124 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Bottom

Steam Steam Promotion Topic V3, Problem updating? Read first post.

Andrew Lim
post Oct 18 2010, 05:44 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

Today my first time trying to purchase games on Steam. After a few games I start getting this error:

There has been an internal error initializing your transaction. Please contact support for assistance.

And cannot purchase anymore games. Sian. sad.gif
talexeh
post Oct 18 2010, 06:20 PM

One man's meat is another man's poison.
3,090 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Oct 18 2010, 05:44 PM)
Today my first time trying to purchase games on Steam. After a few games I start getting this error:

There has been an internal error initializing your transaction. Please contact support for assistance.

And cannot purchase anymore games. Sian. sad.gif
Have you tried again for the second time? Sometimes Steam goes emo & it's something to be expected once in a while, particularly when there's big sales going on.
Andrew Lim
post Oct 18 2010, 06:42 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Oct 18 2010, 06:20 PM)
Have you tried again for the second time? Sometimes Steam goes emo & it's something to be expected once in a while, particularly when there's big sales going on.
I've tried several times actually. I've tried at work through the Steam website, and now I'm trying at home using the Steam client's in-game browser.
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Oct 18 2010, 06:53 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Oct 18 2010, 06:42 PM)
I've tried several times actually. I've tried at work through the Steam website, and now I'm trying at home using the Steam client's in-game browser.

try sending a support ticket to request to unlock your account.

Andrew Lim
post Oct 18 2010, 07:17 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Oct 18 2010, 06:53 PM)
try sending a support ticket to request to unlock your account.
Did that earlier.
kiizai
post Oct 19 2010, 02:23 AM

140 posts

purchase a unplayable game (my pc unable to support )

can i transfer the game to my friend a/c or refund for that game?
dan82
post Oct 19 2010, 02:39 AM

231 posts

QUOTE(kiizai @ Oct 19 2010, 02:23 AM)
purchase a unplayable game (my pc unable to support )

can i transfer the game to my friend a/c or refund for that game?
Nope u can't.
kianweic
post Oct 19 2010, 08:06 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Oct 18 2010, 07:17 PM)
Did that earlier.
What's the update on your situation?
talexeh
post Oct 19 2010, 08:19 AM

3,090 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Oct 19 2010, 08:06 AM)
What's the update on your situation?
Based on his post in the TF2 thread, I think his problem has been resolved... for now.

EDIT: Nevermind. It appears that he can buy TF2 items but not Steam games. tongue.gif

Railworks 2 | -50% | $19.99 (if you're an existing owner of Railworks, upgrade to Railworks 2 is free!)
The Ball | -10% | $17.99 (Pre-purchase before Oct 26th and receive 10% off plus an exclusive in-game character for Killing Floor!)

This post has been edited by talexeh: Oct 19 2010, 09:13 AM
zonan4
post Oct 19 2010, 10:22 AM

561 posts

nice realwork discount..... but none of my fren have it... if not i might call for a race tongue.gif
Andrew Lim
post Oct 19 2010, 11:46 AM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

talexeh, is GamersGate like Steam? Need to connect to some server every time to play purchased games?
Gormaz
post Oct 19 2010, 11:57 AM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Oct 19 2010, 11:46 AM)
talexeh, is GamersGate like Steam? Need to connect to some server every time to play purchased games?
No, no need to connect to anything when playing.

GG system works like this:

- You buy your game
- It will be added to "My Games" panel in the website
- From there you download a downloader small file that will the one that will download the game itself
- You run this downloader thing, let it download the whole game
- Once the download is finished it will start the installation of the game, like for a game you install from CD
- TADAaaa you can play the game without being connected anymore to internet.

GG has no client or something like Steam that you need to run to play the games
Andrew Lim
post Oct 19 2010, 12:04 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

Hey thanks Gormaz for the detailed explanation!
talexeh
post Oct 19 2010, 12:23 PM

3,090 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Oct 19 2010, 12:04 PM)
Hey thanks Gormaz for the detailed explanation!
Do expect DRM though since unlike Steam, GG doesn't make in mandatory to connect to the Internet to get a game running. That's the bad news but the good news is, you can always contact the friendly GG support to reset the DRM activation limit should you shoot pass the threshold. But not everyone like to have DRM installed in their system. unsure.gif

Back to Steam... I wonder what will we have for midweek. hmm.gif
dan82
post Oct 19 2010, 01:19 PM

231 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Oct 19 2010, 12:23 PM)
Do expect DRM though since unlike Steam, GG doesn't make in mandatory to connect to the Internet to get a game running. That's the bad news but the good news is, you can always contact the friendly GG support to reset the DRM activation limit should you shoot pass the threshold. But not everyone like to have DRM installed in their system. unsure.gif

Back to Steam... I wonder what will we have for midweek. hmm.gif
I'm hoping for battlefield bc2 , maybe i'm the only 1. I know it's kidna cheap now but I WAN CHEAPSMORE !
Gormaz
post Oct 19 2010, 01:31 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

Yes I consider GG to be more a "Download official ISOs legally" service where what you download is equivalent to the retail CDs, coming with the same DRM etc.

Still some people prefer the "no client" thing while other prefer Steam.

Personally I just go where prices are cheaper or sales better ^^

And yes, hopefully something good for midweek sale to compensate for last weekend =P

Deimos Tel`Arin
post Oct 19 2010, 01:49 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(dan82 @ Oct 19 2010, 01:19 PM)
I'm hoping for battlefield bc2 , maybe i'm the only 1. I know it's kidna cheap now but I WAN CHEAPSMORE !

u r not the only one yo.

it is USD 29.99 right now.

but slap a 50% discount on it and bam, it becomes 14.99 !!!

i think 50% might happen during xmas 2010

dan82
post Oct 19 2010, 02:21 PM

231 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Oct 19 2010, 01:49 PM)
u r not the only one yo.

it is USD 29.99 right now.

but slap a 50% discount on it and bam, it becomes 14.99 !!!

i think 50% might happen during xmas 2010
Ok we're in the same boat lol. Hope u're right about the 50% off. I'm willing to wait till the discount really happens.
kianweic
post Oct 19 2010, 02:48 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Same here. Will wait for it on sales before buying it.
zonan4
post Oct 19 2010, 09:33 PM

561 posts

huhuhu saving up 15usd every month for the next sale....

124 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Top

0.0294sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:29 PM