Why should i switch from iPhone to HTC (Android)?, share your opinion

kentang_peranchis
post Aug 3 2010, 10:46 PM

279 posts

10 out of 10 htc desires i had sold, customers come back and complain dat the battery only lasts abt 1/2 day.
phone calls and sms volumes were average.
icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
then of coz, ask them to try out for 2 weeks to get the battery fully working.
after dat mostly is one day usage.
bcos of dis, always got screwed by dem bcoz recommend pariah fone. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

tried searching de internet and lowyat.net/android for the answers but there is hopeless solution. den finally de reply is “if u want improved battery life, dun use it dat way”

finally de solution to them is,
“to improve de battery life, u must disable de facebook/twitter/push emails etc”
den got screwed a 2nd time because customers always say “if i disable all those functions, why the heck i want to pay so much for? those are supposed to be its selling point right? right?”

sweat.gif sweat.gif

now, i always advise my customers to choose htc androids unless they intend to live a geeky and nerdy lifestyle. if they want a stylish smartphone with all de necessary apps functionality, best UI and excellent battery life, better choose the iphone.

not suprisingly, until now nobody complained abt iphone ever since started selling 6 months ago.
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

go figure!
kentang_peranchis
post Aug 3 2010, 11:17 PM

279 posts

I was reluctant to reveal my job here. Otherwise u may think sumthg else. But no choice hv to show hand, bcos androiders hv started to run wild.
My shop is subang parade.
It's opposite a shoe repair shop
Maxis signboard

kentang_peranchis
post Aug 4 2010, 11:24 AM

279 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Aug 4 2010, 10:19 AM)
iPhone really take over the market meh?  Hype only.....  biggrin.gif

http://www.telecoms.com/21825/android-assi...g-market-share/

It is 3% difference le....
statistics, like many other thgs is dangerous when put in the hands of ppl who dun understd it.
let me show u how to think on a slightly deeper level,
market share of apple had dipped in Q2 becos news of new model launch made many ppl postpone their purchases.
furthermore like all new models, under-estimating market demand and delays in production further reduce apple's mkt share.

but i expect with the blockbuster launch of iphone4 and if apple can keep up with the production, for sure apple's share will increase in Q3 and Q4.

2ndly, with iphones blazing de trail for touch smartphones, de only way for other vendors to keep up is to use the free android os.
and i must say, it is the right decision.

tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
Geeks have more brand loyalty

A consumer survey reveals that geeks are likely to spend more on the products they like and stay loyal to their favourite brands. Geeks are also more susceptible to advertising ploys and buy more goods online.

The survey, undertaken on behalf of tech website Geeknet and market research agency Forrester Consulting and released July 27, was conducted across the United States, Britain and Germany.

It divided respondents into three categories, "IT Geeks," "tech geeks" and "non-geeks."

IT geeks were defined as working in information technology or other jobs involving hardware or software, while tech geeks don't work in IT but agree that technology is important to them and is something they regularly follow.

The survey found 20% of geeks from both categories agreed that advertisements helped them decide what to buy, compared to only 12% of non-geeks; 25% of geeks purchased the advertised product or service online whereas only 16% of non-geeks did the same.

As well as being more susceptible to advertising, geeks were also more loyal to their favourite brands with 60% of geeks versus 17% of non-geeks agreeing that when they found a brand they liked they "stuck to it."

In addition to brand loyalty, geeks were also more likely to pay more for products they liked and 29% of geeks agreed that "owning the best product is important to me," whereas only 14% of non-geeks thought the same.

With viral advertising campaigns, online supermarkets and phone apps playing an increasingly important role in everyday life, technology is no longer the preserve of a knowledgeable few, but geeks may still be the ones to ask about new innovations - 53% consider themselves "the person who knows more about an interesting trend," while only 22% of non-geeks felt the same way. - Relaxnews
:source:

Added on August 4, 2010, 11:27 am
QUOTE(bonanno @ Aug 4 2010, 10:20 AM)
Kentang.Got 16gb micro sd? Class 6 above?
got, everything also got.
but stop asking in this post bcoz its out of topic
let's respect the forummers here.

all of u r welcome to my shop, mention the passwd "kentang peranchis"and give u special *offer* and maybe a free gift.

This post has been edited by kentang_peranchis: Aug 4 2010, 11:27 AM
kentang_peranchis
post Aug 4 2010, 12:24 PM

279 posts

QUOTE(epool86 @ Aug 4 2010, 11:44 AM)

from the figure, it is clearly said that iPhone demand will increase in 3rd quarter to 4th quarter every year.. then it will drop again.
but who will going to stop android?
from the figure we can see android will continue increase steadily at a fixed rate, and there is no sign and no factor for the demand to decrease.

same situation war between Mac and Windows in early 90s.. but this time, iphone need to fight with Android (much more "powerful Windows", take not that!)
rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

let me teach u the way of smart thinking...

android was almost zero mkt share last year but becos efforts by htc, motorola, samsung this year had picked up significantly.
of coz, like what i had mentioned, this was bcos android junk is just sailing in the winds behind the mighty apple aircraft carrier.

anyhows there is no reason to say or even think android trend will continue to next year except got historical data to back up.

btw this discussion shld be in a separate thread by itself.
kentang_peranchis
post Aug 4 2010, 10:59 PM

279 posts

android is de only viable touchscreen os in de market.
let me explain.
for normal users, considering UI aesthetics, security, function and stability, it is not de best, not even 2nd best.
the best is still iOS and followed by webOS.
4get abt symbian touch n windows mobile.
bcos there is no way for htc, sony ericsson & motorola to get iOS or webOS, the only choice is android, which of course is free.

and of course ppl will buy android bcoz these desperate manufacturers put their best machines to use android. u think normal users gives a rat's arse to customizing, changing fonts, downloading widgets, etc?

no! they bought android bcoz those brands put in hd video, high megapixel, slim to attract customers.

of coz, i foresee android will stop growing and only appeals to techno geeks and nerds. after normal users get fedup with the weak battery life, technical mumbo jumbo, un-natural touch ui.

and every normal user who used iOS b4 simply cannot use android OS.
and the iphone is the most style in de mkt right now. with most selection of apps.

apple is unbeatable and is de best choice for normal users.
but it won't appeal to geeks or nerds who goes crazy over android for its customization.

kentang_peranchis
post Aug 6 2010, 09:58 AM

279 posts

QUOTE(812799 @ Aug 5 2010, 11:43 PM)
ok i'm a just a regular guy like anyone outside there who hasn't landed hands on any smartphones , most of my buddies are using Iphone , so of course i've played with it , but not HTC or any other brands ...

I'm actually deciding whether to get the new Iphone4 or HTC , so i hope forumers here can highlight without me going over so many pages ...

my basic needs for my smartphone gonna be :-

- clear calls , as in voice are sharp and clear
- checking emails are priority
- SMS are priority as well as a communication between client and I ...
- easy to use interface , without me thinking much where to press or where to choose when in need of a function.
- i need to write a lot of short notes especially
- FB and MSN is an added bonus
- durability as well , as i'm always on the go , i do have rough movement at times , so i want the phone to be slightly tougher while in my pocket.

i guess that's all i can think off and i hope ppl who had own both phone can really help me out , i'm not really a tech guy but i prefer a phone that work for me and not vice versa ...

thanks in advance ...
in addition to basic phone functions, u use ur fone primarily for business and desire a lot of typing.
since ur not a techie nerd, u won't be bothered to do a lot of customization, constantly seeking upgrades 4 ur fone, and i like ur
i prefer a phone that work for me and not vice versa ...

based on ur requirements, neither iphone nor android will suit u. i recommend u blackberry curve or bold if u have higher budget.

android battery life is extremely short. if u have many calls or do a lot of activities, it will die within half-day.
and even if u got techno-geek frens to help u download this and that software, optimize battery...u still must constantly carry a charger or 2 or 3 spare batteries (depending on usage) just to last the day.

furthermore, when u have rough movement in the pocket de huge screen of htc desire/moto milestone/samsung will be cumbersome and high risk of damage.
unless of course, ur style is baggy pants wink.gif
but i suppose if u r the suit-wearing type, it is not possible! nod.gif nod.gif

lastly, even though blackberry screen may not be as sharp as androids but it is still readable.

kentang_peranchis
post Aug 7 2010, 10:48 AM

279 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Aug 7 2010, 06:50 AM)
http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_i9000_gala...-review-500.php

where is that kentang... i want him to comment on this....
the SGS beats iPhone 4
interesting review and i respect their opinion.
overall it's one of the best geek reviews out there, just focus on the specs.
it doesn't compare usability e.g. battery life, smoothness of UI, etc.

as expected design, display,apps nobody can deny ip4 is de best.

if a geek/nerd is looking for a phone, android is the BEST!
because with so many choices of vendors use android in their flagship phones
never doubted that.

unfortunately, nothing is still done on de fundamental weakness of android

touch UI, battery life, apps.

kentang_peranchis
post Aug 7 2010, 03:55 PM

279 posts

QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Aug 6 2010, 10:49 AM)
Android battery life should be able to last at least 1 full day for heavy usage

I doubt anyone will need 2 (let alone 3) batteries for a day of usage. Of course, it's a good practise to bring the micro USB cable along in case you need to charge it on your laptop during working hour if you have a long day smile.gif
i've got a customer who is a purchaser for his company. rcvs many calls from supplier and also contractors.
got herslf a desire even though against my advice. ended up buying xtra 2 batteries from me.
even though i get more profits but i feel bad bcos she didn't use her money wisely.

finally beh tahan constant battery changing, switched to e72.
now she's a satisfied woman.
kentang_peranchis
post Aug 30 2010, 08:03 AM

279 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 30 2010, 07:14 AM)
One can always get an extra battery . I never consider battery life an issue . It is the last in my list of factors affecting my buying decision.
battery life is de most important for many ppl. some common examples
1) u dun wanna be caught in de situation where u can't make ur call or send sms bcoz ur fone ran out of juice.
2) constantly look out for powerpoints to charge ur fone.
3) carry xtra battey or two in ur pants or bag.

if android can be smart as iOS developer team to optimize battery life instead of juz use "bulldoze" approach of multi-tasking (just leave program in memory) and expecting the users to have geeky knowledge or nerdy frens to help dem install task-killers programs...

kentang_peranchis
post Aug 30 2010, 08:34 AM

279 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 30 2010, 08:20 AM)
To an extend that I feel you have no idea Iphone actually a battery sucker as well.

If not, why would there be battery pack for IdiotPhone ?
pls get someone to examine ur line of thinking, needs work...

everybody wants to get a profit from a hugely successfully product like iphone/ipod (or i-ecosystem), so having batt packs doesn't necessary mean its batt is sickeningly weak like android machines.

kentang_peranchis
post Aug 30 2010, 01:38 PM

279 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 30 2010, 09:42 AM)
Please don't address others who are non apple developer as not as smart. It is an insult. I know you love apple but that does not justify you to condemn other non apple developers.  OMG only apple users are smart users , others are not so smart has always being your arguments.

Based on your other postings, most of the at least other 50% of the world smartphone users are not smart as they prefer windows, symbian, android phones. Please stop all your nonsensical comments about non apple users. Everyone has their own right to use what one like. Nobody needs to use iPhone as if it is the only smartphone in the world. I guess I am half smart as I also use iPhone together with my android nexus n hd2 windows mobile. All platform has their own pro n cons. Which is the bestsmartphone, only steve jobs says iPhone is best in the world. He can boast all he wants but to me the best smartphone is the one which gives you most enjoyment and meet your needs. Let no one ever change your opinion.

I already said if one worry about battery juz get a spare unit, what wrong with that?
It is not important to me does not mean it apply to others. I have been using smart phones symbian, windows, iPhone, android since available and I never have to worry about battery issue. It is my usage pattern which I can control, so I repeat battery life not critical issue and Seriously I Never take into consideration when I buy phones.
pls dun vent and read my postings with a clear n clarity mind yah.
i'm sure there are a lot of smart androiders out there n i've always maintained dat android is a powerful system.
bcos of dat, it is most suitable for nerds/geeks, ppl who can focus and harness de capability of this system.
many times i repeated this.

but 4 all their smartiness, multi-tasking is not done well and drains battery damn fast.
in dis case, iOS is much smarter solution. i had never rcv complaints of battery life from 8 out of 10 customers (in de case of desire).
only 2 out of 20 i guess.

benny, u may have ur ideas and opinions, and free to express it.
while i also form my own opinions based on my own pov and customers feedback.

i also hope dat one day, android can achieve de level of iOS. dat way, it will force apple into more innovation.
what android needs to get in de normal users
a) improved batt life
b) more natural touchscreen
c) high quality of apps

kentang_peranchis
post Aug 30 2010, 04:13 PM

279 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Aug 30 2010, 03:23 PM)
I'm an iPhone developer. I don't know what "more natural touchscreen" means. The iPhone capacitive screen is about the same as any other capacitive screen out there. If you're talking about kinetic scrolling, the iPhone does it slightly better than many other phone models, like Nokia's, but otherwise it's hardly different from Android's.
i am not iphone developer, juz a normal seller. ur everyday ordinary person.
and i dun think u r iphone developer if u kenot appreciate de system and say it's almost same like android.
please study more. if u willing to buy me lunch, i can teach u a tip or two. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

maybe it is difficult for androiders but let's not juz concentrate on de geeky stuff,ok?
when u use de iphone the touch experience is very natural.
de way u interact and response, well it's hard to describe in words.

for example, when u scroll phonebook in android, right at the end it won't bounce back but juz stay there.
but the simple bounce by iphone is very well thought out n clever.

well, de menu system is most simple and powerful. almost everybody can understand and use.
android?? try asking a success businessman to use it;
got one guy, when boss ask him to buy latest phone, he chose de desire.
but poor fella got scolded real badly becos de boss was so busy and he didn't have time to learn all de geeky stuff.
juz it needs to WORK.

so when he exchange it back for an iphone, i juz add small charge him to cover de minimal cost.
otherwise he might get more scoldings... shocking.gif

kentang_peranchis
post Aug 30 2010, 04:45 PM

279 posts

QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Aug 30 2010, 04:31 PM)
About the menu "bouncing" thing as you suggested, I don't see what's so great about it. To be frank, I never have to scroll the phone book at all because it's so freaking easy to search with the dial pad rather than to scroll

I don't know what the boss is up to, I don't think it takes a geek or rocket scientist to learn how to use HTC Desire. It didn't take me more than an hour to learn it - maybe successful business man as you mentioned can't use anything else except having something with Apple logo on it smile.gif

Again, I wouldn't be so clear cut and insist that one brand is better than another. Both OS are good and do what each other does. While iOS is better than Android in some area (more apps, better design), Android is better than iOS in other areas (open platform, web surfing speed,customization)...
yes, its true.
i've always maintained dat both ios4 is de best but android is good too.
depends on wat type of person u r.
many times, i've seen over eager beavers spent so much on a phone dat is too powderful for dem and end up feeling frustrated n demotivated.

if u want best looking aesthetics, elegant simplicity in user interface, reasonable battery life, n ultimate selection of apps, den its no choice but iphone.
on de other hand, if u like nerdy stuff like modding, customizing colors/fonts, designing ur own apps, den choose android.
got htc, se, moto, csl, etc

of course i talk abt desire more bcoz its de most android fone i sell
legend - too expensive, smallish screen
se x10 - too expensive
milestone - not popular.
wildfire - ???

Added on August 30, 2010, 4:50 pm
QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Aug 30 2010, 04:31 PM)
About the menu "bouncing" thing as you suggested, I don't see what's so great about it. To be frank, I never have to scroll the phone book at all because it's so freaking easy to search with the dial pad rather than to scroll

actually its de attention 2 all these small but important details dat makes iOS the greatest mobile phone OS.
while techno geeks seek to outdo each other in mbit, mpixels, apple teams of engineering genius focus on de user interface aspects dat made touch screen phones into de mainstream;

apple really changed de world.

and android now, is juz catching up.
while i hope they can succeed, but chances are very slim. reason is simply, they do not have the vision of steve jobs.

This post has been edited by kentang_peranchis: Aug 30 2010, 04:50 PM
kentang_peranchis
post Aug 30 2010, 08:11 PM

279 posts

QUOTE(whitegoh @ Aug 30 2010, 05:00 PM)
"apple really changed de world"
LOL... touchscreen phone available already since 1999 lo...
how Apple really change the world???
Some technology used by Apple is not invented by Apple.
how can u say Apple change the world???
the so called A4 processor doesn't really fully invented by Apple either.
And do you know that Apple wanted to develop Tablet 1st before they come out with iPhone?
i'm not sure exactly when touchscreen phones came into mass market but before iphone came into de mkt, not many ppl really wanted to buy one.
not bcoz its too expensive but mostly bcoz de interface is too cumbersome and not user-friendly, until apple comes along and took de market by storm.

iphone became a fenomenal smash hit arnd de world and evrybody simply wants an iphone.
but den of coz, de nerds/geeks disliked de ingenuity n simplicity bcoz there's nothing much to improve on perfection.
so android was created as an open platform for these type of ppl.

while open software has its advantages, but without some degree of quality control and google doesn't have much vision (for the mobile smartphone mkt anyway), de android phones simply kenot compete wt the iphone, even with de combined might of taiwanese htc, ailing sony ericsson and de motorola.

kentang_peranchis
post Aug 31 2010, 01:04 AM

279 posts

QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Aug 30 2010, 08:28 PM)
On iPhone revolutionize the touchscreen, I agree. Touchscreen was never a hit during WinMo time when everyone still had to use stylus to interact with the UI.

On Android being a "nerds only" platform, I again disagree. Android has overtaken iOs in US as the mainstream platform. But that definitely doesn't mean people in US are converting the "nerds". I understand that is your personal opinion but if you are repeating this 100 times, I have to clarify it 100 times to prevent you from misleading others. Android (at least HTC Desire) is 100% usable even on stock condition (no customization), and learning how to use it is a matter of 30 minutes++. People customize it because they can, not because they have to smile.gif

It's a matter of taste, it's a matter of choice. But it is extremely rude of you to generalize all Android users are nerds and iPhone users made the right choice. You don't represent all users. Period. Some iPhone users are so stupid that I can't help laughing (I always see one in Android forum) but does it make iPhone a phone of choice for idiots? I wouldn't make that conclusion smile.gif

Whether or not it can compete with iPhone? We shall see... let's not make your presumption here
i write in dis forum is never to criticize or degrade android users. also, like u to share so others readers will not make de same mistake like many of my customers who bought android machines did. there are many times my staff and even myself was subjected to scoldings/curses by customers who chose android phones, especially desire.

never did i say androiders are idiots or stupid. icon_rolleyes.gif only mention dat apple engineers/developers are much more smarter. perhaps its bcos of steve jobs vision. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

de only reason android machines had tried to go mainstream is bcos manufacturers like htc, moto, se had no choice if they wanna compete in exploding touchscreen mkt, which of cos, was created by apple. so they use android in their best machines e.g. bigger screens, highest megapix, hd recording, etc.

they have no better alternatives. winmo, symbian is too dated and old, nobody supports webOS. and...steve jobs ain't going to give out de jewel iOS to others.

so with heavy advertising, customers are thinking they have iphone alternative. unfortunately soon after customers discover the severe crippling weakness (ady mentioned many obvious times) of android system, i'm sure they will be desperate to wait until their telcos contract finish to dump off de phone. and then, u will see de dreadful impact on android sales. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

lastly, being a nerd/geek is not meant as an insult. remember bill gates is also a geek...so there is no shame in being one. doh.gif doh.gif

kentang_peranchis
post Aug 31 2010, 11:38 PM

279 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 31 2010, 11:20 PM)
What's Steve Jobs vision btw ?

And please stop your baseless point that Apple created touch screen. This will only show that you're nothing but an idiot that bark like Steve Jobs' dog. History of touch screen just FYI !! Developed on 1971 and first touch screen on 1974 but Apple founded on 1976. So Steve Jobs created touch screen ? laugh.gif
Source : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Touchscreen]

Add on : Neither multi touch was created by Apple.
Source : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Multi-touch
Apple din create touchscreen, of coz I know dat. Did I ever mention dat?

While touchscreen is available, but de market din really take off until apple created de iPhone.
Previously de interface was horrible, but of course, everyone knows what apple did 2 chge dat.

Android is still trying to reach de high level of apple design n engineering; until now , as we all know, there is still a long long way 4 de lil green robot to go b4 it can even match apple.
I think it's androids approach is de main issue, n lack of vision like someone like Steve jobs.
kentang_peranchis
post Sep 1 2010, 08:05 AM

279 posts

QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Sep 1 2010, 12:10 AM)
Let's talk about Vision / approach

Apple grabbed the market first, the iOS platform is good (although it wasn't that good at start), there is a real big touch screen that you can use by finger rather than stylus, and it also inherits the popularity Apple has from iPod and MacOS. Throughout these few years - it's been more like evolution for Apple, rather than revolution (i.e., improving on what's already done). 1st gen iPhone was created with lots of hype but little practical use (no 3G, buggy), it's been improved over the different iPhone generations - but they aren't really major changes. Their approach is centralized control of the apps and device

Google is (and have to be) having a different vision because it enters the market late. The approach is, its platform is Open and free for all, it doesn't have strict approval process for developers, and it allows other manufacturers to have Android-powered device. To enter the market Google can't use the same approach as Apple - it has to be different (ever heard of Blue Ocean Strategy?). They can't copy whatever Steve Jobs is doing to gain market segment, but instead have to work together with the pool of developers and other players (HTC, Moto, Samsung). And I think Google is doing well to capitalize on its cloud computing concept as well (good integration with GTalk, Calendar, GMail contacts)

So whose vision is better? Each has its good and bad.

Apple's way definitely introduces less issues as it's simpler to manage, but its restrictive approach means users have to suffer with something behind the curve (look at MMS, Video chat, multi-tasking, they all come in late, and Flash will never come in at all).

Google's way introduces more flexibility for developers, more diversity on devices (caters for users from different budget range), more choices, more up-to-date technology. But on the other hand it also suffers stuffs like potential low quality apps, inferior smartphones brands using Android without proper quality control, and incompatibility across different devices.

That's why I've always insisted that there's no single, absolute answer on which platform is better, whose vision is better... neither is there a need to be so insistent on the choice. The emergence of Android is inevitable, and at the end of the day it only benefits the users because it gives Apple run for its money, it introduces more competition and there are more choices for consumers. So, who cares about the vision? tongue.gif
u say dat iphone is evolution rather than revolution requires more thought on ur part . i remember dat i was selling palms (pilot up to tungsten 3 and treos) and winmobs like htc tytn2. only after iphone came into de picture dat there was a market for the normal ppl instead of juz for de nerds/geeks.

iphones, despite all its weakness is still way much superior den de other solutions, and with each major revision, apple redefines de boundary of design elegance and product excellence.
ur thinking is quite limited to say dat while android use different approach like open concept, cloud computing, but only geeks/nerds wld be interested.
for mainstream acceptance, apple must come into de picture. dis has been proven many times over.

indeed, like what i had always insisted, android does has its functions and it serves the needs of nerds/geeks very well. ppl who find much joy in playing with their fones day and night, dey who find orgasmic pleasures in changing various aspects of their fones.
for the rest of de normal population, it's better to use iphone.

and lastly, some androiders wants to ask me what is steve jobs vision? it is all arnd us when u see ppl using ipods on their way to work, during gym; u can see de ppl using iphone, using itunes to buy apps and songs, developers and accessories makers making money from the i-ecosystem.
as for future vision of steve jobs? if i can see it or if he tells me, den i won't be juz a poor handphone seller.

as for vision of android, to be blunt, essentially there's no direction or any viable vision for it. if it's lucky, it'll get to survive a few more years b4 dying out.
for example, i heard firmware 2.2 was released very long ago but only now htc is rolling out for their fones bcoz dey need to rewrite the htc sensible interface again. also, se fones are still running 1.6! blush.gif blush.gif

essentially its going to be short-lived system unless emerging a visionary like steve jobs to steer its direction.

0.0238sec    1.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:43 AM