Oct 25 2010, 12:12 PM
152 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
That I have to say is a little.. sorry quite TACTLESS.
If you wanna enhance the speed of cycle. add what, ONE or TWO or up to 3 Fishes to aid the cycle. Fishless cycle isnt all that bad. just have a 2 weeks worth of patience. doubt you need to kill to do that. Also, LED lighting that's made for aquarium use with the proper lumens and kelvin rating are not cheap at all. you might have confused those little dim diods that are ( a few cents maybe? ) each.. A proper casing for a 2feeter tank could cost you over 1.8k. (i think, didnt survey the market recetnly) Even a DIY one for a 2feeter ( with enough intensity and proper kelvin ratings ) costs more than rm 400 already Not to add flak but there are better ways of doing things. This post has been edited by chuppy2: Oct 25 2010, 12:12 PM |
Oct 25 2010, 08:40 PM
QUOTE(Noyze @ Oct 25 2010, 04:28 PM) lolx. nice to see the replies from ppl here. well, just tetra's here are quite cheap i dunno why. Although i've been out of the fish game for a few years now and dun know the pricing of stuff d. Heck if u guys only knew how much the lil drain fish i used to use to cycle my cichlid tanks with. Bloody pricey here so wth lah jus get tetras. lol, didn't mean to flame but you're just begging for it LOL. Aren't there like Feeder fishes? like rm 1 for a bag full of it. Anyways, i'm not new to planted tanks ( ask michanz) but regarding the lighting. LED's are not exp and they do give out a lot of lumens ( GO check plantedtank.net ) The only problem is I cant get parts here in this lil town. If anyone would actually be helpful enough to point out an electrical store that has a websie i'd be more than grateful. Oh btw, just to piss u guys off a lil more I'm doing a sump tank and not gonna use an external filter hehehe. More fun doing DIY nia at least I can kill time instead of buying unknown and unbranded stuff they have here. Although the Eheim Pro sitting in the fish shop looks interesting. hehehe As for killing fish to cycle tanks, well i'm not one for tact. Ask michanz! he knows lol. I mean, whats wrong with fishless cycling? it's easier and lesser wait in planted tanks compared to dedicated fish tanks. Im not saying it doesnt work but I mean there's a limit for everything la . I'll stand my ground eventhough if you're the IAPLC #1 for god knows how many years. Wont say much on the sump system, I personally am using that system on the 6footer. Nothing wrong so far. just pump more c02. So this doesnt really piss people off LOL. hmm interesting on the LEDs not being expensive, care to share the price ? Interested in this long life lighting solution. Though don't get me wrong, I DID NOT say that LEDs CANNOT light a planted tank, per LED is NOT EXPENSIVE, that's for sure.. but from the DIY-ers I know here, that's not what that adds to the $. LEDs are by all means the future of aquaria lighting, just they're not so friendly to the wallet and well, parts arent that easy to get just yet. (YET) Well that's my rant, Hate me all you want but that's my personal views with all respects to the taiko of this forum Michanz .(sorry bro for ranting your dude) Drew |
Oct 25 2010, 11:12 PM
lol after all's said and done, No hard feelings yea, sorry if i sound like an old uncle LOL.
4 days is too short for a BIG GROUP of tetras. If you wanna stock early, start small. Start with like what, 5-10 fishes first, slowly adding.. @michanz, i dont have 6footer but I am maintaining one for one of my clients LOL , c02 finish he pay only what >=D Drew |
Oct 31 2010, 02:31 PM
yes, algae. get some amanos and SAes to get them
Oct 31 2010, 02:50 PM
^ are you suggesting cories for algae cleanup?
Nov 6 2010, 12:41 AM
^ we dont use that much here though...
and I dont really see why we even need one =D If you really need such an equipment.. try the diamond ceramic filter.. removes all the tiny little metals and well in your intended case, diatoms. but seriously, some water changes , a healthy number of clean up crew, and controlled lighting would do the trick! if green water is the issue, a UV filter would be cheaper and a wiser choice if all else fails. but do share your problem with us.. what made you want to use a diatom filter lol. This post has been edited by chuppy2: Nov 6 2010, 12:44 AM |
Nov 6 2010, 01:07 AM
@benSow, guai low from Malaysia? or guai lou from US/Uk/Aus?
Green water, is your tank in the sun? If yes, the only solution is UV Filter.. OR MOVE IT AWAY FROM THE SUN AND CONTROL YOUR LIGHTING lol. Drew Added on November 6, 2010, 1:08 amor use blackout methods. so many methods to try. don't always opt for the magic bean LOL. This post has been edited by chuppy2: Nov 6 2010, 01:08 AM |
Nov 10 2010, 03:48 PM
@michanz, any shop doing hard solid wood cabinets guarantteee+ confirm will be 3x-4x price of those selling in LFS.
Drew Added on November 10, 2010, 3:49 pmlol ben, only ottocinculus dont eat shrimps.. Drew This post has been edited by chuppy2: Nov 10 2010, 03:49 PM |
Nov 10 2010, 03:53 PM
exactly.. my 3foot custome one, hollow interior cost me rm 4xx >...>
Added on November 10, 2010, 3:53 pmthe ones from the LFS are usually chipboard, bloats when come in touch with water = swelling = spoils This post has been edited by chuppy2: Nov 10 2010, 03:53 PM |
Nov 10 2010, 04:00 PM
I learnt my lesson the hard way... had some cabinets slanting a few degrees, causing aquarum to tilt.. too long and it could all break down
Nov 13 2010, 12:26 AM
I somehow feel the left clump will float ><
Nov 16 2010, 11:23 AM
@michanz, dont overfeed the shrimps = no planaria =D. i feed my shrimps once per 3 days,.. i know its kinda bad but heck no planaria to hunt babies.
Nov 16 2010, 11:42 AM
@mic, the water fleas.. (daphnia i think) are totally harmless.. planaria are the semi deadly ones.
This post has been edited by chuppy2: Nov 16 2010, 11:43 AM |
Nov 26 2010, 12:18 AM
Mari mari.. all come Aquafair see all the amster sifu's tank's and meet the master sifus from JH and the sort. they are the ones who are leading the malaysian charge =D
Dont expect much buy and selling though.. at least dont expect huge discounts LOL Drew |
Nov 26 2010, 02:14 AM
Aiks.. digital thermometre.. Try avoiding these as they often go way off.. then have to calibrate and etc, best is the traditional alcohol in glass..
Drew |
Nov 29 2010, 12:47 AM
Cheers all the way from the aquafair.
Just curious, how many made it to the event? Talk by Mr.Amano. Drew This post has been edited by chuppy2: Nov 29 2010, 12:48 AM |
Nov 29 2010, 12:24 PM
hahah pakutekan. keep that to yourself.. Im still an uncle here wakakaka
Nov 30 2010, 10:40 AM
thursday and friday was traders and VIPs days. Those who enter with short pants are either participants or exhibitioners ..
The last time I participated(2 years back) they don't allow me in cause I was wearing sandals and short pants. Straight I walk to suria and buy those and went back in LOL. Only Saturday and Sunday are all out for public. They always have the dress code Smart casual, just sat and sun they keep one eye closed.. Hope that clears the idea.. |
Nov 30 2010, 11:48 PM
altums wouldnt be able to fit nicely in a 2-3feet tank hahaha
Drew |