Nokia N8 V2, Perfect Camera Phone

andrekua
post Aug 21 2010, 11:12 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Aug 21 2010, 11:07 PM)
Which ball less fellow lost arguement n suk chun go report?
Dont use physical abuse... later tio report... hahahaha

You know what Nokia said in their ranger recruitment invites?

We’re running a new initiative where we aim to engage and connect with the Nokia users and enthusiasts through the Nokia Rangers programme. Through Nokia Rangers, Nokia hopes to be more open and direct in speaking with our fans and users. Being a part of this programme also means that you will get access to previews of upcoming devices and we want to get to know what you guys think of our latest devices.

You see the difference? Even Nokia are interested NOW about how we feel about their devices and not about 'You like you buy, You dont like you chaoz'... and yet the users were like .... well... you know

This post has been edited by andrekua: Aug 21 2010, 11:12 PM
andrekua
post Aug 21 2010, 11:19 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Aug 21 2010, 11:14 PM)
it's interesting to see that you don't know (or probably not aware) that there are people still love Symbian here (since here is Symbian Phone-Specific Discussion). So it's natural when you're talk little bad thing about it, people might shout you back. Save it all and say it to Nokia later since you're also been invited.  nod.gif
LOVE?

Tell them to make a list what they loved about Symbian.. or LOVE is BLIND?

andrekua
post Aug 21 2010, 11:53 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Aug 21 2010, 11:30 PM)
why ppl take side when come to gadget? all those UI are base on personal preference, something good to u might not good for me... but of coz when time goes by all ppl will get boring no matter how good the UI would be... for Symbian I think that would be the case nod.gif

what make me wondering is the IPhone UI where only multiple shortcuts ONLY UI and it make all ppl crazy about it... for me it only good in term of response but NOTHING good on creativity even the old dam wince3.11 already have those shortcut feature... hmm.gif
No no no... dont get me wrong here.

What Im saying is Nokia stick to the decade old S60 for its UI. That works very well for keypad operation. Who dare say anyone else was better than Nokia at it? None....

Fast forward 2010... Nokia still stick to the old UI. OK... that works really well for the keypad, but hey, we are using touch screen now. OK... we accept that S60V5 is a flop but didnt Nokia promise S3 gonna be different? Same old thing here...

I didnt feel like we need new UI with every release. Windows desktop stay the same with slight addition to the desktop. Same thing with S60. All the way to FP2, there were additional stuffs being added. Stop there and recall. Both of them fail to capture the audience when it comes to touch screen adoption. People wanted different ways to interact via the touch screen. Not because it was pretty or whatever.

Gets the UI right and evolve from there. I thought S90 was perfect. Not being too PC'ed like WM while offering a new way to interact with the new input system. Simple one, like entering hours, mins, for clock and alarm... It does not require a keypad with S90. Just tick the arrow up and down (hardware limitation, no capacitive screen). Approach is correct, I like it here. Change is necessary... user friendly, and not pop up a keypad for you to type. Thats so yesterday. I dont want to carry on for too long here... One right approach, and the UI last forever. How much did Windows desktop changed over the years? Basic still the same, difference is how they improve tiny little bits like Side Gadgets, Quick Launch, Start Menu tweaks, etc.
andrekua
post Aug 22 2010, 12:28 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Aug 22 2010, 12:25 AM)
Finally some mature response. What u said here is true. Lets hope meego will change all that in future.

Here is sample of meego running on N900
Something I wanna say before I watch the video... For one moment I really wish that the phone would turn on without the battery and just the micro usb charger attach... and then he puts in the battery... oh well... laugh.gif
andrekua
post Aug 22 2010, 12:46 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Aug 22 2010, 12:28 AM)
Yes, good point. Finally not xxxxxx vs xxxxxx comparison.
But most of us are aware of it.  smile.gif
Its just an explanation to what I pointed out earlier when comparing to Iphone OS and Android. I dont get it... if I leave this two words, Iphone and Android, it all makes sense and if I added back both of them, it become like warzone.

Copying, many people are offended by this word as well. However, if copying helps you accelerate your learning curve, I dont think its a bad idea. At least you dont waste time on un-necessary stuffs. Android grow this fast because it copy a lot of Iphone OS stuffs. Admiration of your competitor advantages spur you on to the next level of greatness.

Added on August 22, 2010, 12:48 am
QUOTE(sklchan @ Aug 22 2010, 12:21 AM)
agree, so what make me wonder is the nokia seem don't having a huge bunch on compatible beta tester (for bugs decovering) and think out of the box designer or market survey team that try to figure what's important and needed core items thats need to be included within the UI, but hardware wise i think they do have the leading edge of intro to new hardcore hardware. But when come to hardware though they keep lowering or using the old components instead of new (this might be due to batch purchasing and cost saving) instead perfecting the hardware like the RAM amount, proc speed, gps performance...  rclxub.gif

for the UI, in my own opinion the single page is ok and will do the tricks IF it include 4 things within the page:
1. the scrollable contacts bar (already implemented)
2. the scrollable shorcuts bar (implemented but CANNOT scroll, that's sucks)
3. the widget scrollable bar (not implemented, this bar can include all those peripheral status, weather, can make it auto scroll or alternate display)
4. better calender & event & task & email information display (already implemented but still no so smart in term of layout, maybe can make the display alternative display between the 4 informations)

If the UI have all these done at least now u can access any contacts/apps/email/weather/device status/calender/event/task within a SINGLE page UI...  nod.gif

Is all these hard to be implement? NO!! it's only the designer DO NOT put effort on it...  doh.gif
Speaking of which, dont you think Nokia should just hire those that were responsible for Orange and Vodafone homescreen. I salute their creativity. This is what Nokia lacks. I think they will be able to make something interesting.

This post has been edited by andrekua: Aug 22 2010, 12:48 AM
andrekua
post Aug 22 2010, 01:05 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Aug 22 2010, 12:25 AM)
Finally some mature response. What u said here is true. Lets hope meego will change all that in future.

Here is sample of meego running on N900

I finished watching... but I wanna see Meego in vertical mode also.
I dont really like it much right now, but would like to see what end product would become.

My initial finding, well, a lot of space wasted. This is not helping. A bigger screen would just eats up more battery. Nokia should re-adjust the spacing here. Besides, contact in horizontal mode is a definate no-no. Nokia realized this with S60V5 but make the mistake in Meego? Probably should have done more research on how to avoid this with other in house programs as well. Some programs are not meant for horizontal mode.

Anyway, when was this video taken? It looks like its gonna be a long wait because the UI is not yet finalised. If Nokia really wanted to keep the MENU button on the bottom center, I really hope they did a borderless phone. That would really make it meaningful to have the menu button there or else its just double standard.

This post has been edited by andrekua: Aug 22 2010, 01:08 AM
andrekua
post Aug 22 2010, 01:15 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Aug 22 2010, 12:54 AM)
Talk about copying, it reminds me of fanboy iphone vs fanboy android or fanboy symbian vs fanboy iphone. Endless argument.

Added on August 22, 2010, 12:55 am

Symbian^3 only acquires 1 touch to go to other screen.
Just ignore them.

Back to copying, I think I was debating whether to KS the menu like Android or PAGE them like Iphone OS.
Nokia went with KS with S60V5 but with a big flaw. It seem like Meego also have the same problem. Lightning strike twice. I think if wanna KS, sorting them is unavoidable. Meego dont sort them from what I can see. Big problem. I think if Nokia think sorting isnt everyone cup of tea, they should allow an option of manual or automatic sorting.

From both video, it seems like its quite laggy, with A8 somemore. Will 1GHz helps?
andrekua
post Aug 22 2010, 01:21 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Aug 22 2010, 01:16 AM)
I thought you're aware the OS is still in development/early stage.  doh.gif
Thats the problem. The best test environment is end user. But it has to be usable to be marketed.
Nokia has the tendency to delay launches and sometimes even cripple them to rush them to the market incomplete.

Nokia can adopt Google approach here. Release a phone with faster cpu and higher ram in anticipating future updates of incomplete stuffs that were initially in planning. This way fans would be willing to buy and their feedback would be 100 times better than those beta testers in controlled environment.
andrekua
post Aug 22 2010, 01:26 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Someone should tell them, DONT DUMP US INTO THE TONG SAMPAH, OR LONGKANG, OR TASIK whenever your funding for imaginery OS runs out.

andrekua
post Aug 22 2010, 07:39 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Aug 22 2010, 03:26 AM)
both device is mine icon_rolleyes.gif Omnia HD and Satio.

Added on August 22, 2010, 5:29 ambeen left for this thread for 1 day coz busy study,SiS appreciation night bla bla bla.
@andrea 1.talking to fanboy is kinda stupid,dont u think so?i dont even bother to talk to them,wasting my time.tongue.gif
2. speaking of hardware stuff,i think nokia knew,noticed,understood,agreed about this and everyone of us knew about how stingy is nokia.i wonder y they still obstinate and producing those product with outdated hardware?(please ask for the reason from nokia reps in the nokia ranger programme)haha tongue.gif
@all bros and sis 1.comparison is ALWAYS GOOD but PLEASE compare in PROS and CONS. dun behalf like those fanboy just comparing a device PROS to the other device CONS.
2. i will control u all in order to stick to the N8 discussion.(no need thanks,thanks to andrekua coz he've INSTALLED this concept into my mind)biggrin.gif
out of topic breaking news:i went to the SiS appreciation night and saw something interesting,Desire's advertisement,capture stunning image...=.="" nokia not doing very well for their N8 advertisement...haha
You Know I'm Bad, I'm Bad~ whistling.gif

Holy cow... I was expecting some goodies from XXX from the lucky draw and questionnaire. The prizes are somewhat disappointing for me at least. They are selling XXX phone at full retail price there notworthy.gif

Edited cos sensitive here... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by andrekua: Aug 22 2010, 07:40 AM
andrekua
post Aug 22 2010, 07:58 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Did you join the Rangers?
I thought you had the most number of Nokia phone in hand.
andrekua
post Aug 22 2010, 01:45 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Aug 22 2010, 12:13 PM)
True....
Nokia will add coil wire to the speaker and boost the magnec unit of the speaker to boost the speaker better in the firmware update...

Beside, the new firmware may boost the acoustic environment of the phone like changing the metal casing to simulate the wooden environment to make it sound better still.....

And some audiophile say the speaker need some run in time to let in run in only sound great.....
Hahaha...

Audiophile.. Burn-in.. with phone speaker?

Hahaha...
andrekua
post Aug 22 2010, 11:44 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

That keyboard-free typing, I find it hard to believe unless I tried it out someday. Even with physical keyboard, we still rely on having a fix position where our fingers cooperate with our memory on where the keys are. But if you leave your hands freely and without looking, do you really remember where the keys were? It was sort like looking at movies preview where they shown you the good stuffs and hide the ugly/boring part.

I can only remember where ASDQWE due to FIFA.
andrekua
post Aug 23 2010, 01:36 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(Username is username @ Aug 22 2010, 11:58 PM)
i think he mean it by the invisible keyboard typing  nod.gif
QUOTE(BuFung @ Aug 22 2010, 11:58 PM)
i can type in dark without looking at the keyboard...  but some time still have wrong words.. but can be easily corrected.. coz u know the alphebet is just next to ur wrong one..

I am typing in the dark now and without looking at the keyboard...
QUOTE(freakenstein @ Aug 23 2010, 12:01 AM)
So , its like typing on a keyboard .
Which you sorta predicts where the buttons are?

Anyway , 549 USD is after tax and subsidies . It might be lowered after being released into the market.
NVM la... Both of you dont get what Im trying to said.
Double NVM cos its neither related to S or N.

Added on August 23, 2010, 2:46 am
QUOTE(doomx @ Aug 23 2010, 12:42 AM)
Super AMOLED vs the iphone hd reso which one better? I gotta agree that the samsung got really good screen
This is really hard to choose... I've choosen AMOLED over the IPS which I loved very much.

As for resolution, I believe it really does not matter in this case. Apple had to increase the size of the font in order to counter the smaller text due to resolution increase. Samsung on the other hand did not do that and instead having an extra 0.5" plus lower resolution to beef up the font at normal level. You can see Samsung display more of the page despite having lower resolution. It does not necessary means that you get less scrolling with higher resolution because normally increase in resolution comes along with increase in screen size. I find it hilarious to compare screen resolution for small screen size because ultimately you will need to zoom in to make it readable. However, it depends on which approach you prefer. More scrolling or see more of a page and zoom into what you want. See how AMOLED excellent black level help the text on Samsung looks comparable.

This post has been edited by andrekua: Aug 23 2010, 02:46 AM
andrekua
post Aug 23 2010, 03:18 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Psst... dont tell anyone that I silently signed up for Ranger programme...

Can get to play with N8 without needing to buy one... hopefully I can get free time to go...

Off topic,
Hello Boss, where are the foreign workers that you promised? Its been 1/2 year liao...
Worked like dog liao le... feeling exhausted...

This post has been edited by andrekua: Aug 23 2010, 03:19 PM
andrekua
post Aug 23 2010, 09:47 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(cloud8318 @ Aug 23 2010, 09:05 PM)
seem like the colour is implant in the casing that is really impresssive

why the pic show by BuFung is like paint on the surface of the casing.....from the pic we can see the colour peel off and show the silver colour casing underneath hmm.gif
the printing on the blue cover seem different from the other 2.....after market product maybe hmm.gif
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anodizing

Aluminium alloys are anodized to increase corrosion resistance, to increase surface hardness, and to allow dyeing (coloring), improved lubrication, or improved adhesion. The anodic layer is non-conductive.[3]

When exposed to air at room temperature, or any other gas containing oxygen, pure aluminium self-passivates by forming a surface layer of amorphous aluminium oxide 2 to 3 nm thick,[4] which provides very effective protection against corrosion. Aluminium alloys typically form a thicker oxide layer, 5-15 nm thick, but tend to be more susceptible to corrosion. Aluminium alloy parts are anodized to greatly increase the thickness of this layer for corrosion resistance. The corrosion resistance of aluminium alloys is significantly decreased by certain alloying elements or impurities: copper, iron, and silicon,[5] so 2000, 4000, and 6000-series alloys tend to be most susceptible. Some aluminium aircraft parts, architectural materials, and consumer products are anodized. Anodized aluminium can be found on mp3 players, flashlights, cookware, cameras, sporting goods, window frames, roofs, in electrolytic capacitors, and on many other products both for corrosion resistance and the ability to retain dye. Although anodizing only has moderate wear resistance, the deeper pores can better retain a lubricating film than a smooth surface would.

Anodized coatings have a much lower thermal conductivity and coefficient of linear expansion than aluminium. As a result, the coating will crack from thermal stress if exposed to temperatures above 80 °C. The coating can crack, but it will not peel.[6] The melting point of aluminium oxide is 2050 °C, much higher than pure aluminium's 658 °C.[6] (This can make welding more difficult.) In typical commercial aluminium anodization processes, the aluminium oxide is grown down into the surface and out from the surface by equal amounts. So anodizing will increase the part dimensions on each surface by half of the oxide thickness. For example a coating that is (2 μm) thick, will increase the part dimensions by (1 μm) per surface. If the part is anodized on all sides, then all linear dimensions will increase by the oxide thickness. Anodized aluminium surfaces are harder than aluminium but have low to moderate wear resistance, although this can be improved with thickness and sealing.

This post has been edited by andrekua: Aug 23 2010, 09:49 PM
andrekua
post Aug 24 2010, 04:32 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(doomx @ Aug 24 2010, 04:19 PM)
yes i am attending the program. how bout you?

i guess it is easy to find out tongue.gif
I joined in last minute as well... not sure got time to make it or not... but this sure interest me...

Well, chances are you’ve already heard a lot about the Nokia N8 that’s about to be launched soon. To kick off, we’d like to get the Nokia N8 into your hands so you can experience for yourself what our latest device can do.

If you’re interested in joining the Nokia Rangers programme, we’ll be happy to invite you to a special kick-off event where we will share with you our vision for Nokia Rangers and present you a new Nokia N8 for your use.

andrekua
post Aug 24 2010, 04:35 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Aug 24 2010, 04:34 PM)
@andre for test only?lol.
If so, I would tried dropping it into a cup of water and see if its water proof... laugh.gif laugh.gif before returning it
andrekua
post Aug 24 2010, 09:49 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Aug 24 2010, 06:47 PM)
don't look down China make phone oh..  the half bite fruit also from China yo...
Hahahaha...

You know what... if they had been to China, they would not look down at them anymore.

China is the biggest manufacturing arm of the world. There you can get everything done, at varying degree of perfection at any given price tag. If you are willing to pay more, you will end up getting more and vice-versa.
andrekua
post Aug 24 2010, 10:09 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Aug 24 2010, 10:06 PM)
Yea made in china sell at china hehe better profit.
Not really.. for most of them, Chinese brand names are selling at big discount compared to Western brands despite being produced in the same factory for example. Thats why if you ever go shopping in China, you will find some pretty good unknown Chinese branded stuffs made with quality.

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.6913sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 12:05 AM