= Sugar Gliders V16 =, Gorgeous Sugar Glider Family

TSeric138
post Jul 25 2011, 10:45 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(Esther1017 @ Jul 25 2011, 10:35 PM)
elo~newbie here
just wondering, anyone here know of a good glider breeder or pet shop where I can get a joey from?
also, did anyone happened to visit Petsmore at 101 Boulevard? what do u tink of the gliders there?
Erm, I personally don't like any shops who keep gliders in tank/hamster cage. It only reflects that the shop does not know how to keep glider properly, which means they are selling underage/unhealthy gliders.
TSeric138
post Jul 25 2011, 11:48 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(Esther1017 @ Jul 25 2011, 11:42 PM)
hmm, that Petsmore however doesn't keep their joeys in a tank, it's in an actual mesh like cage...my instinct told me that they're not 2 months old, but I'm reali a noob in this so I can't be sure...
rclxms.gif So they have made some improvement already..

There are a lot ways to determine the health condition of joey:
1) ask the seller - actual age of joey, diets and foods have been feeding..

2) look at the joey itself - fluffy tail? moisture pinkish nose? thick & smooth hair?

3) look at the living condition - min 3ft tall cage? rotten fruits? stressful environment? hygiene?
TSeric138
post Jul 28 2011, 01:16 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Jul 27 2011, 10:38 PM)
My glider used to eat papaya, as big as her head. Now, she wouldn't even touch it whole night long. Also, when she was younger, she never touch yogurt drops. I feel like throw it into the bin already. But now, eat until full already also will have space for yogurt drops one.

Gliders are like kids, their taste changes over time. So don't give up just because last time you tried something & they don't like it.
This is absolutely right~ they are really like kids..

But bear in mind to check whether the pellets selling in petshops are suitable for gliders. I've seen some pet shops repackaged cat/dog food and sell as glider pellet..
TSeric138
post Jul 28 2011, 03:57 AM

227 posts

What i normally do is, i serve HPW and fresh fruits/vege at night... then daytime just put pure pellet in the cage...

If they prefer to eat papaya, of course they wont touch the pellet..
TSeric138
post Jul 28 2011, 03:51 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(shunkori @ Jul 28 2011, 11:38 AM)
those untouch pellets in the morning i throw away or keep first?  hmm.gif
I nvr throw it away, just refill and then wash the bowl every 2-3days...But i'm not using the same brand as yours. smile.gif
TSeric138
post Jul 28 2011, 05:36 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(ciKeju @ Jul 28 2011, 05:15 PM)
what brand are you using eric?
mind sharing?
I'm using BUGSY brand for all my gliders' food, supplement and treats, my only trusted brand for gliders product. smile.gif
TSeric138
post Aug 1 2011, 07:46 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(-stanz- @ Aug 1 2011, 03:15 AM)
Hi all,

Im planning to get a sugar glider but not so soon...wanna learn more bout it..

just a few question uphand..

1)just bought a chinchilla and is it ok to place both cage together ? as in side by side..
2)i dun reli understand bout the food to provide to em..read a few articles but still don reli understand it.
3)if i've already bonded with my sugar glider, can i bring it out ? will it run away ?

thanksss
You can put both cage side by side but not too near.. Their diet is quite complicated, put it in short, they need protein, vitamin and minerals daily.. In captived glider, we provide protein by feeding specific sugar glider diet, such as HPW, HPW Plus, BML, PML and etc.. (Make sure u get the original recognized diet, but not some self created recipe).. Then feed along with fruits/vege that provides them vitamins & minerals..

You can bring your glider out in a bonding pouch, jus make sure u zip it up properly. If the glider really bonded and attached to you, they will stick with you and hide underneath your shirt or inside your pocket.. But i still recommend you bring bonding pouch with you all the time, in case if u need to use it. smile.gif
TSeric138
post Aug 3 2011, 04:46 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(Lennox @ Aug 3 2011, 04:23 PM)
need all pros here for help.  icon_question.gif
My sister have a Glider but due to my sister start working, she got not much time with her. I try to be friend with her so i can take care her for my sister. But she is not friendly to me at all. She is already adult now. what can i do?
Keep her in a bonding pouch, then hang the pouch with you all the time.. Let her slowly adapt to your smell and all... She needs a little bit time to accept another owner since u rarely handle her before this..

You can still be friend with her, although she is already an adult.. as long as u pay enough effort and be patient.
TSeric138
post Aug 3 2011, 05:27 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(lastlovesong @ Aug 3 2011, 05:25 PM)
previously, my glider got 3 joeys before 1 male 2 female over 1 year period.

now they got 2 male joeys 2 month plus OOP but their size is like 1 month plus OOP. kinda sad see them so small size. touching the fur at the back of the head and fluffy tail shows that they are not dehydrated. they eating the same portion as adult gliders.

diet: hpw+mix fruits and veges.

is this normal?
If they have bushy tails and thick furs, but just smaller in bone frame, it's consider normal.. Some glider are smaller naturally and some are big.. just like human.. Look at people around us, some have taller sibling some have fatter..right?
TSeric138
post Aug 3 2011, 05:39 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(lastlovesong @ Aug 3 2011, 05:35 PM)
good to know that. thanks for the reply.

the dr jenny email in this thread is uptodate? email her last week for an appointment to nurture my male glider but still no reply. wanna do it asap cos my male glider getting naughty again.
try to email her again, maybe she missed your previous mail. There are few friends of mine able to make appointment and met her last week for checkup..
TSeric138
post Aug 5 2011, 06:20 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(pandanpaws @ Aug 4 2011, 02:08 AM)
greetings to all. my suggie, mr chibi drinks half a portion of hpw only and wouldnt even touch mealies. i tried giving watermelon,jambu air,cantaloupe,apple..all e lil guy want is bak choy..how lah? i got him in may and still on going bonding process..should i get another male to cos aiyoh,worry he might get lonely?ty
How old is ur glider? How long have you been keeping him?

Some gliders are very very picky, try stop giving any bak choy, and give other mixed vege/fruit.. He will eat when he is hungry. smile.gif

QUOTE(huiyin_hsu @ Aug 5 2011, 11:59 AM)
No its not at his head...its on his back..a small patch of fur....
It's possible for glider to overgroom when they are in stress condition. Perhaps during the few days with your bro in law he is not feeling comfortable with the new environment and people?

Monitor the patch and see what happen, if the patch getting bigger, then bring him to the vet for check up. It could be mites.

TSeric138
post Aug 9 2011, 10:15 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(analyzer_mike @ Aug 9 2011, 05:58 PM)
yup..but seems that SG is not there for adoption.. sad.gif
I would say keeping glider is quite an expensive hobby. They need big cage, supplement, imported wheel and of course a lot time and effort. Normally, people don't give their glider up for free adoption. Imagine, if you can't affort or not willing to pay rm250-rm350 for the glider, do i expect you provide proper care to my glider? The amount of money you spend on the cage, accessories, food, toys and etc are definitely higher than the price of buying a glider. smile.gif
TSeric138
post Aug 10 2011, 06:01 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(analyzer_mike @ Aug 9 2011, 10:27 PM)
err..what i mean is i want to buy SG from somebody that breed it theirself...not for free..coz i've read about the article of homebreed and shop SG..that's what i mean..i didnt mean to take ot for free....  sweat.gif
Ops sorry, i got your msg wrongly.

There are few reputable breeders here in lowyat, you can try to look for them in pets store section. As what others said, you might need to book in advance and wait for the joey. NORMALLY good sugar glider breeder doesn't have hundredsss of breeding pairs, and therefore very limited joey available in one time.. smile.gif
TSeric138
post Aug 18 2011, 12:06 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(Coinboxseller @ Aug 17 2011, 10:44 PM)
i already read... but i don't know why.. do you know what's wrong?
Stunning is pretty normal for glider. Sometime, they can stay there and not moving for 10minutes.. But, bear in mind that if a glider doesn't sleep at daytime but came out of the pouch and stun there, it could be one of the sickness symptom.

QUOTE(aimanxxx @ Aug 18 2011, 12:01 AM)
kalo sy nk iklankan sg kt cni boleh x?? sad.gif  sad.gif  sad.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
Nope, advertisements are prohibited in pets wonderland. smile.gif
TSeric138
post Aug 18 2011, 04:32 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(Coinboxseller @ Aug 18 2011, 03:55 AM)
I give my SG eat this

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

I give him abit only but he don't eat much and leave alot there in the bowl. Attract alot ants. Should I give him mealworms?
QUOTE(pochlisa @ Aug 18 2011, 04:38 AM)
That's fine as treats, they normally won't eat a lot anyway unless they're really hungry. 2-3 pellets at most. Mealworms can give also, maybe every few days. Mine really love mealworms, she likes catching and attacking them, it's really fun to watch lol. Brings out her animal instincts.
That one is not treat, i would actually consider one of the diet of sugar glider. Of course, HPW and fruits vege are still the main daily diet needed for glider, but dry foods (such as the Bugsy Happy Glider in the pic) is part of it too. Normally i would leave it in the cage during daytime because if u serve wet food on daytime it get spoil easily by the high temperature. Generally they sleep over daytime, but sometime they will still come out and look for food. Besides that, the dry pellet is good to clean their teeth since most of their main diet are soft and wet.

Bear in mind that you should get dry food from reputable brand, the Bugsy one in ur pic is a good choice.

2-3 pellets... so stingy? LOL... Just put one tablespoon or two in a bowl and leave the bowl in the cage 24/7.. A lot glider food including HPW and fruits will attract ants, so u should use some ant killing solution like put bowl of water under the cage, or use ant killing powder (make sure ur glider is not nearby)...

QUOTE(Coinboxseller @ Aug 18 2011, 06:15 AM)
i really duno that worms is their snack. cause my seller say he feed them with mealworms... hmmm.. i saw hpw paccket today. quite exp but stil can afford la.. i think need to cook 1.. they say duno boiled what egg then add some beepolen or something. then mix together
Worms is very high in phosphorus and fat, not really recommend to use for main protein source. So, feed 1 or 2 mealies as treats and don do it everyday.

If you are talking bout Bugsy HPW, there are few types. And it last 3-4months for one glider.

QUOTE(pochlisa @ Aug 18 2011, 06:23 AM)
Yeaaah...some mill breeders would tell you all they eat are apples, and one mealworm a week. If that's all they eat, they won't live very long.

Eh, good luck with it being expensive. You need to feed that to your glider everyday. One packet can last almost two months per glider. There are two brands, bugsy and chubbypetsgarden. If you can't get one at the store, can order at this website: www.chubbypetsgarden.com (some items got free shipping, and got great deals here. right now got 10% off!)

No offence, but from the sounds of it, you have a lot more reading and studying to do.
No offense, but no advertisement here. smile.gif

TSeric138
post Aug 18 2011, 05:04 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(ciKeju @ Aug 18 2011, 04:50 PM)
is it good to feed suggie with royal canin baby cat 34 as a treat?or with iams brand?

just curious about it..

Lets see why do you wan to use it as a treats?

If you just wan to pamper ur glider with some thing tasty, then there are a lot other better options such as yogurt drops, tutti fruity and etc..

If you wanna provide extra protein to the glider, you can feed with with proper dry glider food such as bugsy happy glider as we mentioned in previous post, or occassionally give one or two mealies..

Cat food is very hard, and very high in fat content. It's not suitable for glider, despite of what brand you use.

QUOTE(pochlisa @ Aug 18 2011, 04:58 PM)
Really? :0 I use mine as a treat, idk cause I keep reading people say don't use it as a staple food. 2-3 pellets is all she seems to want to eat ._. no matter how long I keep it in the cage lol. I'll try again. I bought the fruity flavour one. She's such a picky eater haha.
Sorryyy tongue.gif it's just a really conveniant site. I'll pm next time.
That's because we don't recommend people to use it as sole staple food. Some people are lazy, they will just feed dry food ONLY if you tell them glider can eat that.

What i do is just put it in the cage, then change once a week. My gliders love it. smile.gif
TSeric138
post Aug 18 2011, 05:35 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(pochlisa @ Aug 18 2011, 05:11 PM)
Okie dokie, thanks for the tip.  biggrin.gif

Ah, i've been having this problem recently. She's awake all day and sleeps at night. Is there any way I can fix her sleeping cycle?
Erm..that's weird.. all in sudden she change her sleeping habit?

You can try to alter it back by waking her up frequently at night, and let her slowly adjust back to the proper sleeping time..
TSeric138
post Aug 21 2011, 02:29 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(95273421 @ Aug 20 2011, 11:42 PM)
2day is my 3rd day wit my new SG...she still ignore me wen i on the light, stuning there...
n wen i tried 2 handfeed her some fruits, she start licking my fingers and suddenly giv me a bite...is tis normal in the bonding process?
QUOTE(hamliomusica @ Aug 21 2011, 12:34 AM)
my male Sg also always lick my finger then bite me..but i always let it do that cuz it looks cute..lol
They will normally lick and bite to see whether it's edible food or not.. However, you shouldn't allow him to keep doing that as you are reinforcing his biting behavior. Next time, whenever he bites, tap his nose lightly or push his nose away..
TSeric138
post Nov 29 2011, 10:04 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_faye @ Nov 28 2011, 11:52 AM)
All r considered HPW Diet.

It's just a matter of names that how distributors put to name their products.

Bugsy is the only sole distributor carrying HPW Starter Kit PLUS (need to be blend with honey, water and eggs) and HPW Complete (just mix with water).

These two products themselves have :-
Calcium: Phosphorus Ratio of 2:1
Contains Omega 6 & 3 Fatty Acids including Flaxseed Oil
Smells like Sweet Vanilla

thumbup.gif
rclxms.gif

I prefer HPW plus, because i get to choose the honey i wan to use~ hehe...

QUOTE(zoejehuty @ Nov 28 2011, 12:32 PM)
icic.
i think for the chubbypetsgarden one, the hpw ready is same as bugsy hpw complete. just add water will do.
then for the chubbypetsgarden Protein Wombaroo Diet : HPW Diet is same as bugsy hpw starter kit plus, need to blend with honey water and eggs.

but some said bugsy one too sweet ady? i dunno, i just see quite a lot review on that, but then a lot also said is good.
so i also confuse. lol...
lol... that's totally different.. I always recommend people to get their glider product esp diet from reputable and trustworthy source..

bugsy too sweet? erm...i think it actually depend on what kind of honey u use though, if u use those low grade honey that added a lot sugar, of course it will be too sweet..

Research carefully and make your decision wisely..it influence your gliders' health..

QUOTE(CacaJess @ Nov 28 2011, 09:57 PM)
Can I have a question...?

My joey have a bad smell..she just around 3 month oop..
How can the smell get away?
and they dont like hpw ready .. I tried to put on top of the apple..but she dont eat the apple...
What kind of smell? Pee and poop smell? sometime when they are young, they will have problem keeping themselves clean and always wet their body with pee... so u can help to clean them a little bit by using wet wipes and change their sleeping pouch more regularly...

Some gliders are picky eaters, so it takes a little longer time for them to accept new diet.. try to cut different types of fruits in cubes, then pour a little bit hpw ready on top.. then add more portion of hpw from day to day... until they are ok with it, then you can feed seperately.. smile.gif

Added on November 29, 2011, 10:07 pm
QUOTE(95273421 @ Nov 29 2011, 07:09 PM)
any1 went for Dr.Yeoh b4? coz Dr.Jenny is a bit far for me...
I never tried Dr Yeoh. But I heard he is quite experienced in treating gliders.

Give him a try and let us know the feedback~ smile.gif

Or else, go for Dr Jenny lo.. travel a little bit further for good vet, worthy~

This post has been edited by eric138: Nov 29 2011, 10:07 PM

6 Pages « < 4 5 6Top

0.0593sec    1.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:43 PM