Saga LMST Is a good car?, Interm of FC,Safety and Stability
Jul 8 2010, 05:00 PM, updated 16y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
581 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: Singapore / Johor Bahru |
As title mentioned, Saga LMST is a good car? In term Safety and stability and most important comfortable and FC? Satria is a good choice in term of FC,Safety, Comfortable? I don't like small K-car since i already own a Kancil right now. Looking for more comfortable car with good FC. Share me ur experience plz.
Jul 8 2010, 05:06 PM
1,372 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Heritage Waterfront City |
why dont you get new a saga edition?
its better than LMST if you looking preference like above. This post has been edited by MjMax15: Jul 8 2010, 05:07 PM |
Jul 8 2010, 05:07 PM
1,052 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Malaysia |
Whats ur budget ?
Jul 8 2010, 05:11 PM
Actually i got consider the Saga BLM also. But i will graduate within 1 year 6 month. And now i got part time work as Promoter supervisor so that i need a better and comfort car because i kept driving around Cheras and KL area every weekend. And i buy the car without notice my parent yet, so i looking for something cheap and good to use for coming 1 year 6 month only. After that the car should kept on house and let my younger sister driving. So i hope to find a 15K+- car than finish pay the loan within this 1 year 6 month.
Added on July 8, 2010, 5:31 pm QUOTE(MjMax15 @ Jul 8 2010, 05:06 PM) Btw..Saga LMST FC higher than Saga BLM? My friend BLM is quite high for Auto Mline.This post has been edited by fool1988: Jul 8 2010, 05:31 PM |
Jul 8 2010, 10:36 PM
3,391 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: KL |
QUOTE(fool1988 @ Jul 8 2010, 05:11 PM) Actually i got consider the Saga BLM also. But i will graduate within 1 year 6 month. And now i got part time work as Promoter supervisor so that i need a better and comfort car because i kept driving around Cheras and KL area every weekend. And i buy the car without notice my parent yet, so i looking for something cheap and good to use for coming 1 year 6 month only. After that the car should kept on house and let my younger sister driving. So i hope to find a 15K+- car than finish pay the loan within this 1 year 6 month. If wan FC low for the LMST, dun buy the one with factory installed big muffler. Since LMST is only available in manual, the FC shud be better than BLM Auto. I suggest going for LMSS instead of LMST if u wanna buy second hand, for me it looks nicer and LMST chassis is softer than the old iswara. The saying goes " you pay peanuts , you get monkey". New LMST was priced at 27.8k only if i remember correctly while old iswara was price very close to 40k.Added on July 8, 2010, 5:31 pm Btw..Saga LMST FC higher than Saga BLM? My friend BLM is quite high for Auto Mline. This post has been edited by k!nex: Jul 8 2010, 10:36 PM |
Jul 8 2010, 11:33 PM
1,008 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Shah Alam SDE |
saga LMST sure its good choice, compare satria coz
- satria injection new model use siemens ecu n all parts electronic parts like distributer, throttle body etc are xpensive (but for old model use Mitsu wiring that's another whole other story if both using 4g15/3 engine) - 4g1x series engine seem easy to maintain, also the parts for carbie n mitsu injection also cheap.. - the FC quite awesome, even my 95 carbie iswara can get rm10=80km normal driving.. - moderate built quality compare it price.. n satria parts sometimes can be xpensive too.. eg like roof lining, doors trimming, rear bonet etc.. |
Jul 8 2010, 11:41 PM
http://www.mudah.my/Proton+Saga+Iswara+LMS...ual-6564372.htm
The link is LMST or LMSS? What the different for LMSS? Look different? |
Jul 8 2010, 11:46 PM
QUOTE(fool1988 @ Jul 8 2010, 11:41 PM) http://www.mudah.my/Proton+Saga+Iswara+LMS...ual-6564372.htm one with power steering, another one no power steering maybe?The link is LMST or LMSS? What the different for LMSS? Look different? coz from wht i heard, saga with power steering also hv alloy wheel, if no alloy wheel then there is no power steering.. dunno this is true or not.. |
Jul 8 2010, 11:49 PM
QUOTE(amad108 @ Jul 8 2010, 11:33 PM) saga LMST sure its good choice, compare satria coz 95 carbie iswara is same with LMST? This car is carburetor but not Fuel injection isnt? Bukan Fuel Injection lagi bagus?- satria injection new model use siemens ecu n all parts electronic parts like distributer, throttle body etc are xpensive (but for old model use Mitsu wiring that's another whole other story if both using 4g15/3 engine) - 4g1x series engine seem easy to maintain, also the parts for carbie n mitsu injection also cheap.. - the FC quite awesome, even my 95 carbie iswara can get rm10=80km normal driving.. - moderate built quality compare it price.. n satria parts sometimes can be xpensive too.. eg like roof lining, doors trimming, rear bonet etc.. |
Jul 8 2010, 11:58 PM
QUOTE(fool1988 @ Jul 8 2010, 11:49 PM) 95 carbie iswara is same with LMST? This car is carburetor but not Fuel injection isnt? Bukan Fuel Injection lagi bagus? EFI mitsu > mitsu carbie > EFI siemens coz- siemens parts really xpensive - cant be adjust for siemens ecu - carbie parts easy to tune n adjust n also the parts cheap - carbie for 4g1x series (it is a good carbie, many old car like datsun etc use it coz it save fuel n hv power when need it) been told by my friend that hv datsun - there's a lot of performance parts for mitsu EFI engine.. n u can easily tuned it maybe more, wait for sifu's here reply then.. correct me if i'm wrong.. |
Jul 9 2010, 12:07 AM
So totally LMST is a good car in term of FC and comfortable? Aircond cool enough? Power? Manual should not problem on pick up isnt.
Jul 9 2010, 12:15 AM
FC = its quite ok
comfortable = that's hard to say coz u can feel all cheap tin sound at rainy day or when u drive it through 'becak' water.. hehe aircond = any car hv cool aircond, u need to regularly service n add oil at the compressor manual = yup, the pick-up quite ok, not feel underpowered at all.. coz that engine tech exist since 80's so cant complaint ler.. power = not that power but it has a lot of potential to mod.. stock is more to reliable so cant expect more.. if it isnt a good car, why there is still people use it eg like old nissan sunny.. hehe |
Jul 9 2010, 12:26 AM
i know nissan sunny is a good car. But i don know this car is same technology with nissan sunny. Comfortable i just depend on it width and driving condition..if driving on not smooth road..will it kept 'jump'? i don like the feeling kancil driving on un smooth road..it feel like whole car gonna separately.
Jul 9 2010, 12:36 AM
well as long u keep it stock condition sure it hv better comfort compare kancil..
new abs n spring (just buy oem enough oredy, its not that xpensive maybe near kancil abs perhaps?) if u wanna know, even new vios n city use same system suspension as saga n old sunny but they hv more proper research so they come out with more comfort setup even tho they use old suspension system.. u know why they use old system? coz it cheaper to built (coz not complicated design) n easy to maintain.. not like perdana, camry n altis also civic, they use more complicated system n hv even more higher level of comfort.. hehe for luxury car that even higher of course.. This post has been edited by amad108: Jul 9 2010, 12:36 AM |
Jul 9 2010, 12:38 AM
Ok. Thank for ur info. It did help a lot. Thank mate.
Jul 9 2010, 12:40 AM
yup, no prob ler.. hehe
Jul 9 2010, 12:41 AM
Feel lost when choosing ride that buy by my own money. Need to research a lot to buy the right ride with wise.
Jul 9 2010, 12:42 AM
334 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
Better save your money & once u graduate with a proper job, buy a better car...dun waste money buy LMST
Jul 9 2010, 12:49 AM
better car sure cost a lot more bro, that just for temporary.. n hv to wait quite of sometime.. even me at TS place cant take it anymore..
for me myself using motorcycle most of day, but certain time i use my wira which the FC r big different n also need to pay for tols too, but i enjoy more when i drive my wira more.. Added on July 9, 2010, 12:52 am QUOTE(fool1988 @ Jul 9 2010, 12:41 AM) Feel lost when choosing ride that buy by my own money. Need to research a lot to buy the right ride with wise. erm.. why not make ur kancil as comfort as u can?use mira seats (trxx seats quite comfort u know), good abs n spring, combine with mira roof cover n door trimming to get better noise insulation.. but still it's a kancil ler.. hehe This post has been edited by amad108: Jul 9 2010, 12:52 AM |
Jul 9 2010, 12:04 PM
QUOTE(amad108 @ Jul 9 2010, 12:49 AM) better car sure cost a lot more bro, that just for temporary.. n hv to wait quite of sometime.. even me at TS place cant take it anymore.. For me..It's not worth for investment in kancil... for me myself using motorcycle most of day, but certain time i use my wira which the FC r big different n also need to pay for tols too, but i enjoy more when i drive my wira more.. Added on July 9, 2010, 12:52 am erm.. why not make ur kancil as comfort as u can? use mira seats (trxx seats quite comfort u know), good abs n spring, combine with mira roof cover n door trimming to get better noise insulation.. but still it's a kancil ler.. hehe Btw..kancil is really a good car for me...as my first car..it help me a lot.. Because of it excellent FC..i manage to save money from my salary for my second car... It's still working fine with good FC..but ppl will greedy, it comfortable already cannot suit me well.. |
Jul 9 2010, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(fool1988 @ Jul 9 2010, 12:04 PM) For me..It's not worth for investment in kancil... haha.. coz that greedy attitude we can archive higher goal.. anyone want good car with low FC n cheap to maintain, but becoz of that we try almost everything to get there.. for sure someday it appears.. haha Btw..kancil is really a good car for me...as my first car..it help me a lot.. Because of it excellent FC..i manage to save money from my salary for my second car... It's still working fine with good FC..but ppl will greedy, it comfortable already cannot suit me well.. |
Jul 9 2010, 12:39 PM
727 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
iswara is comfortable enough.but that if u can tahan all the vibrating noises when go thru uneven road surface
Jul 9 2010, 12:44 PM
Jul 9 2010, 01:03 PM
How to fix? I don like those sound let me feel whole car gonna separately fast
Jul 10 2010, 11:41 AM
3,391 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: KL |
QUOTE(fool1988 @ Jul 8 2010, 11:41 PM) http://www.mudah.my/Proton+Saga+Iswara+LMS...ual-6564372.htm The one u showing is LMST.The link is LMST or LMSS? What the different for LMSS? Look different? THis is LMSS http://www.mudah.my/Proton+Iswara+1+3MT+Li...ner-5214749.htm LMSS brand new is 36k+ above if i remember correctly, LMST brand new 27.8k This post has been edited by k!nex: Jul 10 2010, 11:42 AM |
Jul 10 2010, 05:31 PM
LMSS better than LMST? On which part?
Jul 10 2010, 07:53 PM
2,236 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: BB Bangi |
QUOTE(k!nex @ Jul 10 2010, 11:41 AM) The one u showing is LMST. i think the earliest batch of LMST is 30++KTHis is LMSS http://www.mudah.my/Proton+Iswara+1+3MT+Li...ner-5214749.htm LMSS brand new is 36k+ above if i remember correctly, LMST brand new 27.8k the 27k promo came in later to clear stock, but i think they ended up producing more instead of stock clearing because of the high demand for cheap cars.. the LMST is a better deal than kancil back then.. |
Jul 10 2010, 08:54 PM
10,975 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: disini disana |
Jul 26 2010, 06:58 PM
291 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: Kedai Bakuteh Ah Kau Pte. Ltd. |
Jul 27 2010, 02:31 AM
Jul 27 2010, 08:34 AM
Jul 27 2010, 11:55 AM
So lighter is a good thing?
Jul 27 2010, 06:05 PM
No good meh? Despite lighter but not significant weight reduced, very minimal.
Question is in terms of vat sense? Driveability? Stability? Is the inertia of the vehicle a concern? I guess it's up to Ur personal preferance, I dare not give any comment here, otherwise I'll kena "sniped". But personally, I think it's good when Ur talking bout power over weight ratio. |
Jul 27 2010, 07:51 PM
On safety, might not a good thing..
But on FC, YES,lighter is better. |
Jul 27 2010, 09:19 PM
Agree on the FC.
But may I know y did U say might not be a good thing on safety? |
Jul 28 2010, 01:45 PM
Jul 28 2010, 03:54 PM
1,658 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: JB/Cyberjaya |
I am driving a lmst right now. So to correct some of the info here, LMST 2007/08 :
1. do not comes with the large noisy exhaust 2. equipped with power steering, reverse sensor 3. do not comes with sport rim. 4. the price is rm26999 Yes the steel is very thin. I met some minor bang, and when I apply mild pressure to the dented part, it bounce back like it was new. Cruising noise of course is high. Do notice several common issues such as: 1. Power window switch malfunction (Can easily fix by yourself) 2. Door/Boot are not properly aligned. There would be some gaps as if the door/boot are not properly shut. 3. Back seat clips not aligned properly. 4. Cheap and loose aircond vents and controls. Air cond leaking everywhere and the control rattles while cruising. Other than these, should be ok for basic usage. Better than getting kancil in my opinion. With the price, it's even worthy than BLM. |
Jul 28 2010, 05:06 PM
Actually..large exhaust is good thing or bad thing? Beside than the sound..
Jul 28 2010, 05:12 PM
QUOTE(fool1988 @ Jul 28 2010, 01:45 PM) Lighter weights would generally means lower inertia. Lower inertia would reflects the performance of a vehicle eg. accereration and decereration. The lower the inertia, the less effort the brake system has to work to stop the vehicle. No good meh? As for the "kena accident" thing, I believe U were refering to the ability of a structure to absorb impact instead of inertia right? Added on July 28, 2010, 5:16 pm QUOTE(fool1988 @ Jul 28 2010, 05:06 PM) As this it would be up to Ur personal preference whether U corcern bout fuel consumption, back pressure of the exhaust gas or the enviroment.This post has been edited by J1@l_ l_l l\l: Jul 28 2010, 05:16 PM |
Jul 28 2010, 07:05 PM
Sound good for lower inertia..thank for sharing
Btw..i though lower weight mean the structure is soft and will be danger if having accident, because it not tough enough.. If concern about fuel consumption..large exhaust is not a good thing isnt? |
Jul 28 2010, 07:53 PM
Just need to remind U bout chassis and structural geometry kindda things perhaps would makes U think of something.
As for "large" exhaust, I'm not sure how large is consider large, I'm using stock, nvr tried any oversize exhaust piping, so cannot simply give U comment too to prevent myself frm being tembak. But heard many aftermarket exhaust piping users experience, the result on the fc is NEGATIVE, how bad, guar ta rak tau. |
Jul 28 2010, 10:40 PM
Cause some of the LMST come with large exhaust..So i wonder which kind if more fuel saver?
Jul 28 2010, 11:31 PM
Donoe.
I have gotten the 2nd batch model which is the one having normal muffler at the back and was selling at MYR27,999. I actually wanted the one with a bigger rear muffler model, but was told by the moron salesmonkey tht LMST has discontinued using tht muffler, so, vat to do, complaint also doesn't make sense ma since they think Ur buying a RM27,999's car and doesn't deserve a good customer service. But I didn't care too since the car is meant mainly for my job, so be it. As everybody has known, this auto maker has been having problems with their parts reliability issue regarless of which model eversince the 1st product came out. U should have known it too I guess. So mine too, having the same common problem and the most common being the power window switches which has already been suggested above. This post has been edited by J1@l_ l_l l\l: Jul 28 2010, 11:32 PM |
Jul 29 2010, 07:01 AM
QUOTE(fool1988 @ Jul 28 2010, 07:05 PM) Sound good for lower inertia..thank for sharing not necessary lower weight means less structural rigidity... it depends where the meat is located...Btw..i though lower weight mean the structure is soft and will be danger if having accident, because it not tough enough.. If concern about fuel consumption..large exhaust is not a good thing isnt? as for ur exhaust, not much difference GIVEN THAT ur carburetor is properly tuned... |
Jul 29 2010, 08:47 AM
654 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
after driving LMST for 3 years i conclude its the best! Engine is still mitsu engine so never gave me a problem.
Its very light, so suggest dont drive like a race car for safety issues. FC is very good, RM50 can go up to 330km that is with 1" bigger then stock and modified muffler. Stock can go more i guess.. |
Jul 30 2010, 12:32 PM
I don't know for MYR50 U were refering to how much $/Litre.
If it was refered to V-Power, then it's a good figure. |
Jul 30 2010, 01:52 PM
yes, this engine do hv good FC.. even after more then 20 years of tech still doing fine.. its simple n engine n coz it simple it easy to maintain n parts sure cheap...
as muffler, suggest use OEM ler.. the larger muffler OEM gave sure increase FC a bit coz not suitable with engine power even they know that, they still done that coz wanna style a bit.. huhu |
Aug 1 2010, 12:42 AM
Fuel consumption is only effected by the engine? So, the mass and the Cd of the car don't effecting the fc?
Can U share with us how many kM/L U were refering to? |
Aug 1 2010, 01:03 AM
engine is the most important, other come 2nd..
Aug 1 2010, 01:28 AM
Oh, ini macam miar ah? Gua butoi butoi ta rak tau oh.
U have suggested "the larger muffler OEM gave sure increase FC a bit coz not suitable with engine power ", what did U mean by this "not suitable with engine power"? Sorry for for the noob question due to I'm a nood in automotive industry. |
Aug 1 2010, 01:42 AM
QUOTE(J1@l_ l_l l\l @ Aug 1 2010, 01:28 AM) Oh, ini macam miar ah? Gua butoi butoi ta rak tau oh. its mean its not 'ngam' ler.. small engine use small muffler coz its have weak exhaust flow, like turbo engine which hv strong exhaust flow if use small muffler n piping sure the power being restricted.. so same to small engine use too big muffler.. U have suggested "the larger muffler OEM gave sure increase FC a bit coz not suitable with engine power ", what did U mean by this "not suitable with engine power"? Sorry for for the noob question due to I'm a nood in automotive industry. its like ur body, u hv large body, u also must have large leg n foot right, if not u will feel unstable (also mean not suitable)... |
Aug 1 2010, 02:37 AM
QUOTE(amad108 @ Aug 1 2010, 01:42 AM) its mean its not 'ngam' ler.. small engine use small muffler coz its have weak exhaust flow, like turbo engine which hv strong exhaust flow if use small muffler n piping sure the power being restricted.. so same to small engine use too big muffler.. Then y is the dimension of the exhaust hose of AP1 and AP2 are bigger than SV4 2.2?its like ur body, u hv large body, u also must have large leg n foot right, if not u will feel unstable (also mean not suitable)... Strong exhaust flow, what is the unit being used to describe exhaust flow how "strong" or not "strong"? Saga LMST "strong" ke or not "strong"? Y not small capacity engines using extreamly big muffler since it has suggested tht small muffler power being restricted? |
Aug 1 2010, 04:13 AM
QUOTE(J1@l_ l_l l\l @ Aug 1 2010, 02:37 AM) Then y is the dimension of the exhaust hose of AP1 and AP2 are bigger than SV4 2.2? what is AP1 and AP2??....Strong exhaust flow, what is the unit being used to describe exhaust flow how "strong" or not "strong"? Saga LMST "strong" ke or not "strong"? Y not small capacity engines using extreamly big muffler since it has suggested tht small muffler power being restricted? |
Aug 2 2010, 05:50 PM
AP1 = S2000 2.0, AP2 = S2000 2.2
My mistake put in the AP2 due to the AP2 is having the same engine capacity as the SV4 2.2. V r talking bout the meant value of a, area of the cross section of the exhaust piping. |
Aug 5 2010, 01:13 AM
from saga u change to honda, that another whole different story ler.. honda even hv same engine in diff model, the characteristic of them differ according izzit sedan, sports car etc..
same goes with toyota engine 3SGE/3SGTE engine, various model use that engine too n all hv differ tork and hp.. but for simple engine like 4g13/15 hard to done on it (differ hp n tork) coz its too basic.. |
Aug 5 2010, 01:35 AM
I was asking question for post #51 which has not been answered yet and answering the question on post #53.
So, have U came up the answer for my question on post #52? |
Sep 3 2010, 09:09 PM
QUOTE(J1@l_ l_l l\l @ Aug 1 2010, 02:37 AM) Then y is the dimension of the exhaust hose of AP1 and AP2 are bigger than SV4 2.2? maybe the engine code the same but the tuning is different, eg like evo3 vr4 turbo n vr4 NA, all use same engine code but has different length of inlet manifold, different design of xtractor, n ecu tuning also differ.. so from all that that effect the exhaust flow..Strong exhaust flow, what is the unit being used to describe exhaust flow how "strong" or not "strong"? Saga LMST "strong" ke or not "strong"? Y not small capacity engines using extreamly big muffler since it has suggested tht small muffler power being restricted? strong or not strong flow i also dont know.. if i want to xplain all i also not know all |
Sep 3 2010, 09:27 PM
1,911 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: Ang Mo Kio, Singapore |
saga/iswara/lmst is quite a fuel saver, i get about 450km on full tank on my usual routes, 50% highway 50% city roads. Not bad compare to newer cars with dvvt/vvti technology.
its quite comfortable, and the suspension is soft, good for traveling on roads with loads of port holes and bumps. I usually travel around 60-80 on speed bumps and i feel totally nothing. The squeeking parts on the dashboard and seats can be fix by maskin tapes and some lubricants. this car, if not mistaken 2nd hand around rm15k. Not much you can ask for a rm15k car right? enough to bring you from point a to b comfortably and safely is already good enough |
Sep 4 2010, 07:23 AM
QUOTE(Shawnzz @ Sep 3 2010, 09:27 PM) saga/iswara/lmst is quite a fuel saver, i get about 450km on full tank on my usual routes, 50% highway 50% city roads. Not bad compare to newer cars with dvvt/vvti technology. yup... agree, maybe the longest manufactured engine... coz the engine since 80's..its quite comfortable, and the suspension is soft, good for traveling on roads with loads of port holes and bumps. I usually travel around 60-80 on speed bumps and i feel totally nothing. The squeeking parts on the dashboard and seats can be fix by maskin tapes and some lubricants. this car, if not mistaken 2nd hand around rm15k. Not much you can ask for a rm15k car right? enough to bring you from point a to b comfortably and safely is already good enough |
| Change to: | 0.0332sec
5 queries
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:00 AM |