AMD Radeon™ Discussion V3, Prepare Red! Green has attacked!
joellim
Aug 17 2010, 02:18 PM

i would like to ask,
if i get 2 5770 crossfire for eyefinity, do i still need one monitor that supports displayport?
because if i am using 2 x 5770's there will be 4 DVI outputs from two cards right?
i'm asking this because monitors that support Displayport are quite expensive and I already have 2 x 22" monitors so I would like to just add another cheap 22" TN screen for eyefinity.
joellim
Aug 17 2010, 02:57 PM

i see. because i heard that the latest Catalyst drivers will support eyefinity even with crossfire configurations.
however, i would like to know if it is still necessary to use 2 x dvi and 1 x DP to run eyefinity.
there are graphics card out there that have 2 x dvi ports so i am planning to install 2 x 5770s and therefore have 4 x dvi outputs in the back. will eyefinity work in this configuration?
joellim
Sep 7 2010, 01:22 AM

well,
i'm going to let go my 4870X2 soon and jump to 6870.
i know its not worth is cos 4870X2 can still play everything at 1920x1200@high
but i'm going for 5040x1050!
yes, I already got 2 monitor and waiting for my 3rd monitor!
eyefinity ftw! can't wait!
joellim
Sep 7 2010, 02:13 AM

QUOTE(moshpit21 @ Sep 7 2010, 01:29 AM) please help me, where to download CCC other than ati/amd website? my sister's laptop is using mobility radeon HD3470 (win vista 32bit). thanks. ati mobility driver need to get from the laptop manufacturer's website. http://www.amd.com/us/products/notebook/gr...0-partners.aspxlook for drivers at the manufacturer's driver/support section. Added on September 7, 2010, 2:56 amguys, just want to ask your opinion here, plannig to get a 6870 when it comes out and mainly use it for gaming. going for the eyefinity this round (3x22") do you think my e8500@4.0Ghz will bottleneck the system? I know as resolution go higher, bottleneck shifts from CPU to GPU. but would i benefit much from going core i5-750 or PIIX4 955, bearing in mind playing at 3150x1680 (portrait mode eyefinity) This post has been edited by joellim: Sep 7 2010, 02:56 AM
joellim
Sep 7 2010, 10:15 AM

QUOTE(jeopardise @ Aug 31 2010, 09:23 AM) Of course changing to quality aftermarket cooler will increase lifespan of the GC because it'll lower the operating temperature especially during load. Lower temperature increases graphic card life. Overclocking is completely another scenario. Push it more, life shorter if temperature is high for a period of time. I am using aftermarket cooler GELID icy vision to cool my GTX285 non overclocking to save power. Can't stand near 90 degrees temperature at full load with stock cooler. I still remembered idle temperature of 4870X2 reference cooler at 78 C. How long would it last ... however letgo already.  1 question, is there any after market cooler ready for GTX460? QUOTE(rcwh2000 @ Sep 7 2010, 10:11 AM) then how about 5870 & 5970?? no where near GTX 480 heat output...
joellim
Sep 7 2010, 07:57 PM

lol...accelero S1 Rev.2...i bought 2 of those babes for the 8800GTS,
sold them away when i sold my 8800s. even running them passive, its miles better than stock cooler. (stock idle 70C, accelero idle 45C)
joellim
Sep 8 2010, 09:23 PM

i tot nvidia cards have some kind of debuff that will disable physx if an ATI card is detected on the same pc.
joellim
Sep 9 2010, 02:44 PM

QUOTE(hydrogen @ Sep 9 2010, 02:23 PM) Eh my windows 7 32-bit just auto updated, and i later discovered that it auto updated my video driver to 10.8. I was originally on 10.3 Is this auto update any good, as in would it be stable or should i manually remove this (driver-sweeper etc.) and download my own 10.8? the latest catalyst drivers are fine for single cards, just not for crossfire.
joellim
Sep 9 2010, 06:21 PM

QUOTE(babyalex95 @ Sep 9 2010, 04:42 PM) Any details about HD6800 series release date? yes! please let me know the 6870 release dates! i got my 3rd monitor d! just waiting to hook it up! *drools* can't wait to have my own eyefinity!
joellim
Sep 10 2010, 02:43 AM

try checking the dvd that came with the laptop for default drivers. or wait for windows update to find the appropriate driver for you. laptop graphic drivers are usually tailored for OEMs only and don't receive regular (or any at all) updates from ATI. (sorry AMD)
joellim
Sep 11 2010, 11:54 PM

download dxwebsetup and reinstall directx.
if fail, do a fresh reinstall lah.
joellim
Sep 13 2010, 03:00 PM

QUOTE(alexlow88 @ Sep 13 2010, 12:47 PM) Hmm, I think I'll just wait till dec or jan 2011 to buy it so that it'll ease up on my budget a bit. Thanks bros.. Damn that Startec guy.. Shall visit him soon yeah! visit him soon to show him only 2Fingers! lalalala.....6870....lalalala.... this is the current pecking order of graphics card. radeon 5970 gtx 480 gtx 295 radeon 4870x2 radeon 5870 gtx 470 radeon 5850 gtx 460 radeon 4890 radeon 5830 radeon 4870 radeon 5770 but honestly, anything above 4870 1gb will allow u to play most games at 1920x1200 without AA smoothly...
joellim
Sep 13 2010, 11:53 PM

QUOTE(law1777 @ Sep 13 2010, 03:37 PM) i see 4870 appeared two times.. where is gtx460x2?? 4870 appears 2 times cos one is a single gpu 4870, another one is the dual GPU card 4870X2. looking at the leaked benchmarks of 3dmark vantage for 6870, it looks like 6870 performance is going to fall between gtx 480 and 5970. yay! ATI will again win the crown of fastest single and dual gpu graphic card! so far there is no news from nvidia regarding a dual gpu card using two fermi class gpus.
joellim
Sep 14 2010, 12:02 AM

QUOTE(alexlow88 @ Sep 13 2010, 11:51 PM) I found from some websites saying that a gtx 460 sli is better than HD5850 cf.. Is that true? Cos if it is I'll get the cheaper gtx460 instead.. Cos I plan to sli/cf in the future.. Yes, you are right. currently GTX 460 SLi scales almost 100% in most games. single card 5850 vs gtx460, the 5850 is faster. but using 2 gtx 460 in SLi, it will win 2 5850 in crossfire cos crossfire scales badly (only 30%-70% performance increase over single card)
joellim
Sep 14 2010, 12:09 AM

go for one 5850 now, when price drops, buy second 5850, then, buy 2nd monitor, save some money, buy 3rd monitor, then VOILA! EYEFINITY!
This post has been edited by joellim: Sep 14 2010, 12:10 AM
joellim
Sep 14 2010, 10:02 PM

QUOTE(everling @ Sep 14 2010, 09:17 PM) The prices will drop, but I don't expect it to drop drastically. In any case, buying older hardware with old problems doesn't really appeal. I mean, who in their right minds would buy a hot HD 4850 or HD 4870 when you have newer, more powerful and more cooler HD 5850 and HD 5870?  easy, someone who wants to save money. a 4870 will give u roughly the performance of a 5830/5770. yes, its slightly hotter and yes it doesnt have dx11, but for the majority of mainstream gamers, those are not necessary. it cost u like rm400 at most to get a 4870 right now. and a 5830 is about 700-800. you save almost half the money. even the latest gts450, almost every hardware website will recommend you to skip the gts 450 and get a way cheaper gts250 or 5770, for almost the same performance. G92 is still not dead.
joellim
Sep 15 2010, 11:21 AM

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Sep 15 2010, 09:15 AM) yup, i'm using a 4870x2 now and the stock cooler is loud as hell. its true, like some people say, like airplane lifting off. i went to order the accelero xtreme 4870x2. now its super silent at full fan speed, and temps only idle 38C load 50C. do you guys think its worth it to upgrade from 4870X2 to 6870? i skipped the 5870 cos it was more like a sidegrade or even downgrade in certain games. if i do get the 6870, planning to eyefinity it. sometimes dell flood the market with a lot of cheap ARB monitors. (remember last time dell S2409W@RM580)
joellim
Sep 15 2010, 03:26 PM

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Sep 15 2010, 03:03 PM) We still do not know how good is 6000 series performance or price, cause right now AMD does not leak any information or details regarding it. Everything is still mystery though. But definitely, 2x5870 is faster than 6870 ( or maybe 6970, not quite sure ). So is depend whether you want to jump for performance boost with single card. For me i think i will stick to 5870 x2 at the moment, really looking forward to the smaller chipset for the next next generation.  here's some leaked benchmarks. don't know how far can trust but its seems believable at 35% faster than 5870. 30 fps minimum in crysis 1200p very high 4XAA 16XAF. 20% faster than GTX480. http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/296836-3...eaked-benchmarkhttp://vr-zone.com/articles/more-radeon-hd...eaked/9700.html
joellim
Sep 15 2010, 06:33 PM

i'm imagine it would be around the same as the 5870 launch price. does anyone remember how much a 5870 cost when it was just launched in malaysia?
about 1.7k(stock) to 1.9k (OC version, twin frozr, custom cooler)