iPhone 4 Experience + iPad 2nd Ed. Gathering, CONCLUDED|Starbucks KLCC|Pics Pg.8,9,10
TSstringfellow
Jul 8 2010, 05:12 PM
QUOTE(harmeet15 @ Jul 8 2010, 05:06 PM) im gonna order the item now..arnd 3-5 units....  beavis, string, wanna join? Bro I suggest we shift from Switcheasy Nude to that IvySkin case. Reason being, the iVyskin ALLOWS front and back screen protectors inside the case and it fits. The Nude, based on my experience with my iPad, does not even allow the thin wrap at the back and the Nude will requires your back to be naked. This is not a good solution, since dusts may seep into the back of the unprotected back of the iPhone 4 and rubbing against the case and the unprotected back, slowly scratching the back. If you're bulking the iVySkin, I'm in. Probably not on the Nude.
TSstringfellow
Jul 8 2010, 05:21 PM
Here's further proof that the back of the Nude has to be naked to fit the case: pic of what you get in the whole package when you order the Nude:- Notice the two screen protectors? They're for the front only. No SP for the back. Added on July 8, 2010, 5:32 pmQUOTE(fawnie @ Jul 8 2010, 05:21 PM) Hi String, Thanks for all the updates  . Hey, take it easy la on your search for the screen protector  . Sabar. Next month. u be spoilt for choice at retail shops, esp in spore. LOL Viv, until I get the perfect solution for the ultimate protection (the Vapor) I need something more tangible to protect the iPhone. Also, I don't wanna keep ripping off screen protectors to fit new cases. With the iVySkin, I can keep the screen protectors on, and when the Vapor case arrives, take off the iVySkin and put on the Vapor with the screen protectors intact. This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 8 2010, 05:32 PM
TSstringfellow
Jul 8 2010, 06:11 PM
QUOTE(cheahch @ Jul 8 2010, 05:54 PM) Hi String, you are really poisonous. Each time you introduce something pertaining to Ipad and Iphone4, large amount of adrenaline went through the system. I have to refrain from it. Sometime it is not easy, but most time its good for old man like me. Please dont think you are our postman, I know the amount of stress you go through, living in a small cabin for a long period of time. LOL, no problem cheah! I love quality products and won't hesitate to share them with you guys. Different people have different preferences, I'm just explaining my own preferences with the options I'm posting here. Others may like to wrap their iPhones and iPads with leather, me? Not so much. I'd like to maintain that "Apple look" that they have tried so hard to manufacture, hence my preferences of clear cases or cases that does not obscure the logo. I've just emailed Ivyskin with regards to the iPhone 4 Reception Case, specifically the shipping date. If they can ship within the dates that I'm in LA, we can save cost by shipping to my hotel there, and I can bring them back with me. Waiting for their response now.
TSstringfellow
Jul 8 2010, 08:17 PM
The Beats Solo HD headphones are wired headphones. It comes with ControlTalk, just like how the Apple iPhone earphones allow you to take calls. The disadvantages of Bluetooth headphones is that you can't use A2DP controls of skip,fastforward,rewind buttons on the headphones to do those functions on your iPhone. You'll have to rely on Voice Control on the iPhone to do so. If you still wanna take a jab at a particularly nice Bluetooth Stereo headphones that streams audio wirelessly and takes calls as well, the Jaybird SB2 is a worthwhile recommendation:- Only USD99. But to reiterate again, you cannot skip tracks, fast forward or rewind using the controls on the headphones, only on the iPhone itself. Also, the fact that BT drains battery power more than necessary just turns me off, I'd rather have my wired Solo HD with me and have enough juice to keep the iPhone going than looking cool with a wireless solution and fall flat battery-wise halfway through the day.
TSstringfellow
Jul 8 2010, 08:50 PM
I can recommend ugly ones too if you like, but you'll curse me later. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «  AND  They both compliment each other nicely.  Added on July 8, 2010, 9:06 pmJust got an email from Ivyskin regarding my queries on when their estimate shipping date is. They're shipping on by 21st July, so it looks like it'll miss the period where I'm in LA. Someone else needs to bulk the order and ship internationally to Malaysia. Added on July 8, 2010, 9:23 pmFurther clarification from Ivyskin on shipping charges to Malaysia got me this response:- QUOTE Ivyskin ship items to South East Asia via Express mail only for $36.95up to 3 items. Which is USD12.32 per iPhone case. This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 8 2010, 09:23 PM
TSstringfellow
Jul 8 2010, 09:50 PM
All Beats headphones are wired.
There are tradeoffs on both wired and wireless headphones. I'd take the inconveniences of wires versus losing precious battery life to BT.
TSstringfellow
Jul 10 2010, 03:30 PM
Damnit, I've having second thoughts on the Switcheasy Nude case for the iPhone 4. This video here shows the Ultra Clear, Ultra Black and White version of the Nude for iPhone 4. I'm liking both the Ultras, Clear and Black. But as I said before, the fact that it does not allow screen protectors at the back with the case just turns me off. The case looks super gorgeous to me, but I'm not inclined to rip off the back screen protector and reapply a new one when my Vapor 4 case arrives. Decisions, decisions!  Still no review, pics or Youtube video of the iPhone 4 Reception Case from Ivyskin. This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 10 2010, 03:31 PM
TSstringfellow
Jul 10 2010, 04:43 PM
QUOTE(fawnie @ Jul 10 2010, 04:38 PM) I will be happy to have this switcheasy nude cases to protect my iphone when i get mine  . But what is the guy spraying on them cases before he puts them on? Have to spray so much some more LOL! That's a can of compressed air he's using to blow off any dust on the case. Very handy.
TSstringfellow
Jul 10 2010, 04:55 PM
QUOTE(harmeet15 @ Jul 10 2010, 04:50 PM) bro...black n clear looks sexy ya...i'm surely gonna order one now...i'll wurry abt it fitting with wrapsol later la..  I can guarantee you right now that the Wrapsol will not fit into the Nude case, you'll have to rip it off I'm afraid. The Wrapsol is too thick. But the good news is, you get a free screen protector with the Nude package, but only for the front though. The only problem you will face later is when your Vapor case arrives, that you'll have to start thinking about the back protection as well, since the Vapor is like the aluminum version of the Bumper case. Which is why I'm diverting my attention to the Reception Case from Ivyskin.
TSstringfellow
Jul 10 2010, 11:05 PM
Beavis and I tried the Fring app for video call just now. Both Wifi-to-Wifi and Wifi-to-3G. Works as advertised, but not as smooth as FaceTime. This opens up more possibilities for video calling, not just among iPhone 4 users, but to all platforms where Fring is available on. Yes, even the iPhone 3G[S] has Fring, not to mention the Android and Symbian phones.
Anybody else wanna try Fring video call, I'll PM you my username.
TSstringfellow
Jul 11 2010, 03:35 PM
QUOTE(neekun @ Jul 11 2010, 08:24 AM) String, I tested Tour earphones from Beats, the sound is very umph with powerful undistorted bass. Good for listening to music with strong bass. I like earphones cause I like to lying around while listening haha. Ended up buying Ultimate Ears TripleFi 10 Pro earphones. Sound very natural with low, medium and high notes can be heard distinctively. Now I can sell my Apple In Ear with mic already.  I'm on the opposite end of the spectrum, I hate earphones especially in-ear ones. Uncomfortable to me. I've a Shure somewhere in the house, but it's lying somewhere in the dust. QUOTE(jkleejk @ Jul 11 2010, 03:26 PM) i m new to fring, just want to know fring video call via what account (MSN, google talk, yahoo & etc)? By its own account. Sign up with Fring, and the option for video-calling is available.
TSstringfellow
Jul 12 2010, 11:47 PM
I'll be at the Premium Reseller near Taipei 101 tomorrow, to look for accessories for iPhone 4. Beavis/ksc_3688/Harmeet, or anyone else who wanna take a look at how it looks, welcomed to FaceTime me tomorrow once I tweeted that I'm on that location.
TSstringfellow
Jul 21 2010, 03:42 PM
Anybody wanna testdrive the iPhone 4, welcome to do so today. I'm handling out all the Tumpang items to those who had requsted to do so while I was in LA, and will be doing that in KLCC. You can also see the beautiful Waterfield iPhone 4 Suede Jacket case there, where I'm handing it to Beavis & KSC_3688 and the Beats Solo HD Product [RED] headphones with ControlTalk for iPhone 4. I'm always with my iPad 3G and the ElementCase Joule iPad stand in the Waterfield Muzetto bag I'm carrying with me, so you can have a look at those too if you like. Will be there around 5pm. Feel free to PM or meet me at location I'm tweeting from if you follow my Twitter feed.  P/S: I'm slightly more orange than usual, burnt skin from the scorching California heat wave while I was there. Don't be surprised.
TSstringfellow
Jul 21 2010, 03:58 PM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 21 2010, 03:53 PM) @stringfellow, Hmm.. test drive iPhone 4? Can I borrow it for a week?  Sure can, as long as you can find another unit for me to use for that week.
TSstringfellow
Jul 21 2010, 04:45 PM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 21 2010, 04:39 PM) @stringfellow, U can haf me iPhone 3GS *smiles* oK.. I'll get a preview of these toys when we meet then  That is a serious downgrade. One thing that worries me, is that dinner & iPhone 4 doesn't match well. Greasy hands and all.  I'll have to be keep a serious lookout.
TSstringfellow
Jul 23 2010, 01:33 AM
Anybody who needs a sim cutter, I have the utensil with me. The onus is on you to do the cutting not me, I'm just providing the equipment. We can meet and you can cut your sim yourself. No charge.
TSstringfellow
Jul 23 2010, 02:14 AM
I'm using the Simplism screen protector, the ultra clear type, that I've purchased my last trip in Tokyo, on my iPhone 4. It came with camera cutout and flash cutout for the front and back. This is probably a stopgap solution while waiting for the big names like Steinheil or PowerSupport to come up with their solution.
TSstringfellow
Jul 24 2010, 07:43 PM
QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jul 23 2010, 11:59 AM) @string, finally i feel this thread is much more comforting for apple iphone 4 fans and users alike to share and discuss in a sensible way the other thread is aplenty with hostile goons, good stuff. LOL, it feels that way isn't it?  I keep this thread locked away from the hordes of trolls banging at the gates.  If this thread is destined to become a relaxed atmosphere place for people to share and discuss the iPhone 4, I don't see any harm to it. That is, until the next gathering, which is projected to be in August. Someone else will take over from me, but I can help secure the location in Megan Avenue, if Bikesh is still willing to let us his location for the Gathering.
TSstringfellow
Jul 26 2010, 05:36 PM
QUOTE(yuvanesh @ Jul 26 2010, 04:30 PM) Wah that will be great...but bro I checked you schedule an looks like the gathering will be in weekday because most your weekend you are flying.. If you have to, don't have to make it when I'm free. As long as majority attends, that should take bigger priority. I can always arrange with Bikesh for the location.
TSstringfellow
Jul 26 2010, 08:18 PM
QUOTE(yuvanesh @ Jul 26 2010, 05:56 PM) Alright I will keep you posted...but many people wants you to come..due you are the senior member..I will slot in a good timing about it.. LOL, believe me, equal amount of people also don't want me to come as well.  Take as you will lah, but cater to the majority, please.