All About Harddisk Thread V3, Discussion for Good Harddisk
qiffahsnissuh
Sep 14 2010, 12:19 PM

i wanted to buy a new hdd for my pc(slimcase)... because that ive never bought a hdd before this,so ive no idea about what im suppose to look for... n surely,ive no exp in installing a new hdd... so,please guide me k...
my specs : dell inspiron 530s(slimcase) an old hdd(250GB) and a 250w psu
This post has been edited by qiffahsnissuh: Sep 14 2010, 12:28 PM
qiffahsnissuh
Sep 14 2010, 12:51 PM

how to check wether its a SATA or PATA??? n is there any diff between those???
qiffahsnissuh
Sep 14 2010, 01:02 PM

o k... so ive to check wether it is a sata or pata right??
more question,hehehe
what is IDE,eSATA???same like those two??
edit:ive checked...my pc have sata hdd... after i bought my new hdd,what 1stly should i do??? becoz i dont want any data to be lost... can u guide me??
This post has been edited by qiffahsnissuh: Sep 14 2010, 01:11 PM
qiffahsnissuh
Sep 14 2010, 09:03 PM

if i wanted to install a hdd on my computer... n i want juz a hdd on that computer... how can i do it w/o losing any data and os??
qiffahsnissuh
Sep 14 2010, 11:11 PM

before that,should i make partition or something?? or directly install and clone juz like u said??
and inside the hdd box,does it have sata wires that connect to the mobo??
This post has been edited by qiffahsnissuh: Sep 14 2010, 11:13 PM
qiffahsnissuh
Sep 16 2010, 11:07 PM

QUOTE(jinaun @ Sep 16 2010, 10:21 PM) 1) if u dun mind reinstalling windows and all ur other software... then upgrade the internal HDD.. i believe there is also 2.5" 1TB hdd.. but its expensive and also the z height is 12.5mm imo,u dont have to reinstall your os and your software... juz use a cloning software to clone all your files exactly to your empty external hdd,then install your new internal hdd and then clone back from your external hdd... its a lot of work,but reasonable
qiffahsnissuh
Sep 18 2010, 07:29 PM

QUOTE(fariz @ Sep 18 2010, 10:48 AM) I prefer cloning it directly to the new HDD. Then readjust the partition size if I'm moving from small capacity HDD to larger ones. right!! also right... some good cloning software r paragon something(edit:paragon backup and recovery software>http://www.paragon-software.com/home/db-express/)... i dont remember,but as always its free!! This post has been edited by qiffahsnissuh: Sep 18 2010, 10:21 PM