be easily fooled and does not know where to start bargaining for price.
11: ps there is no need to ask if he have a name card (name card can be printed rm10/box)
12: no need to ask if he is working there. what happen if he resign after taking ur money.
13: no need to verify if he is a registered property agent. note: most of the agent now are agent with the job desc as negotiators. most of them does not have a license.
14: after the above only comes the question if someone dies, any ghost, and stuff. get the legal aspect correct before determining personal issue. if there is problem with above. better look for other property.downt waste ur time.
15: on money to be paid, ask that agent or negotiator to deal with ur lawyer. pay him thru ur lawyer. and i here mean ur lawyer, not his recommended lawyer!
16: with ur lawyer u couldnt be cheated, unless ur lawyer also pakat with the negotiator to cheat you.

DEAL!!!!
Waa... thx for the long list of questions 010.. highly appreciate it! wink.gif

Well I met the agent yesterday and manage to ask about how many years of lease left (leasehold till 2088) & go all over the house looking for some defects... to my surprise, there's some construction just behind the house! (like just few meters ahead). The agent said there's some kind of defect on that block and that's why it need to be demolished. Upon further checking, I can see a long cracks on the tiles and also in the bathroom. So with the price tag that they put and the condition of the house, it's safe to say that I'm no longer interested with the property even though the agent keep saying that the price is negotiable..

So that's my 1st experience that I wanna share.. hope it helps and pls do keep this thread alive.. I'm sure it would be very helpful to everyone since they definitely need to get their own house own day.. ekeke..

faceless
post Jul 15 2010, 10:33 AM

4,515 posts

Yeah, these hairline cracks can be a bad sign. Furthermore there is defect just behind the unit which could be related.
post Jul 18 2010, 01:36 AM

864 posts

hi so awek..ur going for 1120?

need wait 2.5 years wor...

and i think the ezpc promotion no more alrd
TSawiekupo
post Jul 20 2010, 12:37 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(0106127 @ Jul 18 2010, 01:36 AM)
hi so awek..ur going for 1120?

need wait 2.5 years wor...

and i think the ezpc promotion no more alrd
Yup bro... Decoded that better just get new house than spend repairing used one.

I have check with the developer and the promo still available. Now just checking with bank if they are going to change on blr's discount due to latest update while waiting for my epf withdrawal.

0.2971sec    0.94    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:40 PM