All About Harddisk Thread V3, Discussion for Good Harddisk

super macgyver
post Jul 30 2010, 08:37 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Jul 30 2010, 03:44 AM)
That seems normal.
My earlier post:
canovaro, how about coolermaster case, any comment? rclxms.gif
super macgyver
post Sep 1 2011, 01:12 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(Hikaru @ Apr 17 2009, 09:29 PM)
Uh, actually, I don't see why cannot.

Anvil is capable of being docked into the eSata dock, and if you have the Anvil plugged in there, it acts as a SATA connection (since the eSata port is connected to a SATA port in your motherboard). As such, to Windows, it is just another drive attached to SATA port, as long as the drive was plugged in when the computer is started.

I personally have an Anvil casing and when AHCI detection happens on bootup, if my Anvil is plugged in as eSATA (with the dock) it'll detect it as another hard disk, no different from any other. In fact, while I was installing Vista yesterday, my portable drive showed up as a usable location to install to (my other USB portable has the message "Windows cannot be installed to removable blahblah" but the Anvil docked did not)
QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Aug 29 2011, 01:39 PM)
"Samsung" itself isn't speed, it's a brand, the only thing that beat the hell out of other is the 1TB F3 (or current F4?) versus other 1TB equivalent.
Other than that their 2TB eco-green HDD is basically same as other equivalent capacity, except Samsung's HDD is slightly cheaper.
But if you can get some good deals on WDC, their 2TB Green is also not bad.
If you serious about durability then take those enterprise HDD, price cost twice as much, same functionality, same warranty, and it fails anyway.
according to the lyp salesman, wd raid edition 4 enterprise sata hdd got 5yr wrty. sweat.gif
super macgyver
post Sep 1 2011, 11:18 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Sep 1 2011, 07:36 PM)
Ah, sorry did not rephrase that "warranty", what I mean is not the period but the warranty procedure, so you get a new HDD as replacement anyway, no fancy data recovery service included.
They may use higher grade ingredients but like I said, "it fails anyway". RAID + Backup wink.gif covers it.
hope it really durable than normal black and blue loh, btw, u facing a lot failure of black caviar before ar? sweat.gif
super macgyver
post Sep 3 2011, 01:37 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(-oc-gassa @ Sep 2 2011, 04:18 PM)
haha.. how did even u know u said 'uncomfortably truth' when u said that was joke after all ?

did this statement comes all from ur experience?

dun just say 'for all we know'...

u will mislead the other forumer for sure..
Each hdd with different price for different segment based on different labelling from different part in term of quality and mostly production process although same RPM and size. 'Handling' is the biggest issue in my department.
bro, do u familliar with wd re4 enterprise hdd? reliable?
super macgyver
post Sep 3 2011, 02:00 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Sep 3 2011, 01:41 PM)
buy multiple HDD and store ur data. u could try buy like 3-4 unit 500GB cheap HDD and mirror ur data. Dont put it inside computer and run all the time. only use as external HDD. 

I highly doubt a HDD can fail within 5years if u only use it as an OFFLINE backup drive.

I still have my quantum bigfoot 4GB 3600rpm 5.25inch here, no bad sector, thats after 15 years already.

and other drive

Quantum Fireball 15GB 7200rpm, 11years.
WD 40GB 9years
Samsung 80GB 8years
WD 200GB 7 years. All no badsectors

so? How long u want ur HDD to last? 20-30years? sweat.gif
but did u check on their smart value as well? smile.gif
super macgyver
post Sep 3 2011, 06:58 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Sep 3 2011, 02:06 PM)
nope, been a while I didnt touch those HDD. Its like I only access when I actually want to use. the bigfoot has been off for months tongue.gif But the Data inside there are still intact tho.
actually most of us r looking for hdd which is mainly reliable for daily usage and kept important data.

QUOTE(limhongwoon @ Sep 3 2011, 02:16 PM)
I got one Samsung F3 1TB Hard Disc that just reach one year but the Hard Disc bring a lot of problem :

wat software u using ar?
super macgyver
post Sep 4 2011, 01:51 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(lavenzo @ Sep 4 2011, 01:07 PM)
hay may i know wat s/w u guys using to check ur hdd??
www.hddscan.com
super macgyver
post Sep 16 2011, 10:41 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Sep 16 2011, 10:30 AM)
Most people will recommend you to get Samsung 103SJ. It is the cheapest fastest 7200rpm 1TB in the town.

I just got my 3rd Samsung 1TB 103SJ. Really like this HDD. laugh.gif
any reason u like it? faster than others? quiet than others? more reliable? blink.gif
super macgyver
post Sep 17 2011, 04:59 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Sep 17 2011, 08:19 AM)
Dear sir, please check bold statement, if this aint enough for u, check the feedback corner here.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16822152185
sweat.gif just interested to know ur own opinion that all, not sure tat quote is from others comment or ur own comment, that y asking u. tongue.gif
super macgyver
post Sep 17 2011, 08:36 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Sep 17 2011, 07:23 PM)
I mean those casing for u to carry internal hdd, because i normally bring my pc into airplane, but i will take the hdd out and put in my backpack lolz.. So i need something to hold my HDD..
u can try gigabyte anvil thumbup.gif
super macgyver
post Sep 25 2011, 06:24 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(Celestia @ Sep 24 2011, 11:55 PM)
any1 know any software that works like crystal disk info?

can recommend me 1 becoz crystal doesnt detect raid sad.gif
u can try ashampoo hard drive tool or Hard Disk Sentinel
super macgyver
post Oct 26 2011, 03:44 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

regret didnt buy hdd last week, seem like kena only buy hdd only after another 2 month loh. XD
super macgyver
post Nov 11 2011, 05:59 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

time for everyone to grab external hdd loh, 2.5inch 500gb hdd usb 3.0 is now RM209 in lyp, quick grab while u can, as i have grab 1 unit tis week only. a lot cheaper than internal 2.5 inch and 3.5inch ler.
super macgyver
post Nov 11 2011, 07:18 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(sakit @ Nov 11 2011, 06:03 PM)
yesterday...i just buy blue wd 500gb for rm310 at alor star.  cry.gif
nvm lah, next time u msn me, i courier to u loh, i baru went lyp on tis tuesday and yesterday nia.

hmm, duno how buffalo can tweak their hdd to fly like tis, but seagate and wd dun have such tool pula. hmm.gif

Enable Turbo mode and the DriveStation suddenly swings up to 35.2MB/sec. average read while it's burst speed goes through the roof at 1,783.7MB/sec. Given that result, and even without knowing the exact details of the process (Buffalo doesn't seem ready to divulge them), you can probably depend on the burst level -- where data is sent from the disc to the drive interface-being the point at which the speed-up shenanigans are being applied.

http://www.computerworld.com/s/article/903..._external_drive
super macgyver
post Nov 11 2011, 10:59 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(selikatwo @ Nov 11 2011, 08:05 PM)
lol, why people still buying hdd at high price.
current hdd price is just for few month only....
=.= nowadays a lot ppl got broadband mar, everyday keep download data and dun have time to do housekeep, of course storage keep running out of space mar.
super macgyver
post Nov 12 2011, 03:56 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Nov 12 2011, 03:13 AM)
I just grabbed one 2.5" toshiba canvio 3.0 1tb ext hdd on thursday at RM369 in digitalmall...
I have no choice... just realized my 500 ext hdd is running low... cannot hold on till march 2012... cry.gif  cry.gif
my heart was like being pulled out of me alive... *pain* cry.gif  cry.gif
500gb buffalo pctu3 buffalo only increase to RM20 since sept2011, but toshiba 1tb u-3 from RM289 raise up to RM350 in lyp. sweat.gif anyway, lucky 2.5inch didnt increase like wat happened on 3.5inch hdd lor. laugh.gif
super macgyver
post Nov 19 2011, 11:04 AM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(apecorp @ Nov 19 2011, 10:08 AM)
Was surveying prices for WD My book essential 2tb usb3.0 external hdd and found:

Most shop in Lowyat plaza = rm 420 - 439(max)
Someplace in P.J. & Subang = rm 550 - 580(max)..... doh.gif really cuthroat prices..And i think i saw in garage sales also...
it was RM359 back in september. laugh.gif
super macgyver
post Nov 23 2011, 12:21 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(Sata_Cable @ Nov 22 2011, 08:55 PM)
At least save space a little for now. I also experience my HDD faulty, The data that burn in DVD save me a lot even though its a bundle of DVDs.
2.5inch usb hdd still considered a lot cheaper than 3.5inch, i just got mine 2 weeks ago only.
super macgyver
post Nov 23 2011, 06:51 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(Sata_Cable @ Nov 23 2011, 01:26 PM)
Yes. that true. Just saw it yesterday. In hypermarket they still sell around RM189.00 for 500gb.
but better off go for buffalo as my fren who working in lowyatplaza rma center saying that 2.5inch usb wd and seagate failure rate is quite high.
super macgyver
post Nov 24 2011, 03:49 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(Sata_Cable @ Nov 24 2011, 02:00 PM)
True, i will never go for Seagate again because my Seagate freeagent suddenly died without any reason and all my data gone. It is just 2 years of using it and seldom use.I know its "NASIB". All things are not perfect. For warranty no point ,because the important thing is the data and very costly to recover it. I'm very sad because some of my work, personal stuff and research inside there. I cannot sleep the whole week because of losing very important data.
have u tried swap ur 5pin usb cable with another working cable yet?
Else, if u dun wan send for warranty, then better just open the casing and plug into ur pc to try retrieve ur data loh.

0.0264sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:03 AM