prevent ppl from parking in front of your house

TSbrotan
post Jul 13 2010, 07:52 PM, updated 16y ago

2,392 posts

can anyone share what is the effective method that is convenient for me to remove but at the same time makes those who wants to park will think twice of parking?

would appreciate methods that are tried and tested

P.S. I am refering to outside of my gate, either the entrance or the wall beside my entrance

btw, i am not a mean guy. i won't go and vandalize ppl's car. i just don't want them to park there

This post has been edited by brotan: Jul 14 2010, 01:33 PM
sohakyee
post Jul 13 2010, 08:13 PM

358 posts

"remove but at the same time makes those who wants to park will think twice of parking?" --> ???

maybe you asking this;
-paint your plate no. on the tar
-put vase
-guard dog
edyek
post Jul 13 2010, 08:32 PM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Jul 13 2010, 07:52 PM)
can anyone share what is the effective method that is convenient for me to remove but at the same time makes those who wants to park will think twice of parking?

No parking?
lexiqa
post Jul 14 2010, 12:52 AM

525 posts

orange cones?
gkl83
post Jul 14 2010, 07:33 AM

8,377 posts

rubbish bin ?
abu_adi
post Jul 14 2010, 07:43 AM

89 posts

hmm? i thought the paint containers filled with cement, usually does the trick? right?
funnyTONE
post Jul 14 2010, 08:38 AM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

Yup, I would also agree that a cement stand would do the job.
jusco1
post Jul 14 2010, 09:24 AM

618 posts

but, wont it be hard to remove?
leongal
post Jul 14 2010, 09:33 AM

~I have a new mission in life~
3,188 posts

in front of your gate or in front of the fence which is not blocking your entrance?

btw, the land outside of your house doesn't belong to you

emm....my uncle's neighbor - actually poke our car tyre when we park in front of the neigbor's fence without blocking the entrance blink.gif
Al3x0174
post Jul 14 2010, 09:34 AM

228 posts

Tell off your neighbour politely
put a sign on the gate "No Parking, there are people living in this house"
If you are near some business places, charge them for parking biggrin.gif

in front of your gate or in front of the fence which is not blocking your entrance?

btw, the land outside of your house doesn't belong to you

emm....my uncle's neighbor - actually poke our car tyre when we park in front of the neigbor's fence without blocking the entrance

Added on July 14, 2010, 9:35 amNext time, park there, set a camera, take it to the police for vandalism. Press on the charges regardless of what he promise. Lesson must be learned the hardway

This post has been edited by Al3x0174: Jul 14 2010, 09:36 AM
linkin182
post Jul 14 2010, 09:39 AM

283 posts

do like this aunty at this thread wink.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1167971/+140
sky_micro
post Jul 14 2010, 09:50 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(linkin182 @ Jul 14 2010, 09:39 AM)
do like this aunty at this thread wink.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1167971/+140
wahahahhahahha... this aunty is funny!

btw, my ex-bf who stays in SS2 is having the same headache for many many years. He lives right in front of the Thursday pasar malam, has to make sure he's home before 6pm every Thursday or else, cars will be all over at the entrance area of his house.

He tried placing chair, cones, pots, etc etc but there were idiots who actually got down of the car and just pushed it further. They parked their cars not directly at the entrance but blocked HALF of the front gate. WHAT'S THE DIFFERENCE in blocking the whole entrance & half entrance??? Idiotic & inconsiderate people!
Tohsan
post Jul 14 2010, 11:02 AM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(sky_micro @ Jul 14 2010, 09:50 AM)

btw, my ex-bf who stays in SS2 is having the same headache for many many years. He lives right in front of the Thursday pasar malam, has to make sure he's home before 6pm every Thursday or else, cars will be all over at the entrance area of his house.

He tried placing chair, cones, pots, etc etc but there were idiots who actually got down of the car and just pushed it further. They parked their cars not directly at the entrance but blocked HALF of the front gate. WHAT'S THE DIFFERENCE in blocking the whole entrance & half entrance??? Idiotic & inconsiderate people!
The only thing your ex-bf can do is complain to local MP about the problem and hopefully they will shift the pasar malam to other open car park place,just like what happen to pasar malam of Taman Desa, resident complaint about difficulty getting into their house every friday night. Later they shift the whole pasar malam to Water World area.

This post has been edited by Tohsan: Jul 14 2010, 11:02 AM
uniquesoul
post Jul 14 2010, 11:32 AM

104 posts

Some neighbors are big bully, thou they stay opposite of your hse but still park their car neat to your gate. Weird right?
Arcanum
post Jul 14 2010, 11:35 AM

107 posts

Potted plants?

My area received so many complaints because the road is narrow when all the office people and students come to park, and the garbage truck cannot come collect rubbish, so after receiving so many reports, they came and drew yellow lines right up the street.

Not that it deters people ... but quite fun to see them all kena saman!

It's so dangerous because it's a slope and when people park at the sides, I can't see when reversing out of my house. Some more right in front of my house is a fire hydrant and people still park there.

This post has been edited by Arcanum: Jul 14 2010, 11:35 AM
faceless
post Jul 14 2010, 11:35 AM

Straight Mouth is Big Word
4,515 posts

Do a grafitti job on the car. Mean but it works.
SUSbananajoe
post Jul 14 2010, 11:37 AM

PhotoPhag
661 posts

get a spike carpet and put it at night.. with a warning !
wrb7878
post Jul 14 2010, 12:39 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(sky_micro @ Jul 14 2010, 09:50 AM)

Haha...u can come to drive in my house tmr thursday pasar malam too.
sometimes i m so ANGRY that i wan to drive in to my house...but i let ppl horn and horn from behind....so stress after work...go home also kena HORN
i need to go out from car to open the gate and the old woman is block the road..so i dun have side spaces to park while open the gate....

I have rubbish bin between the next neighbour as well...i dun mind other driver come out and remove it and park the car...
but some stupid BIG car like pajero...they just langgar and hit the rubbish bin into longkang ...when i look on him...he pretend he din see the rubbish bin. WTF

they block the half gate means they think u are SMART driver..u can drive in and out like MAGIC

Added on July 14, 2010, 12:41 pm
QUOTE(uniquesoul @ Jul 14 2010, 11:32 AM)
Some neighbors are big bully, thou they stay opposite of your hse but still park their car neat to your gate. Weird right?
TOTALLY AGREE! And if u keep silent...means the places soon gonna to be their private parking as well.

This post has been edited by wrb7878: Jul 14 2010, 12:41 PM
uniquesoul
post Jul 14 2010, 12:50 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Jul 14 2010, 12:39 PM)
Haha...u can come to drive in my house tmr thursday pasar malam too.
sometimes i m so ANGRY that i wan to drive in to my house...but i let ppl horn and horn from behind....so stress after work...go home also kena HORN
i need to go out from car to open the gate and the old woman is block the road..so i dun have side spaces to park while open the gate....

I have rubbish bin between the next neighbour as well...i dun mind other driver come out and remove it and park the car...
but some stupid BIG car like pajero...they just langgar and hit the rubbish bin into longkang ...when i look on him...he pretend he din see the rubbish bin. WTF

they block the half gate means they think u are SMART driver..u can drive in and out like MAGIC

Added on July 14, 2010, 12:41 pm

TOTALLY AGREE! And if u keep silent...means the places soon gonna to be their private parking as well.
The chow yang pasar malam is a problem too.. What so famous abt that pasar malam? They said price goes but ppl still spend like mad.. My colleague is staying there too, end up she gotta park at small lorong and her car's mirror got broke by some idiots. sighz..feel like scratching their cars with blade..
wrb7878
post Jul 14 2010, 12:51 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(Al3x0174 @ Jul 14 2010, 09:34 AM)
Tell off your neighbour politely
put a sign on the gate "No Parking, there are people living in this house"
If you are near some business places, charge them for parking biggrin.gif

Added on July 14, 2010, 9:35 amNext time, park there, set a camera, take it to the police for vandalism. Press on the charges regardless of what he promise. Lesson must be learned the hardway
at my area..normally ppl will park infront the house during pasar malam only...normal day have many parking around..opp is shoplot
sometime the pasar malam ppl think tat the house have 2 car liao...so no car will come back...so they just park there and go buy food...
it happen to me...horn few time no ppl at the car...and then i let ppl horn back..so i got to drive few round to back home

and if u alll know the pasar malam situation..u will know how much time u need to drive from 1 to another end ...
uniquesoul
post Jul 14 2010, 12:53 PM

104 posts

You mean they park right at front of your house?
wrb7878
post Jul 14 2010, 12:55 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(uniquesoul @ Jul 14 2010, 12:50 PM)
The chow yang pasar malam is a problem too.. What so famous abt that pasar malam? They said price goes but ppl still spend like mad.. My colleague is staying there too, end up she gotta park at small lorong and her car's mirror got broke by some idiots. sighz..feel like scratching their cars with blade..
i also dun know..normally i just get some food and fruit only.
at tis moment, we have 3 car and 3 motor...so we can park inside and infront our own house....we let ppl park at fence

now the old woman block the driveway at middle and if have ppl park at fence and block the 10-20% entrance...
then is very hard for me to drive in...cos i m the last person back home...

Added on July 14, 2010, 12:57 pm
QUOTE(uniquesoul @ Jul 14 2010, 12:53 PM)
You mean they park right at front of your house?
yea..is very common for all pasar malam visitor there....some is waiting...
in their mind, the house owner alr back home and wont go out any more...so they just park a while

This post has been edited by wrb7878: Jul 14 2010, 12:57 PM
Al3x0174
post Jul 14 2010, 01:05 PM

228 posts

One of the best idea i got from a friend is stuffing tissues into their exhaust and spray some water. When it dries up, they'll go crazy

This post has been edited by Al3x0174: Jul 14 2010, 01:05 PM
uniquesoul
post Jul 14 2010, 01:05 PM

104 posts

How inconsiderate.. I dont think some will park for awhile, some aunties takes ages to hang out at pasar malam..buying fruits, vege, clothes and whatsoever..

Added on July 14, 2010, 1:07 pm
QUOTE(Al3x0174 @ Jul 14 2010, 01:05 PM)
One of the best idea i got from a friend is stuffing tissues into their exhaust and spray some water. When it dries up, they'll go crazy
Do you mean stuck the whole exhaust pipe with wet tissue? Takes quite sometime to do it..why not throw stones or stuck a banana inside?

This post has been edited by uniquesoul: Jul 14 2010, 01:07 PM
TSbrotan
post Jul 14 2010, 01:40 PM

2,392 posts

any good method that doesn't involve vandalism?

i was in china before and they have a very neat way that i think will be effective. just not sure if i can do it here without kena saman

basically they have a metal thing fixed to the road. if you close it, it will look like a long piece of metal lying on the road

but if you expand it, it will look like a triangle. You can use a lock to fix the triangle position. and when you want to park, just unlock it to make it flat

so if you expand it, unless someone so crazy enuf willing to let their car kena scratch, or else will deter them

question is. will majlis perbandaran guys really take action if i make those things or they will close 1 eye?
Tohsan
post Jul 14 2010, 02:09 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Jul 14 2010, 01:40 PM)

i was in china before and they have a very neat way that i think will be effective. just not sure if i can do it here without kena saman

basically they have a metal thing fixed to the road. if you close it, it will look like a long piece of metal lying on the road

but if you expand it, it will look like a triangle. You can use a lock to fix the triangle position. and when you want to park, just unlock it to make it flat

so if you expand it, unless someone so crazy enuf willing to let their car kena scratch, or else will deter them

question is. will majlis perbandaran guys really take action if i make those things or they will close 1 eye?
good idea! rclxms.gif

p/s perbandaran guys all are suckers, they oni want kopi o, most of the time they are too lazy to work, u see their "beer stomach" u will know.

This post has been edited by Tohsan: Jul 14 2010, 02:11 PM
wrb7878
post Jul 14 2010, 02:19 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(Tohsan @ Jul 14 2010, 02:09 PM)
good idea!  rclxms.gif

p/s perbandaran guys all are suckers, they oni want kopi o, most of the time they are too lazy to work, u see their "beer stomach" u will know.
agree. u can do any thing u like as long ur neigbour never go to complaint on u...vistor wont purpose go to complaint unless they are super free

if perbandaran wan to find problem on u, they have thousand of reason ...end up kopi o lo...haha
they can even tell u..u cannot park ur own car infront ur own house as well
TSbrotan
post Jul 14 2010, 02:22 PM

2,392 posts

good to hear that.

will one day go to a shop and have it built up
wrb7878
post Jul 14 2010, 02:27 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Jul 14 2010, 02:22 PM)
good to hear that.

will one day go to a shop and have it built up
which area u stay? who park infront ur house? i believe the neigbour wont do tat if they know u have car ....
HonMun
post Jul 14 2010, 02:29 PM

Professor
1,052 posts

Easy....Just spray no parking on the car that park in front of your neighbour house......that will do the trick
Al3x0174
post Jul 14 2010, 02:32 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(uniquesoul @ Jul 14 2010, 01:05 PM)
How inconsiderate.. I dont think some will park for awhile, some aunties takes ages to hang out at pasar malam..buying fruits, vege, clothes and whatsoever..

Added on July 14, 2010, 1:07 pm

Do you mean stuck the whole exhaust pipe with wet tissue? Takes quite sometime to do it..why not throw stones or stuck a banana inside?
Not wet tissues. Dry tissues then add water. Roll them up and stuff it inside. Stones cant block the air, banana hard to find. Tissues and water are easily accessible and extremely hard to remove. Remove it bit by bit
TSbrotan
post Jul 14 2010, 02:40 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Jul 14 2010, 02:27 PM)
which area u stay? who park infront ur house? i believe the neigbour wont do tat if they know u have car ....
opposite my house got shop lots. some more makan place
faceless
post Jul 14 2010, 02:46 PM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Jul 14 2010, 01:40 PM)

I have seen these things too. Of course you will get saman and be asked to remove it. The road is not yours. You selfish neighbour who parks there will be the first to complain.

If you want legal solution convince Bomba to put a hydrant there. Nobody can park there cry.gif
TSbrotan
post Jul 14 2010, 04:04 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Jul 14 2010, 02:46 PM)
I have seen these things too. Of course you will get saman and be asked to remove it. The road is not yours. You selfish neighbour who parks there will be the first to complain.

If you want legal solution convince Bomba to put a hydrant there. Nobody can park there  cry.gif
if put hydrant, i also cannot park
faceless
post Jul 14 2010, 04:45 PM

4,515 posts

Yup, nobody can park. Sometimes it is a better alternative than to fight with neighbour. Pasal parking aje, become bad neighbour. Its kinda childish but that is Malaysia.
Liuism
post Jul 14 2010, 04:50 PM

1,866 posts

QUOTE(funnyTONE @ Jul 14 2010, 08:38 AM)
Yup, I would also agree that a cement stand would do the job.
yeap, did that with a long stick before...still got stubborn ppl can remove it away
uniquesoul
post Jul 14 2010, 05:01 PM

104 posts

Stay in a condo..no need fight for parking..
TSbrotan
post Jul 14 2010, 05:13 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(Liuism @ Jul 14 2010, 04:50 PM)
yeap, did that with a long stick before...still got stubborn ppl can remove it away
really? these guys are plain idoits
Liuism
post Jul 14 2010, 05:17 PM

1,866 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Jul 14 2010, 05:13 PM)
really? these guys are plain idoits
yala, got once when i was not around.
This driver park in front of my house, then my mum saw it and ask him to move his car....but he act dumb and dun bother...end up both oso gaduh...that ******* summore yell at my mum...
TSbrotan
post Jul 14 2010, 05:18 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Jul 14 2010, 04:45 PM)
Yup, nobody can park. Sometimes it is a better alternative than to fight with neighbour. Pasal parking aje, become bad neighbour. Its kinda childish but that is Malaysia.
actually my neighbour won't park lah but mainly those customers from opposite restaurant

actually my house still under reno, so still can see ppl park at my house. i don't mind as long as when i move in, it stop

i am just afraid it will continue even when i move in

once there is a guy who park about 1/3 into my gate. my friends car was in the porch (we go out lunch nearby and i let her park the car inside). have to carefully manoeuver only can come out.

imagine if i live there and i have to leave the house on emergency, ..... mad.gif vmad.gif

these ppl have no brain thumbup.gif
alanyuppie
post Jul 14 2010, 05:18 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Jul 14 2010, 05:45 PM)
That's because they dun have good relationship wiv neighbour in the first place. All they do is trying to "monopolise" the land first that they blindly thought since its nearest to them its their FIRST. Its stupid people who dont want to share (or attempt to share) in the first place.

I pray always my house /future house dont have such neighbours wiv such hideous plan to take-over the land outside their property perimeter.

linkin182
post Jul 14 2010, 05:19 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(uniquesoul @ Jul 14 2010, 05:01 PM)
Stay in a condo..no need fight for parking..
I beg to differ. If your condo parking is scarce,
what if someone park at your spot how?

Like a visitor, just park a while? hehe

It happens.. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSbrotan
post Jul 14 2010, 05:19 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(Liuism @ Jul 14 2010, 05:17 PM)
yala, got once when i was not around.
This driver park in front of my house, then my mum saw it and ask him to move his car....but he act dumb and dun bother...end up both oso gaduh...that ******* summore yell at my mum...
i hope it happen once only lah. if most ppl like that, cia lat liao
wrb7878
post Jul 14 2010, 06:05 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(HonMun @ Jul 14 2010, 02:29 PM)
Easy....Just spray no parking on the car that park in front of your neighbour house......that will do the trick
yes, u can do it. the driver maybe is 'sam seng' ...he may not quarrel with u..but he will come back next round...
and u may suprise to see wat happen to ur car and housemate car next morning.....

see wat the old woman do on pasar malam ppl....she come out to stick the paper at all window...i means 4-6 paper per car.
when the ppl come back to the car..they scold her and ask her come out but she not dare come out....

This post has been edited by wrb7878: Jul 14 2010, 06:08 PM
yoyo_icecube
post Jul 14 2010, 06:52 PM

66 posts

use yellow line...spray (draw) yellow line.. if people still park..put the panduan undang2 jalan raya book (something like that la, forgot the book actual name..the one that we got when we take license) on their car..hahahaha^^
wrb7878
post Jul 14 2010, 06:55 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(yoyo_icecube @ Jul 14 2010, 06:52 PM)
use yellow line...spray (draw) yellow line.. if people still park..put the panduan undang2 jalan raya book (something like that la, forgot the book actual name..the one that we got when we take license) on their car..hahahaha^^
see the yellow line at this photo
steventan85
post Jul 14 2010, 07:01 PM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Jul 14 2010, 06:05 PM)
yes, u can do it. the driver maybe is 'sam seng' ...he may not quarrel with u..but he will come back next round...
and u may suprise to see wat happen to ur car and housemate car next morning.....
see wat the old woman do on pasar malam ppl....she come out to stick the paper at all window...i means 4-6 paper per car.
when the ppl come back to the car..they scold her and ask her come out but she not dare come out....
she is sick i think ..unsound minded
yoyo_icecube
post Jul 14 2010, 07:06 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Jul 14 2010, 06:55 PM)
see the yellow line at this photo
shocking.gif OH MY~...which JPJ gave them the driving license??? vmad.gif

>,<

i dunno if this because im a A type person, but for me the best way..is; if i know who did that, just go to her/him and slow talk~
or if i don't know, just stick a post-it on his car. if use nice words, people wont agry~

This post has been edited by yoyo_icecube: Jul 14 2010, 07:07 PM
steventan85
post Jul 14 2010, 07:09 PM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(yoyo_icecube @ Jul 14 2010, 07:06 PM)

>,<

i dunno if this because im a A type person, but for me the best way..is; if i know who did that, just go to her/him and slow talk~
or if i don't know, just stick a post-it on his car. if use nice words, people wont agry~
i believe majority of kl driver's license are by bribery laugh.gif ..they dont even knw how to drive properly... no signal , and so on
wrb7878
post Jul 14 2010, 07:14 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(yoyo_icecube @ Jul 14 2010, 07:06 PM)

>,<

hahaha...maybe u should try to drive during the friday prayer time....then u should know where all malaysia ppl get the license
yoyo_icecube
post Jul 14 2010, 07:15 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Jul 14 2010, 07:09 PM)
i believe majority of kl driver's license are by bribery  laugh.gif  ..they dont even knw how to drive properly... no signal , and so on
hahaha...when i came KL for the 2nd time, saw how people drive in KL (jln imbi), it's scared me..
i told my mom, i dun want to drive in KL ever!!

wah~ so sad bout the fact that our country full with bribery..
aha~!! *mentol appeared*
bribe a police traffic...ask him to saman that car!! hahaha...he(the car owner) can't blame u, since there's yellow line there!! not your fault..the police won't tell your name either..hahaha
abubin
post Jul 14 2010, 07:28 PM

10,429 posts

the road outside your house does not belong to you. So, there really is nothing much to be done. If it is due to pasar malam then you can complain to local municipal. Or do something like put cones or some heavy thing during pasar malam night.

But if it is not related to pasar malam then you are being too much. The road outside your house (at the side) does not belongs to you. You cannot stop people from parking there. Just like how you sometimes also park in such spaces outside other people's house.

When it's so bad that it causes inconvenience then that is different story. I see a lot of houses, they put lots of potted plants there and I find these people very selfish and I don't understand why they do not want people to park there as it does not block their entrance.

Look at the house below:

The owner is in corner lot. He/She build a wall at the side of the house. It is actually an access road. Use it for parking his/her cars.

This post has been edited by abubin: Jul 14 2010, 07:37 PM
steventan85
post Jul 14 2010, 07:33 PM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Jul 14 2010, 07:28 PM)
the road outside your house does not belong to you. So, there really is nothing much to be done. If it is due to pasar malam then you can complain to local municipal. Or do something like put cones or some heavy thing during pasar malam night.

But if it is not related to pasar malam then you are being too much. The road outside your house (at the side) does not belongs to you. You cannot stop people from parking there. Just like how you sometimes also park in such spaces outside other people's house.

When it's so bad that it causes inconvenience then that is different story. I see a lot of houses, they put lots of potted plants there and I find these people very selfish and I don't understand why they do not want people to park there as it does not block their entrance.
bcoz they bought a lot of cars and no place to park..happened to my neighbour at SS14 PJ. bought Viva , Vios , Myvi and Nissan sentral. their house is very small...only can place 1 car inside. 2 outside and 1 at my place sometime vmad.gif vmad.gif ...

alwaz block my entrance and i need to horn for 5mins to move their car doh.gif
wrb7878
post Jul 14 2010, 07:38 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Jul 14 2010, 07:28 PM)

no much ppl will understand it specially those old uncle and aunty...they always think tat the land is belong to them.
i try to avoid my next door old woman. i let her scold and pretend nothing. but human have limitation when come into bad mood and stress time
i just wan to drive out from my house and she come to scold me , my car is cross over her area..
i say tat area is not belong to her ...she dun bother...keep &^%&@^#&*@^@&....

if they wan to put potted plants to block ppl parking is OK....those drive can find other lo....
but i dun know why those idiot ppl...how they have right to scold ppl when ppl park at the fence area and is not blocking them as well.
saw many similiar case at my house area here......do u think young ppl will do like tis?
abubin
post Jul 14 2010, 07:47 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Jul 14 2010, 07:33 PM)
bcoz they bought a lot of cars and no place to park..happened to my neighbour at SS14 PJ. bought Viva , Vios , Myvi and Nissan sentral. their house is very small...only can place 1 car inside. 2 outside and 1 at my place sometime vmad.gif  vmad.gif ...

alwaz block my entrance and i need to horn for 5mins to move their car  doh.gif
in your case where they block your car then it is justifiable. Those people need to be given a lesson on being civic minded. Depends on you want to go the "ganas" way or "nice" way.

Nice way is to talk to them not to do it nicely.

Ganas way is to park your car and block them. When they honk, take 5 minutes to come remove your car. Tell them...now how you fell about being blocked.

Or the usual way..puncture their tyre. But make sure it doesn't backfire when you need to move your car and their punctured car is blocking. smile.gif
Or my method....tear out the rubber from their window wiper. They will usually know only when rains. And this can be done very fast...less than 1 minute. vmad.gif

This post has been edited by abubin: Jul 14 2010, 07:47 PM
steventan85
post Jul 14 2010, 08:03 PM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Jul 14 2010, 07:47 PM)
in your case where they block your car then it is justifiable. Those people need to be given a lesson on being civic minded. Depends on you want to go the "ganas" way or "nice" way.

Nice way is to talk to them not to do it nicely.

Ganas way is to park your car and block them. When they honk, take 5 minutes to come remove your car. Tell them...now how you fell about being blocked.

Or the usual way..puncture their tyre. But make sure it doesn't backfire when you need to move your car and their punctured car is blocking. smile.gif
Or my method....tear out the rubber from their window wiper. They will usually know only when rains. And this can be done very fast...less than 1 minute.  vmad.gif
tear the wiper rubber... i learnt a new method d thumbup.gif thumbup.gif doh.gif
gs20
post Jul 14 2010, 08:31 PM

1,685 posts

Even though my area doesn't have pasar malam or big events going on, but I still face problem with parking especially when dealing with inconsiderate neighbors.
Usually there are two empty spaces at both side of the terrace house where we can park our car & I thought one of those should belong to your neighbor and the one side is yours, same goes to the person next door. But my neighbor doesn't make use of their side. Instead, they place their dustbin there don't let anybody park their car & the other side in between their house & ours, they don't allow use to use more than half of the space, with the reason sometime very hard to park their car inside. My other neighbor with two cars. Park both their cars outside their house & leave their car porch empty.
We got 3 drivers (in fact, 4, but one outstation). So, one of us park inside, one right in front of the gate. Since our good neighbor doesn't want to share the land outside, my dad have to park further up at the lorong.
Even now, those staying near the lorong also get selfish. They also leave their car porch empty & park all their cars at the lorong.
I think our only solution is work even harder & get a bangalo.
TSbrotan
post Jul 14 2010, 09:03 PM

2,392 posts

i think i will just use the "tong cement" with a new twist

build the cement with a tough chain attach to it

then on the road, make a hook attached to the road

when don't use the space, i use a lock to lock the "tong cement" to the hook. when i want to park, unlock and move it to the side

GangHo
post Jul 14 2010, 09:10 PM

1,080 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Jul 14 2010, 08:28 PM)

Look at the house below:

The owner is in corner lot. He/She build a wall at the side of the house. It is actually an access road. Use it for parking his/her cars.
I support Abubin's opinion. We should not be too selfish.

If we all start to barricade the space infront of our house so that nobody will park there, then our friends and visitors would face big problem when they want to visit us. It will virtually impossible to come to your house by car. They have to park at the nearby public car park, which could be kilometers away and then walk to your house?

***And I believe everyone of us in one way or another has parked infront of other people's house before.

The correct way i think is everybody has to be responsible over the things they do. WHEN YOU PARK OUTSIDE PEOPLE's HOUSE, YOU HAVE TO MAKE SURE THAT YOU DO NOT CREATE PROBLEM to the surrounding neighbourhood. YOU HAVE TO ALSO MAKE SURE THAT YOU ARE CONTACTABLE(PUT YOUR HANDPHONE NUMBER INFRONT OF THE CAR). It is the same thing also when someone do double parking.

I believe also that lots of GOOD people has no choice but to park at residential area because there is simply no more parking available.

However, we all know outside there are lots of irresponsible peopel that create lots of problems for us. While we try to enforce our own method onto others, maybe the more proper way is to provide evidence to the authority for their action.

chun5113
post Jul 14 2010, 10:18 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Jul 13 2010, 07:52 PM)

P.S. I am refering to outside of my gate, either the entrance or the wall beside my entrance

btw, i am not a mean guy. i won't go and vandalize ppl's car. i just don't want them to park there

What I want to say is the land in front of your house is actually not belonging to you. As long as the car did not block your entrance, you have actually no right to deny the others from parking in front of your house. But unfortunately, a lot of KL-Selangor people do not have this common sense, so I do not have comment on this.
TSbrotan
post Jul 15 2010, 01:54 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(chun5113 @ Jul 14 2010, 10:18 PM)
What I want to say is the land in front of your house is actually not belonging to you.  As long as the car did not block your entrance, you have actually no right to deny the others from parking in front of your house.  But unfortunately, a lot of KL-Selangor people do not have this common sense, so I do not have comment on this.
bro,

it is not that i don't allow ppl to park in front of my house, it is just that i have 2 cars. when i come back home, i would like to park in front of my house and not park far far away have to walk. some more at night, dangerous

moreover, some of them even park also close 1/3 of my gate (those no brain guys lah). if emergency have to go out, damn susah

so, that is why i want to reserve the spot.

anyway, i am pretty sure > 99% of the ppl will think that the area in front of their house are their parking rights. so even if someone know that is not true and allow other ppl to park at their place, they would have to find other ppl plot to park and most of the time, those guys would not allow you to do that. you can reason with them on law law thing but nobody will care about law one

so in this case, best way in order not to kacau other ppl and get yourself into trouble, just make sure you have your own space lah
alanyuppie
post Jul 15 2010, 02:04 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Jul 15 2010, 02:54 PM)

it is not that i don't allow ppl to park in front of my house, it is just that i have 2 cars. when i come back home, i would like to park in front of my house and not park far far away have to walk. some more at night, dangerous
Im sure you can park the 2nd car outside your house ,albeit blocking your own gate. But you wanted to "claim" the free spot next to it somemore.
The "walk at night. dangerous" excuse is so lame. Walking is good for your health. it'll do you good in the long run. Anyway, guess its time to find a house with bigger porch to accomodate your 2 cars.

so, that is why i want to reserve the spot.

anyway, i am pretty sure > 99% of the ppl will think that the area in front of their house are their parking rights. so even if someone know that is not true and allow other ppl to park at their place, they would have to find other ppl plot to park and most of the time, those guys would not allow you to do that. you can reason with them on law law thing but nobody will care about law one

Thats the disadvantage of living near commercial area. If you wanted to enjoy the convinience of food and shops within walking distance, prepare to face other kinds of inconvienience. The final verdict it, the road or any part of it outside your own property , IS NOT YOURS

you sounded like , since you cant reason with them, and law wont help.. you also wanted to join them. this is how our Malaysian mentality continue to flourish . Everybody wanted convienence to the max.

so in this case, best way in order not to kacau other ppl and get yourself into trouble, just make sure you have your own space lah
You're still dreaming . the SPACE is NOT YOURS to begin with. Make sure or not... nobody can help you. I believe you wanted to "feel at home" by getting positive respond from members here... so that you will feel better and not the only one doing so, hence you can happily do it .

This post has been edited by alanyuppie: Jul 15 2010, 02:05 PM
yoyo_icecube
post Jul 15 2010, 02:16 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Jul 15 2010, 01:54 PM)
bro,

yeah...we dunno when some bad guy wanna rob us!!
if we always walk alone at night, some bad guy probably target us tau...one day he gonna do something bad..
dangerous..especially for the girls..if dunno basic martial art..it's become worst!! plus just back from work..tired lorh..
GangHo
post Jul 15 2010, 02:28 PM

1,080 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Jul 13 2010, 08:52 PM)

Your initial question is how to make people think twice when they want to park infront of your house.

I have a suggestion that would cost you money and the details you have to figure it out.

Make the entrance gate of your house to cover the area that you want to park.

That way people would think twice when they want to park there.
TSbrotan
post Jul 15 2010, 02:34 PM

2,392 posts

[quote=alanyuppie,Jul 15 2010, 02:04 PM]
Im sure you can park the 2nd car outside your house ,albeit blocking your own gate. But you wanted to "claim" the free spot next to it somemore.
The "walk at night. dangerous" excuse is so lame. Walking is good for your health. it'll do you good in the long run. Anyway, guess its time to find a house with bigger porch to accomodate your 2 cars.

that is not lame excuse. that is the truth in KL. the place where i am staying now (not my new home which i am talking about), got ppl kena rob during at night walking from their car to their home
Liuism
post Jul 15 2010, 02:49 PM

1,866 posts

Just put something there to block the area...i guess most drivers are lazy to get down to remove the things...
TSbrotan
post Jul 15 2010, 03:07 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(alanyuppie @ Jul 15 2010, 02:04 PM)
The "walk at night. dangerous" excuse is so lame.  Walking is good for your health. it'll do you good in the long run. Anyway,  guess its time to find a house with bigger porch to accomodate your 2 cars.
Thats the disadvantage of living near commercial area. If you wanted to enjoy the convinience of food and shops within walking distance, prepare to face other kinds of inconvienience. The final verdict it, the road or any part of it outside your own property , IS NOT YOURS

you sounded like , since you cant reason with them, and law wont help.. you also wanted to join them. this is how our Malaysian mentality continue to flourish .  Everybody wanted convienence to the max.
You're still dreaming . the SPACE is NOT YOURS to begin with.  Make sure or not... nobody can help you. I believe you wanted to "feel at home" by getting positive respond from members here... so that you will feel better and not the only one doing so, hence you can happily do it .
btw, bro, i am not trying to "feel at home" by getting positive response or symphaty from anyone. i am trying to get solutions from forumers, doesn't matter if i am entitled to it or not by law. if i am caught and the law says i am guilty, then fine. let the law enforcer saman me. no problem for me. i am taking the risk on myself.

you say that "since you cant reason with them, and law wont help.. you also wanted to join them". I totally agree with you on this (no hiding here). i have NO problem being the typical Malaysian since i live in Malaysia. You can fire me on that, np. go ahead. i would rather being labelled "typical malaysian" than being an inconvenience to my neighbours (by parking at their empty space when they are not around since i am entitled to it too)

if you really want to change the malaysian mentality, i would suggest you to start by parking at all the empty spaces in front of your neighbours in your area (without blocking their entrance), and if they complain, just educate them on your rights to the plot as well.
steventan85
post Jul 15 2010, 03:30 PM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(alanyuppie @ Jul 15 2010, 02:04 PM)
The "walk at night. dangerous" excuse is so lame. Walking is good for your health. it'll do you good in the long run. Anyway,  guess its time to find a house with bigger porch to accomodate your 2 cars.

you sounded like , since you cant reason with them, and law wont help.. you also wanted to join them. this is how our Malaysian mentality continue to flourish .  Everybody wanted convienence to the max.
You're still dreaming . the SPACE is NOT YOURS to begin with.  Make sure or not... nobody can help you. I believe you wanted to "feel at home" by getting positive respond from members here... so that you will feel better and not the only one doing so, hence you can happily do it .
walking is good for health , but walking in night especially dark area is risking ur own life. u might get rob , rape and killed. its a fact in malaysia. nowhere is safe other than inside ur house or in front of shop inside shopping mall...at least u wont get snatch or rape in front of shop lot in shopping mall..

almost every family in kl need to get a new house , bcoz most of them got at least 2 cars . my family myself got 5 cars fyi . but my house can fit in 3cars laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif and a new house costs around 400k-600k after renovation

This post has been edited by steventan85: Jul 15 2010, 03:33 PM
abubin
post Jul 15 2010, 03:37 PM

10,429 posts

you just wanted to park your car near your house...so does other people. Like you said...you park outside other people's house (not blocking entrance) , they don't like...same reason why you don't like people park outside your house. Isn't that being selfish and same like all other aholes that don't want people park outside their house?

Same thing like your office parking space. If you work in a shoplot building, the road outside the shoplot have parking spot. You would want to park near your shop for reasons like security or less walking or carrying stuffs or whatever selfish reasons. So why don't you block people from parking outside your shop as well?
GangHo
post Jul 15 2010, 03:57 PM

1,080 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Jul 15 2010, 04:07 PM)
btw, bro, i am not trying to "feel at home" by getting positive response or symphaty from anyone. i am trying to get solutions from forumers, doesn't matter if i am entitled to it or not by law. if i am caught and the law says i am guilty, then fine. let the law enforcer saman me. no problem for me. i am taking the risk on myself.

you say that "since you cant reason with them, and law wont help.. you also wanted to join them". I totally agree with you on this (no hiding here). i have NO problem being the typical Malaysian since i live in Malaysia. You can fire me on that, np. go ahead. i would rather being labelled "typical malaysian"  than being an inconvenience to my neighbours (by parking at their empty space when they are not around since i am entitled to it too)

if you really want to change the malaysian mentality, i would suggest you to start by parking at all the empty spaces in front of your neighbours in your area (without blocking their entrance), and if they complain, just educate them on your rights to the plot as well.
We all want to reserve the space infront of our house for convenience and safety reasons. This is not wrong at all. It is very annoying when we are not able to park infront of our own house all the time. This is the silent/unwritten RIGHTS(just like car repair shop/Car washing shop) that everbody would gladly respect.

To certain people, this is a small problem because they stay in less congested area but to others it's a big problem.

The forum has suggested quite a lot of methods to be used. In the end whether it is lawful or unlawful, we have to be responsible to all our actions.

The choice is ours to make.

alanyuppie
post Jul 15 2010, 04:05 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(GangHo @ Jul 15 2010, 04:57 PM)

We all want to reserve the space infront of our house for convenience and safety reasons. This is not wrong at all. It is very annoying when we are not able to park infront of our own house all the time. This is the silent/unwritten RIGHTS(just like car repair shop/Car washing shop) that everbody would gladly respect.

Wow. Which kampung you're from. Never wrong at all? Its sad to see people gladly spend half a million on double storey house with huge buildup but never consider how their porch failed to cater for their 2 or more cars.. then whine them "unable" secure more parking outside their house. Izzit because the made stupid assumptions that it's gonna be theirs and smile while signing their SnP ? "its mine muahahahahahaha" mindset.

lol.. "unwritten rights" is so wrong. There is never any rights, nor its unwritten. People hog space and use tons of crap to justify it. The workshops you meant are pushing their luck. and as usual... corruption is sowing seed to make this happen (duit kopi anyone?).

Just because usually we as an individual dont make a fuss , doesnt means we " respect" (gladly is far off!).

yoyo_icecube
post Jul 15 2010, 04:06 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(GangHo @ Jul 15 2010, 02:28 PM)
Your initial question is how to make people think twice when they want to park infront of your house.

I have a suggestion that would cost you money and the details you have to figure it out.

Make the entrance gate of your house to cover the area that you want to park.

That way people would think twice when they want to park there.
second to this...
maybe porch?? over the gate...?

wrb7878
post Jul 15 2010, 04:15 PM

843 posts

[quote=brotan,Jul 15 2010, 02:34 PM]
[quote=alanyuppie,Jul 15 2010, 02:04 PM]

that is not lame excuse. that is the truth in KL. the place where i am staying now (not my new home which i am talking about), got ppl kena rob during at night walking from their car to their home

[/quote]

i agree with u, brotan.
nowaday even u park ur car infront of ur house also will kena rob...and it happen to my few fren tat stay nearby this area too.
walk is good for your health but safety is MORE important in tis case. nowaday the thief is NO BRAIN. they can kill YOU just for RM1.

Added on July 15, 2010, 4:18 pm[quote=Liuism,Jul 15 2010, 02:49 PM]
Just put something there to block the area...i guess most drivers are lazy to get down to remove the things...

[/quote]

depend too.
some stupid big car and old car will just hit the rubbish bin into longkang and park there.
and it happen infront of my house...and he just come out from the car and pretend nothing.
i din put the rubbish bin to block ppl parking...those rubbish bin is put at the fence area by rubbish collector.

This post has been edited by wrb7878: Jul 15 2010, 04:18 PM
TSbrotan
post Jul 15 2010, 04:47 PM

2,392 posts

I see no point arguing if that space is my right or not my right

everyone has their own idea on this. most importantly, we have to bear the responsibility for own actions, whether our actions are illegal or legal

if anyone feels that it is not right to do so and want to discuss about it, pls create a new thread to discuss

My topic is not to ask if it is legal or not legal or is it right or wrong. if anyone feels i don't have the right and they don't want to give suggestion to help, i am fine for that
faceless
post Jul 15 2010, 04:51 PM

4,515 posts

brotan maybe when you move in, people will be more considerate.
TSbrotan
post Jul 15 2010, 05:08 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Jul 15 2010, 04:51 PM)
brotan maybe when you move in, people will be more considerate.
hope so rclxms.gif

0.0264sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:32 AM